Travel Hong Kong V5

stimix
post Dec 6 2017, 09:30 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

QUOTE(Jay Chua CC @ Dec 5 2017, 10:56 PM)
Gonna visit Hk soon. Staying at Tung chung. Is this location accessible to all the tourist places? Like street market, street food etc
Isn't Tung Chung located at Lantau island/ airport area? That's far from the city.
stimix
post Dec 6 2017, 09:49 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Dec 6 2017, 09:35 AM)
Tung Chung to City Area such as Mongkok, Tsim Sha Tsui, HK Island by MRT need 1 hour journey.
Nvm, everyday use airport express rail to city 30min nia haha.

Btw, I'm going to HK again for a very short dew days trip during Christmas. This time round no more budget. More like makan trip and staying at better hotel. My years of budget travels are gone now

This post has been edited by stimix: Dec 6 2017, 09:51 AM
stimix
post Dec 7 2017, 08:54 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

QUOTE(Jay Chua CC @ Dec 7 2017, 03:03 AM)
Can save up on cost as my relative's condo is at TC. She is stewardess and constantly flying all around so have few units around the region.
First time going to HK. 4 days trip. Any idea how much budget per person approx for 3 adults?
Howe much is the train to the city from TC?
I see. Good also since hotel rates in HK probably one of the highest in the world interm of room size!

You may plan your journey & $ using hk mtr website: http://www.mtr.com.hk/en/customer/jp/index.php?sid=43&eid=1

For eg, using octopus card ( like our TnG), the rate from tc to central will be $22.40 ~RM12/way.

Food - well from my last visit ~9yrs ago? There were cheap food on the lane beside ladies st in mongkok. Price that time from $15-$25. Now probably $25-$35?

Do work around the budget...u are lucky havibg a free acc. My tiny hotel in mongkok cost me RM600/night

For attractions, buy online via klooks app. Lotsa discounted tickets/ e vouchers there

This post has been edited by stimix: Dec 7 2017, 08:56 AM
stimix
post Dec 24 2017, 06:38 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

QUOTE(Glockers @ Dec 15 2017, 02:24 PM)
Noted. Will be only in Hong Kong. Just need unlimited data with 3G or 4G.

Saw the details in Klook that for unlimited data the coverage is 3G where as 1.5GB data is 4G.

Not sure how fast 3G is there but i check Hong Kong has the 3rd fastest internet speed in the world so i reckon 3G is sufficient?

Need fast connection to do video streaming, FB live, Skype calls, Insta live, WhatsApp etc.
Currently in HK, just grab this cmhk sim from any 7-11. Dirt cheap at HK$48. Sufficient for 5 days. The cashier assisted me ti activate the card as well applying for unlimited data till 1/1/2018 eventhough pic showing 1.5gb only & 5 days. I was told this is a special promo
stimix
post Dec 26 2017, 11:55 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

QUOTE(Jay Chua CC @ Dec 24 2017, 04:45 PM)
Wow. Nice. The cold temp will prolong up till Feb? Btw, how you got up to the peak? planning my itinerary
The cold spell last week ended on last friday. I was there since last Friday and temperature increasing from avg day temp like CH of 18c to 23C on Sunday! I hv to take out my jacket on whole of sunday! All because of souther typhoon of kaitak..
stimix
post Dec 26 2017, 03:50 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

QUOTE(Jay Chua CC @ Dec 26 2017, 03:00 PM)
ohh. thats sad to hear. Means by Feb, it will be hot like in Malaysia d. hahaha
Not really. The peak of winter is not really dec but late Jan- early feb where temparature might drop to 10c

Just check the weather before you're there. HK temp is very mild compare to Northen china/korea.
stimix
post Jan 3 2018, 06:12 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Ngong ping, advisable book the cheaper after 2:30pm slot because no more que by 2:30pm. Morning qie is very long even u are using klook because u need to join the long que to the cable car after getting the ticket. On the way down, try go back early b4 5om because both klook & normal ticket holders will be joining the wue going down b4 last service at 6:30pm or wait till 6:30pm kua..

For peak, sat/sun even wth klook also long long que atleast 15-30min. Well better than non express klook queing for 1.5hrs min.
stimix
post Jan 3 2018, 11:20 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Jan 3 2018, 06:23 PM)
But if we were to go at 2:30 pm slot, would there be enough time to wander around? Or there is not much to do there?

Ok.. Will book the tickets for the Peak in advance. What time do you reckon is the best time to go to the peak?
2:30pm slot ok. Because on avg, 2hrs on rop is more than enough. Too bad by 5pm to 6pm, there will be a long que coning down.

For peak, as early as possible. Probably b4 9am
stimix
post Jan 8 2018, 10:47 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

QUOTE(Duckies @ Jan 8 2018, 08:47 AM)
The last I checked AA was 1.8k for 3 person but it was for Nov hmm.gif Wondering if it can get any cheaper hmm.gif
AA for RM600, is it inc of seat booking, food & baggages & misc taxes? If not u need to add RM200+ to each return ticket.

AA promo sometime can be as low as RM400 return but once you add-on.. it will be ~RM600. Well u can say cheaper than others at this rate..

My recent trip to HK during christmas was on SIA wth transit at changi. Eventhough longer but I got the chheapesr promo at RM730/pax..all to HK and even got the free transit voucher of s$20/pax (RM61) to shop at changi...
stimix
post Jan 8 2018, 02:46 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

QUOTE(Duckies @ Jan 8 2018, 10:51 AM)
Hmm 730 per pax still need about 2.1k for 3 persons hmm.gif RM1.8k was inclusive of everything for AA. Not sure if that's the cheapest I'll ever get hmm.gif

Just checked again for travel period Nov 5-17. It's about 1.4k for 3 persons minus food, insurance, baggage and others. I think I can opt out food. Baggage also dont need 20kg for each...I think 40kg for 3 person is okay. Add here and there...1.6k macam boleh settle hmm.gif

Still wondering if 1.6k for 3 persons is the cheapest I can find  hmm.gif If MAS or cathay pacific can get like 1.8k I would definitely go to them.
Food is cheap RM15 only. Tge baggages & seats are the expensive part. Unless u wanna sit seperately which they surely do if u don't buy seat. To change seats with others on flight sometime can be very irritating to others hor...as what I experienced.

Not sure hk, but choosing 1 seat was RM42 going to australia & baggage 20kg was RM119 on my aax trip to melbourne recently. That's why I said u need xtra RM200/pax haha.

The RM730 was b4 minus the shopping coucher of rm60. If u inc this, the ticket price was just RM670. With 30kg baggage/pax + food, dr8nks, liquir as well as ice-cream..
stimix
post Jan 8 2018, 02:53 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

QUOTE(Duckies @ Jan 8 2018, 02:49 PM)
Hmm so averagely it's abut 600-800 for plane ticket. Thanks for information. Will keep looking for promotions from cathay and MAS. Or if there's any promotion somebody pls tag me ya tongue.gif
You probably can try out skyscanner apps. Just set an alarm on the date u choose and they will notofy u once the cheapest tickets available. That's how I got my sia tickets after ~2mths of waiting and seeing the price of diif airlines fluctuating weekly from RM1k till got this cheap tickets in aug 17.

This post has been edited by stimix: Jan 8 2018, 02:53 PM
stimix
post Jan 23 2018, 08:59 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Uber is available there kua. Although I didn't try but I did opened my uber spps & compare the price there
stimix
post Jan 29 2018, 11:58 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Yup usekess if goto lkf diring daytime. I visited lkf ~5pm & nothing there..skip if u are not pub/bars lovers.

For chunking mansion, this is a good place for muslim visitors. So many mamaks stalls inside this complex.

Otherwise, u can walk up to the cleaner complex beside the mamak eateries (same building, diff entrance) there is a tai kar lok (cafe de coral) there for cheap breakfast/lunch. Buy set good for 2 pax

This post has been edited by stimix: Jan 29 2018, 12:02 PM

0.0206sec    0.48    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 10:42 PM