Cycling, Any cyclist here??

littlebeettle
post Feb 25 2012, 06:24 PM

1,099 posts

Hey guys..

I am in the mid of coming up a forum dedicated for cyclist.

What do you guys think?

I have the skeleton already.
Would you guys want a more focus forum to talk about purely cycling stuff?

Your feedback is very much appreciated.
Not forgotten your suggestion or inputs.

ahmeduk88
post Feb 25 2012, 06:41 PM

162 posts

Talk about cycling culture. no matter what your ride is. no matter if its a cheap tesco bike. no matter how skillful you are. no matter how fast you can go. as long as one appreciates the most efficient machine ever invented by man: the bicycle
mrjgx
post Feb 25 2012, 07:11 PM

59 posts

what do you guys think about conti 4000s tire? does it available in KL market and how much? thx smile.gif
ryan3721
post Feb 25 2012, 08:08 PM

120 posts

QUOTE(Sky.Live @ Feb 25 2012, 04:23 PM)
But I won't bring a folding mountain bike into mountain for abused for sure.. maybe it could but... just won;t

btw.. maxxis detonator cost how much roughly? I check back continental cost near to RM200 (my current one using same brand not sure bout model)

backache and arms tired after the biking session.. not my leg.. weird
Not sure about detonator but I saw this on facebook selling CONTINENTAL GRAND PRIX 4000S 700X23C / 23-622
RM180

Link

Evanscycles selling for USD45.45 each,
if order 1 delivery = USD 12.63.
If order 2, delivery = free
So if order 1 set convert back to MYR is USD90.89 = RM 274 (RM137 each)

Not promote anything, just sharing what i found so its up to you thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by ryan3721: Feb 25 2012, 08:20 PM
butthead
post Feb 25 2012, 10:36 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(Sky.Live @ Feb 25 2012, 01:51 PM)
1499 retail price.. check the marathonshop, they have 10% discount now

Btw done my ride today.. suppose to be 95km ride.. but only became 93km because my tire burst... zzz
any recommendation for tires? what's the price range like? zzz cycling memang expensive pun

for those who are interested to see the ride
Hulu Langat - Pongsoon - Perez - Titi - Back via kampung cina
Another girl did bukit hantu it's the same distance.. just more uphills.. I am the worst cyclist there.. zzz
you can try the Michelin's if you don't mind the price...think rodalink has some but not sure which model... tyre choices are quite limited here.. it is either, maxxis, conti, panaracer which is the usual suspect...

i would take the conti ultra sport personally.. i like those and they are fairly cheap compared to gp4000's but heavier and not as smooth rolling...

or like mr.jgx.. conti gp4000's...

QUOTE(malleus @ Feb 25 2012, 02:06 PM)
I'm gonna toss out my Maxis Detonators. 2 punctures today... ergh...
maybe you and maxxis tak ngam... keep detonating on you...

QUOTE(Sky.Live @ Feb 25 2012, 04:23 PM)
But I won't bring a folding mountain bike into mountain for abused for sure.. maybe it could but... just won;t

btw.. maxxis detonator cost how much roughly? I check back continental cost near to RM200 (my current one using same brand not sure bout model)

backache and arms tired after the biking session.. not my leg.. weird
detonators you have to see if you are getting fold-able or the normal wired ones... foldable is RM85- RM100 depending on who you buy from...

QUOTE(mrjgx @ Feb 25 2012, 07:11 PM)
what do you guys think about conti 4000s tire? does it available in KL market and how much? thx smile.gif
around RM150 i think... the shop you bought your bike from carries them... i saw it before along with panaracers...

Added on February 25, 2012, 10:40 pm
QUOTE(littlebeettle @ Feb 25 2012, 06:24 PM)
Hey guys..

I am in the mid of coming up a forum dedicated for cyclist.

What do you guys think?

I have the skeleton already.
Would you guys want a more focus forum to talk about purely cycling stuff?

Your feedback is very much appreciated.
Not forgotten your suggestion or inputs.
is there a necessity to have a totally separate forum for cycling...not sure if there is going to be that much activity for a forum solely dedicated to cycling...

This post has been edited by butthead: Feb 25 2012, 10:40 PM
mrjgx
post Feb 25 2012, 10:48 PM

59 posts

Rm150? Within budget...cant wait to max out my current tires and buy a new set of tires..i hate the white color of my vittoria rubino sidewall..i want them to be all black! However it seems that my current tires get a lot of good reviews for its durability and cheap price (less than gbp15).

Or should i stay with vittoria and upgrade to rubino pro? Anyone know the price?

Added on February 25, 2012, 10:59 pmOwh btw anyone of you going for this event? Got a chance to cycle around the city smile.gif and it's free rclxms.gif

http://ftday2012funride.blogspot.com/?v=0

This post has been edited by mrjgx: Feb 25 2012, 10:59 PM
butthead
post Feb 25 2012, 10:59 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(mrjgx @ Feb 25 2012, 10:48 PM)
Rm150? Within budget...cant wait to max out my current tires and buy a new set of tires..i hate the white color of my vittoria rubino sidewall..i want them to be all black! However it seems that my current tires get a lot of good reviews for its durability and cheap price (less than gbp15).

Or should i stay with vittoria and upgrade to rubino pro? Anyone know the price?
i think it is around RM150... can't confirm if it is that price.. furthermore.. it will take a long time to run out a pair of tyres... unless you lock the rear up every now and then.. then, that is just giving yourself an excuse to change ...

hard to get vittoria's in KL or you would have seen a lot of corsa evo cx around already...

if money is no issue.. you can aim for anything with 320tpi thread count.. it should offer a more smoother ride compared to most entry level 120tpi ones...
mrjgx
post Feb 26 2012, 01:43 PM

59 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Feb 25 2012, 10:59 PM)
i think it is around RM150... can't confirm if it is that price.. furthermore.. it will take a long time to run out a pair of tyres... unless you lock the rear up every now and then.. then, that is just giving yourself an excuse to change ...

hard to get vittoria's in KL or you would have seen a lot of corsa evo cx around already...

if money is no issue.. you can aim for anything with 320tpi thread count.. it should offer a more smoother ride compared to most entry level 120tpi ones...
Thx butthead. Smoother ride and lower rolling resistance at a cost to the durability am i right?

Btw how much is garmin edge 500 here in malaysia and is it recommendable over is big brothers? I read reviews and seems that the mapping route can be exported to my mapmyride apps (my only exercise logging apps as it is free).

The reason is mapping a route using my iphone can really bring its battery to red and i didnt want to resort in bringing two mobile phones for my cycling activities.

ryan3721
post Feb 26 2012, 02:01 PM

120 posts

Dare to wear this? brows.gif
butthead
post Feb 26 2012, 02:39 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(mrjgx @ Feb 26 2012, 01:43 PM)
Thx butthead. Smoother ride and lower rolling resistance at a cost to the durability am i right?

Btw how much is garmin edge 500 here in malaysia and is it recommendable over is big brothers? I read reviews and seems that the mapping route can be exported to my mapmyride apps (my only exercise logging apps as it is free).

The reason is mapping a route using my iphone can really bring its battery to red and i didnt want to resort in bringing two mobile phones for my cycling activities.
more or less... i think the durability with the GP4000 won't be too bad since there are quite a lot of people using it without complaints....

edge 500 for the head unit itself is around RM750 i think.. but if you bundle it with the cardio strap and cadence sensor.. i think it comes to around RM950 to 1k...

the big difference between 500 and 800 is the navigation portion, if you don't need navigation then go with the 500 since it is a couple hundred bucks cheaper... other than that, 500 also lacks color screen... display fields are configurable on both...

i was considering the edge models as well before.. until i came to realize that their battery runs flat quite fast which is a no go for me... i won't like to be charging it every couple of rides and i don't have much use for GPS tracking...

didn't really like the cadence speed sensor as well.. i think the design looks like a merida one i owned before which koyaks very fast especially in rain...

QUOTE(ryan3721 @ Feb 26 2012, 02:01 PM)

Dare to wear this?  brows.gif
not a chance in hell...
jacklsw86
post Feb 26 2012, 03:00 PM

LYN spirit
1,662 posts

wah! macam captain america

kindredd
post Feb 26 2012, 03:43 PM

14 posts

I want the captain America jersey....as it is my family have taken to calling me ultra man when I wear my cycling outfit haha....

I'd like to join the ft day ride if I am free that day...sounds like a fun event.
joonming
post Feb 26 2012, 05:07 PM

JM
540 posts

QUOTE(mrjgx @ Feb 26 2012, 01:43 PM)

Get a portable battery charger for iphone
Sky.Live
post Feb 26 2012, 05:31 PM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

spiderman for me.. anytime better haha
happymeal80
post Feb 26 2012, 07:06 PM

173 posts

hi, need some help here im newbie to bicycle... currently I'm looking for a LED Light for my bike to ride at night time... any good recommendation here ??? need it urgently.. thanks in advance
Sky.Live
post Feb 26 2012, 07:12 PM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

I just bought the tire.. plus tube.. plus hand pump.. plus saddle bag..
tire maxxis detanator.. cheapest tire in the whole shop? RM75
Saddle Bag.. not sure which brand.. RM50
Kenda Butyl Tube RM15
Hand pump RM55..
ryan3721
post Feb 26 2012, 08:37 PM

120 posts

QUOTE(Sky.Live @ Feb 26 2012, 07:12 PM)
I just bought the tire.. plus tube.. plus hand pump.. plus saddle bag..
tire maxxis detanator.. cheapest tire in the whole shop? RM75
Saddle Bag.. not sure which brand.. RM50
Kenda Butyl Tube RM15
Hand pump RM55..
so fully equipped already... can travel long distance wink.gif

how about tyre lever and patch kit?
Sky.Live
post Feb 26 2012, 08:51 PM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

QUOTE(ryan3721 @ Feb 26 2012, 08:37 PM)
so fully equipped already... can travel long distance wink.gif

how about tyre lever and patch kit?
patch kit? what's that lever got it already earlier

gonna learn how to install a new tire by myself..

This post has been edited by Sky.Live: Feb 26 2012, 08:52 PM
kindredd
post Feb 26 2012, 09:10 PM

14 posts

Quick weekend ride report. Happy time, managed to take in 3 rides over the last two days. Got my new MTB over the week and rode it out Saturday morning. Had an easy ride then ended up in green bike shop in Sri petaling to do a bike check.

That afternoon, did a series of climbs on my roadie with a buddy leaving from PJ to penchala. The hills around kiara and SCC were plenty tough.

Finally, joined the bike hash Sunday morning. Fun ride into oil plantations a bit muddy and grimy but lots of fun. More climbing done.... But fun descents all the way.

How was your weekend guys?
yuanyi
post Feb 26 2012, 10:09 PM

30 posts

Hey guys,u all shud check this, Cheap cheap tyre
Saw this, selling conTi 4000 for 155?
Don't know why but Everything this guy sell is cheap... 20-40% cheaper than kl. But the bad thing its located in kelantan. But I think he offers delivery services.

This post has been edited by yuanyi: Feb 26 2012, 10:11 PM

126 Pages « < 123 124 125 126 >Top

0.0302sec    0.40    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 10:29 PM