How to decide the type of CCTV you need?, Security System - CCTV

naqib0307
post Apr 16 2019, 11:28 AM

726 posts

Hello, first time installing cctv. just got the quotation. What do you guys think?

[attachmentid=10228075]
[attachmentid=10228076]
naqib0307
post Apr 16 2019, 01:56 PM

726 posts

Went to lowyat. And got 1/2 the price of that cynics.

HIKvision

[attachmentid=10228128]
[attachmentid=10228129]
[attachmentid=10228130]
[attachmentid=10228131]
naqib0307
post Apr 16 2019, 06:03 PM

726 posts

QUOTE(vignesh77 @ Apr 16 2019, 04:59 PM)
Y not try NVR with POE.
That is nvr with poe. 8 ports
naqib0307
post Apr 16 2019, 06:03 PM

726 posts

QUOTE(alucard89 @ Apr 16 2019, 05:30 PM)
Bro, what's the name of the shop?
Sri computer.
naqib0307
post Apr 17 2019, 06:23 AM

726 posts

QUOTE(pocalypse @ Apr 16 2019, 11:59 PM)
if buy from lowyat, how do you settle the setup and installation ?
Oh. During the renovation, i did cat6 wiring as well 8 points for cctv and the rest is ethernet port. I'll do the installation by myself. Planning to do it this weekend if all the works is completed.
naqib0307
post Apr 17 2019, 09:45 AM

726 posts

QUOTE(vignesh77 @ Apr 17 2019, 09:17 AM)
Hi bro, update us if the installation went well. I'm on the same boat... my renovation is ongoing hence my contractor did Cat 6 wiring for 8 points too. But have not purchased the nvr & camera yet. Looking to purchase in Lazada and install myself.
Sure will do
My setup.
All network cable including fibre will go to 1 place. Install the mounting rack inside there.
My alarm box also is there.
- Patch panel
- Gigabit switch
- 8ch NVR
- Router

Unifi will come and install maybe on saturday if everything goes as planned. I asked my wiring guy to make route for fibre cable from tmbox outside to that room. So later when tm come they just need to pull cable.

My cctv will be 4 outdoor, 4 indoor.

This post has been edited by naqib0307: Apr 17 2019, 09:47 AM
naqib0307
post Apr 17 2019, 02:38 PM

726 posts

QUOTE(Jase @ Apr 17 2019, 01:33 PM)
I am running hikvision cams and NVR installed myself. I find myself using the hikvision app to view the NVR most of the time rather than on the TV. It is so much easier, since I do not have a monitor/TV in my room. However, sometimes, playback via the app not so smooth. So, you may not need the monitor in your master room. Just use your phone/tablet. My 2 cen.
Setup line crossing or intrusion detection and the app alerts you. Had to trial and error the sensitivity and other parameters to have it working just right. Otherwise, too much alerts.
May i know which camera and nvr are you using?
naqib0307
post Apr 17 2019, 03:39 PM

726 posts

QUOTE(vignesh77 @ Apr 17 2019, 12:08 PM)
Share the photos bro once done. I was thinking of placement as:

Router, modem & switch at staircase (middle of house)
NVR hidden in plaster ceiling.

Setup:

1. Modem > router > 8 port gigabit switch > RJ45 wall plate (4 rooms, 1 living, 1 family hall)
2. Modem > router > 8 ch NVR > 6 outdoor & 2 indoor cameras
3. NVR > hdmi splitter > HDMI wall plate (living & family hall)
4. NVR > VGA wall plate (Master room)

Am I missing something else?
For me I do not need the hdmi. It is macam in the past already tongue.gif hahaha use single cable for all. I dont plan to put a tv/monitor there. If android TV/android box got the apps then it is good. Plus, I pulled the cable to the bedrooms as well. Can view using pc/phone. Just need to get good router.

If any problem need to climb to your ceiling? Or is it a norm people put it in ceiling. Sorry still new to this hahaha.

[attachmentid=10228658]

i planned to do something like this
naqib0307
post Apr 17 2019, 06:38 PM

726 posts

QUOTE(kimzee @ Apr 17 2019, 05:39 PM)
your dvr 439
4 x camera 329x4 =1316
1T hdd  prolly 150
poe switch 130

total 2035.
the original cynics quotation around 2400

So that fell make a few hundred buck from you only. fair enough la bro ppl need to make a living providing service to  others whom have no knowledge to install/setup themselves.

You will need to connect a monitor to your dvr to do the initial set, tests everything working before sending it up the ceiling which is actually not  that uncommon.
do all the monitoring via tablet /hp. good luck.
Firstly maybe you need to read properly my post and see the picture i uploaded. Second, eventho if its 400 , it is still money. He earn money from there, i also need to work to get the rm400.

The quotation given for cynics
2MP camera RM 290 each. And total up whole system after disc RM2.4k

The one that i got.
2MP Hikvision RM220 x 4 = RM880
8ch nvr poe RM400
1TB hdd RM150
Total = RM1430

Maybe rm1k not alot for you. Just giving options to others

naqib0307
post Apr 21 2019, 04:52 PM

726 posts

QUOTE(vignesh77 @ Apr 17 2019, 12:08 PM)
Share the photos bro once done. I was thinking of placement as:

Router, modem & switch at staircase (middle of house)
NVR hidden in plaster ceiling.

Setup:

1. Modem > router > 8 port gigabit switch > RJ45 wall plate (4 rooms, 1 living, 1 family hall)
2. Modem > router > 8 ch NVR > 6 outdoor & 2 indoor cameras
3. NVR > hdmi splitter > HDMI wall plate (living & family hall)
4. NVR > VGA wall plate (Master room)

Am I missing something else?
Only installed 3/8 cam. The rest waiting for wiring complete and after interior paint/ plaster ceiling for living done.

[attachmentid=10230417]
[attachmentid=10230418]
[attachmentid=10230419]

naqib0307
post Apr 21 2019, 05:56 PM

726 posts

QUOTE(adamw @ Apr 21 2019, 05:37 PM)
So you choose 2 or 4Mp?
4MP.

2MP dome x 2pcs cause that is the only stock they have for dome
naqib0307
post Apr 21 2019, 07:37 PM

726 posts

QUOTE(Nando's @ Apr 21 2019, 07:02 PM)
Is this your home setup? hmm.gif

So many LAN ports
hahaha. this one weekdays home. Just gonna be there at night only Mon-Thurs lol. CCTV whole house rclxm9.gif

Now i realised, bought the wrong switch hahaha. Shouldve bought 8 gigabit ports with poe. That one is 16 gigabit port which is a lot more than i need lol

This post has been edited by naqib0307: Apr 21 2019, 07:38 PM
naqib0307
post Apr 22 2019, 10:10 AM

726 posts

QUOTE(Nando's @ Apr 22 2019, 09:09 AM)
No wonder, 16 ports for a house is like WOW  rclxm9.gif
Actually got lah hahaha. Installed at hometown 16 ports and next project to add 16ch nvr but this one cannot diy hahaha too many to install.

Each room 2 ports, 1 for tv 1 for pc. Living, dining, kitchen, some area to install ap.
naqib0307
post Apr 22 2019, 11:46 AM

726 posts

QUOTE(adamw @ Apr 22 2019, 10:45 AM)
Got video comparisons to share? 2 & 4Mp.
I have not installed the 2MP camera yet.

Here some photos day and night for 4MP camera taken using phone application

[attachmentid=10230921]

[attachmentid=10230922]

[attachmentid=10230923]

[attachmentid=10230925]

This post has been edited by naqib0307: Apr 22 2019, 11:56 AM
naqib0307
post Apr 22 2019, 12:34 PM

726 posts

Found 1 more store selling hikvision at lowyat. cheaper. The same 4MP camera i bought @ RM290 each. They are selling RM250 each for 8pcs. Buy more get cheaper.
naqib0307
post Apr 22 2019, 10:33 PM

726 posts

QUOTE(adamw @ Apr 22 2019, 05:18 PM)
All using main stream?
i think so. Just now i set all camera main stream.
naqib0307
post Apr 22 2019, 11:24 PM

726 posts

QUOTE(mv_wong @ Apr 22 2019, 11:13 PM)
The last picture, is the lighting provided by your house lights? or that's the totally dark scene but the camera night mode are able to take this picture without much light source?
the last picture should be the camera night mode. This house is under renovation. Nothing inside including lights. Empty house with cctv lol
naqib0307
post Apr 23 2019, 08:45 AM

726 posts

QUOTE(adamw @ Apr 23 2019, 12:18 AM)
You can see the camera IR reflected on the back wall & on the left could be  his neighbour's back lights or street lamp. I don't know if this HIK model can be configure as 5MP or is strictly 4MP. If 4MP it is not using Sony CMOS so you will notice a bit of noise during low lights.
im not sure which cmos. But this is the specs

http://www.cctvcentersl.es/upload/Catalogo...2CD1043GO-I.pdf
naqib0307
post Apr 23 2019, 09:34 AM

726 posts

QUOTE(vignesh77 @ Apr 23 2019, 09:25 AM)
Was reading the other day some UK based site. It seems they prefer 2mp compared to 4mp due to lower noise rate & better sharpness. And also eats up lesser hdd space.

Can't locate the website again. Anyone has experience using both 2mp & 4mp? Please share your thoughts.
I will install it this sunday. Will update later. If everything goes well for this house I'm planning for next project which will have 24 camera.

Currently got contractor for pulling cable and conduit for about rm90 each point. So just left to plug n play the cctv
naqib0307
post Apr 28 2019, 07:42 PM

726 posts

Just installed another 3 camera today

4MP bullet. Lights off.
[attachmentid=10235249]

2MP Dome. Got light source at the back (kitchen)

[attachmentid=10235250]

Car porch. 4MP bullet

[attachmentid=10235251]

0.0614sec    0.68    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 11:33 AM