Travel Hong Kong V5

Lester1987
post Nov 23 2017, 09:21 AM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(inachi @ Nov 22 2017, 12:30 PM)
what? boring? haha..is this is 23142429 times to HK?

if this is your first time, then which means u are a lazy traveller. lol
Haha my 5th Time here. Agree on the lazy part because it’s a business trip (although a bit relaxing like can go in at 10, leave at 3-4pm kind). Looks like tonight I will go Kowloon side for some walk. Has been staying in HK island all the while because my hotel and office is in causeway Bay.
inachi
post Nov 23 2017, 11:04 AM

i don troll
1,097 posts

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Nov 23 2017, 09:21 AM)
Haha my 5th Time here. Agree on the lazy part because it’s a business trip (although a bit relaxing like can go in at 10, leave at 3-4pm kind). Looks like tonight I will go Kowloon side for some walk. Has been staying in HK island all the while because my hotel and office is in causeway Bay.
oh..Then just go out and stroll by the harbour lo..
at least better than wasting your time staying in hotel room.
danny1010
post Nov 25 2017, 02:11 PM

40 posts

planning to visit in March 2018
got 2 adults and 2 baby[ 1yr and 2 years]

any recommendation for hotel?
itenaries?
food?
interesting places?

thanks thanks
dinozilla
post Nov 25 2017, 02:54 PM

1,680 posts

I will be traveling to HK 30th, until 8th dec
once landed will be going macau first for 2 nights, then remaining 6 in HK
flight n stay settled
left tickets, food, entrance, etc
prepared 4k HKD for 2, and 200USD as spare in case not enough...
we plan to utilize card for big $$ items or whenever it can be use...
would the 4k+USD200 sufficient?
inachi
post Nov 25 2017, 03:16 PM

i don troll
1,097 posts

QUOTE(danny1010 @ Nov 25 2017, 02:11 PM)
planning to visit in March 2018
got 2 adults and 2 baby[ 1yr and 2 years]

any recommendation for hotel?
itenaries?
food?
interesting places?
thanks thanks
wah wah..it'll be good if you can do your own homework and plan based on your own preference and then only get our advise. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(dinozilla @ Nov 25 2017, 02:54 PM)
I will be traveling to HK 30th, until 8th dec
once landed will be going macau first for 2 nights, then remaining 6 in HK
flight n stay settled
left tickets, food, entrance, etc
prepared 4k HKD for 2, and 200USD as spare in case not enough...
we plan to utilize card for big $$ items or whenever it can be use...
would the 4k+USD200 sufficient?

2K wouldn't say guarantee sufficient but its possible. I spent RM1.7k last time, and yet i hardly buy anything or splurge a lot on food..

All all my entrance fee were paid using credit card via Klook app too.

so ya if you think u r a big spender, then definitely not enough.
dinozilla
post Nov 25 2017, 03:47 PM

1,680 posts

so 2k+~800 (HKD) per pax for about 9 days is barely enough?
then maybe i try to top up a bit more...

inachido you book from klook like before u leave to HK...or like kind of spontaneous book the night before from hotel?

This post has been edited by dinozilla: Nov 25 2017, 03:49 PM
inachi
post Nov 25 2017, 09:06 PM

i don troll
1,097 posts

QUOTE(dinozilla @ Nov 25 2017, 03:47 PM)
so 2k+~800 (HKD) per pax for about 9 days is barely enough?
then maybe i try to top up a bit more...

inachido you book from klook like before u leave to HK...or like kind of spontaneous book the night before from hotel?
for things like airport transfer i book before i leave to HK..but for stuffs like those tourist attractions, and the ferry to Macau its all done when in hotel..coz my travel style is free & easy, so i would prefer to do it when i really think its a good time.
Jay Chua CC
post Dec 5 2017, 10:56 PM

~Dont settle for good. Demand great~
5,907 posts

Gonna visit Hk soon. Staying at Tung chung. Is this location accessible to all the tourist places? Like street market, street food etc
stimix
post Dec 6 2017, 09:30 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

QUOTE(Jay Chua CC @ Dec 5 2017, 10:56 PM)
Gonna visit Hk soon. Staying at Tung chung. Is this location accessible to all the tourist places? Like street market, street food etc
Isn't Tung Chung located at Lantau island/ airport area? That's far from the city.
RegentCid
post Dec 6 2017, 09:35 AM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

QUOTE(Jay Chua CC @ Dec 5 2017, 09:56 PM)
Tung Chung to City Area such as Mongkok, Tsim Sha Tsui, HK Island by MRT need 1 hour journey.
stimix
post Dec 6 2017, 09:49 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Dec 6 2017, 09:35 AM)
Tung Chung to City Area such as Mongkok, Tsim Sha Tsui, HK Island by MRT need 1 hour journey.
Nvm, everyday use airport express rail to city 30min nia haha.

Btw, I'm going to HK again for a very short dew days trip during Christmas. This time round no more budget. More like makan trip and staying at better hotel. My years of budget travels are gone now

This post has been edited by stimix: Dec 6 2017, 09:51 AM
sacwoc
post Dec 6 2017, 10:03 AM

306 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Dec 6 2017, 09:35 AM)
Actually not that bad lah, except for HK Island. In Tung Chung (TC) you only have TC line. If you want to go MOngkok and dont mind walking about 10-15mins, take the TC line and stop at Olympic. To TST, just change at Lai King and it takes about 45 mins. If you plan to go Island, just stop at HK and take bus/tram or other lines.
inachi
post Dec 6 2017, 05:49 PM

i don troll
1,097 posts

QUOTE(Jay Chua CC @ Dec 5 2017, 10:56 PM)
haha omg..definitely not! its freaking far man..never search the map? tongue.gif
Jay Chua CC
post Dec 7 2017, 03:03 AM

~Dont settle for good. Demand great~
5,907 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Dec 6 2017, 09:49 AM)
Nvm, everyday use airport express rail to city 30min nia haha.

Btw, I'm going to HK again for a very short dew days trip during Christmas. This time round no more budget. More like makan trip and staying at better hotel. My years of budget travels are gone now
Can save up on cost as my relative's condo is at TC. She is stewardess and constantly flying all around so have few units around the region.
First time going to HK. 4 days trip. Any idea how much budget per person approx for 3 adults?
Howe much is the train to the city from TC?
jtsl9
post Dec 7 2017, 07:55 AM

276 posts

First time going to HK and working out the itinerary for 5 adults and 1 child.
We will be heading there end of Jan
Day 1: Arrival in the afternoon. Explore Mongkok and Tsim Tsa Tsui area
Day 2: Lantau Island (Morning) & Victoria Peak (Noon onwards)
Day 3: Macau (Day Trip)
Day 4: Disneyland
Day 5: Flight back to KL in the evening

Would highly appreciate if can get feedback from sifus which have been there countless time especially on the must try food in the area that I will be visiting. Thanks
stimix
post Dec 7 2017, 08:54 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

QUOTE(Jay Chua CC @ Dec 7 2017, 03:03 AM)
Can save up on cost as my relative's condo is at TC. She is stewardess and constantly flying all around so have few units around the region.
First time going to HK. 4 days trip. Any idea how much budget per person approx for 3 adults?
I see. Good also since hotel rates in HK probably one of the highest in the world interm of room size!

You may plan your journey & $ using hk mtr website: http://www.mtr.com.hk/en/customer/jp/index.php?sid=43&eid=1

For eg, using octopus card ( like our TnG), the rate from tc to central will be $22.40 ~RM12/way.

Food - well from my last visit ~9yrs ago? There were cheap food on the lane beside ladies st in mongkok. Price that time from $15-$25. Now probably $25-$35?

Do work around the budget...u are lucky havibg a free acc. My tiny hotel in mongkok cost me RM600/night

For attractions, buy online via klooks app. Lotsa discounted tickets/ e vouchers there

This post has been edited by stimix: Dec 7 2017, 08:56 AM
sacwoc
post Dec 7 2017, 09:13 AM

306 posts

YOu can download the MTR Mobile as well to plan your trip. It can cost you somewhere between 9 -15HKD. If you cross over the island its definitely much more expensive. Once you get a cross, the trams are cheap - HKD2 per ride
inachi
post Dec 7 2017, 09:54 PM

i don troll
1,097 posts

well if ur intention is to save on the accommodation then no choice lo..but talk about convenience, its not really a good idea la..unless u go out in the early morning, and do whatever u wan until late night, then only go back.

if u planning to go back and forth in between, its gonna waste money and time.

QUOTE(jtsl9 @ Dec 7 2017, 07:55 AM)
First time going to HK and working out the itinerary for 5 adults and 1 child.
We will be heading there end of Jan
Day 1: Arrival in the afternoon. Explore Mongkok and Tsim Tsa Tsui area
Day 2: Lantau Island (Morning) & Victoria Peak (Noon onwards)
Day 3: Macau (Day Trip)
Day 4: Disneyland
Day 5: Flight back to KL in the evening

Would highly appreciate if can get feedback from sifus which have been there countless time especially on the must try food in the area that I will be visiting. Thanks
wow, that was really really really rushed considered u have 2 day trips..the only time u get to really walk and explore is only on day 1 and that was not even a full day.

This post has been edited by inachi: Dec 7 2017, 09:54 PM
SUSGlockers
post Dec 15 2017, 10:08 AM

169 posts

Hi guys, i need a data sim card so can access internet all the time there using my spare phone as modem. This to avoid expensive roaming charges because im using 3 active phones.

So, i heard we can get it at the airport, but i dont know how much the price and what are the data like.

Can recommend me which telco are reliable there and the price. Will be there for 5 days.
sweet_pez
post Dec 15 2017, 10:24 AM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(Glockers @ Dec 15 2017, 10:08 AM)
Hi guys, i need a data sim card so can access internet all the time there using my spare phone as modem. This to avoid expensive roaming charges because im using 3 active phones.

So, i heard we can get it at the airport, but i dont know how much the price and what are the data like.

Can recommend me which telco are reliable there and the price. Will be there for 5 days.
You can check Klook. Or the site at my Sig. They have for HK as well. Klook usually you'll have to pickup at HKG airport. Hello1010 they will courier to you but you must order at least 1 week in advance.

52 Pages « < 25 26 27 28 29 > » Top

0.0360sec    0.76    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 04:13 PM