1187 Pages « < 244 245 246 247 248 > » Bottom

Credit Cards Standard Chartered Bank Credit Cards V4, Everything About SC Credit Cards

kyun
post Jan 25 2019, 01:35 PM

66 posts

Credit card was perceived as : convenient, secure, easy to file for chargeback on misused transactions. Also, it's a status symbol to have a cc (it was, many years ago).

1. But now Credit card looks like a clunky plastic card - it's not as convenient as e-wallet / paywave (i mean the PayWave debit would work too, why bother to apply for cc?).
2. Anyone with salary over 2k-3k can get it - no longer a status symbol
3. Last year I have two misuse transactions, filed for chargebacks, but the merchant decided to favor the online portals, instead of a loyal customer like us - not secure

That led me to question the needs of credit cards these days.
When you travel in china and pull out the cc, the merchants will give you the face like you're some rural folks who just crawled from cave after hiding there for a decade.
"Ermm... sir, do you know how to use 微信钱包,支付宝?“

I've thus "urged" my dad (more like pestered, lol) to get used with e-wallets.
Now he has Boost, TnG, WeChat pay, but not all merchants accept these e-wallet.
So he has two debit cards along for most non e-wallet transactions, top up whenever necessary.

If we need to travel, any local bank's debit card would work flawlessly. And i was shocked the BigPay debit card has cheaper conversion rates compared to cc in most cases. Even Aeon prepaid plus would work.

Sooner or later, cc will vanish.

I'm perfectly fine without cc for nearly a year.
Perhaps the only perk which being missed from the list and not offered by any debit card was the free drinks in airport lounge, but then I'm not a frequent flyer, so that won't bother me too much.
kyun
post Jan 25 2019, 01:37 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(beLIEve @ Jan 25 2019, 01:30 PM)
Citibank waived my annual fee once and happily allowed me to cancel my card the next. That was 15 years ago.
nooooooooooooooooo. join me. apply more cards after SST.
Opposed to you, I lived with 1 card for years and only started adding more last year. Termakan gula.
To each his own. biggrin.gif

But have you tried any e-wallet yet?
(you'll have gula being offered like everyday rclxms.gif )
Cookie101
post Jan 25 2019, 01:49 PM

1,616 posts

QUOTE(avinlim @ Jan 25 2019, 11:03 AM)
Seriously 75 times and nothing?!

75 times @ bigpay (which is RM7500) almost hit the ceiling of the max limit allow (RM10k)... will ring the bell of bp and they might block or investigate you...

just don't go too far ...hehe
I don’t do withdrawals. I spend the funds monthly.

Don’t see why is that a problem. Isn’t that the purpose of the card?

Top up > spend > repeat.
beLIEve
post Jan 25 2019, 02:21 PM

三軍都督
7,830 posts

QUOTE(kyun @ Jan 25 2019, 01:37 PM)
But have you tried any e-wallet yet? 
(you'll have gula being offered like everyday rclxms.gif  )
Got. I learn under the tutelage of a master here who has done all the homework. I just copy bulat2. But i only use 1 Boost lah.
wilson1149
post Jan 25 2019, 02:28 PM

508 posts

Cancel it and get a Free for life card lor

easy.
slaveone
post Jan 25 2019, 02:49 PM

1,231 posts

QUOTE(kyun @ Jan 25 2019, 01:13 PM)
Cancel it. Join me, join the new world~ lol  rclxms.gif
collecting points for something worth to redeem first. then see how
RokXIII
post Jan 25 2019, 03:03 PM

C'est la vie, Chérie
1,634 posts

for the spinning contest, so far managed to get total of RM70 for both CB and JOP, and I have 3 more attempts left for this month. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by RokXIII: Jan 25 2019, 03:04 PM
beLIEve
post Jan 25 2019, 03:03 PM

三軍都督
7,830 posts

QUOTE(wilson1149 @ Jan 25 2019, 02:28 PM)
Cancel it and get a Free for life card lor

easy.
kyun

I think it's easier to apply another card before you cancel. Faster (in terms of process, not in terms of priority for new to bank) as an existing cardholder.
ClarenceT
post Jan 25 2019, 03:08 PM

14,965 posts

QUOTE(RokXIII @ Jan 25 2019, 03:03 PM)
for the spinning contest, so far managed to get total of RM70 for both CB and JOP, and I have 3 more attempts left for this month.  laugh.gif
70/3700 -> 1.89%
So why stop at 2500+1500, if you can win more CB?

RokXIII
post Jan 25 2019, 03:18 PM

C'est la vie, Chérie
1,634 posts

QUOTE(ClarenceT @ Jan 25 2019, 03:08 PM)
70/3700 -> 1.89%
my credit limit is low, only 5K... need to clear the outstanding balance before i can keep participate the contest..
plus, the spinning is purely luck, no guarantee u will get it.. just an extra bonus to me.
ClarenceT
post Jan 25 2019, 03:21 PM

14,965 posts

QUOTE(RokXIII @ Jan 25 2019, 03:18 PM)
my credit limit is low, only 5K... need to clear the outstanding balance before i can keep participate the contest..
plus, the spinning is purely luck, no guarantee u will get it.. just an extra bonus to me.
30 spins (RM3000) will cost me RM6. If I get nothing, I lost RM6, if get 1 #b only, 1 lost RM1. devil.gif

kino318
post Jan 25 2019, 03:48 PM

671 posts

Hi, quick chk. I won few times spin reward, how can I get the reward credit to my account?
talexeh
post Jan 25 2019, 03:53 PM

One man's meat is another man's poison.
3,101 posts

QUOTE(kino318 @ Jan 25 2019, 03:48 PM)
Hi, quick chk. I won few times spin reward, how can I get the reward credit to my account?
Just wait. January's spin reward should be available by mid of February.
#Victor
post Jan 25 2019, 04:35 PM

4,672 posts

QUOTE(RokXIII @ Jan 25 2019, 03:03 PM)
for the spinning contest, so far managed to get total of RM70 for both CB and JOP, and I have 3 more attempts left for this month.  laugh.gif
Is there limit of winning count per month?

QUOTE(ClarenceT @ Jan 25 2019, 03:08 PM)
70/3700 -> 1.89%
I don't get it where do u get the 3700?
ClarenceT
post Jan 25 2019, 04:40 PM

14,965 posts

QUOTE(#Victor @ Jan 25 2019, 04:35 PM)
I assume he need to top up 2500+1500 (JOP+Liverpool) this month but 3xRM100 (attempt) not yet done.

kino318
post Jan 25 2019, 05:12 PM

671 posts

QUOTE(talexeh @ Jan 25 2019, 03:53 PM)
Just wait. January's spin reward should be available by mid of February.
OK. Thk u bro.
SUSYH1234
post Jan 25 2019, 08:00 PM

372 posts

"Sooner or later, cc will vanish."

i thot generally the main reason we use a credit card n not a debit card or ewallet is because its a "credit" card?
RokXIII
post Jan 25 2019, 09:29 PM

C'est la vie, Chérie
1,634 posts

QUOTE(#Victor @ Jan 25 2019, 04:35 PM)
max 2 winnings per day

QUOTE(ClarenceT @ Jan 25 2019, 04:40 PM)
I assume he need to top up 2500+1500 (JOP+Liverpool) this month but 3xRM100 (attempt) not yet done.
u're absolutely right! smile.gif
ivanting89
post Jan 25 2019, 10:53 PM

65 posts

Hi bro and sis around, I'm new to SC CC and waiting to receive my card. Just want to know does BigPay topup with Liverpool FC CB Card eligible for cash back?
talexeh
post Jan 25 2019, 11:02 PM

One man's meat is another man's poison.
3,101 posts

QUOTE(ivanting89 @ Jan 25 2019, 10:53 PM)
Hi bro and sis around, I'm new to SC CC and waiting to receive my card. Just want to know does BigPay topup with Liverpool FC CB Card eligible for cash back?
Yes.

1187 Pages « < 244 245 246 247 248 > » Top

0.0215sec    0.43    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 06:59 PM