Club VAIO

TSezinger
post Feb 13 2007, 05:40 PM, updated 18y ago

butter cookies
1,536 posts

As we all know VAIO needs no introduction. Why VAIO stands out than the rest? Simple.
. Material & design
. Mobility
. Unlimited entertainment
. Innovation
. Simplicity

VAIO Support Resource
. http://www.css.ap.sony.com/vaio/

VAIO GoForce Driver for Vista
. http://www.css.ap.sony.com/VAIO/Website/Ge...01422002-UN.exe

Club VAIO Members
. AR Series
gnsumas 28GP

. C Series
blaxez C13G
squrce C25G
EmperorMeng C13G
Miyabi C22G
ronnie C13G
splinter C25G
deed C15G
jooitc C13G
juanita C25G
kajika C260E
purpleapple C25G

. FE Series
ezinger 38GP
alucard31 38GP
jamezco 38GP
wingcross 35GP
eliyazar 45G
sukun 45G

. FZ Series
ssaturn FZ17G

. SZ Series
Twin_Sparx 38GP
ezinger 48GP
deathbringer 48GP
alkt 43GP
G-Izzat 43GN
Craven 48GP
Chartry 430N
nomisk SZ453
manutd6389 433N
^aMnESiA^ SZ43, SZ483

. TX Series
ozak 17GP/B
tunagoesmoo 57/B
^aMnESiA^ 57

. Previous Series
KeV - PCG-U1
Ninja - PCG-F36
hangy2k - VGN-S48GP
hakim_radzuan - FJ78GP
alvintan84 - PCG-V505GP
Austin - T27
mini_me - VGN-Y70P
obiwankedah - PCG-R505CT, PCG-FXA10 (AMD!), Picturebook PCG-C1VM, PCG-GT3, PCG-K74, VGN-T350P

**on a side note, im still gathering resource for this like.no.other thread so bare with me while i plenish this thread with vaio resources for your needs [:**

This post has been edited by ezinger: Sep 2 2007, 04:45 AM
KeV
post Feb 13 2007, 07:56 PM

www.kampar.net
6,758 posts

im a sony vaio pcg-u1 user though biggrin.gif
alucard31
post Feb 13 2007, 08:00 PM

284 posts

SONY VAIO FE 38GP user here rclxm9.gif
Ninja
post Feb 13 2007, 08:49 PM

[PBMY]™ Supreme Commander
1,764 posts

I'm using VAIO PCG-F36. smile.gif Love it very much from the day I bought it.
hangy2k
post Feb 13 2007, 10:02 PM

2,158 posts

VAIO VGN-S48GP user here... smile.gif
TSezinger
post Feb 13 2007, 10:26 PM

butter cookies
1,536 posts

im the figuring how to categorise out our member's list ;o

anyway if any of you has some useful info about vaio, post them up and i will add it to the first post [:

anyway i have to drive home from my in-laws now. be back later
botak91
post Feb 14 2007, 12:31 AM

132 posts

wat r de advantages of Vaio's over other notebooks... adding to the fact that Vaio's r more expensive compared to other brands...
TSezinger
post Feb 14 2007, 01:49 AM

butter cookies
1,536 posts

QUOTE(botak91 @ Feb 14 2007, 12:31 AM)
wat r de advantages of Vaio's over other notebooks... adding to the fact that Vaio's r more expensive compared to other brands...
you made your own point sweat.gif
Twin_Sparx
post Feb 15 2007, 11:02 AM

127 posts

SZ38GP newbie here. Questions:

1) Is it recommended to create backup DVDs?
2) WinDVD has region lock and will not allow region change after a few uses. Any recommendations for this!?
3) As this is my first SONY lappie, is transferring pictures from my T50 camera a matter of plugging in the memory stick duo; or do I need to install drivers etc. Same with my W800 phone... can I just plug in the MS Duo?
4) As the battery is Li-Ion, I have the impression that there are no memory effects(?). Do I need to fully charge and discharge for the first few times?
TSezinger
post Feb 15 2007, 02:24 PM

butter cookies
1,536 posts

QUOTE(Twin_Sparx @ Feb 15 2007, 11:02 AM)
SZ38GP newbie here. Questions:

1) Is it recommended to create backup DVDs?
2) WinDVD has region lock and will not allow region change after a few uses. Any recommendations for this!?
3) As this is my first SONY lappie, is transferring pictures from my T50 camera a matter of plugging in the memory stick duo; or do I need to install drivers etc. Same with my W800 phone... can I just plug in the MS Duo?
4) As the battery is Li-Ion, I have the impression that there are no memory effects(?). Do I need to fully charge and discharge for the first few times?
1. theres a hidden partition for restoring your vaio, if u dont mess with that partition then i dont think u need to make backup DVD's
2. use windows media player or vaio zone [:
3. just shuve your ms duo to the mspd slot in your vaio [:
4. no u dont need to discharge, infact a full discharge may reduce the battery life span
Twin_Sparx
post Feb 15 2007, 02:52 PM

127 posts

QUOTE(ezinger @ Feb 15 2007, 02:24 PM)
1. theres a hidden partition for restoring your vaio, if u dont mess with that partition then i dont think u need to make backup DVD's
2. use windows media player or vaio zone [:
3. just shuve your ms duo to the mspd slot in your vaio [:
4. no u dont need to discharge, infact a full discharge may reduce the battery life span
Hi ezinger,
THANKS!!! thumbup.gif

1) Regarding the hidden partition, what happens if Windows doesnt even boot. How to restore then? My previous lappie, a Compaq crashed twice and lucky for the restore CD, I managed to get it up and running again. vmad.gif
2) Oh... windows media player can play dvd liao arr? doh.gif
3) COOL
4) COOL!!!

TSezinger
post Feb 15 2007, 03:44 PM

butter cookies
1,536 posts

QUOTE(Twin_Sparx @ Feb 15 2007, 02:52 PM)
Hi ezinger,
THANKS!!!  thumbup.gif

1) Regarding the hidden partition, what happens if Windows doesnt even boot. How to restore then? My previous lappie, a Compaq crashed twice and lucky for the restore CD, I managed to get it up and running again.  vmad.gif
2) Oh... windows media player can play dvd liao arr?  doh.gif
3) COOL
4) COOL!!!
if your vaio fails to boot then your in trouble =P

so i think you better create back up DVD's with the VAIO recovery tool. so you can boot from the DVD if your system doesnt boot
jamezco
post Feb 16 2007, 12:51 PM

WoooooooooooooT!
1,078 posts

SONY VAIO FE 38GP user here .... biggrin.gif

why is the old thread closed ?

btw i got a problem wit the lappie ... does sony have clicking problem? I am using the VAIO mouse and i realised that the mouse is seriously laggy... same when i use the mouse pad ...

normally when i double click a program on my toshiba, the program automatically opens ... but as for this VAIO ... it will juz highlight the icon and wont open .... then have to click a few times ... this is quite frustrating ... anybody is having this problem?

i've tried changing the mouse setting, but doesnt make a diffrence .. its already on fast....
TSezinger
post Feb 17 2007, 02:39 PM

butter cookies
1,536 posts

QUOTE(jamezco @ Feb 16 2007, 12:51 PM)
SONY VAIO FE 38GP user here .... biggrin.gif

why is the old thread closed ?

btw i got a problem wit the lappie ... does sony have clicking problem? I am using the VAIO mouse and i realised that the mouse is seriously laggy... same when i use the mouse pad ...

normally when i double click a program on my toshiba, the program automatically opens ... but as for this VAIO ... it will juz highlight the icon and wont open .... then have to click a few times ... this is quite frustrating ... anybody is having this problem?

i've tried changing the mouse setting, but doesnt make a diffrence .. its already on fast....
because the newer thread is better and different from the older thread [:

are you talking about the sony mouse or the touch pad?
Twin_Sparx
post Feb 17 2007, 03:34 PM

127 posts

I finally got around today to play with my SZ38. Spent the whole morning updating softwares etc. I SERIOUSLY hate Norton Antivirus... too messy with so much updates to go through.

I'm facing a problem now. Most if not all of my applications (Sonicstage and gracenote, Windows Media Player, Adobe etc) all fails to connect to the internet for registration etc... whereas, here I am surfing on IE. Whats going on?! The error is internet connection could not be found but I'm online and can surf using IE.

Hope someone can help. Is it something to do with my antivirus? Cause Sonicstage says Failed to open socket... what the hell does that mean!?
MacDaNife
post Feb 18 2007, 09:13 AM

Adrenalina Italiana
1,737 posts

I've upgraded my Vaio to Vista Home Premium and have restored most of the functionality of the Sony-specific apps.

Would still like to get hold of the Sony Vista Upgrade DVD though....

If you have it - I'd be grateful for a pm....
TSezinger
post Feb 18 2007, 06:25 PM

butter cookies
1,536 posts

QUOTE(Twin_Sparx @ Feb 17 2007, 03:34 PM)
I finally got around today to play with my SZ38. Spent the whole morning updating softwares etc. I SERIOUSLY hate Norton Antivirus... too messy with so much updates to go through.

I'm facing a problem now. Most if not all of my applications (Sonicstage and gracenote, Windows Media Player, Adobe etc) all fails to connect to the internet for registration etc... whereas, here I am surfing on IE. Whats going on?! The error is internet connection could not be found but I'm online and can surf using IE.

Hope someone can help. Is it something to do with my antivirus? Cause Sonicstage says Failed to open socket... what the hell does that mean!?
its because norton internet security is restricting internet access from those applicatoins. my suggestion is that you uninstalled norton because its such a piece of crap and install kaspersky, f-secure or nod32. works far better than norton.

QUOTE(MacDaNife @ Feb 18 2007, 09:13 AM)
I've upgraded my Vaio to Vista Home Premium and have restored most of the functionality of the Sony-specific apps.

Would still like to get hold of the Sony Vista Upgrade DVD though....

If you have it - I'd be grateful for a pm....
how did u upgrade your vaio without the dvd?

ipsoft isnt sending out any vaio upgrade dvd until end of this month of mid of march.
Twin_Sparx
post Feb 18 2007, 07:01 PM

127 posts

Hey thanks ezinger!! I knew Norton was the culprit. ANyway, after a reboot and installing some (well, alot!) of updates, its all running smoothly now. Thanks for the suggestions for the antivirus. How does those compare to a free one like say AVG?
MacDaNife
post Feb 18 2007, 10:48 PM

Adrenalina Italiana
1,737 posts

I upgraded by buying a Vista Home Premium OEM disc at LowYat.

And installed the available Vista updates over at the Sony Vaio support website with some help from the notebookreviews forums.
TSezinger
post Feb 19 2007, 01:28 AM

butter cookies
1,536 posts

QUOTE(Twin_Sparx @ Feb 18 2007, 07:01 PM)
Hey thanks ezinger!! I knew Norton was the culprit. ANyway, after a reboot and installing some (well, alot!) of updates, its all running smoothly now. Thanks for the suggestions for the antivirus. How does those compare to a free one like say AVG?
well google it [: here's one for ya : http://anti-virus-software-review.toptenreviews.com/
i havent tried bit defender so i dare not say its the ultimate anti-virus software but i might give it a try someday.

QUOTE(MacDaNife @ Feb 18 2007, 10:48 PM)
I upgraded by buying a Vista Home Premium OEM disc at LowYat.

And installed the available Vista updates over at the Sony Vaio support website with some help from the notebookreviews forums.
oh ok. there is still missing drivers right? i was at one utama this evening and saw sz48 on display. so i click on the computer and notice the processor and ram information wasnt shown and there were no rating. wtf?

122 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0251sec    0.26    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 05:34 AM