fruitie
post Sep 1 2017, 11:11 PM

Rise and Shine
72,808 posts

QUOTE(AznRicy @ Sep 1 2017, 10:40 PM)
Jan 31 this year thru on9.
Just click to uplift and request for TAC but no need to uplift it reality, then you will be able to see how much interest you have earned so far.
monara
post Sep 2 2017, 11:44 PM

Enthusiast?
1,008 posts

Already past 1 month after the new rule, anyone checking the bank revenue whether have drastic withdrawal or not lol.
mushigen
post Sep 3 2017, 12:20 AM

4,952 posts

For those with auto renew gia, once it's renewed after the new rule kicked in, it will follow the new rule. As least this is what i am experiencing.
cybpsych
post Sep 3 2017, 08:48 AM

---------------------
65,300 posts

QUOTE(monara @ Sep 2 2017, 11:44 PM)
Already past 1 month after the new rule, anyone checking the bank revenue whether have drastic withdrawal or not lol.
dont care la. it's their business, not ours.

if they removed the egia flexibility, so be it. if they reinstate back, then good. else, no need to be so critical about it. laugh.gif

QUOTE(mushigen @ Sep 3 2017, 12:20 AM)
For those with auto renew gia, once it's renewed after the new rule kicked in, it will follow the new rule. As least this is what i am experiencing.
that's what was informed earlier in the announcement lor.

that's why for all my pre-Aug 2017 placements, i purposely split to RM1k portions and 14-months tenure in order to "lock down" the benefits.
mushigen
post Sep 3 2017, 10:40 AM

4,952 posts

I didn't read the announcement. Only read it at lyn. I thought it applies to fresh placement. Would have put in longer tenure deposits before new rule kicked in if i knew.
ytan053
post Sep 4 2017, 01:11 PM

565 posts

Switched to Philip Mutual Money Market Fund (PMMMF) instead of Maybank GIA after GIA has lose its flexibility. Only moved the funds to PMMMF if I have touched my GIA, otherwise, it is still pretty good to have the 3.55% for GIA.

For Aug'17, PMMMF gives 3.52% p.a. It was good considering its flexibility and since I have many cc from diff banks, I can save the ibg cost by selling the units in PMMMF to my stand chart / HLB savings account (which offers free ibg and instant transfer) while buying the units with the savings account which my income was credited into.

I guess this is better than FSM RHB Cash Management in terms of interest and flexibility, as PMMMF gives me same day redemption (is use Maybank account) and T+1 redemption (for other savings account) when i redeem the units before 9:30am of the day.

This post has been edited by ytan053: Sep 4 2017, 01:12 PM
kaffra
post Sep 4 2017, 05:12 PM

643 posts

so many small print with the new rules.

if just want to put some extra cash for 1 month, is eGIA still OK or better 'normal' FD?

Ramjade
post Sep 4 2017, 05:15 PM

24,347 posts

QUOTE(kaffra @ Sep 4 2017, 05:12 PM)

if just want to put some extra cash for 1 month, is eGIA still OK or better 'normal' FD?
Normal FD or use the following
1) Philip Mutual Money Market Fund (PMMMF)
2) FSM CMF

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Sep 4 2017, 05:15 PM
cybpsych
post Sep 4 2017, 05:29 PM

---------------------
65,300 posts

QUOTE(kaffra @ Sep 4 2017, 05:12 PM)

imo, eGIA for 1 month still ok. but you need min RM5k. if <RM5k, put 2 months. first 2 months would be hard because you try to avoid uplift prematurely. once you get the placements rolling for about 2 months, then the subsequent uplift on 3rd month would be easy because it's already matured (if you timed it just right). do this for short-term parking and least to worry or to manage. rate/profit will not be attractive, but you still get some min profit after 1-2 months placement.

if rate/profit is all you care for, then go for other investment vehicles instead.
christ14
post Sep 5 2017, 06:47 PM

1,567 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Sep 4 2017, 05:29 PM)
imo, eGIA for 1 month still ok. but you need min RM5k. if <RM5k, put 2 months. first 2 months would be hard because you try to avoid uplift prematurely. once you get the placements rolling for about 2 months, then the subsequent uplift on 3rd month would be easy because it's already matured (if you timed it just right). do this for short-term parking and least to worry or to manage. rate/profit will not be attractive, but you still get some min profit after 1-2 months placement.

if rate/profit is all you care for, then go for other investment vehicles instead.
now that im re reading this hmm.gif having a dilemma which i should not have again

i still have 4 cert which i didnt do anything yet since long time ago even before the changes.@ 3k 3k 2k 2k

would it still be better to uplift all of that and make it to 2 certs of 5k 5k? i dont think im going to do anything to those money though... just parking until emergency. cuz i split some "savings" from my salary into maybank
cybpsych
post Sep 5 2017, 07:35 PM

---------------------
65,300 posts

QUOTE(christ14 @ Sep 5 2017, 06:47 PM)
now that im re reading this hmm.gif having a dilemma which i should not have again

i still have 4 cert which i didnt do anything yet since long time ago even before the changes.@ 3k 3k 2k 2k

would it still be better to uplift all of that and make it to 2 certs of 5k 5k? i dont think im going to do anything to those money though... just parking until emergency. cuz i split some "savings" from my salary into maybank
while deciding, why not take up HLB 6mth 4.10% eFD now?

get a decent return for your 10k fund.it can be easily done by fpx from mbb.

troublesome if you don't have hlb savings account though. and promo rate ending 7 Sep. next Oct promo rate to be announced later this month.

else, keep in egia lo. let it keep rolling and renewing. if you foresee going to use the money, put in 2 x rm5k for 1 mth placement. rolling and renewing each month. try split 5k in early of the month, another 5k mid of the month.
christ14
post Sep 5 2017, 10:53 PM

1,567 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Sep 5 2017, 07:35 PM)
while deciding, why not take up HLB 6mth 4.10% eFD now?

get a decent return for your 10k fund.it can be easily done by fpx from mbb.

troublesome if you don't have hlb savings account though. and promo rate ending 7 Sep. next Oct promo rate to be announced later this month.
else, keep in egia lo. let it keep rolling and renewing. if you foresee going to use the money, put in 2 x rm5k for 1 mth placement. rolling and renewing each month. try split 5k in early of the month, another 5k mid of the month.
Dont have HLB acc doh.gif i dont think i foresee using it.. just sprt of like temporary permanent savings... For travel or smtg. Or i might add cert and just leave this 4 haha
nitehawk
post Sep 6 2017, 08:08 AM

699 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Sep 4 2017, 05:15 PM)
Normal FD or use the following
1) Philip Mutual Money Market Fund (PMMMF)
2) FSM CMF
Where can I buy/trade the above fund?
fruitie
post Sep 6 2017, 09:44 AM

Rise and Shine
72,808 posts

QUOTE(nitehawk @ Sep 6 2017, 08:08 AM)
Where can I buy/trade the above fund?
Fundsupermart.
babienn
post Sep 6 2017, 01:00 PM

510 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Sep 6 2017, 09:44 AM)
Fundsupermart.
Isn't it a fee for placing fund into fundsupermart?
Ramjade
post Sep 6 2017, 01:10 PM

24,347 posts

QUOTE(babienn @ Sep 6 2017, 01:00 PM)
Isn't it a fee for placing fund into fundsupermart?
Only for equity and bond funds. Other than that it's free.
cx2531
post Sep 6 2017, 06:47 PM

568 posts

sorry noob question, since it is not protected by pidm, why don't just put in normal FD that cover by pidm? at least principal still guaranteed

since interest rate also between 3.5~4.0
fruitie
post Sep 6 2017, 06:51 PM

Rise and Shine
72,808 posts

QUOTE(cx2531 @ Sep 6 2017, 06:47 PM)
sorry noob question, since it is not protected by pidm, why don't just put in normal FD that cover by pidm? at least principal still guaranteed

since interest rate also between 3.5~4.0
Gia-i? Nobody puts there anymore since its revision. Reason we put there was easy to withdraw and we treated it like our savings account since interest was calculated on daily basis. Not really due to interest rate.

Anyway, that's history now.

88 Pages « < 64 65 66 67 68 > » Top

0.0342sec    0.48    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 09:49 AM