153 Pages « < 112 113 114 115 116 > » Bottom

FundSuperMart v16 (FSM) MY : Online UT Platform, UT DIY : Babystep to Investing :D

Avangelice
post Dec 8 2016, 09:38 AM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(David3700 @ Dec 8 2016, 09:31 AM)
Asia Pac will follow suit
malaysia on the other hand....

and I remembered fsm writing an article,

https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/resea...ly-Matter--7653

oh boy were they wrong. we are still smarting from it
more2teayap
post Dec 8 2016, 09:42 AM

(づ。◕‿‿◕。)づ
2,746 posts

FSM Singapore gets a interface revamp~
Avangelice
post Dec 8 2016, 10:10 AM

5,272 posts

https://secure.fundsupermart.com/fsm/#!/home

and we are still stuck with 2% and old interface. lol
puchongite
post Dec 8 2016, 10:12 AM

33,683 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Dec 8 2016, 10:10 AM)
You can get 0% with yet older interface, aka eUT. LOL.
Avangelice
post Dec 8 2016, 10:32 AM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ Dec 8 2016, 10:12 AM)
with 5k purchase. lol.
dasecret
post Dec 8 2016, 10:37 AM

1,498 posts

It's not comparing apple to apple if you look at just sales charge. In FSM SG you get charged 0.4% platform fees (by end 2017 it would be 0.35% per annum) on top of 0% sales charge.

For the long run investors, the platform fees add up and would quite easily exceed what FSM MY charges.

As to why FSM MY is still on old interface. It's economy of scale and simple demand and supply theory. So if there's not enough business and revenue generated out of the MY market, what makes you think they would be motivated to invest more

That's the same for all businesses. So go out there to share this platform with your Kuching friends and family so they have more reasons to (1) set up a branch in Kuching, (2) Provides more value added services

Edit: Updated based on latest pricing structure, now FSM SG charge 0% sales charge for all UT.

QUOTE(puchongite @ Dec 8 2016, 10:12 AM)
Well, sure, go ahead with your plan of using FSM platform to decide what to buy and then buy from eUT. Soon both platform would be obsolete as it is not sustainable to run on 0 fees or 0 revenue

p/s: I don't work for FSM, but I believe in making good businesses sustainable by supporting them

This post has been edited by dasecret: Dec 8 2016, 11:55 AM
Avangelice
post Dec 8 2016, 10:49 AM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(dasecret @ Dec 8 2016, 10:37 AM)
It's not comparing apple to apple if you look at just sales charge. In FSM SG you get charged 0.4% platform fees on top of 0.35% sales charge. Also, the 0.35% sales charge is subjected to a minimum charge of SGD10 per transaction, so if your transaction is <SGD3k, the effective sales charge is >0.35%

For the long run investors, the platform fees add up and would quite easily exceed what FSM MY charges.

As to why FSM MY is still on old interface. It's economy of scale and simple demand and supply theory. So if there's not enough business and revenue generated out of the MY market, what makes you think they would be motivated to invest more

That's the same for all businesses. So go out there to share this platform with your Kuching friends and family so they have more reasons to (1) set up a branch in Kuching, (2) Provides more value added services
Well, sure, go ahead with your plan of using FSM platform to decide what to buy and then buy from eUT. Soon both platform would be obsolete as it is not sustainable to run on 0 fees or 0 revenue

p/s: I don't work for FSM, but I believe in making good businesses sustainable by supporting them
Yeap exactly what I'm doing now. even going ahead and posting onto my Facebook. the more people who invest in malaysia. the more perks we get.
wodenus
post Dec 8 2016, 11:29 AM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

I'd rather have that and not be charged 0.1% a quarter to pay for what I don't need smile.gif

T231H
post Dec 8 2016, 11:30 AM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Dec 8 2016, 10:49 AM)
Yeap exactly what I'm doing now. even going ahead and posting onto my Facebook. the more people who invest in malaysia. the more perks we get.
thumbup.gif thank you.....
hmm.gif but, could you please do includes among other things,
the risks and expectations of investing in UTs
the real and frank assessment of their risk appetite

else, if people get burned during the minor markets corrections....they might says..."UTs cheats money", which is not good for the UTs industries. rolleyes.gif
Ramjade
post Dec 8 2016, 11:39 AM

24,380 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Dec 8 2016, 10:49 AM)
Promoting UT is not thr right way. We should promote ETFs as it's cheap cheaper in the long tun and statically, it will beat UT most of the time.

QUOTE(wodenus @ Dec 8 2016, 11:29 AM)
I'd rather have that and not be charged 0.1% a quarter to pay for what I don't need smile.gif
Agreed. The 0.1%/quater is a killer.

That's what I am planning for FSM SG. Use their info then use eUT.

How many people you know invest using RM5k?
If 6 funds = RM30k already. How many can fork out RM30k/month? If I have RM30k/month to invest, I would have choosen ETFs. If maybe one time RM5k/month/fund it might be doable. But if RM30k/month, don't think so
Avangelice
post Dec 8 2016, 11:39 AM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(T231H @ Dec 8 2016, 11:30 AM)
thumbup.gif thank you.....
hmm.gif but, could you please do includes among other things,
the risks and expectations of investing in UTs
the real and frank assessment of their risk appetite

else, if people get burned during the minor markets corrections....they might says..."UTs cheats money", which is not good for the UTs industries.  rolleyes.gif
it's a DIY investment portfolio. can't baby sit all those aunties and uncles who chase Fds and forex.
dasecret
post Dec 8 2016, 12:04 PM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Dec 8 2016, 11:39 AM)
Promoting UT is not thr right way. We should promote ETFs as it's cheap cheaper in the long tun and statically, it will beat UT most of the time.

If 6 funds = RM30k already.  How many can fork out RM30k/month? If I have RM30k/month to invest, I would have choosen ETFs. If maybe one time RM5k/month/fund it might be doable.  But if RM30k/month, don't think so
1. Try to map ETF/index in Msia with the jaguh kampung funds. Do you know that even lousy funds like Public small cap beat the index? cool2.gif Sure, the theory works in the US, but try to see if it works in less than efficient markets like most emerging markets

2. I know you don't feel there's an issue to use facility on FSM and then buy from the cheaper source. I'm just commenting it for others who have sustainability in mind. Oh ya, I think it would be a terrible idea for you to venture into businesses. Because it's more than just sourcing for the cheapest goods and maximising revenue.

3. Not sure what was that 5k and 30k calculations for. I'm sure lots of the ASx and FD folks have way more than that. And some of the regulars here who show their portfolio/FSM tier you can easily tell they have more than 30k in FSM as well

Old lady advice to you (despite sure fall on deaf ears), open your horizon, don't just think with what you know, be receptive of what others have to say even when it does not involve saving costs, and you may just gain from it
Avangelice
post Dec 8 2016, 12:26 PM

5,272 posts

Guys I need a little advise from you. Help out a brother if you can

I currently have 4k in Anita and 7k in Affin Select Bond so currently I have two bond funds. what would you do in my case?

1) switch Anita to an equity fund and get the credits.

2) transfer the 4k to Affin since my allocation for it is 25%.

thanks!
drew86
post Dec 8 2016, 12:38 PM

197 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Dec 8 2016, 12:26 PM)
Guys I need a little advise from you. Help out a brother if you can

I currently have 4k in Anita and 7k in Affin Select Bond so currently I have two bond funds. what would you do in my case?

1) switch Anita to an equity fund and get the credits.

2) transfer the 4k to Affin since my allocation for it is 25%.

thanks!
1) you dont get credits switching from FI to EQ. It's the other way round. Plus it needs to be an intra switch

2)this is probably the easiest way out of anitamui if you don't see it recovering the loss anytime soon, as the moment you switch you're realising the loss. Assuming that the upside for Affin in the next 3mths is greater than Libra, then its a win. Otherwise no. But who can predict the future? Personally I'm gonna hold on for a week or two more n see if anita is gona buck up..else will just realise the loss and switch over. What do you/others think?
Ramjade
post Dec 8 2016, 12:39 PM

24,380 posts

QUOTE(dasecret @ Dec 8 2016, 12:04 PM)
1. Try to map ETF/index in Msia with the jaguh kampung funds. Do you know that even lousy funds like Public small cap beat the index?  cool2.gif Sure, the theory works in the US, but try to see if it works in less than efficient markets like most emerging markets

2. I know you don't feel there's an issue to use facility on FSM and then buy from the cheaper source. I'm just commenting it for others who have sustainability in mind. Oh ya, I think it would be a terrible idea for you to venture into businesses. Because it's more than just sourcing for the cheapest goods and maximising revenue.

3. Not sure what was that 5k and 30k calculations for. I'm sure lots of the ASx and FD folks have way more than that. And some of the regulars here who show their portfolio/FSM tier you can easily tell they have more than 30k in FSM as well

Old lady advice to you (despite sure fall on deaf ears), open your horizon, don't just think with what you know, be receptive of what others have to say even when it does not involve saving costs, and you may just gain from it
1. Who asked you to look at Malaysian index? doh.gif Look la at S&P500/MSCI Asia Pacific etc.

3. Talking about buying from eUT for free Service charge. To qualify, one need to buy min RM5k worth of fund. If a person have 6-7 funds and want to get free SC, that person will need to fork out one shot RM30-RM35k. Anyway for deep pocket people no problem.
tonytyk
post Dec 8 2016, 12:42 PM

1,962 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Dec 8 2016, 11:39 AM)

If 6 funds = RM30k already.  How many can fork out RM30k/month? If I have RM30k/month to invest, I would have choosen ETFs. If maybe one time RM5k/month/fund it might be doable.  But if RM30k/month, don't think so
Please help elaborate on ETFs
Avangelice
post Dec 8 2016, 12:45 PM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(drew86 @ Dec 8 2016, 12:38 PM)
1) you dont get credits switching from FI to EQ. It's the other way round. Plus it needs to be an intra switch

2)this is probably the easiest way out of anitamui if you don't see it recovering the loss anytime soon, as the moment you switch you're realising the loss. Assuming that the upside for Affin in the next 3mths is greater than Libra, then its a win. Otherwise no. But who can predict the future? Personally I'm gonna hold on for a week or two more n see if anita is gona buck up..else will just realise the loss and switch over. What do you/others think?
my plan is to let it recover until my losses can be covered. targeting this to happen in February. then switch out. not switch immediately.
Ramjade
post Dec 8 2016, 12:59 PM

24,380 posts

QUOTE(tonytyk @ Dec 8 2016, 12:42 PM)
Please help elaborate on ETFs
See here
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2843370
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3396549

Basically it's like UT/Mutual fund minus the service charge minus the fund manager fees. That's what make it low cost.

If a UT can beat the index, we need to see after minus all the fees, is it still able to beat the index?
drew86
post Dec 8 2016, 01:00 PM

197 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Dec 8 2016, 12:45 PM)
my plan is to let it recover until my losses can be covered. targeting this to happen in February. then switch out. not switch immediately.
Same here. But haven't decided on how long to wait. Keeping a close eye
puchongite
post Dec 8 2016, 01:03 PM

33,683 posts

Edit: Updated based on latest pricing structure, now FSM SG charge 0% sales charge for all UT.

I have no problem if they want to charge 2% SC for small investments. But when it comes to bigger investments, that's where they scheme will appear rather not making sense while other places the fund can be purchased at 0% SC. Even for a gold member, he just gets .5% off the 2%, ie he still needs to pay 1.5% SC. Any promotion comes with 1% SC or 0.5% SC would just render the whole "reward" scheme useless.

I think they have to desire to make more money from the bigger investments because that's where they could get enough money to sustain the operation but I think this is not make sense from investor point of view. With competition around having different offerings, this scheme is seen as "punishing" the bigger investments.

I don't know for sure how eUT gets money to fund their operation. The fact that they offer 0% SC for bigger investment amount, that's something which make sense. Maybe they get it from the fund management company via the management fees. But it is a rewarding scheme for investing more ! Not the other way round.

153 Pages « < 112 113 114 115 116 > » Top

0.3183sec    0.90    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 02:48 PM