126 Pages « < 102 103 104 105 106 > » Bottom

Cycling, Any cyclist here??

malleus
post Feb 10 2012, 12:19 PM

2,096 posts

QUOTE(samlee860407 @ Feb 10 2012, 11:46 AM)
hm...well, i bought the bike with my fren yesterday, so both of us own the same thing, haha. whereas, at my hometown, i dont have other friend riding yet, maybe shud find back the seller to let me test his...haha

maybe i shud take a pictar too of my saddle and post here...hmmm
Come to think about it, pain after 1 minute is very fast. Normally should only feel it after 20 - 30 minutes

vin_ann
post Feb 10 2012, 12:20 PM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(dinraxxx @ Feb 10 2012, 05:06 AM)
true true.You're the specialist.I wanna recommend him 6k carbon bike with 105.At least happier than most forumer using with Sora or Tiagra biggrin.gif
bro, there's Colnago Ace 6.5K full carbon bike available with 105 spec.

hehe... i'm almost get it, but still get Alui bike as my 1st bike...

As for Giant, the main dealer is located at Alor Seter / Penang side.

while Giant bikes that we see in KL, all are authorised dealers...

I'm lucky I got my Giant TCR SL3 limited edition bike smile.gif
henleong
post Feb 10 2012, 12:28 PM

QUOTE(vin_ann @ Feb 10 2012, 12:20 PM)
I'm lucky I got my Giant TCR SL3 limited edition bike smile.gif
How much u got for TCR SL3?
Where u buy it from?

This post has been edited by henleong: Feb 10 2012, 12:38 PM
mrjgx
post Feb 10 2012, 01:56 PM

59 posts

I was looking for colnago too before but ended up with merida..merida is quite good i think, but i wanna try riding my friend's pinarello tomorrow and see if it would have any significant difference...although he did mentioned my bike is much more comfier (like a new car compare to old car) compare to his bike tongue.gif

bought 2 jerseys yesterday...sky pro cycling..cycling hobby/interests is more expensive than golf perhaps? huhu im not sure myself.

anyway you guys don't post your bike here in this thread? it would be a a healthy porn stuffs and not forgetting poisonous too..come2 let's post some pix smile.gif
hianboy
post Feb 10 2012, 01:57 PM

364 posts

le butthead... this weekend got ride? tmr i might free to ride as well...

Added on February 10, 2012, 2:01 pm
QUOTE(mrjgx @ Feb 10 2012, 01:56 PM)
I was looking for colnago too before but ended up with merida..merida is quite good i think, but i wanna try riding my friend's pinarello tomorrow and see if it would have any significant difference...although he did mentioned my bike is much more comfier (like a new car compare to old car) compare to his bike tongue.gif

bought 2 jerseys yesterday...sky pro cycling..cycling hobby/interests is more expensive than golf perhaps? huhu im not sure myself.

anyway you guys don't post your bike here in this thread? it would be a a healthy porn stuffs and not forgetting poisonous too..come2 let's post some pix smile.gif
hehe...i'd contributed some porn b4... those who just bought their bike... more porn pls~

This will be always my best porn ever... wish to own it so much...

i know le butthead gonna cucuk me again for posting 2011 Astana RM01 again and again... whistling.gif

This post has been edited by hianboy: Feb 10 2012, 02:01 PM
butthead
post Feb 10 2012, 02:54 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(Sky.Live @ Feb 10 2012, 11:25 AM)
I always wish that my saddle is a little behind... and when I use the drop bar, I realise I am not getting really low... like those racer would do... I am starting to be able to use the drop bar now although gear shift still a little far reach from my finger..
you can always set your saddle further back with the rails...

as for the lever reach.. for ST-5700 models.. there is reach adjustment availability, means that you can set your lever closer to the drop bar for easier reach... you might have to release your calipers a bit as it means pulling your brakes a bit...

but as far as i understand... OEM shifters do not come provided with the reach adjustment wedge...

you might have to source it online or through shimano dealers...
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Shimano-Ultegra-...=item3f113353b6]Shimano 105 Lever Adjusting Block

an excerpt from shimano 105 page for the shifter.
"fit can be customized through a series of shims creating reach adjustment. Two sizes of shims reduce reach by 5mm or 10mm for maximum comfort and control."

QUOTE(samlee860407 @ Feb 10 2012, 11:46 AM)
hm...well, i bought the bike with my fren yesterday, so both of us own the same thing, haha. whereas, at my hometown, i dont have other friend riding yet, maybe shud find back the seller to let me test his...haha

maybe i shud take a pictar too of my saddle and post here...hmmm
best if you can test and compare between yours and other people's one.. so you don't spend money into where it might not help..

QUOTE(mrjgx @ Feb 10 2012, 01:56 PM)

danger starts once you ride other people's bike... gives you things to think about...

i trust golf is still more expensive than cycling... cycling is a one time investment thing if you don't gatal... golf... gatal or not, minimally you still have to buy balls.. and they don't come cheap when you want to get balls that can travel further and shit...

QUOTE(hianboy @ Feb 10 2012, 01:57 PM)
i know le butthead gonna cucuk me again for posting 2011 Astana RM01 again and again... whistling.gif
wat for i cucuk u??? i am just gonna ask u go cucuk urself only...

at least post something with a pro riding it long and hard la... like that only can sell the damn bike ma... makes us feel more like a manly man riding a manly machine...

andreas kloden in the 2007 LTDFuser posted image

This post has been edited by butthead: Feb 10 2012, 03:02 PM
malleus
post Feb 10 2012, 05:30 PM

2,096 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Feb 10 2012, 09:26 AM)
radioshack team replica with Aeolus 5... should cost nicely above 20
w00t!

minizian
post Feb 10 2012, 05:39 PM

1,074 posts

Did my first ride, got into mega crash.........most of of body is full of bandages and part of my face too... My helmet is written off for sure. Thankfully i am wearing a cycling glasses too as upper frame were srtached...... The bike should be okay. Maybe the front wheel is abit off alinged as in leaning toward on side of the brake.. Ouch....

What i remember is i was on downhill then the steerer satrted to wobble like crazy as the speed incresed. Shild i hit the brake when i going down hill? Most probably i will revert to non clipless pedel (horse leg strap for time being)

This post has been edited by minizian: Feb 10 2012, 05:41 PM
hianboy
post Feb 10 2012, 05:56 PM

364 posts

O_o

wow... u ok not?
malleus
post Feb 10 2012, 05:59 PM

2,096 posts

ouch man.. no concussions I hope?

better get your bike back to the shop to get it checked out too

I brake when going downhills only when I'm going too fast to be comfortable with, but make sure only to apply them gently. I get the wobble problem only when I hit the rear brakes too hard and the rear tire lock up

minizian
post Feb 10 2012, 06:00 PM

1,074 posts

QUOTE(hianboy @ Feb 10 2012, 05:56 PM)
O_o

wow... u ok not?
Should be, my ankle is abit painful tho when walking around naked. I really must thank the helmet for saving me & some local cyclist who help me to get on feet and walk back home (quite near my hse) Had a bad concusion based on how the helmet give way Cant remb much thing at that time too and i would not want to think too cry.gif

Luckly i never wore team cofidis jersy or else it will be wated as the one i wore at that time ripped off with blodstand in it..

Added on February 10, 2012, 6:02 pm
QUOTE(malleus @ Feb 10 2012, 05:59 PM)
ouch man.. no concussions I hope?

better get your bike back to the shop to get it checked out too

I brake when going downhills only when I'm going too fast to be comfortable with, but make sure only to apply them gently. I get the wobble problem only when I hit the rear brakes too hard and the rear tire lock up
Wobble because of what? I am not in drop down possition as far i remember. my hand is on top of the shifeter hood.

This post has been edited by minizian: Feb 10 2012, 06:02 PM
butthead
post Feb 10 2012, 06:03 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(minizian @ Feb 10 2012, 05:39 PM)
Did my first ride, got into mega crash.........most of of body is full of bandages and part of my face too... My helmet is written off for sure. Thankfully i am wearing a cycling glasses too as upper frame were srtached...... The bike should be okay. Maybe the front wheel is abit off alinged as in leaning toward on side of the brake.. Ouch....

What i remember is i was on downhill then the steerer satrted to wobble like crazy as the speed incresed. Shild i hit the brake when i going down hill? Most probably i will revert to non clipless pedel (horse leg strap for time being)
hope you are OK...

that is why i always advise newbies not to speed down slopes... very dangerous as larger wheel diameter is harder to control...

what you encountered is a speed wobble... and to cure it (you won't believe me) ... it is very counter intuitive as your logic tells you to grab onto the handlebars tighter and brake immediately as it happens... but in actual fact you have to slightly loosen the grip of the handlebar a bit and not fight it and let the action tame down and reduce speed slowly as immediate sudden speed reduction aggravates the situation...

the ultra compact frames of today is also a factor in increasing the chances of encountering one as the bike is much more agile...

an external view of a speed wobble happening to another rider

this dude got balls... an onboard view of it happening

speed wobbles happens as speed increases ... as bicycle steering is quite self centering... once the wheel hits a rough patch of road or a crack.. the wheel tends to steer in that direction and when it comes out of it.. it wants to center itself... then forces will start to fling your steering all over the place... trying to grip and fight the steering will only give it more energy to counter steer...

this is why most superbikes have a damper on their bars to prevent high speed wobbles... much more deadlier on a super bike if it happens.. can fling the entire bike out of control and the rider off the bike...

This post has been edited by butthead: Feb 10 2012, 06:08 PM
minizian
post Feb 10 2012, 06:10 PM

1,074 posts

Butthead,

I am shaken but still alive here writing here, kinda suck cause my face is scarred and have cuts on my upper lips. that mean no good food for me for the next few days. half my face is pull of patches. Its hard to move around too with those bandgades all over me.

The 2nd video is more of like what happend to me. Just that i hold my hand onto gripping it harder. should have hold the rear brake as i came down hill.

Before that i had mini crash too as i too panic when doing some practice run and i cant unclip my pedal. Should have not ride or else this wont happend. But again if i don do now sooner or later i will crash too.

I guessed next time i would find empty parking lot and put on shoulder pad and knee pad while riding to get use to the system.

Being stuck to flat land prior to this I never tot this kind of thing will happend to me rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by minizian: Feb 10 2012, 06:12 PM
butthead
post Feb 10 2012, 06:19 PM

593 posts

good to hear that you have no broken bones... scarring i guess is the least of worries at this point...

best to never attempt anything fast when you are trying to get used to clipless pedals... less painful when you are traveling slowly...

i mean even people like me still have troubles getting unclip in panic situations like a sudden stop or avoiding an object... we only manage to cure our forgot to unclip when stopping problems as we don't practice falls everyday...

just last year... i has a lapse of concentration for a couple of seconds... didn't notice the bike veered right and i crash right into a big drain clipped still onto the bike... 1 moment i was looking at the road, 1 blink and i saw road curb, drain and then sky... happened in split seconds..

nothing prepares us for this situation.... most important is to know your limit...

like i keep having to tell a particular dummy here to slow down every single time on a descent once i notice he goes too fast...
minizian
post Feb 10 2012, 06:21 PM

1,074 posts

Oh well now i learned the lesson the HARD way... Gotta stone for few weeks first before i bring back the bike to check for damanges especilly the front carbon fork. rclxub.gif I cant imagine could have get worse....

Added on February 10, 2012, 6:24 pmDo you think my ultra light weight is part of the problem?

This post has been edited by minizian: Feb 10 2012, 06:28 PM
butthead
post Feb 10 2012, 06:31 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(minizian @ Feb 10 2012, 06:10 PM)
The 2nd video is more of like what happend to me. Just that i hold my hand onto gripping it harder. should have hold the rear brake as i came down hill.
actually even the first video was a very terrible speed wobble... i suspect the rider tried to fight the handlebar at that point.. and as you fight it, your torso becomes a stiff link to transfer the resonance from the front half of the steerer tube to the rear half of it (which is the frame) and cause the whole bike to get fling-ed around... anyway, that is just my half bucket water physics analysis of the situation...

the 2nd video is the gutsy video taker letting his handlebar resonate along... but the bike was still quite centered at that point... he knew exactly wat was going to happen despite risks that still exists...

i myself had a couple of scary high speed wobbles at above 70kph descending from genting sempah via karak highway... those bridge gaps are shit scary at speed and if you hit them incorrectly... sends the bike veering off the road...

just keep off high speed descents for the time being... if you decide to try daredevil stuff... do it progressively and on road you are familliar...

having knowledge on roads is an advantage as most technical descents if you go into remote areas have blind corners.. that means you don't know if there are oncoming traffic after a turn...

just a slight slip of the wheel and you will be road kill...

Added on February 10, 2012, 6:39 pm
QUOTE(minizian @ Feb 10 2012, 06:21 PM)
Oh well now i learned the lesson the HARD way... Gotta stone for few weeks first before i bring back the bike to check for damanges especilly the front carbon fork. rclxub.gif I cant imagine could have get worse....

Added on February 10, 2012, 6:24 pmDo you think my ultra light weight is part of the problem?
yup.. check the front fork for cracks or any carbon parts in fact, just in case...

i guess weight doesn't play too big a role in this sort of situations... in fact, your weight might become a liability once it starts happening...

the major factor is having a steering that is too light... so light that small forces can start to deflect it and the chain of events starts as forces from the road, rider and natural tendency of the steering to center itself starts to push the steering from side to side..

here is a nice article from bikeradar on ways to counter speed wobbles... as i am sure this won't be your last time encountering it....
http://www.bikeradar.com/road/fitness/arti...d-wobble-14776/

here is a nice non-related almost crash... a small bump caused the bike to jump up and unsettle alberto.. he manage to catch it in time.. back in the days before he got his cerebral oedema with the once team...

This post has been edited by butthead: Feb 10 2012, 06:39 PM
hianboy
post Feb 10 2012, 06:41 PM

364 posts

as le butthead always mentioned ride manly like a man...

riding with scare on face much more manly... proven by le butthead

Added on February 10, 2012, 6:46 pmwow...le butthead...

my bike also wobble like that when i hands off going downhill and i was though the road problem... but me no balls like him smack the headset la... i just hands off and wobble then scared my pants off then i never did it again on the same place...

This post has been edited by hianboy: Feb 10 2012, 06:46 PM
kindredd
post Feb 10 2012, 06:48 PM

14 posts

Sorry to here about your troubles minizian. Makes me think I need to take more precautions when i bike as well, especially now that I am on clips. slow down, slow down..

Just to share my own silly/idiotic crash story...happened the very first time 1 was on a road bike. Oh, around 23yrs ago haha. My mate was the first in my kampung to buy a racing bike. in those days we only had raleighs and some bmx. He was so proud to show it off that the day he got it back to his house all of us very gatal to try it. So when it was my turn, i took it for a spin and pedaled like a madman around the padang. Somehow, I ended up going to fast and could not stop as I was approaching a corner. I tried to pull in the brakes it did not work! If you remember the old style brake lever, you need to pull UP not IN. So I crashed the bike into a tree and flew into a longkang.

You should have seen my friend's face, pucat and white. first day got new bike kena crash already haha. Somehow he still friend me until today.

This post has been edited by kindredd: Feb 10 2012, 06:49 PM
hianboy
post Feb 10 2012, 06:50 PM

364 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Feb 10 2012, 06:19 PM)
good to hear that you have no broken bones... scarring i guess is the least of worries at this point...

best to never attempt anything fast when you are trying to get used to clipless pedals... less painful when you are traveling slowly...

i mean even people like me still have troubles getting unclip in panic situations like a sudden stop or avoiding an object... we only manage to cure our forgot to unclip when stopping problems as we don't practice falls everyday...

just last year... i has a lapse of concentration for a couple of seconds... didn't notice the bike veered right and i crash right into a big drain clipped still onto the bike... 1 moment i was looking at the road, 1 blink and i saw road curb, drain and then sky... happened in split seconds..

nothing prepares us for this situation.... most important is to know your limit...

like i keep having to tell a particular dummy here to slow down every single time on a descent once i notice he goes too fast...
im da only dummy here~ doh.gif

Added on February 10, 2012, 6:53 pm
QUOTE(butthead @ Feb 10 2012, 06:19 PM)
oh damn i didnt read properly missed out the "particular" ... i should stay silent then.. sorry... my fault...

This post has been edited by hianboy: Feb 10 2012, 06:56 PM
butthead
post Feb 10 2012, 06:54 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(hianboy @ Feb 10 2012, 06:41 PM)
as le butthead always mentioned ride manly like a man...

riding with scare on face much more manly... proven by le butthead

Added on February 10, 2012, 6:46 pmwow...le butthead...

my bike also wobble like that when i hands off going downhill
wat cog u tokin...dun teach evil things...

"hands off"... siapa ajar punya downhill technique???

QUOTE(kindredd @ Feb 10 2012, 06:48 PM)
You should have seen my friend's face, pucat and white. first day got new bike kena crash already haha. Somehow he still friend me until today.
that is wat u call a friend... wat is a friend if a bike can come in between both of your friendship rite...

Added on February 10, 2012, 6:58 pm
QUOTE(hianboy @ Feb 10 2012, 06:50 PM)
im da only dummy here~  doh.gif
eh dummy... tmr i can ride.. but i got many house chores to do.. once finish riding... u kena cabut balik rumah...

This post has been edited by butthead: Feb 10 2012, 06:58 PM

126 Pages « < 102 103 104 105 106 > » Top

0.0369sec    0.41    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 03:11 AM