FundSuperMart v16 (FSM) MY : Online UT Platform, UT DIY : Babystep to Investing :D

wodenus
post Dec 21 2016, 04:38 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Dec 21 2016, 04:22 PM)
lesson learnt. my dad became the guarantor for the company instead of his partners. when shit hit the fan everyone high tailed and he was left with the dying company. hence why I'm a little jittery when problems hit close to home and I take it very personal when our leaders or people around me keep saying not to worry. the economy is doing fine. Malaysia is a great place. it will recover.

I don't wanna go through another recession man. it's not fun.
vincabby is right.. we will probably have another huge global downturn. The right attitude in a global recession is to buy when SHTF and the newspapers are screaming about it, and everyone says the world is doomed and will never recover. Newspapers just have about the right time lag for that smile.gif

I wish I was there, would have tried to recover it, there's nothing more attractive than a good company or country with nothing left to lose, what's the worst that can happen? smile.gif

This post has been edited by wodenus: Dec 21 2016, 04:39 PM
vincabby
post Dec 21 2016, 04:46 PM

664 posts

QUOTE(wodenus @ Dec 21 2016, 04:38 PM)
vincabby is right.. we will probably have another huge global downturn. The right attitude in a global recession is to buy when SHTF and the newspapers are screaming about it, and everyone says the world is doomed and will never recover. Newspapers just have about the right time lag for that smile.gif

I wish I was there, would have tried to recover it, there's nothing more attractive than a good company or country with nothing left to lose, what's the worst that can happen? smile.gif
very optimistic of you. I guess when you are staring at the storm, that's the only conclusion you can come out of it. That is an attitude i would really learn to have eventually.
xuzen
post Dec 21 2016, 06:59 PM

4,436 posts

For those who are unit-holders of Manulife India Equity Fund; below is the fund manager.

Mister Rana Gupta

This post has been edited by xuzen: Dec 21 2016, 07:04 PM
Avangelice
post Dec 21 2016, 07:02 PM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Dec 21 2016, 06:59 PM)
For those who are unit-holders of Manulife India Equity Fund; below is the fund manager.

Mister Rana Gupta
https://www.google.com/amp/m.economictimes....android-htc-rev

below is an insight to how he invests the funds.
adele123
post Dec 21 2016, 09:29 PM

4,725 posts

QUOTE(frankzane @ Dec 21 2016, 01:55 PM)
Dear Sifus,

Very basic question:

When do you all sell? When profit reaches....???
Havent sold any yet. 2years and 4 months in...

I have made one switching... cause the eastspring asia pac target return really not performing.

Btw, dasecret topping up any funds? Underperforming ones are malaysia funds, feel like topping up.
larisSa
post Dec 21 2016, 11:54 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Dec 20 2016, 11:18 PM)
1)

[attachmentid=8282652]

diversification. apples to oranges. Manulife US =/= TA Global in terms of the allocation the funds invest in please look into the fund fact sheets

2)

The NAV price of the fund that I'm interested in is quite high now, should I stay away? Investment gurus always say "buy low, sell high"...
First of all, understand what is NAV price. I always like to explain things by using simple examples. Here goes...

- Fund ABC issues 1 million units at Initial Offer Price of RM1.00 per unit.
- As such, at Day 1, NAV of ABC is 1 million units x RM1.00 = RM1 million. NAV price is RM1.00.
- After the end of the Initial Offer Period, ABC starts to operate, it starts to invest.
- Let's say ABC bought RM200,000 worth of Maybank shares, RM300,000 of Dutch Lady shares and RM500,000 of BAT shares.
- Let's say after 1 month,

Market value of holdings
Maybank RM180,000
Dutch Lady RM360,000
Guinness Anchor RM400,000
BAT shares were sold off during the month
Total value of equities held: RM940,000
Cash: RM50,000 (dividends received from BAT)
Total value of net assets i.e. NAV: RM990,000
NAV price per unit: RM990,000 / 1 million units = RM0.9900

Ah Beng says: "ABC is now cheaper, can buy!"
Answer:
NO! You cannot determine the "cheapness" of a fund by looking at its NAV price alone. We can only deduce that the ABC had made an NAV loss of 1% during the 1-month period, but you cannot say that it is "cheap".
The fund could have bought Maybank when it was overpriced, and now its holdings of Maybank had gone down 10%. Maybank is now cheap!
Guinness Anchor could be oversold, thus ABC sold its holdings of BAT and bought into Guinness Anchor. Another undervalued stock in ABC's holding!
However, Dutch Lady have rallied 20% in the past 1 month, it could be overbought i.e. expensively valued now.

Simply said, you determine the "cheapness" of a fund by reference to its underlying holdings. The NAV price CANNOT give you a single clue as to whether it is an opportune time to buy into a fund.

Let's say u are looking at a fund which focuses on plantation stocks. Plantation stocks on the KLCI could be oversold, went down 20% in the past 1 month yet the fund only recorded an NAV loss of 5% in the same period. You might think, "aiya, only -5%, the fund is still expensive, don't want buy in now lah". But you could be terribly wrong; it could be that the fund was sitting on a heavy cashpile during the past 1 month, hence it did not lose much. But plantation stocks are now trading at a discount, it is an opportune time for the fund to buy!

Of course, all this is based on the assumption that the fund manager is not stupid. tongue.gif
If the fund manager still sits on its huge cashpile and refuses to enter the market, then later when plantation stocks rally up 30% the fund could still be sitting there with -5%/+5%.

PAGE 1. READ IT. if don't know what I mean. READ AGAIN.
Thank you for the explanation.
I cannot buy both because there is no enough bullet,so i got to choose one only.

Sifu, I also have a question. I have a fund suffering big loss..

I don DCA regularly, depending on the NAV (I know NAV again, but that is the most obvious thing sweat.gif ).
If I continue to top up, the allocation of this fund will exceed my targetted allocation...
So any suggestion??
Avangelice
post Dec 22 2016, 12:28 AM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(larisSa @ Dec 21 2016, 11:54 PM)
Thank you for the explanation.
I cannot buy both because there is no enough bullet,so i got to choose one only.

Sifu, I also have a question. I have a fund suffering big loss..

I don DCA regularly, depending on the NAV (I know NAV again, but that is the most obvious thing sweat.gif ).
If I continue to top up, the allocation of this fund will exceed my targetted allocation...
So any suggestion??
sorry. not a sifu as there are better masters than me I am just trying to do my part to help around by passing knowledge I have learnt.

Once you have reach your target allocation you can begin to focus building your other funds. I don't know if you have seen one of my post about baking a cake but I'll try one more time just for you.

building a portfolio is just like baking a cake. you have the base for the cake which is the flour and eggs and butter now think of those as your fixed income funds and balance funds.

they will prop up your portfolio so you can begin to add the frostings, garnishes and decorations which are expensive aka equity funds. you have many ingredients and brands (funds) to choose from so you choose the best brand names and stick to them. of course there's a ratio. too much frosting the cake tastes bad. too little and it doesn't look good aka you find it hard to sell to people (return)

over the years you change your recipe as you know more brands but essentially your flour and butter stays the same.

Hope this helps.

summary.
stop adding sugar. time to go shopping for a chocolate bar.

PS which fund isn't doing good?

Avangelice
post Dec 22 2016, 10:47 AM

5,272 posts

KUALA LUMPUR: RAM Rating Services Bhd expects less participation by foreign investors in the Malaysian bond market for at least another quarter, until the onshore foreign exchange (forex) forward market becomes more established.

The local rating agency said the US Federal Reserve’s recent lifting of the federal funds rate and subsequent signal of several more to follow in 2017 may see foreign investors price in this rate normalisation in the coming year and this could also exacerbate the decline in foreign participation.

“Other uncertainties such as US President-elect Donald Trump’s much-anticipated policy direction and the Organization of the Petroleum Exporting Countries’ commitment on oil output could further influence the direction of global fund flows,” it noted in its latest issue of Bond Market Monthly report released yesterday.

“That said, we still expect some capital-market volatility despite the reduced level of participation on account of lingering external uncertainties,” it added.

Following Trump’s unexpected victory that has heightened uncertainties, RAM pointed out that the Malaysian bond market saw the largest net monthly outflow to date of RM19.9 billion in November 2016. The value of foreign holdings stood at RM221 billion as at end-November 2016, an 8.3% month-on-month drop.

who else is still holding Malaysian bond funds? have a read at this
DearWJ
post Dec 22 2016, 10:54 AM

34 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Dec 22 2016, 10:47 AM)
KUALA LUMPUR: RAM Rating Services Bhd expects less participation by foreign investors in the Malaysian bond market for at least another quarter, until the onshore foreign exchange (forex) forward market becomes more established.

The local rating agency said the US Federal Reserve’s recent lifting of the federal funds rate and subsequent signal of several more to follow in 2017 may see foreign investors price in this rate normalisation in the coming year and this could also exacerbate the decline in foreign participation.

“Other uncertainties such as US President-elect Donald Trump’s much-anticipated policy direction and the Organization of the Petroleum Exporting Countries’ commitment on oil output could further influence the direction of global fund flows,” it noted in its latest issue of Bond Market Monthly report released yesterday.

“That said, we still expect some capital-market volatility despite the reduced level of participation on account of lingering external uncertainties,” it added.

Following Trump’s unexpected victory that has heightened uncertainties, RAM pointed out that the Malaysian bond market saw the largest net monthly outflow to date of RM19.9 billion in November 2016. The value of foreign holdings stood at RM221 billion as at end-November 2016, an 8.3% month-on-month drop.

means gona run away from malaysia bond ASAP? blink.gif
Avangelice
post Dec 22 2016, 11:00 AM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(DearWJ @ Dec 22 2016, 10:54 AM)
I sold all my Malaysian bonds already.
drew86
post Dec 22 2016, 11:01 AM

197 posts

QUOTE(DearWJ @ Dec 22 2016, 10:54 AM)
Or one could hold n ride out the storm. I've switched out my entire anitamui to estherbond. Still keeping TA Dana for credit utilisation.
T231H
post Dec 22 2016, 11:03 AM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Dec 22 2016, 11:00 AM)
I sold all my Malaysian bonds already.
doh.gif no wonder the m'sian bond mkts are oversold now brows.gif innocent.gif rolleyes.gif
larisSa
post Dec 22 2016, 11:18 AM

34 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Dec 22 2016, 12:28 AM)
sorry. not a sifu as there are better masters than me I am just trying to do my part to help around by passing knowledge I have learnt.

Once you have reach your target allocation you can begin to focus building your other funds. I don't know if you have seen one of my post about baking a cake but I'll try one more time  just for you.

building a portfolio is just like baking a cake. you have the base for the cake which is the flour and eggs and butter now think of those as your fixed income funds and balance funds.

they will prop up your portfolio so you can begin to add the frostings, garnishes and decorations which are expensive aka equity funds.  you have many ingredients and brands (funds) to choose from so you choose the best brand names and stick to them. of course there's a ratio. too much frosting the cake tastes bad. too little and it doesn't look good aka you find it hard to sell to people (return)

over the years you change your recipe as you know more brands but essentially your flour and butter stays the same.

Hope this helps.

summary.
stop adding sugar. time to go shopping for a chocolate bar.

PS which fund isn't doing good?
So, does that mean fixed income fund and balanced fund should form the main allocation of our unitrust?
Then, we only add in equity fund?

RHB gold fund...It is at a big loss.
I used to gain from it but sold it off. Then I bought it in and now the price is diving downwards cry.gif
Avangelice
post Dec 22 2016, 11:20 AM

5,272 posts

Bonds, currencies and stocks in Asian emerging markets that are less dependent on external demand, such as India and Indonesia, are the most popular picks for investors and strategists next year. South Korea is seen as a market to avoid on concern U.S. President-elect Donald Trump will harm global trade after he takes office next month.

Currencies:

Bonds:

Stocks

www.bloomberg.com/amp/news/articles/2016-12-21/top-picks-for-2017-in-em-asia-are-india-indonesia-avoid-korea?client=ms-android-htc-rev

looks like India is going to be the darling of 2017 along with Asia pax Japan and emerging markets.
larisSa
post Dec 22 2016, 11:22 AM

34 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Dec 22 2016, 10:47 AM)

I am having AMB Income trust fund...at a tiny loss and just top it few days ago mega_shok.gif

just switch from Libra to Esther Bond
Avangelice
post Dec 22 2016, 11:25 AM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(T231H @ Dec 22 2016, 11:03 AM)
doh.gif  no wonder the m'sian bond mkts are oversold now  brows.gif  innocent.gif  rolleyes.gif
I'm small fish la bro. lol

QUOTE(larisSa @ Dec 22 2016, 11:18 AM)
So, does that mean fixed income fund and balanced fund should form the main allocation of our unitrust?

I used to gain from it but sold it off. Then I bought it in and now the price is diving downwards cry.gif
you can do this. say for this month you have 1k to put into your portfolio.

you can place 400myr into your fixed income, 200 to India, 200 to US, 200 to Ponzi 2.0.

if you have only myr 500 allocate per month, this month you allocate 300 for fixed income and another 200 to India. next month 300 for fixed income and 200 to US.

some of us here advocate 100% equity in the portfolio which is to me has high returns but very risky. I prefer to have a fixed income to have a place to lock my profits.

also gold is being bashed up because of US rates. I have no answer for that as I never believed in investing in precious metals.
Vanguard 2015
post Dec 22 2016, 12:39 PM

3,541 posts

QUOTE(larisSa @ Dec 20 2016, 09:10 PM)
blink.gif  I am not a bro la...
I google but some articles mention stock in it, so I get quite confused
Ohh..sorry my bad. Lady investors in this forum are very rare and treasured. Like the unicorn, phoenix or golden dragon. Please ask as many questions as you like in the future. Uncle Vanguard will assist whenever possible. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Vanguard 2015: Dec 22 2016, 12:39 PM
Avangelice
post Dec 22 2016, 12:51 PM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(Vanguard 2015 @ Dec 22 2016, 12:39 PM)
Ohh..sorry my bad. Lady investors in this forum are very rare and treasured. Like the unicorn, phoenix or golden dragon. Please ask as many questions as you like in the future. Uncle Vanguard will assist whenever possible.  biggrin.gif
uncle vanguard can help me top? smile smile
Ramjade
post Dec 22 2016, 01:02 PM

24,344 posts

QUOTE(larisSa @ Dec 22 2016, 11:18 AM)

You must know that gold have indirect relationship with USD, stability. When USD is going up and economy is "stable" - (no Brexit,no China issue), gold price will drop.
dasecret
post Dec 22 2016, 02:00 PM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(adele123 @ Dec 21 2016, 09:29 PM)
Havent sold any yet. 2years and 4 months in...

I have made one switching... cause the eastspring asia pac target return really not performing.

Btw, dasecret topping up any funds? Underperforming ones are malaysia funds, feel like topping up.
Hehe, why ask me? Ppl here all run far far away from Msia, both FI and EQ

Anyway, I'm not doing anything with my MY allocation for now, not selling but not topping up either; I've achieved my planned allocation for EQ for now. Besides, this 2 weeks is the window dressing time, if want to buy may be better in early Jan or after CNY

QUOTE(Vanguard 2015 @ Dec 22 2016, 12:39 PM)
Ohh..sorry my bad. Lady investors in this forum are very rare and treasured. Like the unicorn, phoenix or golden dragon. Please ask as many questions as you like in the future. Uncle Vanguard will assist whenever possible.  biggrin.gif
Lol, makes me wonder if I'm unicorn or phoenix or alien sweat.gif

So uncle Vanguard, what's your take on MY markets?

153 Pages « < 149 150 151 152 153 >Top

0.0303sec    0.46    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 09:56 PM