Cycling, Any cyclist here??

ahmeduk88
post Nov 14 2011, 02:50 PM

162 posts

hi guys. noob here.

first thing first. i commute by bike to my uni. its been 4 years since i started to commute. its been fun (the reason i cycle mostly) and it removes the hassle in finding a carpark. UiTM shah alam provides nice hills to climb. I ride a GTA entry level bike. has shocks, v-brakes, pretty normal and basic.

well, i really love to ride like danny macaskill and commute in such extremes. but i can only bunnyhop and i dun have other friends who are into biking. its hard to learn on my own. haha! i think im the only student that commutes by bike to Uni. well, i just wanna know how many people commute by bike? just wanna hope that im not alone in commuting. (i think i should stop buat cerita sedih nie. haha)

well, saja saja mau cerita je. haha...
thanks for reading guys
ahmeduk88
post Dec 28 2011, 02:26 PM

162 posts

QUOTE(Double_Ace @ Dec 27 2011, 01:56 PM)
Hi there, thanks for replying. So minimum to spend on this sport to start is rm 4k? rclxub.gif  Ya i don't think i be upgrading the bike bcs of budget.. No most of the ppl we know don't believe in outdoor activities. The rather spend the money on those fancy gyms... Would like to know can join cycling group? Bcs i sometimes see group of boys & girls cycling around with their own uniforms are these groups of are they just friends??? Any bro or sis here part of any cycling group???
QUOTE(Eokboy @ Dec 27 2011, 02:56 PM)
My Giant OCR3 was RM1800 and it is a thoroughly enjoyable bike. I rode 5000km on it last year and raced it too against people with RM10000+ bikes. I think there is nothing wrong with most entry-level Shimano Sora equipped bikes.

Also don't forget helmet, bib/jersey, shoes, clipless pedal etc...

If you know any clubs nearby, you MUST join one. Group rides are much more fun than riding alone.
Well being honest. To enjoy biking is not to have the most expensive bike or the fastest bike. Its about enjoying the most efficient machine in the world. I only ride a sub500 GTA mountain bike that is swapped with road tires. I ride it to work everyday. Its not a long commute, about 10km perday but i also ride in the rain. And i enjoy it everyday. My schedule hasnt allowed me to participate in any races or jamborees. my bike isnt fast. its not light. but i enjoy every moment when i am on it. and in Shah Alam, i think im the only commuter. And i am sure im having fun for every turn of the peddle. just my two cents.

Just ride with what we have, you'll get stronger. And once u saved up for that bike you dream for, u'll be super fast!!!

This post has been edited by ahmeduk88: Dec 28 2011, 02:32 PM
ahmeduk88
post Dec 28 2011, 03:24 PM

162 posts

This is my commuter setup.
been riding this bad boy for 1.5 years after my steel 90s raleigh got stolen. Its way faster compared to when it was on knobby tyres. Does well in the rain (very important) but right now im looking for fenders... any good suggestion guys?

just a question, how many people commute here in Malaysia? And how far usually?
ahmeduk88
post Dec 28 2011, 04:05 PM

162 posts

QUOTE(noprob @ Dec 28 2011, 03:43 PM)
any mtb wheel are interchangeable ?
QUOTE(malleus @ Dec 28 2011, 03:48 PM)
tires, not the wheels, if that's what you mean.

I use 1.5' slicks for road, and 2.2' knobby for off road. just make sure that they're both the same diameter size.
basically, i use 1.5 slicks. easily changeable to to knobby 2.2s. no alteration on the rims needed. tp if 29ers i dunno if ada road slicks.

Added on December 28, 2011, 4:08 pm
QUOTE(Sky.Live @ Dec 28 2011, 03:53 PM)
I wanted to use bike to commute to work occasionally too, it starts at Kajang Silk High way turn into Lekas and ends at Pajam Toll, if I do that everyday I would be a strong cycling in no time haha..

But thinking of cycling 40x2km everyday makes me sick
that sounds like a mighty commute man. Try slowly first. And never give up. 4 years back, my daily commute is a mammoth. i was unfit and my commute is uphill all the way. now its a breeze. the more you cycle, the faster you will get. and the more bang for buck u will have for your bike. now i dont drive if im going around shah alam. i only drive if ime balik kampung. you'll have a good feeling too. save money + environment.

make sure ur office has a locker or somewhere u can dry urself. so u can be comfy. i wish you good luck!

This post has been edited by ahmeduk88: Dec 28 2011, 04:08 PM
ahmeduk88
post Dec 28 2011, 04:26 PM

162 posts

mtb type??? i'm sorry. can u explain?
ahmeduk88
post Dec 28 2011, 05:32 PM

162 posts

QUOTE(Eokboy @ Dec 28 2011, 05:15 PM)
Have you tried a road bike though? In the narrowed sense of riding on the road, there is a big difference between an MTB and a road bike, but not as much difference between a RM2000 road bike and a RM4000 road bike. I was talking about the law of diminishing returns you usually see when buying expensive high end stuff.
yes i have. cant forget the feeling. i love it. a lot. the posture, looks freakishly awesome and the speed you can get from it is astronomical. but i cant afford it. the best i can have is an alloy mtb, costs a lil less than rm500, weighs a tonne but that gets me to work, rain or shine and allows me to get my groceries. I think in a way, i get more bang per buck. im not trying to be rude or anything. but if someone wants to start cycling (and stick to it) its best to start from the ground. get a bike that is decent. start to love the sport and the machine. I envy those who can afford to ride very expensive bianchis but only ride it on weekends. If only i can afford it. but i cant......yet. unfortunately. So for now, i will stick to my low end, murah bike and give it the love it deserves.

Added on December 28, 2011, 5:34 pm
QUOTE(hianboy @ Dec 28 2011, 05:06 PM)
i was on MTB as well after that change to slick... then bought a road bike coz got special offer and the main reason is... my only bike kaki is roadie...

Added on December 28, 2011, 5:11 pmma bike b4 became hybrid...

then with 1.5 slick and SPD...changed some UNO stuff & teflon cabling...
that loooks sick!!! do u have a meter??? how fast can u go??? tongue.gif

This post has been edited by ahmeduk88: Dec 28 2011, 05:34 PM
ahmeduk88
post Dec 28 2011, 08:27 PM

162 posts

QUOTE(hianboy @ Dec 28 2011, 05:52 PM)
arh...meter got... er...never try to achieve fastest speed but over 60kmh i think ...when going down the steep at Carrefour wangsa maju...
hohoho. on a bike, that feels lightspeed!!!
ahmeduk88
post Feb 24 2012, 11:30 PM

162 posts

Any freeriders here??? I wanna make my commute funner!
ahmeduk88
post Feb 25 2012, 02:26 PM

162 posts

i use maxxis detonators as well. but they run fine. i use it for my commute to work. just one puncture in 4 months.
ahmeduk88
post Feb 25 2012, 04:00 PM

162 posts

No matter what bike you ride, ride as you want it smile.gif and that folding bike looks handsome!

This post has been edited by ahmeduk88: Feb 25 2012, 04:01 PM
ahmeduk88
post Feb 25 2012, 05:47 PM

162 posts

i bought mine for 90ringgit a piece. is way faster now compared to the stock tyres. mine is red

ahmeduk88
post Feb 25 2012, 06:01 PM

162 posts

konon2 tayar berapi laa... wanted a bit of colour. black ones are sick too!
ahmeduk88
post Feb 25 2012, 06:41 PM

162 posts

Talk about cycling culture. no matter what your ride is. no matter if its a cheap tesco bike. no matter how skillful you are. no matter how fast you can go. as long as one appreciates the most efficient machine ever invented by man: the bicycle

0.0597sec    0.56    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 06:20 PM