105 Pages « < 90 91 92 93 94 > » Bottom

> Military Thread V23

IReallyNeed Answers
post Mar 11 2017, 08:49 PM

Krazeybender
921 posts

QUOTE(heavyduty @ Mar 11 2017, 08:45 PM)
Defensive V offensive troops fell out of usage after ww2. The rapid and fluid nature of modern war means that defensive structures will be useless after 24 hours.Counter offensives are your defense
But counter offensive wouldnt that be Cold War all over again with nuke being deployed in MAD scenario?

Proactive Defensive stance such as this iron done of Israel (hopefully I got the name right) and the US SK THAAD system seem to be a big success so far

This post has been edited by IReallyNeed Answers: Mar 11 2017, 08:49 PM
heavyduty
post Mar 11 2017, 09:06 PM

127 posts

QUOTE(IReallyNeed Answers @ Mar 11 2017, 08:49 PM)
But counter offensive wouldnt that be Cold War all over again with nuke being deployed in MAD scenario?

Proactive Defensive stance such as this iron done of Israel (hopefully I got the name right) and the US SK THAAD system seem to be a big success so far
You can have fancy iron domes and kinetic missile intercepting projectiles when you already cover the basics.the way I see it if thousands of separatists poured in from Kalimantan or the Philippines, Malaysia does not have the means to deploy enough troops to borneo in the needed time frame

The essence of a marine corps is not the soldiers,it's the logistics.the ability to support and sustain a combined arms battle group for a prolonged period.

Logistics is why SAF are the region's best. Thousands of soldiers and tanks don't mean anything if you can't bring them to the fight,supply and feed them
IReallyNeed Answers
post Mar 11 2017, 09:15 PM

Krazeybender
921 posts

QUOTE(heavyduty @ Mar 11 2017, 09:06 PM)
You can have fancy iron domes and kinetic missile intercepting projectiles when you already cover the basics.the way I see it if thousands of separatists poured in from Kalimantan or the Philippines, Malaysia does not have the means to deploy enough troops to borneo in the needed time frame

The essence of a marine corps is not the soldiers,it's the logistics.the ability to support and sustain a combined arms battle group for a prolonged period.

Logistics is why SAF are the region's best. Thousands of soldiers and tanks don't mean anything if you can't bring them to the fight,supply and feed them
Oh...

That's some good info there!

Thanks 👍🏼
SUSKLboy92
post Mar 11 2017, 09:55 PM

189 posts

QUOTE(azriel @ Mar 11 2017, 08:24 PM)
CMIIW unlike the USMC the US Army doesn't have any fixed wing combat aircraft.
Yes, they don't
USMC is pretty unique in that regard
US Army have to depend on USAF - thats the agreement

QUOTE(heavyduty @ Mar 11 2017, 09:06 PM)
+1
Though USMC battalion MAGTFs are light
Its their logistic experts who are really key
Plus all that investment in amphibs and transports - which BTW are technically US Navy assets
keown83
post Mar 11 2017, 11:32 PM

172 posts

QUOTE(lordy @ Mar 11 2017, 10:55 PM)
gee, just look at the equipment list of Malaysian Arm Forces ...

memang rojak, source from so many countries, to stock the spare parts alone already cost the tax payers heaps sad.gif

the sad thing about this is, small firearms also can not produce locally, now that is a drawback for arms industry

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Equipment_of_..._Malaysian_Army
yes , it is sad..but that is what current management trying to fix becos what we have right now is what have been done by the previous leaders with their crony..no, i am not trying to spew politics here, just that its too obvious that they are the reason all this happened..thank god with these leaders already out of job & brought their crony along plus new leaders really did many things to start clean up the mess, i see hope in ATM new procurement & asset management

maybe we can see the leap of new ATM era by proper selection of new mrca

ps: i dun believe the typhoon & rafale as a real final shortlist..i think the real finale will be far different..but that is just me
keown83
post Mar 11 2017, 11:56 PM

172 posts

QUOTE(lordy @ Mar 11 2017, 11:46 PM)
typhoon and rafael may not be able to handle the humidity level that we have in tropical country like us, i would say we shall be more realistic with our needs, JF17 which is use by Pakistan will be a better choice for us, since now we buddy buddy with commi PRC  nod.gif
u are wierd fella..dun u think its contradict to ur statement earlier that comment about the rojakness of ATM inventory, then suddenly suggest JF17 which never had any history with ATM hence contribute to more ATM's rojakness in their inventory?
ayanami_tard
post Mar 12 2017, 12:17 AM

40 posts

QUOTE(keown83 @ Mar 12 2017, 12:56 AM)
u are wierd fella..dun u think its contradict to ur statement earlier that comment about the rojakness of ATM inventory, then suddenly suggest JF17 which never had any history with ATM hence contribute to more ATM's rojakness in their inventory?
kek biasalah, wannabe contrarian. spell rafale also kenot but wanna spew shit whistling.gif
yinchet
post Mar 12 2017, 12:26 AM

If you wish for peace, prepare for war
1,157 posts

QUOTE(lordy @ Mar 12 2017, 12:02 AM)
basically, to stick with US camp, we can not afford thanks and no thanks to jibby's administration that led to the RM vs USD downward spiral, do you think we can get any more F18s?

the russian stuffs, forget about it, the engine can not last.

by the look at our own balance book, looks like PRC made JF17 will be the best deal that we can afford ... or want to follow the saudi arab way, buy CH4 instead, only USD1 million a pop.  rclxms.gif
How russian engine cannot last?
JF17 is rubbish that we cannot afford to waste money into.
malberi8
post Mar 12 2017, 12:28 AM

suddenly lots of newbies around, bashing n bashing n bashing ...
mumbly297
post Mar 12 2017, 12:40 AM

QUOTE(KLboy92 @ Mar 10 2017, 08:39 PM)
No, for much the same reasons SG doesn't.
Whats the purpose of Marine Corps? Why would we need it?
Yes malaysia need it. With 3 regiment of Para in PAC train in amphibious ooeration. It would be good to have 3 more regiment non Para which is train in pure amphibious operation as the British Marine commando. It also will help ease the Para in their deployment in Esscom.
malberi8
post Mar 12 2017, 12:41 AM

QUOTE(lordy @ Mar 12 2017, 12:37 AM)
hit the sore spot eh?
supposed to be a military forums, just getting annoyed with political comments....
atreyuangel
post Mar 12 2017, 12:45 AM

406 posts

QUOTE(lordy @ Mar 11 2017, 11:46 PM)
typhoon and rafael may not be able to handle the humidity level that we have in tropical country like us, i would say we shall be more realistic with our needs, JF17 which is use by Pakistan will be a better choice for us, since now we buddy buddy with commi PRC  nod.gif
Rafale proven in the desert and far better then Typhoon was in Penang
malberi8
post Mar 12 2017, 01:01 AM

RMAF would suggest RAFALE , but the British govt came in with economic package with the Typhoon .....
SUSKLboy92
post Mar 12 2017, 01:04 AM

189 posts

QUOTE(keown83 @ Mar 11 2017, 11:56 PM)
laugh.gif rclxms.gif

QUOTE(mumbly297 @ Mar 12 2017, 12:40 AM)
Yes malaysia need it. With 3 regiment of Para in PAC train in amphibious ooeration. It would be good to have 3 more regiment non Para which is train in pure amphibious operation as the British Marine commando. It also will help ease the Para in their deployment in Esscom.
For purpose of filming Menyelamat Prebet Rahman ke? brows.gif
Till now we can't even afford a basic LHD. There really is no point to Marine training.
Fat & Fluffy
post Mar 12 2017, 01:13 AM

397 posts

QUOTE(KLboy92 @ Mar 11 2017, 09:14 PM)
But they have very short logistics tail
Typically rely on Navy, Army and Airforce support
A USMC battalion task force is lighter than, say, a Russian battalion battle group

And compared with US Army divisions, yes its "light"
F-35 will replace Harrier
Compare Viper (USMC) vs Apache (Army)
they dont have logistics issue, their role is already pre-determined for a certain duration.. within that duration they are self sustaining..

after that period and after performing their supposed role, occupying and main invasion force should be the one taking over... marine corp is together with the navy, they are independent of the army and air force.. they have their own aviation element

no, USMC doesnt work on a battalion (russian/us army) basis as a independent unit... the smallest MAGTF is a MEU.. and its not comparable to army units because it has fixed attack wings

compared to us army division? as in with a marine division? but marine divisions dont work alone, its always part of a MEF

QUOTE(azriel @ Mar 11 2017, 10:27 PM)
Leopard 2RI MBTs of the Indonesian Army 1st Cavalry Battalion. Credit to Denis Indrayadi.

no suit yet?

QUOTE(heavyduty @ Mar 11 2017, 11:06 PM)
i would say csscom (transport n supply) guys really do a good job, every year more than 8k men gets send overseas... at the moment battalion level being the largest overseas, soon brigade level aka 20k service men in total will be sent overseas annually... i doubt any country in the region move so many men overseas every year..

QUOTE(KLboy92 @ Mar 11 2017, 11:55 PM)
Yes, they don't
USMC is pretty unique in that regard
US Army have to depend on USAF - thats the agreement
+1
Though USMC battalion MAGTFs are light
Its their logistic experts who are really key
Plus all that investment in amphibs and transports - which BTW are technically US Navy assets
US army depends on US navy too...

QUOTE(mumbly297 @ Mar 12 2017, 02:40 AM)
actually i dont get how msia's para brigade works.. like VDV? dont look like it... like commandos? but they work at such huge units.. ww2 paratroopers? i doubt.. are they like the IDF's para?
yinchet
post Mar 12 2017, 01:14 AM

If you wish for peace, prepare for war
1,157 posts

QUOTE(lordy @ Mar 12 2017, 12:30 AM)
Yes it have to retire but we should not buy rubbish to replace it.

atreyuangel
post Mar 12 2017, 01:21 AM

406 posts

QUOTE(lordy @ Mar 12 2017, 12:30 AM)
yeah the news is from 2015, then again 2016 and it is still flying the last exercise

I remember the last 2 or 3 LIMA, Rafale parked in the hot sun while the typhoon was
- parked in Penang with a lot of support under Hanger while the next edition
Typhoon parked in LIMA with a lot of support and cooling material with RAF personnel rubbing heat solution every 2 or 4 hours.

mumbly297
post Mar 12 2017, 01:35 AM

QUOTE(Fat & Fluffy @ Mar 12 2017, 01:13 AM)
they dont have logistics issue, their role is already pre-determined for a certain duration.. within that duration they are self sustaining..

after that period and after performing their supposed role, occupying and main invasion force should be the one taking over... marine corp is together with the navy, they are independent of the army and air force.. they have their own aviation element

no, USMC doesnt work on a battalion (russian/us army) basis as a independent unit... the smallest MAGTF is a MEU.. and its not comparable to army units because it has fixed attack wings

compared to us army division? as in with a marine division? but marine divisions dont work alone, its always part of a MEF
no suit yet?
i would say csscom (transport n supply) guys really do a good job, every year more than 8k men gets send overseas... at the moment battalion level being the largest overseas, soon brigade level aka 20k service men in total will be sent overseas annually... i doubt any country in the region move so many men overseas every year..
US army depends on US navy too...
actually i dont get how msia's para brigade works.. like VDV? dont look like it... like commandos? but they work at such huge units.. ww2 paratroopers? i doubt.. are they like the IDF's para?
Malaysian Para is more like SG commando and British Para. Old school doctrine drop behind enemy line. It would be a waste if they are to be also the main amphibious unit. It would be better if Pac brigade to add 3 more regiment to be train in amphibious. As for equipment for amphibious wise the malaysia has it. For now this regiment should be train on the amphibious assault and doctrine adjuated when new equipment are bought.
With the 3 para regiment. The Pac brigade are tie down as one are on stand by for UN duties, one in esscom and one regiment for rotation.
atreyuangel
post Mar 12 2017, 01:37 AM

406 posts

QUOTE(greghome @ Mar 12 2017, 01:27 AM)
I don't recall seeing a typhoon in the last LIMA.
Rafale was flying around with what I think are potential customers in the co-pilot seat, while typhoon only got mock model and simulator on display.
Last 2 and 3
heavyduty
post Mar 12 2017, 01:45 AM

127 posts

QUOTE(Fat & Fluffy @ Mar 12 2017, 01:13 AM)

Organised similar to the British 16th air assault brigade but with training of royal marines

10th brigade is more 'ad-hoc' than the 16th air assault brigade in that the individual rifle battalions usually separate to do more 'commando' stuff.But they can do brigade level jumps if the need arises

105 Pages « < 90 91 92 93 94 > » 
Bump Topic Topic ClosedOptions New Topic

0.0286sec    0.52    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 03:36 PM