Proud new owner of the VGN SZ75GN/B
maximum amount of ram (4GB) added in for a good measure.
Club VAIO
Club VAIO
Mar 25 2008, 03:59 PM
512 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Proud new owner of the VGN SZ75GN/B
maximum amount of ram (4GB) added in for a good measure. |
Mar 25 2008, 10:37 PM
2,158 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Why Am I Here?? Status: --- |
Mar 26 2008, 12:11 AM
1,580 posts Joined: Aug 2006 |
is it advisable to get the sony vaio micro pc?
its small n portable n it can run vista.. but its aint cheap.. |
Mar 26 2008, 12:46 AM
21 posts Joined: Oct 2005 From: KL, Malaysia |
i'm hesitating on buying the Sony VAIO VGN-CR35G, but i've heard many negative comments about it..do you guys who own C-series face any problems with your lappie?
plz reply. thank you. |
Mar 26 2008, 11:13 AM
1,050 posts Joined: Nov 2007 |
QUOTE(dynamitee @ Mar 26 2008, 12:46 AM) i'm hesitating on buying the Sony VAIO VGN-CR35G, but i've heard many negative comments about it..do you guys who own C-series face any problems with your lappie? I just bought one last week. I use it several hours a day for surfing, coding, watching DVDs and playing games. So far I haven't faced any problems. plz reply. thank you. Mind telling me what negative comments you've heard about it? So that I can be ready if something breaks. |
Mar 26 2008, 12:05 PM
58 posts Joined: Jan 2005 |
last day i went to Lowyat intended to buy CR-35 (indigo blue), that shop give me (VOS + 2 year Shop Warranty) FOC.... total RM4488...
but at the end... that shop don have any extra stock for me, need to order lo... hope you all can get best deal la! good luck! |
Mar 26 2008, 12:11 PM
1,592 posts Joined: Jul 2005 From: Poland |
hehe seem alot getting their vaio
and thread starter seem dead Added on March 26, 2008, 12:15 pm QUOTE(dynamitee @ Mar 26 2008, 12:46 AM) i'm hesitating on buying the Sony VAIO VGN-CR35G, but i've heard many negative comments about it..do you guys who own C-series face any problems with your lappie? negative comment? i dont own a cr, but c series.plz reply. thank you. so far i dont have any problem with the lappie. the flaws in cr is the battery holder. never forget to lock the battery read more at notebookforum, review done by Jerry: http://www.notebookreview.com/default.asp?newsID=3807 This post has been edited by Miyabi: Mar 26 2008, 12:15 PM |
Mar 26 2008, 03:17 PM
47 posts Joined: Nov 2006 |
QUOTE(nic_chm @ Mar 25 2008, 02:23 AM) Nope, I didn't do anything about the volume and AV Mode. I dun think there's anything at the control panel tat can set it to "sometimes can function sometimes cannot"... it's Vaio CR's problem lo I think.. |
Mar 26 2008, 03:18 PM
6 posts Joined: Feb 2006 |
Hey guys, I was looking at the SZ7 series. The 2 models looks nice to own 1
But then it seems a little expensive compared to the XPS M1330, so I was wondering whether is there any Sony VAIO laptops that has long battery life that suits a student? Cause im thinking of getting one Thanks in advance |
Mar 26 2008, 03:20 PM
QUOTE(tanjq @ Mar 26 2008, 04:48 PM) Hey guys, I was looking at the SZ7 series. The 2 models looks nice to own 1 I know CR series battery can last up to 4 hours... and FZ series can only last up to 2.5 hours..But then it seems a little expensive compared to the XPS M1330, so I was wondering whether is there any Sony VAIO laptops that has long battery life that suits a student? Cause im thinking of getting one Thanks in advance |
Mar 26 2008, 03:22 PM
CR series battery can last for 4 hrs ar? Cause at Notebookreview.com they said that it lasted for only an hour or so. The FZ series also a little too big for me
Mar 26 2008, 03:36 PM
4 posts Joined: Jul 2007 |
I am here to ask is it the new SZ series users have a specific application on middle top of the windows, which allow to easily turn on and turn off wireless, bluetooth, network Lan and modem?
Mar 26 2008, 03:43 PM
QUOTE(tanjq @ Mar 26 2008, 04:52 PM) CR series battery can last for 4 hrs ar? Cause at Notebookreview.com they said that it lasted for only an hour or so. The FZ series also a little too big for me It's stated in CR's specs tat it can last up to 4 hrs.. For me, I seldom use the batt.. only once in a while.. when a full batt u just keep it and dun use.. sure will hv some energy lost ma.. then last nite I used it, it left 2 hrs +. So it definitely can last for more than an hour. CR is the only cheapest 14.1" among all the vaio series. Good specs also. |
Mar 26 2008, 03:57 PM
Ok thanks angeltoh, thanks for replying so fast
Also for some reason I cant add any of the SZ7 laptop to my cart on the sonystyle website. But the CR series, TZ series and others can be added. So how you guys buy your Vaio's? Online or goto a Sony shop? The 1 year limited warranty worries me too, I prefer to have a Dell that has 3 year warranty as compared to 1 year. Anyone knows how to extend the warranty? Thanks in advance |
Mar 26 2008, 03:58 PM
1,593 posts Joined: Aug 2007 |
QUOTE(tokyo_d @ Mar 26 2008, 04:36 PM) I am here to ask is it the new SZ series users have a specific application on middle top of the windows, which allow to easily turn on and turn off wireless, bluetooth, network Lan and modem? Yes, as far as i am concern, Since SZ 55, 56, 58 till now SZ 75, 79, there is one specific application on middle top of the window which enable you to turn on and off the wireless, Bluetooth, network LAN and Modem. QUOTE(AngelToh @ Mar 26 2008, 04:43 PM) It's stated in CR's specs tat it can last up to 4 hrs.. For me, I seldom use the batt.. only once in a while.. when a full batt u just keep it and dun use.. sure will hv some energy lost ma.. then last nite I used it, it left 2 hrs +. So it definitely can last for more than an hour. For CR series, battery can last the most for 2 hours or less. CR is the only cheapest 14.1" among all the vaio series. Good specs also. For students, CR series would be perfect. The latest CR35 is using T8100 penryn processor inwhich the gap between the processor just 45nm compared to previous series which is still using the Santa Rosa Processor ( 65nm ). Previous CR23 doesn't comes with any other graphic card ( Just standard Intel Graphic ), now CR35 comes with ATI graphic card. I had compared CR35 and SZ79 which is using nVidia, both Graphic memory are the same value. But the price differs alot . CR35 RM4488, SZ79 RM7988. Yeap, if were to compared between weight and Battery life, CR cannot beat SZ since SZ is meant for portable used. But do remember, there is one switchable button in SZ inwhich you can switch from Stamina to Speed from time to time. In Stamina Mode, the laptop itself will used the built in Intel Graphoc card and the brightness will become lower. Performance will not be 100% . In Speed Mode, the laptop itself will used nVidia Geforce Graphic card which enhance the colours and brightness oso will turn to Max. Performance 100% . |
Mar 26 2008, 04:02 PM
2,768 posts Joined: Oct 2006 |
anyone got battery wiggle problem for CR35G?
Mar 26 2008, 04:08 PM
1,593 posts Joined: Aug 2007 |
QUOTE(tanjq @ Mar 26 2008, 04:57 PM) The 1 year limited warranty worries me too, I prefer to have a Dell that has 3 year warranty as compared to 1 year. Anyone knows how to extend the warranty? Bro, Thanks in advance No need to worry about the warranty given. The one year warranty is comes together with the laptop itself. There is one card inside the box stated that, if you register the product serial number and everything through online, you can definitely get another 3 more months warranty. That means all together 15 months warranty. Other than that, Sony provides a very good after sales service. The service is something like this. Sometimes, Problems that might occured when you are using your laptop, mostly infected by virus or just the setting problems. In this case, you can actualyl feel free to back to Sony style direct store to seek for help. And one thing, all the service provided is TOTALLY FREE ! ( not applied on hardware services ) For instance, Reformating, creating recovery discs, upgrade or downgrade. In this case, Warranty will not be an issue anymore. If you wish to extend warranty to maximum 3 years, if not mistaken, you need to pay another additional RM430. But i can tell you, warranty useless as long as the after sales service which is lifetime is concern. Added on March 26, 2008, 4:43 pm QUOTE(MalevolentJustin @ Mar 9 2008, 04:01 AM) erm hi... For your information, i have manage to downgrade my FE45G/W from vista to XP. all programs and driver runs fine. but after installing all Sony drivers and applications, i cant seem to use the S1 and S2 buttons. anyone have any idea what should i do to enable the buttons? thanks in advance. This is what i get when im trying to download CR35 downgrade drivers. For ATI Graphics Models a. Instant Mode can not be used. b. AV Mode button can not be used. Intel Graphics Models: a. Instant Mode can not be used. b. AV Mode button can not be used. c. Fn+F5/F6(Brightness Control function can not be used) Atheros Wireless LAN models a. Wireless LAN Switch utility can not control Atheros wireless LAN device. I think the same thing apply on your model too. ( Corect me if im wrong ) Thanks. This post has been edited by Perfect-Stranger: Mar 26 2008, 04:43 PM |
Mar 26 2008, 09:28 PM
366 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Look ! BehinD yOu ! |
QUOTE(AngelToh @ Mar 26 2008, 03:17 PM) Nope, I didn't do anything about the volume and AV Mode. I dun think there's anything at the control panel tat can set it to "sometimes can function sometimes cannot"... it's Vaio CR's problem lo I think.. Sorry for not being helpful, i just realize the buttons was not for the volume =( is the other programable button. |
Mar 26 2008, 10:05 PM
21 posts Joined: Oct 2005 From: KL, Malaysia |
QUOTE(Amaru @ Mar 26 2008, 11:13 AM) I just bought one last week. I use it several hours a day for surfing, coding, watching DVDs and playing games. So far I haven't faced any problems. well, i've heard many said that sony notebooks are not stable, coz their profession is not mainly on laptops..n about their battery heating problems..n well, my friend's friend bought it n after using two months, it had to be sent back for repair for two months..Mind telling me what negative comments you've heard about it? So that I can be ready if something breaks. i'm a college student, will mostly use designing programs n i really can't afford this to happen..but i love the design and the clear screen..n bsides, i still don't get it y sony notebooks aren't stable.. |
Mar 26 2008, 10:10 PM
2,158 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Why Am I Here?? Status: --- |
QUOTE(dynamitee @ Mar 26 2008, 10:05 PM) well, i've heard many said that sony notebooks are not stable, coz their profession is not mainly on laptops..n about their battery heating problems..n well, my friend's friend bought it n after using two months, it had to be sent back for repair for two months.. VAIO is one of the high end laptop maker, premium product, premium quality.. i'm a college student, will mostly use designing programs n i really can't afford this to happen..but i love the design and the clear screen..n bsides, i still don't get it y sony notebooks aren't stable.. |
| Change to: | 0.0293sec
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 04:10 PM |