Collectibles The Ultimate Comics Thread, Not Manga, sorry...
aw13
May 25 2007, 10:52 PM
Forgive and Forget, Living in the Past is Time Consuming
hi all, new to all this, as in just found out that this thread exists! anyway, used to be a hardcore comics collector in my heydays, now reduced to occasional buyer/collector, mainly from places like Kino, etc. used to have Punisher, X-Men, Batman, and even have the revamp versions of X-Men under McFarlane. I think I bought about 10 issues before finally calling it a day, and I think I still have them stashed somewhere! main point here is that I just had my hands on the Civil War TPB, and wow! blown away! really intense, not a load of cosmic mumbo-jumbo that needs re-reading every now and then (case-in-point: Earth X, Universe X, etc + Infinite Crisis) and am looking forward to the next one to be out in TPB, namely the current Capt A series. hope to see loads of informative posts out here in this thread, and keep it alive, ppl!
aw13
May 27 2007, 05:33 PM
QUOTE(eric.tangps @ May 26 2007, 08:16 AM) Capt. A - is it the series where Capt America dead? yep! but the TPB may be out only next year, as the series is still running...i think!
aw13
May 27 2007, 10:03 PM
QUOTE(screech @ May 27 2007, 07:03 PM) If you havent already picked up any of Brubaker's run, you might be interested in the omnibus that Marvel is releasing in September. whoa this looks expensive...
aw13
Nov 15 2007, 12:06 AM
WTA
the Death of CA. Omnibus/TPB sudah keluar ke?
aw13
Nov 15 2007, 04:30 PM
QUOTE(eric.tangps @ Nov 15 2007, 06:14 AM) Capt America Omnibus is out the last I check. Since it is around RM300-00, dont think the shops will carry a lot of them. Happy hunting. Care to elaborate which shops? thanks mate!
aw13
Nov 16 2007, 12:11 AM
QUOTE(thewayiam @ Nov 15 2007, 10:44 PM) ahh...icic...wei...u like a comics sifu ah...akkakaa.. i think the cap america omnibus is worth it...it includes the dude's death right? imho, the new x-men omnibus....starting at 114...it would make me feel kinda lost yea, wanted to know if this Omnibus includes the Death series? Cos from the reviews, looks like not included lah...thanks mate!
aw13
Nov 19 2007, 01:06 AM
QUOTE(eric.tangps @ Nov 16 2007, 11:22 PM) Captain America is killed on # 25. So he should be dead on that issue. Alas, it is not the death that would be interesting but rather what is the follow-up on the issue without Steve Rogers. thanks mate, saw the omnibus @ Borders BTS cost a whopping RM254.80. will have to reconsider...semiretired comic collector mah...
aw13
Nov 20 2007, 05:16 PM
QUOTE(eric.tangps @ Nov 19 2007, 06:15 AM) Well the plus point if you purchase from Borders / Kino is that at times there will be offer. I believe that there will be a discount if you ask the store for Omnibus title since it is expensive or you can wait till Christmas when there would be normally discount offer for all books. As for the price at RM254-80, since it is 26 issues of comic -- and per comic is normally RM12-00. It is consider a bargain. Unless of course plus 20% discounts on RM254-80, it woule be so much cheaper. very true. i asked for whether is there a promo, of which there is none for the time being. and they only have about 3 copies. decisions, decisions. however, did see another collection though, titled Fallen Son. collects the reaction of some of the heroes after Capt died. worth getting as well? this one is quite cheap comparatively, RM85 i think.
aw13
Nov 21 2007, 01:18 PM
QUOTE(eric.tangps @ Nov 21 2007, 09:32 AM) Fallen Son is the reaction on Capt America's death, so if you did purchase the Omnibus it would be ideal follow-up. BTW, it seems that Capt # 26 onwards is quite interesting read. As for 3 copies left, hmmmm.. to buy or not to buy? That would be your choice as I had urm. unfortunate incident of waiting for offer rates while pondering the same on Uncanny X-Men Omnibus. so many questions, so little time. will have to wait for a special promo then, thanks again eric.tangps!
aw13
Dec 14 2007, 05:54 PM
just an update for you guys on my search for the Capt A HC finally found a cheaper alternative to the CA Omnibus, it's actually a Marvel Premier Edition HC collecting CA #25 - #30, and it's a Vol 1. I expect more HCs to come out soon relating to this storyline, damn gripping read. also bought the Fallen Son tribute, very good companion indeed. and the best thing was, both were 30% off! next on my hunt list is Planet Hulk! I read reviews that it's a good storyline, and I think Eric over here also said it's worth it. is it still available @ Kino? how about WW Hulk? thanks guys!
aw13
Mar 5 2009, 03:04 PM
Jim Lee and Alex Ross all the way. Jim Lee making a comeback for Hush for Batman a couple of years ago was simply a walk down memory lane for me, while Alex's artwork in KC was simply oustanding!