Multiple Signs of Malaysia Property Bubble V20

TSicemanfx
post Jan 6 2023, 02:10 PM

21,457 posts

QUOTE(MaybachS600 @ Jan 6 2023, 01:46 PM)
With an ageing society, senior citizens will need easier and safer access to buildings, open spaces

PETALING JAYA: According to the Statistics Department, our society is ageing fast, with 2.3 million of 32 million people reaching 65 years or older this year, hence infrastructure in the country needs to be revised to ensure easy access and safety for the elderly.

According to Malaysian Research Institute on Ageing (MyAgeing), some 15% or up to five million Malaysians will be 65 years or older by 2050 .
As it is, most of the schools, malls, government buildings and other public facilities are not designed to accommodate the differently abled, with wheelchair ramps being too high and older buildings having no toilets for them, apart from other difficulties.

In response to the situation, UCSI University School of Architecture and Built Environment lecturer Prof Dr Mohd Tajuddin Mohd Rasdi called for existing building standards to be more “elderly friendly”.

“Urban planners and architects have been designing and constructing buildings without considering the elderly community and only applied the minimum requirements to urban planning. The poor design of housing structures in Malaysia affects senior citizens more than other public spaces such as hospitals and houses of worship, which are visited less frequently by them. So, the primary focus of architects and planners should be on housing.”

Mohd Tajuddin said sections 26 and 27 of the Persons with Disabilities Act state that all public facilities, including amenities, services, buildings and transport systems should have proper access for the differently abled, which also applies to senior citizens who have mobility issues.

“But unfortunately, even newer public buildings and facilities fail to provide these. The problem lies with the adherence to the by-laws by developers and enforcement by the authorities, which just apply the minimum requirements. If you ask me, I think our infrastructure is not friendly to senior citizens or even to those who are differently abled,” he told theSun.

Mohd Tajuddin said as far as the Uniform Building By-Laws 1984 (UBBL) are concerned, three to four-storey low-cost, walk-up housing that has no lifts installed is considered non-elderly friendly, although it is not illegal to build such dwellings.

“By-law 124 of the UBBL states that for all non-residential buildings exceeding four storeys (above or below the main access level), at least one lift shall be provided. For the elderly who have mobility problems, going up and down the staircase would risk them falling or slipping.”

He said sidewalks also need to be redesigned to ensure the safety of the elderly.

“Roadside curbs should be lowered to seven to 10cm from the current 15cm. This would enable unfit seniors to lift their foot up and safely cross the road.”
Agreeing with Mohd Tajuddin, Universiti Teknologi Mara graduate architect Elina Annuar, said urban planners and architects should include a “space design” (an architectural term referring to the design of outdoor and indoor spaces) that accommodates everyone, especially the elderly and the disabled.

“Our public spaces have so many elements that are hazards to vulnerable groups. We have complicated floor plans, narrow walkways, slippery surfaces on indoor flooring and ramps, a lack of physical support elements such as sturdy railings, and signage with small letterings.

Elina said the current architecture and urban design do not accommodate consumer culture and behaviour.

“People in their 50s to 70s grew up to fend for themselves and be independent. They have their social activities and are not used to being supervised or looked after.

“Public spaces need to be redesigned to accommodate the traits of such people to reduce risks of accidents in public spaces.”

Link: https://www.thesundaily.my/local/with-an-ag...aces-IA10458189
TSicemanfx
post Jan 6 2023, 02:13 PM

21,457 posts

QUOTE(Lembu Goreng @ Jan 6 2023, 12:23 PM)

PETALING JAYA: Jumlah individu bankrap boleh mencecah lebih 30,000 kes tahun ini kerana semakin ramai peminjam tidak mampu membayar ansuran bulanan jika Kadar Dasar Semalaman (OPR) dinaikkan sehingga 3.25 peratus bulan ini. Jumlah itu berdasarkan kepada jangkaan pertambahan sebanyak 10,000 lagi kes individu muflis pada tahun ini selepas 20,258 kes dicatatkan sepanjang tempoh pandemik Covid-19 antara 2020 hingga November 2022
party
post Jan 6 2023, 02:14 PM

816 posts

QUOTE(coyouth @ Jan 3 2023, 02:04 PM)
this thread from 2016 till now. posting for year 2023. lol
The 1st version i tink since 2011/2.

12years d bubble crashed. U would have paid instalment 33% by now if buy in 2011/12 if mortgage 30years. 50% is 20years.
desmond2020
post Jan 6 2023, 02:15 PM

911 posts

QUOTE(party @ Jan 6 2023, 02:14 PM)
The 1st version i tink since 2011/2.

12years d bubble crashed. U would have paid instalment 33% by now if buy in 2011/12 if mortgage 30years. 50% is 20years.
buy any property at 2012

you already untung at least 30% by now, not including saving on rental if your property is for own stay
party
post Jan 6 2023, 02:18 PM

816 posts

QUOTE(desmond2020 @ Jan 6 2023, 02:15 PM)
buy any property at 2012

you already untung at least 30% by now, not including saving on rental if your property is for own stay
Aiyo..y u put untung. I purposely avoid sked ice aunty period come again.

Most cham is those follow her n bbw tat time not to buy any property coz crashing soon.
anangryorc
post Jan 6 2023, 02:30 PM

597 posts

Plz crash on me, my bullets are ready
SUSNew Klang
post Jan 6 2023, 02:40 PM

4,998 posts

https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3031756

Luckily I trusted and didn't buy
Xsence
post Jan 6 2023, 03:28 PM

734 posts

Depends on the definition of bubble.
If say a good condition condo at near KL or Pj, below 300k is impossible. Can forget about it ever. Best is Rumahwip.
But slow up or stagnant is for sure.
TSicemanfx
post Jan 6 2023, 09:21 PM

21,457 posts

user posted image[/url]
TSicemanfx
post Jan 13 2023, 02:01 PM

21,457 posts

most malaysians lifestyle is sustained by debts.

This post has been edited by icemanfx: Jan 13 2023, 02:09 PM
TSicemanfx
post Jan 14 2023, 09:40 AM

21,457 posts

QUOTE(JungWoo @ Jan 13 2023, 11:26 AM)
Currently have a mortgage loan with HL and the rate seems risen up to 4.29%   hmm.gif
served for 8 years and the balance only reduced like less than 10%  blink.gif
Is it recommended to refinance? currently looking at Maybank and estimate can get 3.95% (max)
Many novice flipper or investor failed to realize during initial few years, most of repayment goes to pay loan interest rather than reducing principal sum.

This post has been edited by icemanfx: Jan 14 2023, 09:41 AM
bogletails
post Jan 14 2023, 09:56 AM

90 posts

QUOTE(desmond2020 @ Jan 6 2023, 02:15 PM)
buy any property at 2012

Very low return tbh, if just put in index fund already earn 200% capital gain, not including the dividend yet.

11 years only return 30% is like 0.36% return pa. put FD also better than property. Oh ya did I mention we haven't include the mortgage interest rate? Could be a negative return.
TrialGone
post Jan 14 2023, 10:00 AM

603 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ Jan 6 2023, 02:10 PM)

“Roadside curbs should be lowered to seven to 10cm from the current 15cm. This would enable unfit seniors to lift their foot up and safely cross the road.”
Lol, that's motobodoh parking space la.

TrialGone
post Jan 14 2023, 10:12 AM

603 posts

QUOTE(bogletails @ Jan 14 2023, 09:56 AM)
Very low return tbh, if just put in index fund already earn 200% capital gain, not including the dividend yet.

11 years only return 30% is like 0.36% return pa. put FD also better than property. Oh ya did I mention we haven't include the mortgage interest rate? Could be a negative return.
Precisely. Remember that famous saying property always go up?

No one ever learn from history that nothing goes up forever. If it gets too expensive, no one will buy, even if desperate, borrow from loan shark, there is still a breaking point. Oil crash, cryto crash, lehman brothers, even as far back as tulip mania.

The only reason why bubble still just letting out wet fart is cause govt been interfering, by extending loan to 35 years, adjusting property tax, letting foreigners in to buy etc. There is still a breaking point when govt no longer can sustain.

Remember this infamous proposal from Mah Sing to increase to 40 year loan? Your children/grandkids will be paying mortgage for 40 years lol.
https://www.nst.com.my/business/2022/09/830...-urges-mah-sing
desmond2020
post Jan 14 2023, 10:42 AM

911 posts

QUOTE(bogletails @ Jan 14 2023, 09:56 AM)

You are mixiing low risk property investment with high risk index fund? Your math is terrible bruh, so better don't do investment

This post has been edited by desmond2020: Jan 14 2023, 10:42 AM
bogletails
post Jan 14 2023, 11:30 AM

90 posts

QUOTE(desmond2020 @ Jan 14 2023, 10:42 AM)
You are mixiing low risk property investment with high risk index fund? Your math is terrible bruh, so better don't do investment
Wow first time I heard index fund is high risk, it's actually much more diversified than property.

VOO is high risk? VT is high risk? Yes short term 1-2years maybe can fluctuate a lot. But so do house price, can go down also . If compare index fund and property, index fund is lower risk than house price because it is diversified to many companies and sector. But property is just 1, it's like putting all egg into a basket, some more need to pay mortgage interest rate, taxes, maintenance etc. Now you do your math again before saying my math is terrible 🤣
TSicemanfx
post Jan 18 2023, 10:53 AM

21,457 posts

QUOTE(Angry Clerk @ Jan 18 2023, 10:22 AM)
Ok guys,

simple thing to say today, if you have a house under loan, own stay or investment doesn't matter..m

if it is taking high % of your income and you sense that you may not be able to support it already...

Sell it now, or quickly rent out now.

Case : 
1. businessman bought 700K Semi D, 6 years already, never stay in, now cash flow stuck. I told him to sell, he said okok... but withdrawal EPF to tahan... never pay extra, stuck.. start legal action.

2. Normal housewife working as cleaner, husband dead no insurance . 1500 min wage, son 17 years old also working as general worker.. house payment 1.3K. WTF?

Asked her if wanna sell or rent outside.. don't want. Still nego for Rescheduling.

3. Businessman doing foreign labor business, 1 month 1.8K, niama.. not for own stay also... bought 3 years never rent out.. put vacant.. now stuck, ask to pay 3.8K to get out from impaired loan also can't. Ask him rent out 1.2K cheap cheap, self cover 600. don't want.
business bad or own decision problem? we don't know.
Expect more similar cases after bnm rate rise.
TSicemanfx
post Jan 21 2023, 02:46 AM

21,457 posts

QUOTE(techman007 @ Jan 20 2023, 11:11 PM)
Need advice for a property purchased 4 years back, on govt loan for 30 years, with 2300 installment. Property valued at 420k during the time of purchase, by agent from developer. Now got possession of property last year and can rent for 1100 partially furnished. And property value devaled to 340k (or actually property value was bloated by agent in the first place).

As can see, rental is quite lower than bank monthly payment. What's best advice to deal with this situation? Specially, looking at recession and prosperity market slowdown. Continue as is, rent property?

SUSSihambodoh
post Jan 21 2023, 02:50 AM

436 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ Jan 21 2023, 02:46 AM)

More and more people are in negative equity of their property purchase. Even recently Chris Yap on BFM said lelong properties have increased significantly in the last few years.
blek
post Jan 21 2023, 10:47 AM

720 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ Jan 21 2023, 02:46 AM)

4 years back, he bought a property at peak price.
he expecting what property guru says? buy 1 property 500k 10 years later worth 1mil. buy 10 property now easily 5mil retired after 10 years?

229 Pages « < 202 203 204 205 206 > » Top

0.0386sec    0.64    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 09:55 PM