Hello, first time installing cctv. just got the quotation. What do you guys think?
[attachmentid=10228075]
[attachmentid=10228076]
How to decide the type of CCTV you need?, Security System - CCTV
Apr 16 2019, 11:28 AM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
726 posts Joined: Nov 2013 |
Hello, first time installing cctv. just got the quotation. What do you guys think?
[attachmentid=10228075] [attachmentid=10228076] |
Apr 16 2019, 01:56 PM
Went to lowyat. And got 1/2 the price of that cynics.
HIKvision [attachmentid=10228128] [attachmentid=10228129] [attachmentid=10228130] [attachmentid=10228131] |
Apr 16 2019, 04:59 PM
92 posts Joined: Sep 2018 From: Subang jaya |
Apr 16 2019, 05:30 PM
4,454 posts Joined: Apr 2006 |
Apr 16 2019, 06:03 PM
Apr 16 2019, 11:59 PM
67 posts Joined: Aug 2005 |
Apr 17 2019, 06:23 AM
QUOTE(pocalypse @ Apr 16 2019, 11:59 PM) Oh. During the renovation, i did cat6 wiring as well 8 points for cctv and the rest is ethernet port. I'll do the installation by myself. Planning to do it this weekend if all the works is completed. |
Apr 17 2019, 09:17 AM
QUOTE(naqib0307 @ Apr 17 2019, 06:23 AM) Oh. During the renovation, i did cat6 wiring as well 8 points for cctv and the rest is ethernet port. I'll do the installation by myself. Planning to do it this weekend if all the works is completed. Hi bro, update us if the installation went well. I'm on the same boat... my renovation is ongoing hence my contractor did Cat 6 wiring for 8 points too. But have not purchased the nvr & camera yet. Looking to purchase in Lazada and install myself. |
Apr 17 2019, 09:45 AM
QUOTE(vignesh77 @ Apr 17 2019, 09:17 AM) Hi bro, update us if the installation went well. I'm on the same boat... my renovation is ongoing hence my contractor did Cat 6 wiring for 8 points too. But have not purchased the nvr & camera yet. Looking to purchase in Lazada and install myself. Sure will doMy setup. All network cable including fibre will go to 1 place. Install the mounting rack inside there. My alarm box also is there. - Patch panel - Gigabit switch - 8ch NVR - Router Unifi will come and install maybe on saturday if everything goes as planned. I asked my wiring guy to make route for fibre cable from tmbox outside to that room. So later when tm come they just need to pull cable. My cctv will be 4 outdoor, 4 indoor. This post has been edited by naqib0307: Apr 17 2019, 09:47 AM |
Apr 17 2019, 11:29 AM
4,454 posts Joined: Apr 2006 |
Apr 17 2019, 12:08 PM
QUOTE(naqib0307 @ Apr 17 2019, 09:45 AM) Sure will do Share the photos bro once done. I was thinking of placement as:My setup. All network cable including fibre will go to 1 place. Install the mounting rack inside there. My alarm box also is there. - Patch panel - Gigabit switch - 8ch NVR - Router Unifi will come and install maybe on saturday if everything goes as planned. I asked my wiring guy to make route for fibre cable from tmbox outside to that room. So later when tm come they just need to pull cable. My cctv will be 4 outdoor, 4 indoor. Router, modem & switch at staircase (middle of house) NVR hidden in plaster ceiling. Setup: 1. Modem > router > 8 port gigabit switch > RJ45 wall plate (4 rooms, 1 living, 1 family hall) 2. Modem > router > 8 ch NVR > 6 outdoor & 2 indoor cameras 3. NVR > hdmi splitter > HDMI wall plate (living & family hall) 4. NVR > VGA wall plate (Master room) Am I missing something else? |
Apr 17 2019, 01:33 PM
100 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
I am running hikvision cams and NVR installed myself. I find myself using the hikvision app to view the NVR most of the time rather than on the TV. It is so much easier, since I do not have a monitor/TV in my room. However, sometimes, playback via the app not so smooth. So, you may not need the monitor in your master room. Just use your phone/tablet. My 2 cen.
Setup line crossing or intrusion detection and the app alerts you. Had to trial and error the sensitivity and other parameters to have it working just right. Otherwise, too much alerts. This post has been edited by Jase: Apr 17 2019, 01:35 PM |
Apr 17 2019, 02:38 PM
QUOTE(Jase @ Apr 17 2019, 01:33 PM) I am running hikvision cams and NVR installed myself. I find myself using the hikvision app to view the NVR most of the time rather than on the TV. It is so much easier, since I do not have a monitor/TV in my room. However, sometimes, playback via the app not so smooth. So, you may not need the monitor in your master room. Just use your phone/tablet. My 2 cen. May i know which camera and nvr are you using?Setup line crossing or intrusion detection and the app alerts you. Had to trial and error the sensitivity and other parameters to have it working just right. Otherwise, too much alerts. |
Apr 17 2019, 03:39 PM
QUOTE(vignesh77 @ Apr 17 2019, 12:08 PM) Share the photos bro once done. I was thinking of placement as: For me I do not need the hdmi. It is macam in the past already Router, modem & switch at staircase (middle of house) NVR hidden in plaster ceiling. Setup: 1. Modem > router > 8 port gigabit switch > RJ45 wall plate (4 rooms, 1 living, 1 family hall) 2. Modem > router > 8 ch NVR > 6 outdoor & 2 indoor cameras 3. NVR > hdmi splitter > HDMI wall plate (living & family hall) 4. NVR > VGA wall plate (Master room) Am I missing something else? If any problem need to climb to your ceiling? Or is it a norm people put it in ceiling. Sorry still new to this hahaha. [attachmentid=10228658] i planned to do something like this |
Apr 17 2019, 05:39 PM
411 posts Joined: Jan 2018 |
QUOTE(naqib0307 @ Apr 17 2019, 03:39 PM) For me I do not need the hdmi. It is macam in the past already your dvr 439If any problem need to climb to your ceiling? Or is it a norm people put it in ceiling. Sorry still new to this hahaha. [attachmentid=10228658] i planned to do something like this 4 x camera 329x4 =1316 1T hdd prolly 150 poe switch 130 total 2035. the original cynics quotation around 2400 So that fell make a few hundred buck from you only. fair enough la bro ppl need to make a living providing service to others whom have no knowledge to install/setup themselves. You will need to connect a monitor to your dvr to do the initial set, tests everything working before sending it up the ceiling which is actually not that uncommon. do all the monitoring via tablet /hp. good luck. |
Apr 17 2019, 06:38 PM
QUOTE(kimzee @ Apr 17 2019, 05:39 PM) your dvr 439 Firstly maybe you need to read properly my post and see the picture i uploaded. Second, eventho if its 400 , it is still money. He earn money from there, i also need to work to get the rm400.4 x camera 329x4 =1316 1T hdd prolly 150 poe switch 130 total 2035. the original cynics quotation around 2400 So that fell make a few hundred buck from you only. fair enough la bro ppl need to make a living providing service to others whom have no knowledge to install/setup themselves. You will need to connect a monitor to your dvr to do the initial set, tests everything working before sending it up the ceiling which is actually not that uncommon. do all the monitoring via tablet /hp. good luck. The quotation given for cynics 2MP camera RM 290 each. And total up whole system after disc RM2.4k The one that i got. 2MP Hikvision RM220 x 4 = RM880 8ch nvr poe RM400 1TB hdd RM150 Total = RM1430 Maybe rm1k not alot for you. Just giving options to others |
Apr 18 2019, 11:04 AM
QUOTE(naqib0307 @ Apr 17 2019, 06:38 PM) Firstly maybe you need to read properly my post and see the picture i uploaded. Second, eventho if its 400 , it is still money. He earn money from there, i also need to work to get the rm400. Dunno why nowadays ppl so quarrelsome. The quotation given for cynics 2MP camera RM 290 each. And total up whole system after disc RM2.4k The one that i got. 2MP Hikvision RM220 x 4 = RM880 8ch nvr poe RM400 1TB hdd RM150 Total = RM1430 Maybe rm1k not alot for you. Just giving options to others 1) I did not say you are doing anything wrong. 2) I just roughly calculate the cost based on the sticker price on the boxes to estimate the savings. 3) Obviously, if you have the knowledge to do the work yourself I would say go ahead and do it. I even give you a few tips on that and everbody knows saving money is important. Just that companies helping others setup their system need to make a living and pay staff salaries. Of course there are many cut throat vendors around which I did not dispute. So the option to scout around for prices and compare quotations is always there. |
Apr 18 2019, 11:08 AM
BTW........If you source from Taboa you will find the prices are cheaper still. Just that if there is problem with the product you have to solve it yourself.
Cheers and pls dun bother to reply to my comments. This post has been edited by kimzee: Apr 18 2019, 11:10 AM |
Apr 18 2019, 12:15 PM
100 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
| Change to: | 0.0242sec
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 06:50 AM |