126 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Collectibles The Ultimate Comics Thread, Not Manga, sorry...

madstone
post May 10 2007, 12:39 AM

BUY 1st REGRET LATER
3,042 posts

QUOTE(alvinsim_cy @ May 9 2007, 10:16 PM)
does doraemon count? tongue.gif
PLEASE READ THE FIRST POST wink.gif tongue.gif smile.gif

Fyonne
post May 10 2007, 09:37 AM

904 posts

Im kinda part timer to the reader.

well, i had read few of them, Kingdom Come, Gauntlet of Infinite, Earth X, Universe X (i miss out some volume), Dark Knight Return, Batman: No Mans Land (2 volume only), Battle Chaser (quit it since it failed to be comic as well as manga).
zio
post May 10 2007, 10:27 AM

RAWRR!
4,889 posts

Yikes Runaway HC? tongue.gif You must be a big fan.
yitjuan
post May 10 2007, 10:31 AM

arc reactor
688 posts

with good reason , i guess. Runaways IS a good comic. I was reading (pre Civil War) Runaways , New Avengers , Exiles(which is getting boring with the same old stories) , and the Young Avengers .

as compared to the sucky Astonishing X-Men , which seems to be draggy and boring. In fact, most if not all of the X titles seem to be getting worse. The worst, of course , is the rehashed Wolverine Origins series. A son? wtf doh.gif

part of the reason, being of course, Quesada's focus on TPBs and 6 book arcs. Of course, that's what brought Marvel out of bankruptcy, so you can't blame them.

EDIT: so hey, since you're all comic book readers, you must have at some point in life gotten poisoned by Heroclix ?

This post has been edited by yitjuan: May 10 2007, 10:32 AM
zio
post May 10 2007, 10:46 AM

RAWRR!
4,889 posts

I have seen it. I dint really like the character design which was why I finally opted to start VS System.

Sad to say, the game is dying although it has been the best Marvel/DC game I have played.
quiksilve
post May 10 2007, 10:52 AM

297 posts

I used to collect a lot of comics, Marvel, DC, Image, Etc.

But now stop already, like many of you since the price is so high these days.
Have lots of complete sets like spawn, spiderman, batman, superman, X-men.
Thinking of selling them to someone who really takes care of comics.

As my room is running out of space, too cramped with boxes of comics and toys. Basically my room is like a store room already sad.gif

Cheers
QS

This post has been edited by quiksilve: May 10 2007, 10:53 AM
rayfoo
post May 10 2007, 10:59 AM

2,562 posts

hmm mindshop still around?
madstone
post May 10 2007, 01:11 PM

BUY 1st REGRET LATER
3,042 posts

QUOTE(zio @ May 10 2007, 10:27 AM)
Yikes Runaway HC? tongue.gif You must be a big fan.
Actually i'm a big fan of Brian K Vaughan, Mark Millar, Brian Michael Bendis, Joss Whedon
BUT BK Vaughan is my fav right now
Y: The Last Man is my fav comic book right now
eventhough the story kinda draggy, i like it
enjoyed reading it
Plus Jack of Fables, i think it's gonna be the big one for the next few month
What about Fables?
I find it's kinda interesting coz the idea is fresh & the artwork for the cover are awesome
QUOTE(rayfoo @ May 10 2007, 10:59 AM)
hmm mindshop still around?
I think mindshop is still around in PJ SS14 Cold Storage, am i right?

nowadays i just go to Kino or Borders but sometime Popular Book at OU
sometimes i ordered HC from Amazon coz i found out that most of the cover from Kino & Amazon are totally different
for example Runaways, for TPB, at Kino, they're selling it in small TPB
but from Amazon, they're selling in normal size of TPB
so, might as well i buy it from amazon in HC for US market

From Kino; Runaways Vol 1 (TPB) & Vol 2 Hard Cover
user posted imageuser posted image

From Amazon.com; Runaways Vol 1 & Vol 2 Hard Cover
user posted imageuser posted image

This post has been edited by madstone: May 10 2007, 02:52 PM
eric.tangps
post May 11 2007, 05:43 AM

640 posts

List that I have :-

Trades

New X-Men Omnibus
Squadron Supreme
Kingdom Come
Marvel
Darkstalkers
Wraithborn

Comics

Mighty Avengers
New Avengers
Exiles
Excalibur
X-Men
Uncanny X-Men
screech
post May 11 2007, 09:22 AM

398 posts

QUOTE(madstone @ May 10 2007, 01:11 PM)
Actually i'm a big fan of Brian K Vaughan, Mark Millar, Brian Michael Bendis, Joss Whedon
BUT BK Vaughan is my fav right now
Y: The Last Man is my fav comic book right now
eventhough the story kinda draggy, i like it
enjoyed reading it
Plus Jack of Fables, i think it's gonna be the big one for the next few month
What about Fables?
Here, here. Another BKV fan reporting in. Are you reading his Ex Machina series as well?

Yet to read Jack of Fables but I love Fables. Is it as good as the core series?
madstone
post May 11 2007, 09:53 AM

BUY 1st REGRET LATER
3,042 posts

QUOTE(screech @ May 11 2007, 09:22 AM)
Here, here. Another BKV fan reporting in. Are you reading his Ex Machina series as well?
Yet to read Jack of Fables but I love Fables. Is it as good as the core series?
Ex Machina? Not yet dude, looking forward
lots of TPB & HC to buy n yet too little time, so little budget biggrin.gif

Jack of Fables i think ok la so far
Vol 1 only, not much can say abt it
hafta wait until vol 3 or 4 to decide whether can match Fables or Y: The Last Man

Any Mark Millar of The Ultimates fan here?
Have anyone of you read The Ultimates? It's awesome man!
Vol 1 HC already sold out at Kino, hafta order from Amazon.com man sweat.gif sweat.gif

This post has been edited by madstone: May 11 2007, 09:56 AM
zio
post May 11 2007, 11:49 AM

RAWRR!
4,889 posts

Heh I read The Ultimates. The Ultimate storyline is way better than the normal universe. Although I loved Civil War.

Why don't you try buying from Comics Mart in Mid Valley? They have tons of TPBs smile.gif
madstone
post May 11 2007, 02:30 PM

BUY 1st REGRET LATER
3,042 posts

QUOTE(zio @ May 11 2007, 11:49 AM)
Heh I read The Ultimates. The Ultimate storyline is way better than the normal universe. Although I loved Civil War.
Why don't you try buying from Comics Mart in Mid Valley? They have tons of TPBs smile.gif
Actually, i prefer HC, better & got lots of freebies inside like sketches, notes bla bla bla n one thing for sure, the pages is bigger than comics or TPB
BUT if i can not wait the HC, i will buy the TPB version like The New Avengers, Vol 1-4 now
BUT still like The Ultimates, i want to wait for the HC version, it's better

For Vertigo, they normally sold in TPB.

Anyone read The Pride of Baghdad by BK Vaughan?

zio
post May 11 2007, 04:29 PM

RAWRR!
4,889 posts

Yep I have it. That was a brilliant comic.

Just got my 300 HC weeeee biggrin.gif
madstone
post May 11 2007, 11:59 PM

BUY 1st REGRET LATER
3,042 posts

My next project would be Runaways Vol 2 & Vol 3 order from Amazon.com
plus Y: The Last Man Vol 9 rclxm9.gif
Lucifer_Light
post May 12 2007, 08:21 AM

74 posts

My comics:

Frank Miller
- Sin City Vol 1-6

Alan Moore
- V for Vendetta

Clive Barker
- The Thief of Always
- Weaveworld
- Tapping the Vein
- Book of the Damned

Neil Gaiman
- Black Orchid
- Lucifer
- Sandman Vol 1-75
I haven't actually read Sandman, but I 'inherited' some extras from my cousin. The extras are:
- Sandman - Love Street 1-3
- Sandman - Petrefax 1-4
- Sandman - The Corinthian
Are the extras found in the book as well?

Wolverine: The Origin
Wolvering: The End
The House of M
Star Wars

I have never bought a comic book in my life, save The Thief of Always. Most are given by my cousin from the US, some from my friend, and a few are birthday presents (Sandman).

I have tons of e-comics tho.
Neil Gaiman
- Books of Magic
- Death
- Only the End of the World Again

Clive Barker
- Ectokids
- The Life of Death
- The Harrowers
- Yattering and Jack
- Primal
- Saint Sinner
- Hellraiser

Arkanium
Batman Year 100
X-men

Have to dig for more.

TSshyghost
post May 12 2007, 11:02 AM

113 posts

Hey... Maybe if you guys got some spare time and list out your collection on the website I provided on the first post... I finished mine and after a while the site generates a price increase of 33.7% in my collection. Hehehe.... Cool!! ! drool.gif

Furthermore, you can even generate a 1st appearance of a new character in any comic book report but it is not too detail as the information comes from the members itself. cool2.gif

I understand that most of you are talking about the current storyline and I'm totally at lost with it as I'm retired from buying the new ones but still hugging as tight as I can to the old collection I have. whistling.gif

The price is not only reason I stopped purchasing comics. There was a point in time that drawing in the comics becoming too cartoonish or more manga like which I really do not like so hence the retirement. cool.gif

cyclonekid
post May 12 2007, 01:06 PM

356 posts

I started the hobby a couple of years back. Still collecting but most TPB.

My collection
Ultimate Spider-Man (Vol1-Vol16)
Superman/Batman(vol1-4)

Kingdom Come
Watchmen
Spiderman: The Other
Marvel Zombies
Earth X

House of M (I want to sell this, anyone interested PM me)
Astonishing X-men (Vol1-12) (I want to sell this also. Want to change to TPB since I the single issue. PM if interested)
Ultimate Fantastic 4 (Selling this also.)

The only problem I can see with collecting TBP it takes to long to wait.
madstone
post May 12 2007, 10:59 PM

BUY 1st REGRET LATER
3,042 posts

Actually collecting Hard cover is longer than collecting TPB biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

For me, i dun mind at all, as long as i will get nice & better comics, i'll wait for Hard Cover.

For a reminder, normally HC come out with lot of freebies inside & one thing, the page is bigger than comics & TPBs

This post has been edited by madstone: May 15 2007, 10:04 AM
yitjuan
post May 14 2007, 08:43 PM

arc reactor
688 posts

does anyone have A History of Violence ?

126 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0801sec    0.49    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 03:04 AM