153 Pages « < 25 26 27 28 29 > » Bottom

FundSuperMart v16 (FSM) MY : Online UT Platform, UT DIY : Babystep to Investing :D

vincabby
post Nov 1 2016, 08:02 AM

664 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Nov 1 2016, 12:47 AM)
By the way. I am thinking of motioning the request that Xuzen be given an elite tag for his work in Alozen™ and giving us a foundation in investing via FSM thread which is the fastest growing thread in the Finance Section version 16.

without him some of us may be still be reading up on unit trust for dummies.

all in favour?

cc pinkspider dasecret T231H puchongite and of course all the band of brothers here.
just of the crystal ball of his, i support this motion
Avangelice
post Nov 1 2016, 08:50 AM

5,272 posts

on the side note. those who purchased Ponzi 2.0 lump sum because it's cheap and on a downward trend last week must be kicking themselves now.

now I remember why I sold that damn thing.
TSAIYH
post Nov 1 2016, 08:53 AM

1,166 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Nov 1 2016, 08:50 AM)
on the side note. those who purchased Ponzi 2.0 lump sum because it's cheap and on a downward trend last week must be kicking themselves now.

now I remember why I sold that damn thing.
Erm, you sold that based on one week down trend? hmm.gif
Avangelice
post Nov 1 2016, 08:55 AM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(AIYH @ Nov 1 2016, 08:53 AM)
Erm, you sold that based on one week down trend?  hmm.gif
no I sold that back early of this year when it was too volatile (held it for 8 months) for my taste. then because some of the guys were talking about it again a few weeks ago, I placed it under my watch list.

nah uh. it's like a roller coaster ride
TSAIYH
post Nov 1 2016, 09:04 AM

1,166 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Nov 1 2016, 08:55 AM)
no I sold that back early of this year when it was too volatile (held it for 8 months)  for my taste. then because some of the guys were talking about it again a few weeks ago, I placed it under my watch list.

nah uh. it's like a roller coaster ride
That's why I always DCA, I never lump sum, can get heart attack of lumpsum at wrong timing (and also not rich enough to lumpsum sweat.gif )

On a side note, I think I will move my November RSP for Ponzi 1.0 and Ponzi 2.0 to the last day of the asia pac promo and treat it as my November DCA biggrin.gif
river.sand
post Nov 1 2016, 09:08 AM

3,813 posts

QUOTE(dasecret @ Oct 31 2016, 11:35 PM)
Yup, lukenn sent me the site
Glad to see that people here can benefit from it. To me the best feature is they have ALL funds in Malaysia. Morningstar doesn't have the investment linked funds

What do they get out of it? That was my first question too. Seem too nice to have a free site to offer such comprehensive data right? We speculate data mining. But who knows
Sorry, what site are you talking about?

TSAIYH
post Nov 1 2016, 09:11 AM

1,166 posts

QUOTE(dasecret @ Oct 29 2016, 10:32 PM)
Hasn't read the past few pages... seems to be going in circles again

Anyway, got this off our in-house UTC

Sharing is caring so here you go, play around and have fun!
http://iportfolio.com.my/snapshot

It's somewhat similar to FSM's portfolio simulator, but has more info on downside risk, and has almost all the funds available in Msia. Doesn't work with ASB VP funds since I think they don't publish fund price daily
QUOTE(river.sand @ Nov 1 2016, 09:08 AM)
Sorry, what site are you talking about?
Ramjade
post Nov 1 2016, 09:13 AM

24,354 posts

QUOTE(AIYH @ Nov 1 2016, 09:04 AM)
That's why I always DCA, I never lump sum, can get heart attack of lumpsum at wrong timing (and also not rich enough to lumpsum  sweat.gif )

On a side note, I think I will move my November RSP for Ponzi 1.0 and Ponzi 2.0 to the last day of the asia pac promo and treat it as my November DCA  biggrin.gif
You can do that? I thought it's fix that you will DCA every 15th of the month? hmm.gif
SUSDavid83
post Nov 1 2016, 09:20 AM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Nov 1 2016, 09:13 AM)
You can do that? I thought it's fix that you will DCA every 15th of the month? hmm.gif
He could be doing a manual DCA. LOL
TSAIYH
post Nov 1 2016, 09:21 AM

1,166 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Nov 1 2016, 09:13 AM)
Since the min RSP amount for Ponzi 1.0 and 2.0 = min DCA amount, still viable for occasional promo if the date is not far from RSP date yet it doesnt cover RSP date cry.gif tongue.gif

I can terminate both funds RSP schedule, so that 15th coming there won't be money deducted from CMF.

Then on last day promo, I topup manually for both funds (hopefully between 5 days the price won't drop too much till net off the SC discount laugh.gif )

After November RSP, I schedule back the RSP for both of them to let them continue RSP in the following month

This is the plan, need to try first hand this month biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by AIYH: Nov 1 2016, 09:26 AM
kazekage_09
post Nov 1 2016, 09:34 AM

511 posts

Ermm pardon guys for my noob question.

Many of you seem invest in 5-6 different funds. I understand it for diversification to minimise risk right?

So is this means those who just invest in only 1-2 funds (those who invest under utc mainly) will not make full of their investment? Is diversification the only way to go in UT?

Because many of person I knew withdraw their epf to invest in UT. Ranging from 10k to 50k.
Ramjade
post Nov 1 2016, 09:35 AM

24,354 posts

QUOTE(AIYH @ Nov 1 2016, 09:21 AM)
Since the min RSP amount for Ponzi 1.0 and 2.0 = min DCA amount, still viable for occasional promo if the date is not far from RSP date yet it doesnt cover RSP date  cry.gif  tongue.gif

I can terminate both funds RSP schedule, so that 15th coming there won't be money deducted from CMF.

Then on last day promo, I topup manually for both funds (hopefully between 5 days the price won't drop too much till net off the SC discount  laugh.gif )

After November RSP, I schedule back the RSP for both of them to let them continue RSP in the following month

This is the plan, need to try first hand this month  biggrin.gif
Let us know if it works.
TSAIYH
post Nov 1 2016, 09:40 AM

1,166 posts

QUOTE(kazekage_09 @ Nov 1 2016, 09:34 AM)

Many of you seem invest in 5-6 different funds. I understand it for diversification to minimise risk right?

So is this means those who just invest in only 1-2 funds (those who invest under utc mainly) will not make full of their investment? Is diversification the only way to go in UT?

Because many of person I knew withdraw their epf to invest in UT. Ranging from 10k to 50k.
If you only invest in 1-2 funds, you must be under the below 2 categories to make full use of the potential:

1) The funds you invest must be globally diversified or asset diversified enough to cover most market to smooth out volatility between regions and asset classes.

2) You have faith in investing in a particular region or sector after much research, and you will be able to react rationally through the market ups and downs.

Given the fund choices in Malaysia, most will fall under (2), because only holding 1-2 funds simply isnt enough to form a diversified portoflio
TSAIYH
post Nov 1 2016, 09:42 AM

1,166 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Nov 1 2016, 09:35 AM)
Let us know if it works.
You can actually just terminate the RSP contract for that fund so that it wont charge when RSP date come.

Then you manually DCA as you like.

After the RSP deduction date, then you set up the RSP contract again to let it deduct moving forward to following month smile.gif
MUM
post Nov 1 2016, 10:00 AM

14,888 posts

you mentioned...."So is this means those who just invest in only 1-2 funds (those who invest under utc mainly) will not make full of their investment?"
hmm.gif just wondering what is the meaning of " make full of their investment?"
having 1-2 funds is still ok if it serves the purpose and risk appetite of that investor.....

Is diversification the only way to go in UT?
diversification is the spread/reduce the risk of investing.....
having said that it could also be good thing if it is "concentrated" . You just have to get 2 criteria right.... to manage to buy the right fund at the right time.....and "sell it" off at the right time.....
hmm.gif just that how many can get these 2 criteria right all the time....

"Because many of person I knew withdraw their epf to invest in UT. Ranging from 10k to 50k."
those are either noobs, or think/beliefs they can get better return than EPF or they had found ways to get better returns than EPF rate.....
either way,....if for me, I would consider my EPF as Fixed income fund ...part of my portfolio allocation strategy....
Ramjade
post Nov 1 2016, 10:06 AM

24,354 posts

You can do one fund IF you trust the fund, the market it invest in. But if all hell break lose, where are you going to fall back on if you put all your money into one fund.

It's possible to say just buy KGF and don't buy anything. If it only give you 2% p.a for 3 years straight (if economy is bad), better put in FD.

river.sand
post Nov 1 2016, 10:39 AM

3,813 posts

For Muslims who insist on Syariah-compliant funds, unfortunately there aren't many options.

And then there are people who are worried that epf will go bankrupt. To them, any UTF is better than epf. They just want to withdraw as much savings as possible.
drew86
post Nov 1 2016, 11:36 AM

197 posts

QUOTE(AIYH @ Nov 1 2016, 09:42 AM)
You can actually just terminate the RSP contract for that fund so that it wont charge when RSP date come.

Then you manually DCA as you like.

After the RSP deduction date, then you set up the RSP contract again to let it deduct moving forward to following month smile.gif
Yup can just do that. Done that a couple of times before✌

xuzen
post Nov 1 2016, 12:51 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Nov 1 2016, 12:47 AM)
By the way. I am thinking of motioning the request that Xuzen be given an elite tag for his work in Alozen™ and giving us a foundation in investing via FSM thread which is the fastest growing thread in the Finance Section version 16.

without him some of us may be still be reading up on unit trust for dummies.

all in favour?

cc pinkspider dasecret T231H puchongite and of course all the band of brothers here.
LOL LOL LOL! My fanboi! icon_rolleyes.gif

Lu ingat lu Moderator kah?

Xuzen

This post has been edited by xuzen: Nov 1 2016, 12:51 PM
puchongite
post Nov 1 2016, 01:37 PM

33,633 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Nov 1 2016, 12:51 PM)
LOL LOL LOL! My fanboi!  icon_rolleyes.gif

Lu ingat lu Moderator kah?

Xuzen
Sifu Xuzen tell us what would you do to US presidential election.

We have listened too much from Ramjade already. I want to listen to your instant noodle version.

153 Pages « < 25 26 27 28 29 > » Top

0.0168sec    0.56    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 12:33 AM