FundSuperMart v16 (FSM) MY : Online UT Platform, UT DIY : Babystep to Investing :D
xuzen
Oct 23 2016, 11:43 AM
avangelice,
Your portfolio is too skewed towards Malaysia. I am underweighing Malaysia as of this moment for the following reason:
i) Oil price is very positively correlated to MYR. Low oil price = weak MYR.
ii) Poor sentiments (1MDB issue) not resolved satisfactory. Too much negative PR surrounding it. Govt is handling the PR matter poorly.
iii) Poor financial result reported by of most listed company on KLSE in the previous quarter.
Xuzen
SUSPink Spider
Oct 23 2016, 12:21 PM
Michaelbyz23
Oct 23 2016, 01:15 PM
My current portfolio is all high risk. Eastspring small cap Kenanga growth fund Affin Hwang Dynamic Fund
MUM
Oct 23 2016, 02:20 PM
QUOTE(Michaelbyz23 @ Oct 23 2016, 01:15 PM) My current portfolio is all high risk. Eastspring small cap Kenanga growth fund Affin Hwang Dynamic Fund
 pls elaborate this fund.... pls attach links cannot see this fund from lists....
Michaelbyz23
Oct 23 2016, 02:22 PM
QUOTE(MUM @ Oct 23 2016, 02:20 PM) pls elaborate this fund.... pls attach links cannot see this fund from lists.... Sorry, this one : Affin Hwang Select Asia (Ex Japan) Quantum Fund
prince_mk
Oct 23 2016, 02:29 PM
QUOTE(xuzen @ Oct 23 2016, 11:43 AM) avangelice, Your portfolio is too skewed towards Malaysia. I am underweighing Malaysia as of this moment for the following reason: i) Oil price is very positively correlated to MYR. Low oil price = weak MYR. ii) Poor sentiments (1MDB issue) not resolved satisfactory. Too much negative PR surrounding it. Govt is handling the PR matter poorly. iii) Poor financial result reported by of most listed company on KLSE in the previous quarter. Xuzen Sifu Xuzen, I m heavy in KGF and EISC using epf monies ard 50% of my portfolio. so how? sell all and buy what funds using epf monies ? only lately I withdrew epf monies to buy Titan ard 10% of my portfolio. should I consider EASTSPRING INVESTMENTS GLOBAL LEADERS MY FUND? any advise ? This post has been edited by prince_mk: Oct 23 2016, 02:51 PM
David3700
Oct 23 2016, 02:32 PM
QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Oct 23 2016, 12:21 PM) I am going in Asia Pax ex Japan. Sifus can share your preferences ?
Ramjade
Oct 23 2016, 02:43 PM
QUOTE(prince_mk @ Oct 23 2016, 02:29 PM) Sifu Xuzen, I m heavy in KGF and EISC using epf monies ard 50% of my portfolio. so how? sell all and buy what funds using epf monies ? only lately I withdrew epf monies to buy Titan ard 10% of my portfolio. any advise ?  Since KGF and Eastspring both invest in smallcap, can look at ASEAN smallcap. Either Affin Hwang Quantum/CIMB-Principal ASEAN Total Return Fund (based on returns) If you don't want Malaysia heavy, can look at Affin Hwang ASEAN Flexi Fund (only 7%) From everybody favourite fund manager: (kind of old but still practical) https://www.kenangainvestors.com.my/KIB/KIB...e_Interview.pdfKeep in mind she said she is negative about local economy and positive on thailand and indonesia. The edge said otherwise http://www.theedgemarkets.com/my/article/i...alaysian-stocksThis post has been edited by Ramjade: Oct 23 2016, 02:47 PM
botakbin
Oct 23 2016, 03:21 PM
Hi guys. New joiner here. Haven't started investing any yet but have read most of the replies in the previous thread and seems like Asia ex Japan is heavily favoured now. Should I start with those?
Also, what is ponzi 1.0 and 2.0? I tried searching but can't find the real names for it.
SUSDavid83
Oct 23 2016, 03:24 PM
QUOTE(botakbin @ Oct 23 2016, 03:21 PM) Hi guys. New joiner here. Haven't started investing any yet but have read most of the replies in the previous thread and seems like Asia ex Japan is heavily favoured now. Should I start with those? Also, what is ponzi 1.0 and 2.0? I tried searching but can't find the real names for it. Thanks. Ponzi 1: Affin Hwang Select Asia (Ex Japan) Quantum Fund Ponzi 2: CIMB-Principal Asia Pacific Dynamic Income Fund
botakbin
Oct 23 2016, 03:27 PM
QUOTE(David83 @ Oct 23 2016, 03:24 PM) Ponzi 1: Affin Hwang Select Asia (Ex Japan) Quantum Fund Ponzi 2: CIMB-Principal Asia Pacific Dynamic Income Fund Thanks a lot. So ponzi 2.0 seems to be very in line with the recent inclination towards Asia ex Japan? I've already favourited that fund and thought of buying some already, but the price seems a bit high now. This post has been edited by botakbin: Oct 23 2016, 03:27 PM
SUSDavid83
Oct 23 2016, 03:28 PM
QUOTE(botakbin @ Oct 23 2016, 03:27 PM) Thanks a lot. So ponzi 2.0 seems to be very in line with the recent inclination towards Asia ex Japan? I've already favourited that fund and thought of buying some already, but the price seems a bit high now. Ponzi 2 is on steroid for the past few weeks.
botakbin
Oct 23 2016, 03:31 PM
QUOTE(David83 @ Oct 23 2016, 03:28 PM) Ponzi 2 is on steroid for the past few weeks. Noted. Is it better to wait it out slightly or just put in some now and use DCA method when it drops?
TSAIYH
Oct 23 2016, 03:36 PM
QUOTE(botakbin @ Oct 23 2016, 03:31 PM) Noted. Is it better to wait it out slightly or just put in some now and use DCA method when it drops? If you want to invest lump sum, will suggest RHB AIF  IF you plan to DCA, Ponzi 2.0 is better  Btw how long are you going to invest?
T231H
Oct 23 2016, 03:40 PM
QUOTE(botakbin @ Oct 23 2016, 03:31 PM) Noted. Is it better to wait it out slightly or just put in some now and use DCA method when it drops? "The most important advice I would give to anyone who hasn't started (be it man or woman) and is being held back is to starting investing now, but use a small amount. Something you are comfortable with even if you suffer losses. It can be as little as one thousand dollars because that is usually all you need to start investing into a unit trust. Then, as you invest, you will see how markets and such affect your returns and you will be able to learn from your experiences without suffering too much heartache compared to if you placed your entire life savings into the market and lose half of it in a market crash. The key thing is you have to accumulate investing experience. No amount of prior reading up and accumulating of knowledge can compare with actual investing experience which can only be built up by using your own money to invest. You have to experience the emotional pull that comes from market ups and downs and learn how to handle your emotions during those times. And learning from mistakes made is the greatest teacher." https://secure.fundsupermart.com/main/resea...SJBlog_20141031
botakbin
Oct 23 2016, 03:45 PM
QUOTE(AIYH @ Oct 23 2016, 03:36 PM) If you want to invest lump sum, will suggest RHB AIF  IF you plan to DCA, Ponzi 2.0 is better  Btw how long are you going to invest?  Thanks a lot for the input. May I know what do you mean by how long am I going to invest?
botakbin
Oct 23 2016, 03:46 PM
QUOTE(T231H @ Oct 23 2016, 03:40 PM) "The most important advice I would give to anyone who hasn't started (be it man or woman) and is being held back is to starting investing now, but use a small amount. Something you are comfortable with even if you suffer losses. It can be as little as one thousand dollars because that is usually all you need to start investing into a unit trust. Then, as you invest, you will see how markets and such affect your returns and you will be able to learn from your experiences without suffering too much heartache compared to if you placed your entire life savings into the market and lose half of it in a market crash. The key thing is you have to accumulate investing experience. No amount of prior reading up and accumulating of knowledge can compare with actual investing experience which can only be built up by using your own money to invest. You have to experience the emotional pull that comes from market ups and downs and learn how to handle your emotions during those times. And learning from mistakes made is the greatest teacher." https://secure.fundsupermart.com/main/resea...SJBlog_20141031I've read this too and I totally agree with it. Just want to get advice from all the experienced investors here before I start my journey. Will start very soon.
TSAIYH
Oct 23 2016, 03:49 PM
QUOTE(botakbin @ Oct 23 2016, 03:45 PM) Thanks a lot for the input. May I know what do you mean by how long am I going to invest? Do you plan to put it for just for like 1 to 3 years, quit while suffering some losses or reap profit once hitting a certain profit range? Or do you plan to hold it for more than 3 years and just keep investing it until like retirement age or at least 3 to 5 years or more?
T231H
Oct 23 2016, 04:25 PM
M'sian Small Cap funds...any takers for some sai lang? New RM3bil fund proposed to invest in small and mid caps http://www.thestar.com.my/business/busines...l-and-mid-caps/
Andrew_1980
Oct 23 2016, 05:15 PM
Want to ask that opening account, is thru online download the form or can direct go to the FSM office and issue and submit form?
I will travel there in next few day