Multiple Signs of Malaysia Property Bubble V20

prody
post Apr 6 2021, 09:26 AM

Dance while the record spins
1,548 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ Mar 31 2021, 12:32 PM)
Excessive auction units show need for sustainable valuation model

SINCE 2019, the property market has been flooded with auction units spanning from Kuala Lumpur to Johor Baru.

According to property agents, 4,000 to 6,000 units of properties are flooding the market every year. Some units still fail to be sold off despite five or six rounds of price reduction. I came across one apartment in Puchong, Selangor, that went through almost 10 rounds of price reduction before it could be sold off.

To put this into perspective, every reduction usually amounts to 10 per cent off the previous price. The heaviest consequence is faced by property owners, whose dream-come-true moment of purchasing a new property ends in a nightmare.

Additionally, the number of auctions is not just high, but has surged to a new level, turning individual purchasers' nightmare into a nationwide one. I say so because property purchase is typically the biggest life decision for most people. As such, a wrong decision will definitely entail consequences severe enough to ruin one's family and even nation. Worse still, property transactions are gearing base, meaning that almost all transactions are sealed via bank borrowing by the purchaser.

Therefore, a plunge in property prices not only erodes owners' wealth, but pushes the borrower into limbo as well. If momentum builds in this direction, banks will encounter plenty of non-performing loans, jeopardising their balance sheet.

Ultimately, if we let this trend continue without any effective measures, individual purchasers, banks, and the nation will pay a costly price and may even slump into a crisis. We need to study the problem to determine the critical factors attributed to this phenomenon.

Once identified, effective measures can be rolled out to ensure the sustainability of property development nationwide. Most importantly, the harmony of the family unit can be sustained.

From my in-depth analysis of the property market over the last two decades, property prices started to gain an upward momentum in the 2010s, after almost a decade of inactive or stagnant prices.

The soaring prices became even more significant between 2014 and 2016. As a result, most developers started launching new properties with sky-high pricing. The booming economy and easy credit acquisition also contribute d to high property prices. Such an increase in property prices is in fact good for households, as it uplifts their social status.

However, property price hikes must fundamentally be economically supported. From 2015 to 2016, some property developers set prices at an extremely high level.

While they generate handsome profits, the adverse and nightmarish effects of their actions are what households and the nation are facing now — a record number of auction unit s and countless bankrupt purchasers, many of whom are still young. I noted a real case of this scenario that played out in Cyberjaya.

A few years ago, a young individual (A), in his 30s, bought a luxury apartment unit at a staggering price of RM900,000 for 775 sq ft — approximately RM1,161.29 per square foot.

This pricing rate in Cyberjaya is shocking, but what is even more alarming is that there were many more properties launched at the time with such prices.

Purchasers were still bullish in their outlook despite sky-rocketing prices. Unsurprisingly, these property purchasers' bullish stance has turned into a catastrophe, particularly in the last two years. To illustrate, A had secured a loan for RM800,000, equivalent to approximately a RM4,000 monthly loan installment.

However, the market rental price could only stretch up to RM1,500 a month for that unit. Expectedly, after three years, A was unable to serve the loan commitment. In 2020, A's unit was auctioned off at a mere RM265,000.

In conclusion, A did not just lose the apartment unit through the forced auction sale, but has also slumped into outstanding debt of around RM500,000 that will impact his life. Certainly, this case depicts only the tip of the gargantuan iceberg that is the property market. Two questions stand out in my mind.

How were developers possibly allowed to sell at outrageous prices? How did banks allow such high valuations?

Therefore, parties ranging from regulators and developers to bankers and valuers must formulate a sustainable valuation model for property values to achieve mutually beneficial and interdependent social, environmental, and economic goals.

Only a sustainable valuation model can guarantee sustainable property development and a harmonious society.

https://www.nst.com.my/opinion/columnists/2...valuation-model
I still remember some BBBUUU people that kept on pushing people to buy property at any price. Then at some point one of the busiest property forums just closed down. And since then, most of the BBBUUU people in lowyat have disappeared from the forum.
kevyeoh
post Apr 6 2021, 09:27 AM

4,721 posts

https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3031756

discuss easily since 8 years ago...still bubble or correction coming in ka?

those who bought 8 years ago feeling thankful now not listening to bubble...else if need to buy a home now...end up pay so much more...

QUOTE(ahkit123 @ Apr 4 2021, 09:36 PM)
Market correction coming in
kevyeoh
post Apr 6 2021, 09:28 AM

4,721 posts

May i know which property forum you referring to as the busiest?
thank you.

QUOTE(prody @ Apr 6 2021, 09:26 AM)
I still remember some BBBUUU people that kept on pushing people to buy property at any price. Then at some point one of the busiest property forums just closed down. And since then, most of the BBBUUU people in lowyat have disappeared from the forum.
Carnage Mk II
post Apr 6 2021, 09:29 AM

25 posts

v20..can share when is the bubble?

and when it broke?
aspartame
post Apr 6 2021, 09:37 AM

3,165 posts

QUOTE(prody @ Apr 6 2021, 09:26 AM)
The government not aware or not willing to plug the “zero entry” sales tactic loophole with cash rebates to lure unsuspecting naive young buyers causing them to be victims of greedy developers ...this is a big problem ... government should ban cash rebates in any form and stipulate minimum deposit for a property at 10% or 20% just like in subsales ...as long as policy not corrected... transfer of wealth from young owners to developers is happening

On the other hand, one can also let the situation play out itself.. when enough ppl get burnt, then they will stop on their own... everyone is responsible for their own financial health anyway...laissez faire
Syie9^_^
post Apr 6 2021, 10:01 AM

Catwoman
1,072 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ Apr 1 2021, 09:46 AM)
Bank Negara Malaysia (BNM) warns that unsold properties in the country have remained at an elevated level as at end-2020. These are mainly the serviced apartments, small office home office (SOHO) units, and houses priced above RM500,000 in less popular locations.
BNM also observed that there were adjustments to incoming supply of office and retail space as some developers deferred the completion date of their projects. However, it said the planned incoming supply of office and retail space in the Klang Valley over at least the next three years remains large, equivalent to 23% and 58% of the existing stock, respectively.

https://www.theedgemarkets.com/article/numb...l-very-high-bnm
Defer date will not reduce supply either. It is inevitable for price fall even it comes to availability.

Syie9^_^
post Apr 6 2021, 10:02 AM

Catwoman
1,072 posts

QUOTE(aspartame @ Apr 6 2021, 11:07 AM)
The government not aware or not willing to plug the “zero entry” sales tactic loophole with cash rebates to lure unsuspecting naive young buyers causing them to be victims of greedy developers ...this is a big problem ... government should ban cash rebates in any form and stipulate minimum deposit for a property at 10% or 20% just like in subsales ...as long as policy not corrected... transfer of wealth from young owners to developers is happening

On the other hand, one can also let the situation play out itself.. when enough ppl get burnt, then they will stop on their own... everyone is responsible for their own financial health anyway...laissez faire
Should have done NZ way, LVR capped 40% before one can apply for house loan
aspartame
post Apr 6 2021, 10:12 AM

3,165 posts

QUOTE(Syie9^_^ @ Apr 6 2021, 10:02 AM)
Should have done NZ way, LVR capped 40% before one can apply for house loan
Follow Singapore good enough. Max loan 90%.
Syie9^_^
post Apr 6 2021, 10:42 AM

Catwoman
1,072 posts

QUOTE(aspartame @ Apr 6 2021, 11:42 AM)
Follow Singapore good enough. Max loan 90%.
Singapore position. Not feasible for Malaysia situation.

Singapore is controlled by their URA. And their land ownership is 95% govt to 5% private.

While Malaysia is rever, 5% govt, roughly 75% private. in urban area.

Hence to change the game, it never favours the govt.

On loan issue, they should cap it at lower to deter fallout if asset price "correction"
TSicemanfx
post Apr 6 2021, 10:49 AM

21,459 posts

QUOTE(kevyeoh @ Apr 6 2021, 09:27 AM)
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3031756

discuss easily since 8 years ago...still bubble or correction coming in ka?

those who bought 8 years ago feeling thankful now not listening to bubble...else if need to buy a home now...end up pay so much more...
QUOTE(Carnage Mk II @ Apr 6 2021, 09:29 AM)
v20..can share when is the bubble?

and when it broke?
Those live in coconut shell, their world is the coconut shell.

Zoo Howl
post Apr 6 2021, 11:04 AM

White Fang
1,822 posts

QUOTE(aspartame @ Apr 6 2021, 09:37 AM)

I think its great that developer offer this kind of rebate that can be converted to downpayment

Imagine young buyers with 2k-3k salary, how much can they save a month? With so low salary, things are getting pricier, some just manage to save rm200-400 per month

While the property price is getting expensive, downpayment usually are 5 figures somewhere between 30k (assuming)

If u are saving RM200-400 per month, u will need to work till ur ass off just to get enough money to pay downpayment! By that time u are already old, MRTA will be more expensive. Dont forget all these while the RM200-400 savings are for downpayment, how about those legal fee / SPA fee and etc? Those could come up to 5 figures as well

Hence, developer offering certain fees for free + cash rebate is a great move , else it would takes 10-20 years to own a house...
aspartame
post Apr 6 2021, 11:09 AM

3,165 posts

QUOTE(Zoo Howl @ Apr 6 2021, 11:04 AM)
I think its great that developer offer this kind of rebate that can be converted to downpayment

Imagine young buyers with 2k-3k salary, how much can they save a month? With so low salary, things are getting pricier, some just manage to save rm200-400 per month

While the property price is getting expensive, downpayment usually are 5 figures somewhere between 30k (assuming)

If u are saving RM200-400 per month, u will need to work till ur ass off just to get enough money to pay downpayment! By that time u are already old, MRTA will be more expensive. Dont forget all these while the RM200-400 savings are for downpayment, how about those legal fee / SPA fee and etc? Those could come up to 5 figures as well

Hence, developer offering certain fees for free + cash rebate is a great move , else it would takes 10-20 years to own a house...
You do know that because of the easy entry, developers are selling at much higher price and rip you off cause they know you cannot afford the downpayment of 10% to buy cheaper units from subsale...

It’s like those who buy electronics with installments...

Ppl like you are the best to con
TSicemanfx
post Apr 6 2021, 11:16 AM

21,459 posts

Young buyer could save up and start with affordable unit, could trade up with rising income later.

If one couldn't save enough will likely stretched to make loan repayment.

TSicemanfx
post Apr 6 2021, 11:25 AM

21,459 posts

Singapore’s government is warning home buyers to think carefully about purchasing properties as interest rates increase in tandem with those in the U.S., potentially boosting debt servicing costs.

“The risk of rising interest rates is a reminder that everyone should continue to exercise caution in their property purchase decisions,” Monetary Authority of Singapore Chairman and Senior Minister Tharman Shanmugaratnam said. He was speaking in response to a parliamentary question on Monday on the impact of rapidly rising U.S. long-term rates on the city-state.

https://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/202...-interest-rates

writing is on the wall.

blek
post Apr 6 2021, 12:09 PM

721 posts

Yeah, developer so good sell you markup price and give you rebate, the rebate goes back into developer pocket.

If you earning 2-3k and only manage to save 400/month means you are not ready to own a property, not ready to start family. Rent a room and stay alone.

badkid
post Apr 6 2021, 12:25 PM

256 posts

If property bubble thread in Ly until v20 ady,,,, maciam no property bubble saja ini .. owaii
Zoo Howl
post Apr 6 2021, 12:40 PM

White Fang
1,822 posts

QUOTE(aspartame @ Apr 6 2021, 11:09 AM)
You do know that because of the easy entry, developers are selling at much higher price and rip you off cause they know you cannot afford the downpayment of 10% to buy cheaper units from subsale...

It’s like those who buy electronics with installments...

Ppl like you are the best to con
No choice, i wont touch subsales as well because i am superstition and purchasing such expensive asset will need to be new, purely new

QUOTE(icemanfx @ Apr 6 2021, 11:16 AM)
Young buyer could save up and start with affordable unit, could trade up with rising income later.

If one couldn't save enough will likely stretched to make loan repayment.
Well... it will takes time as my peers around my age already / on their way getting the first home before 30. Its like a milestone in life when u bought a first home before 30

QUOTE(blek @ Apr 6 2021, 12:09 PM)
Yeah, developer so good sell you markup price and give you rebate, the rebate goes back into developer pocket.

If you earning 2-3k and only manage to save 400/month means you are not ready to own a property, not ready to start family. Rent a room and stay alone.
Malaysia salary always stagnant at a certain point... i also wish saving more than 400/month but it will takes time before i could afford the 10% downpayment.
Darkripper
post Apr 6 2021, 12:41 PM

What do you expect?
1,258 posts

When gonna pop sia?
TSicemanfx
post Apr 6 2021, 12:48 PM

21,459 posts

QUOTE(Zoo Howl @ Apr 6 2021, 12:40 PM)
No choice, i wont touch subsales as well because i am superstition and purchasing such expensive asset will need to be new, purely new
Well... it will takes time as my peers around my age already / on their way getting the first home before 30. Its like a milestone in life when u bought a first home before 30
Malaysia salary always stagnant at a certain point... i also wish saving more than 400/month but it will takes time before i could afford the 10% downpayment.
It is peers pressure and unnecessary to buy before 30.

Buying subsale and staying in older poorperly is widely acceptable in developed countries e.g Europe.
prody
post Apr 6 2021, 05:29 PM

Dance while the record spins
1,548 posts

QUOTE(kevyeoh @ Apr 6 2021, 09:28 AM)
May i know which property forum you referring to as the busiest?
thank you.
Can't remember the name. If you were around, looking for property, around 2010 you would have been there.

229 Pages « < 171 172 173 174 175 > » Top

0.0196sec    1.16    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 06:20 PM