126 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

Collectibles The Ultimate Comics Thread, Not Manga, sorry...

eric.tangps
post May 22 2007, 09:52 PM

640 posts

Latest Purchase :-

1. X-Factor : Longest Night
2. Wraithborn

Anyone from Penang ?
LightningZERO
post May 22 2007, 10:31 PM

The Golden Knight
1,696 posts

I am from penang ^^
screech
post May 25 2007, 06:19 PM

398 posts

Just finished Dabel Brothers' excellent adaptation of George RR Martin's The Hedge Knight.

The adaptation of the text is very true to the original and almost nothing is missed. The art is good, but it could've been much better. It's too much like most of the superhero comic books, I wanted something more fantasy-esque. The story obviously wasn't the problem anyway, since it was already great in novella form.

It's GRRM but in a comic book format.
eric.tangps
post May 25 2007, 09:44 PM

640 posts

Maybe there would be a Anita Blake fan commenting on the comic ?

aw13
post May 25 2007, 10:52 PM

Forgive and Forget, Living in the Past is Time Consuming
3,111 posts

hi all,

new to all this, as in just found out that this thread exists! rclxms.gif

anyway, used to be a hardcore comics collector in my heydays, now reduced to occasional buyer/collector, mainly from places like Kino, etc. used to have Punisher, X-Men, Batman, and even have the revamp versions of X-Men under McFarlane. I think I bought about 10 issues before finally calling it a day, and I think I still have them stashed somewhere!

main point here is that I just had my hands on the Civil War TPB, and wow! blown away! really intense, not a load of cosmic mumbo-jumbo that needs re-reading every now and then (case-in-point: Earth X, Universe X, etc + Infinite Crisis) and am looking forward to the next one to be out in TPB, namely the current Capt A series.

hope to see loads of informative posts out here in this thread, and keep it alive, ppl!
eric.tangps
post May 26 2007, 08:16 AM

640 posts

main point here is that I just had my hands on the Civil War TPB, and wow! blown away! really intense, not a load of cosmic mumbo-jumbo that needs re-reading every now and then (case-in-point: Earth X, Universe X, etc + Infinite Crisis) and am looking forward to the next one to be out in TPB, namely the current Capt A series.

[/quote]

Capt. A - is it the series where Capt America dead?

BTW Anyone collecting 52 and Countdown weekly comic?

madstone
post May 26 2007, 08:21 AM

BUY 1st REGRET LATER
3,042 posts

I think wanna for Civil Wars Hard Covers
donpapachino
post May 26 2007, 08:30 AM

project 138 completed
5,006 posts

i have a few comics below, and probably somemore. most of them are from my early 90's schooling days.

NO NAME PUBLISHER
1 Archer & Armstrong #17 Valiant
2 Bloodshot #1 Valiant
3 Bloodshot #8 Valiant
4 Bloodshot #11 Valiant
5 Cyber Force #1 Image
6 Deathmate Blue Valiant
7 Deathmate Epilogue Valiant
8 Deathmate Prologue (2) Valiant
9 Deathmate Yellow Valiant
10 Eternal Warrior #16 Valiant
11 Eternal Warrior Yearbook #1 Valiant
12 Harbinger #23 Valiant
13 Harbinger #24 Valiant
14 Harbinger #25 (2) Valiant
15 Magnus Robot Fighter #25 Valiant
16 Moon Knight #50 (2) Marvel
17 Ninjak #1 (2) Valiant
18 Pitt #2 Image
19 Secret Weapons #1 Valiant
20 Secret Weapons #2 Valiant
21 Shadowhawk II #2 Image
22 Spawn #13 Image
23 Stryfe's Strike File #1 Marvel
24 The Legacy of Superman #1 DC
25 The Second Life of Doctor Mirage #1 Valiant
26 The Second Life of Doctor Mirage #2 Valiant
27 The Second Life of Doctor Mirage #3 Valiant
28 The Uncanny X-Men #300 Marvel
29 The Warlock Chronicles #1 Marvel
30 Turok Dinasour Hunter #1 (2) Valiant
31 Turok Dinasour Hunter #2 (2) Valiant
32 Turok Dinasour Hunter #3 (2) Valiant
33 Turok Dinasour Hunter #4 Valiant
34 Turok Dinasour Hunter #5 Valiant
35 Turok Dinasour Hunter #6 Valiant
36 Turok Dinasour Hunter #7 Valiant
37 Turok Dinasour Hunter #8 Valiant
38 Turok Dinasour Hunter #9 Valiant
39 Turok Dinasour Hunter #10 Valiant
40 Valiant Vision Starter Kit Valiant
41 X-Factor #92 Valiant
42 X-O Manowar #0 (2) Valiant
43 X-O Manowar #25 Valiant
44 Youngblood #0 Image

now i was wondering, how to check whats their worth? and how & where to sell them? icon_question.gif

all of them are in very good condition, with seals (not airtight) and a hard cover placed behind the comic itself. biggrin.gif
eric.tangps
post May 26 2007, 10:04 PM

640 posts

You are collecting the early comics mostly from Valiant.

It was a huge interest at one time then fizzles out as fast as the Image bru-haha in the early days.

Maybe the Deathmate would be saleable.

donpapachino
post May 27 2007, 04:28 AM

project 138 completed
5,006 posts

QUOTE(eric.tangps @ May 26 2007, 10:04 PM)
You are collecting the early comics mostly from Valiant.

It was a huge interest at one time then fizzles out as fast as the Image bru-haha in the early days.

Maybe the Deathmate would be saleable.
any ideas where to sell 'em? any website etc? biggrin.gif
eric.tangps
post May 27 2007, 08:57 AM

640 posts

Can try e-bay, not sure there is a lot of Malaysians looking.

Hard to see Comics in Malaysia. LOL. I got mine for sale, interested?? Vampirella, Darkness, Witchblade, etc.

Maybe we need to form a Comic 4 sale thread. LOL
aw13
post May 27 2007, 05:33 PM

3,111 posts

QUOTE(eric.tangps @ May 26 2007, 08:16 AM)
Capt. A - is it the series where Capt America dead?
yep! but the TPB may be out only next year, as the series is still running...i think!
screech
post May 27 2007, 07:03 PM

398 posts

QUOTE(aw13 @ May 27 2007, 05:33 PM)
yep!  but the TPB may be out only next year, as the series is still running...i think!
If you havent already picked up any of Brubaker's run, you might be interested in the omnibus that Marvel is releasing in September.

Captain America By Ed Brubaker Omnibus Volume 1 HC (Hardcover)

by Ed Brubaker (Author), Steve Epting (Author), Mike Perkins (Author), Michael Lark (Author), Marcos Martin (Author), Lee Weeks (Author)

Collecting Eisner Award-nominated Best Writer Ed Brubaker's first 25 landmark issues of Captain America in one titanic tome, plus the Captain America 65th Anniversary Special and Winter Soldier: Winter Kills one-shots! This deluxe hardcover, fat-packed with extras, features the story that stunned readers worldwide and sent shockwaves through the entire Marvel Universe: the death of Captain America! Also including the return of Cap's wartime partner, Bucky Barnes, as the Winter Soldier; the death and life of his greatest enemy, the Red Skull; and the emergences of a new threat, General Aleksander Lukin, the head of one of the most powerful corporations in the world! Collecting Captain America #1-25, Captain America 65th Anniversary Special and Winter Soldier: Winter Kills.

Hardcover: 688 pages
Publisher: Marvel Comics (September 19, 2007)

Fatimus
post May 27 2007, 08:13 PM

(ノಠ益ಠ)ノ彡┻━┻
634 posts

I never fond of Marvel's superheroes comics, even though I have ghost rider and punisher. I usually buy graphic novels mostly from DC or Vertigo, like Preacher, Fable or even Kingdom Come. I also recommend Watchmen. And I can say that I am more into non-superhero type of comic. smile.gif

This post has been edited by Fatimus: May 27 2007, 08:15 PM
aw13
post May 27 2007, 10:03 PM

3,111 posts

QUOTE(screech @ May 27 2007, 07:03 PM)
If you havent already picked up any of Brubaker's run, you might be interested in the omnibus that Marvel is releasing in September.
whoa this looks expensive... cry.gif
eric.tangps
post May 28 2007, 07:26 AM

640 posts

Well that depends on your point of view.

If you try to collect all the run thru conventional comic - it gonna costs you a bomb since few of the "HOT" issue costs more. Furthermore, some of the issue you will not possible to get it.

Omnibus is kinda inexpensive and complete issues. I remember there is a Grant Morrison run on New X-Men, about 36+ issues in New X-Men Omnibus which costs around RM300+.

Cheap or expensive? Anyway you will get full series. rclxm9.gif
TSshyghost
post Jun 1 2007, 03:09 PM

113 posts

QUOTE(donpapachino @ May 26 2007, 08:30 AM)
i have a few comics below, and probably somemore. most of them are from my early 90's schooling days.
now i was wondering, how to check whats their worth? and how & where to sell them? icon_question.gif 
You can check out my first post. I've listed out a few site there and some of them do have an online market price as well... drool.gif

QUOTE(donpapachino @ May 27 2007, 04:28 AM)
any ideas where to sell 'em? any website etc? biggrin.gif
Sell it here in lowyat.net of course... You'll never know until you've tried it. If you tried it before still not successful... well... Maybe it's not time yet for you and the comics to be parted... brows.gif

QUOTE(eric.tangps @ May 27 2007, 08:57 AM)
Hard to see Comics in Malaysia. LOL. I got mine for sale, interested?? Vampirella, Darkness, Witchblade, etc.

Maybe we need to form a Comic 4 sale thread. LOL
Err... jchj kinda reminds me not to support sales thread outside the garage thread. Beside... the admins would much prefer creating those thread in there. But... I do not know what they would answer if we were to create a link here directing to the garage sales... sweat.gif

No doubt the cost is always an issue but since the ringgit is going strong now... I thinks it's time the publishers lower their cover price... thumbup.gif
avantgarde84
post Jun 5 2007, 10:50 PM

Certified LYN Spammer
1,135 posts

I just got the first 4 volumes of Stephen King's The Dark Tower. Super in love with it. I am a big fan of the Dark Tower series and it was pleasure to see it as a comic. I am actually surprised Marvel is the publisher. I really do not like superheroes comic.
madstone
post Jun 6 2007, 09:14 AM

BUY 1st REGRET LATER
3,042 posts

avantgarde84,

your username reminds me of my zine avant garde, published it in 2005 & 2006

yitjuan
post Jun 7 2007, 09:10 AM

arc reactor
688 posts

crap. i once owned avantgarde@yahoo.com , before i gave up that nickname.

i think it was from a car name in m.a.s.k biggrin.gif

just saying because he's saying too ...

do you guys get your comics from DCP ? what do you think the effect is , compared to say music piracy? they call it digital comics preservation , and i for one agree with some of the points , but after downloading comics do you still fork out money to buy the TPB?

assuming some of you actually download comics , seeing they can't be carried around and read in buses, cars, trains, toilets ...

126 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0302sec    0.65    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 11:22 PM