9 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Collectibles The Ultimate Comics Thread, Not Manga, sorry...

madstone
post May 9 2007, 11:23 AM

BUY 1st REGRET LATER
3,042 posts

I'm collecting the following comic books:

NYX/X-23 (HC) (Vol 1)
Astonishing X-Men (HC) (Vol 1)
Ultimate X-Men (HC) (Vol 1-6)
Ultimate Fantastic Four (HC) (Vol 1-2)
Runaways (HC) (Vol 1; Vol 2 & 3 coming soon)
The New Avengers (TPB) (Vol 2-4) Vol 1 already read so, just continue reading the latest volume)
Y: The Last Man (TPB) (Vol 1-9)
Jack of Fables (TPB) (Vol 1)

Others (Trade Paperback) TPB:
Avenger Disassesembled
30 days of Night: Return to Barrow
Superman Birthright
Superman For Tomorrow
The Ultimates 2
100 Bullets vol 1 (stop coz don't like it much but may be i continue buy it later)
Ultimate Galactus Book 1
Wolverine/ Punisher
Wolverine Coyote Crossing
Lonewolf 2100 Vol 1-3

This post has been edited by madstone: May 9 2007, 07:23 PM
madstone
post May 9 2007, 07:17 PM

BUY 1st REGRET LATER
3,042 posts

QUOTE(yitjuan @ May 9 2007, 05:09 PM)
oooh , i'm a mixture of 3) 6) and 9) ... i remember making money out of x-23's 1st appearance , so i'm definitely an opportunist. but then, it takes more than just a noob to accurately predict what will sell out and what won't . although , i'm pretty sure that anything to do with the main characters sells. Unfortunately, Marvel seems to have pushed Wolverine too far , and i'm actually a bit sick of him now ...
Forgot to add NYX/X-23 in my collections
I have the Hard Cover (HC) Vol 1
QUOTE(zio @ May 9 2007, 05:45 PM)
I thought Runaways is already up to Vol 6 or something.
Err...that for trade paperback (TPB)
What i have is Hardcover (HC) Vol 1
i ordered it from Amazon since Kino don't have it in their stock that time
for Vol 2 & 3, i think i gonna order it again from Amazon since Vol 3 HC out this 23rd may
gonna order them both thumbup.gif

Guys, i think we need to add more stuff into this thread like cover for all the collection we have
i hope TS can edit the 1st page and add more images of the cover

This post has been edited by madstone: May 9 2007, 07:25 PM
madstone
post May 10 2007, 12:39 AM

BUY 1st REGRET LATER
3,042 posts

QUOTE(alvinsim_cy @ May 9 2007, 10:16 PM)
does doraemon count? tongue.gif
PLEASE READ THE FIRST POST wink.gif tongue.gif smile.gif

madstone
post May 10 2007, 01:11 PM

BUY 1st REGRET LATER
3,042 posts

QUOTE(zio @ May 10 2007, 10:27 AM)
Yikes Runaway HC? tongue.gif You must be a big fan.
Actually i'm a big fan of Brian K Vaughan, Mark Millar, Brian Michael Bendis, Joss Whedon
BUT BK Vaughan is my fav right now
Y: The Last Man is my fav comic book right now
eventhough the story kinda draggy, i like it
enjoyed reading it
Plus Jack of Fables, i think it's gonna be the big one for the next few month
What about Fables?
I find it's kinda interesting coz the idea is fresh & the artwork for the cover are awesome
QUOTE(rayfoo @ May 10 2007, 10:59 AM)
hmm mindshop still around?
I think mindshop is still around in PJ SS14 Cold Storage, am i right?

nowadays i just go to Kino or Borders but sometime Popular Book at OU
sometimes i ordered HC from Amazon coz i found out that most of the cover from Kino & Amazon are totally different
for example Runaways, for TPB, at Kino, they're selling it in small TPB
but from Amazon, they're selling in normal size of TPB
so, might as well i buy it from amazon in HC for US market

From Kino; Runaways Vol 1 (TPB) & Vol 2 Hard Cover
user posted imageuser posted image

From Amazon.com; Runaways Vol 1 & Vol 2 Hard Cover
user posted imageuser posted image

This post has been edited by madstone: May 10 2007, 02:52 PM
madstone
post May 11 2007, 09:53 AM

BUY 1st REGRET LATER
3,042 posts

QUOTE(screech @ May 11 2007, 09:22 AM)
Here, here. Another BKV fan reporting in. Are you reading his Ex Machina series as well?
Yet to read Jack of Fables but I love Fables. Is it as good as the core series?
Ex Machina? Not yet dude, looking forward
lots of TPB & HC to buy n yet too little time, so little budget biggrin.gif

Jack of Fables i think ok la so far
Vol 1 only, not much can say abt it
hafta wait until vol 3 or 4 to decide whether can match Fables or Y: The Last Man

Any Mark Millar of The Ultimates fan here?
Have anyone of you read The Ultimates? It's awesome man!
Vol 1 HC already sold out at Kino, hafta order from Amazon.com man sweat.gif sweat.gif

This post has been edited by madstone: May 11 2007, 09:56 AM
madstone
post May 11 2007, 02:30 PM

BUY 1st REGRET LATER
3,042 posts

QUOTE(zio @ May 11 2007, 11:49 AM)
Heh I read The Ultimates. The Ultimate storyline is way better than the normal universe. Although I loved Civil War.
Why don't you try buying from Comics Mart in Mid Valley? They have tons of TPBs smile.gif
Actually, i prefer HC, better & got lots of freebies inside like sketches, notes bla bla bla n one thing for sure, the pages is bigger than comics or TPB
BUT if i can not wait the HC, i will buy the TPB version like The New Avengers, Vol 1-4 now
BUT still like The Ultimates, i want to wait for the HC version, it's better

For Vertigo, they normally sold in TPB.

Anyone read The Pride of Baghdad by BK Vaughan?

madstone
post May 11 2007, 11:59 PM

BUY 1st REGRET LATER
3,042 posts

My next project would be Runaways Vol 2 & Vol 3 order from Amazon.com
plus Y: The Last Man Vol 9 rclxm9.gif
madstone
post May 12 2007, 10:59 PM

BUY 1st REGRET LATER
3,042 posts

Actually collecting Hard cover is longer than collecting TPB biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

For me, i dun mind at all, as long as i will get nice & better comics, i'll wait for Hard Cover.

For a reminder, normally HC come out with lot of freebies inside & one thing, the page is bigger than comics & TPBs

This post has been edited by madstone: May 15 2007, 10:04 AM
madstone
post May 15 2007, 10:04 AM

BUY 1st REGRET LATER
3,042 posts

QUOTE(yitjuan @ May 14 2007, 08:43 PM)
does anyone have A History of Violence ?
Nope...
Is this the one?

madstone
post May 15 2007, 05:17 PM

BUY 1st REGRET LATER
3,042 posts

Yeah! Read on mate!

my friend said (who is a comic freak since school boy till now, 40++), Civil War gonna cost you more if u want to collect
so, he advised me to torrent in thru the net
BUT if you a hardcore fan of comic, better wait for Hard Cover
or may be TPBs

Do visit MPH or Popular at OU coz sometimes they have special promo & discounts for comics
madstone
post May 15 2007, 07:04 PM

BUY 1st REGRET LATER
3,042 posts

Leinil Francis Yu is one of my fav artist
BUT too bad for him coz he's normally paired with bad writer
so far i bought his artwork in Superman: Birthright written by Mark Waid
lucky for him coz the story is great, i like the storyline done by Mark Waid

others of my fav artist is, Stuart Immonen of Ultimate X-Men
his artwork is superb & lucky for him coz he's paired with BM Bendis, BK Vaughan AND;
Bryan Hitch of The Ultimates, his artwork with Mark Millar story is superbly done
too bad Marvel not interested in doing movie about The Ultimates
IF u read The Ultimates, the panels itself showed exactly what's should appear in a movie
read the book like u watching the film all along
madstone
post May 16 2007, 01:28 AM

BUY 1st REGRET LATER
3,042 posts

i'm not totally digging for artwork but the storyline for sure
just check it out the story written by BM Bendis & BK Vaughan
it's nice & kinda catchy with the storyline like that

my fav writers; Mark Millar, Brian Michael Bendis, Brian K Vaughan, Mark Waid, Alan Moore, Bill Willingham, Brian Azzarello & Warren Ellis

Artwork is something you can look everywhere
BUT comics with great writtings come from great writers

For example, look at Lienil Francis Yu, great artist with superb work
BUT when he's paired with lousy writers, the artwork can't support it
try look at Y: The Last Man
the artwork isn't that great BUT the storyline is catchy n fun to read
madstone
post May 16 2007, 09:54 PM

BUY 1st REGRET LATER
3,042 posts

IMO, So far Immonen paired with good writer...

madstone
post May 17 2007, 05:00 PM

BUY 1st REGRET LATER
3,042 posts

QUOTE(zio @ May 16 2007, 10:06 PM)
Woot jst got myself a copy of Runaway Vol 7 biggrin.gif
TPB?
I'll wait for the HC one when it's out smile.gif
QUOTE(Bedok @ May 16 2007, 10:13 PM)
Ahhh, comics. I used to just go into the shop and hang until I got kicked out lol ( I hate 'Magic the gathering' crowds  doh.gif ) I like that rastafarian guy workin the comic store at OU, hes soooo cool  laugh.gif

I used to be an avid fan so i end buying hundreds (literally) of comics and end up not finished reading some of em. Kingdom Come is just a masterpiece, who thought Spiderman and Batman can be good friends, eh? Try DV8, Gen 13 the first series (2nd if you count the mini-series) and Batman- A long Halloween mini series is still few of the best imho  rclxms.gif

If u like Alex Ross (best painter in the world, no contest there), try US mini-series. Good story line, and beautiful pictures  icon_idea.gif and u heard about that X mini-series?Earth, Universe and Paradise? really want to know the stories but I stoped buying comics then (thank you GF  vmad.gif )

Waid (Kingdom Come) Bendis and Ellis (good work with Hitch on the Authority series AND DV8+Gen13  notworthy.gif ) is a good story teller but unfortunately I am more into pretty pictures  rolleyes.gif so if it got good pictures, I will end up buying the comics and reading em.
Err..is that old title you mentioned? Some of them hmm.gif unsure.gif

madstone
post May 21 2007, 08:54 AM

BUY 1st REGRET LATER
3,042 posts

Yup!! here got lot of comic collectors but quiet lazy to post
never mind la, as long as we keep in touch with news, that's good enough
madstone
post May 21 2007, 11:21 PM

BUY 1st REGRET LATER
3,042 posts

Not a Batman fan here, hehehehehe
eventhough i like Batman's movies biggrin.gif
madstone
post May 26 2007, 08:21 AM

BUY 1st REGRET LATER
3,042 posts

I think wanna for Civil Wars Hard Covers
madstone
post Jun 6 2007, 09:14 AM

BUY 1st REGRET LATER
3,042 posts

avantgarde84,

your username reminds me of my zine avant garde, published it in 2005 & 2006

madstone
post Jun 9 2007, 10:33 AM

BUY 1st REGRET LATER
3,042 posts

BTW guys,
did u check our local comic scene
Griffon & KLP have published few comics

purchased 2 of KLP's comics at Popular Book at IOI Mall
not bad with a stroke of international style but in BM
KLP's Chronos Prophecy in English come with small size of RM25 per piece, 100 pages plus
since i bring not enuff money, bought Fetus in Fetu & Eden Factor
it cost me RM7.90 per piece

check it out guys, kinda interesting
madstone
post Jul 15 2007, 07:20 PM

BUY 1st REGRET LATER
3,042 posts

QUOTE(yitjuan @ Jul 14 2007, 03:09 PM)
has anyone read The Walking Dead , and Fables ? those are two recommended titles to pick up!

Walking Dead is like zombies X 28 days later , just replace the Rage virus with zombie virus.
Try Jack of Fables
Fables spin off

9 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0436sec    0.68    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 11:14 AM