2,797 posts

Basic Tourist Guides & Information

V1: http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/539412
V2: http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1217081
V3: http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2227408
V4: https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2779821

---> In lieu of the protest in Hong Kong, Malaysians travelling there are advised to be careful.
Check out the site below to help plan your travel during this turbulent time:

https://www.scmp.com/news/hong-kong/transpo...s-plan-your-day

Important Information:

Consulate General of Malaysia in Hong Kong

Address: 24/F Malaysia Building
47-50 Gloucester Road
Wanchai, Hong Kong SAR

Telephone: (852) 2821 0800
(852) 6900 6390 (EMERGENCY cases)

Fax: (852) 28651628
Email: mwhongkong@kln.gov.my
GMT: + 8 hrs

Work days: Mon-Fri; 24/F Consular: 0930-1230 & 1430-1600 (For passport renewals, see Consular Information in Main Menu)
Public Holidays: Sat, Sun & PH (See Corporate Information in Main Menu)

Emergency Contact/ Number:
999 - Emergency services (police, fire, ambulance)

Lost passport
If you lose your passport, make a 'lost report' at the nearest police station (call the Police Hotline 2527 7177 for locations or refer to their website to find a Report Room). Then contact your consulate to have your passport replaced.

Information quoted from Discover HK. For more: http://www.discoverhongkong.com/seasia/pla...ful-numbers.jsp

Basic Tourist Information
Weather Forecast - http://www.hko.gov.hk/contente.htm
As weather in Hong Kong fluctuates all the time, check weather forecast before departing. Beware of typhoon during Summer season (June~October)!

MTR - One of the main transportation in Hong Kong - http://www.mtr.com.hk/eng/homepage/cust_index.html

Octopus card contains a built-in microchip with your payment information. With a simple 'touch' of your Octopus at a processing machine, the payment system automatically deducts the correct amount. There is no longer any need to carry coins. Normally, it can be used in major convenient stores, supermarket, fast food restaurants as well as all public transportation except taxi. - http://www.octopus.com.hk/home/en/index.html

Official Hong Kong Tourism Board - Check out the major attractions in Hong Kong - http://www.discoverhongkong.com/eng/

Major Bus Service Providers - Kowloon Motor Bus http://www.kmb.hk/en/, Citybus http://www.nwstbus.com.hk/home/default.aspx?intLangID=1 and New Lantau Bus http://www.newlantaobus.com/

Official information of Taxi in Hong Kong - Know more about Hong Kong taxis to avoid being conned - http://www.td.gov.hk/en/transport_in_hong_...taxi/index.html

Ferry to Macau - Turbojet http://www.turbojet.com.hk/eng/home/index.asp and Cotaijet http://cotaijet.com.mo/

This post has been edited by sweet_pez: Oct 2 2019, 10:14 AM
Chester
post Oct 8 2016, 07:33 AM

2,380 posts

Hello all! Is it nice to go during christmas? Would it be rainy season?
arr9ow
post Oct 9 2016, 10:19 AM

206 posts

Hi.. im going to HK this next saturday. 3 days 2 night trip. Any recommendations on where to visit? What to do? Currently on my mind... are Victoria Peak Tram, Mdm Tussode Museum, Walk of Star only. Regarding octopus card, is it enough paying hkd150 for this trip? Should i buy ticket for Peak Tram combo (tram/sky tower/mdm tussode) only now or walkover at china travel service counter? which one cheaper?
straw
post Oct 10 2016, 11:26 AM

266 posts

Any other sources to buy Macau ferry ticket at cheap rate or just go there line up buy? Thanks.
nightroseblue
post Oct 10 2016, 02:10 PM

QUOTE(arr9ow @ Oct 9 2016, 10:19 AM)
Hi.. im going to HK this next saturday. 3 days 2 night trip. Any recommendations on where to visit? What to do? Currently on my mind... are Victoria Peak Tram, Mdm Tussode Museum, Walk of Star only. Regarding octopus card, is it enough paying hkd150 for this trip? Should i buy ticket for Peak Tram combo (tram/sky tower/mdm tussode) only now or walkover at china travel service counter? which one cheaper?
Hi there, perhaps you can visit the Big Buddha? The cable car up there is a nice ride. And the Avenue of Stars is closed until 2018. I think most people who travel in HK uses the Octopus card as taxis are expensive. Finally, I bought the Peak Tram combo online and so I'm not sure about the price difference if you buy from agents there.

Have fun in HK! smile.gif
benson92
post Oct 10 2016, 02:17 PM

1,010 posts

how and where to buy disneyland tickets? those online seller can trust ka?
Chester
post Oct 10 2016, 06:04 PM

2,380 posts

QUOTE(nightroseblue @ Oct 10 2016, 02:10 PM)
Hi there, perhaps you can visit the Big Buddha? The cable car up there is a nice ride. And the Avenue of Stars is closed until 2018. I think most people who travel in HK uses the Octopus card as taxis are expensive. Finally, I bought the Peak Tram combo online and so I'm not sure about the price difference if you buy from agents there.

Have fun in HK!  smile.gif
Do you mean the daily show is closed..or the entire place we cannot walk in anymore?
nightroseblue
post Oct 11 2016, 08:36 AM

QUOTE(Chester @ Oct 10 2016, 06:04 PM)
Do you mean the daily show is closed..or the entire place we cannot walk in anymore?
Hey there, if you mean the Symphony of Lights at 8 p.m. it is still on, you can watch it anywhere from the Tsim Sha Tsui promenade. But the entire Avenue of Stars with the Bruce Lee statue etc is closed for renovation.

This post has been edited by nightroseblue: Oct 11 2016, 08:36 AM
ivzh
post Oct 11 2016, 02:41 PM

668 posts

Hi all, i m planning for 1 week trip to hongkong next march in a group of 4 adults (2+2 senior citizen), 2 children (3years and 1 years old).

Will try to make it a relax trip - may just arrange 1 to 2 attraction per day.

Should i bring along with stroller? is HK stroller friendly?

Since we are travel in group, does taking taxi worth it or just stick to MRT? Uber in HK reliable?

How much budget i should alocate for each adults? for food and transportation/ entrace fee.. minus shopping.

Which area is best to stay as a traveller? mongkok / TST / central area? mostlikely we will use airbnb

How is the weather HK during mid of march? from google is 17 to 23, so is it like genting feel? or much warmer?

thank you in advance ya..

Chester
post Oct 11 2016, 07:40 PM

2,380 posts

QUOTE(nightroseblue @ Oct 11 2016, 08:36 AM)
Hey there, if you mean the Symphony of Lights at 8 p.m. it is still on, you can watch it anywhere from the Tsim Sha Tsui promenade. But the entire Avenue of Stars with the Bruce Lee statue etc is closed for renovation.
THanks for the info!
Chester
post Oct 11 2016, 07:45 PM

2,380 posts

QUOTE(ivzh @ Oct 11 2016, 02:41 PM)
Hi all, i m planning for 1 week trip to hongkong next march in a group of 4 adults (2+2 senior citizen), 2 children (3years and 1 years old).

Will try to make it a relax trip - may just arrange 1 to 2 attraction  per day.

Since we are travel in group, does taking taxi worth it or just stick to MRT? Uber in HK reliable?

How much budget i should alocate for each adults? for food and transportation/ entrace fee.. minus shopping.

Which area is best to stay as a traveller? mongkok / TST / central area? mostlikely we will use airbnb

How is the weather HK during mid of march? from google is 17 to 23, so is it like genting feel? or much warmer?

hi! suggest to bring stroller along, i brought that when i was there with my 2 year old kid. Much more convinient as you dont need to carry the kid.

I prefer TST than Mongkok as there's more happening at TST and more MTR there as well. March weather should be just nice you can google..i was there early april before, it feels like around 25 to 28 degree despite many hongkie wearing jacket. I guess u can bring a light jacket especially for the young and old smile.gif

When book hotel try to take note on the room size, noticed many cheaper room size are 16m2 only.
FirezZ
post Oct 12 2016, 12:32 AM

Naise kukUpi
1,993 posts

hi guys, i recall that we can use the hkd in shenzhen for daily transaction but not sure if this thing still apply ?
Going to hk shortly but will spend a day to shenzhen for the Window of the World.... If we can use the hkd there, then i guess we dont have to cash in some rmb while we are in shenzhen then..

domo_kun
post Oct 12 2016, 07:18 AM

domo_kun
2,690 posts

Friday, Saturday, Sunday, Monday; RM1000 enough? Food is no priority!
paqralos
post Oct 12 2016, 10:36 AM

p@qY
4,476 posts

QUOTE(domo_kun @ Oct 12 2016, 07:18 AM)
Friday, Saturday, Sunday, Monday; RM1000 enough? Food is no priority!
Definitely not enough smile.gif
nightroseblue
post Oct 12 2016, 12:45 PM

QUOTE(ivzh @ Oct 11 2016, 02:41 PM)

Will try to make it a relax trip - may just arrange 1 to 2 attraction  per day.

Hi! If your group's senior citizens are healthy and can walk, I would recommend taking the MRT as it is really convenient. If you miss one train the next one will arrive in 2 minutes! I have never taken a cab in HK but it should be really expensive especially if you would probably need 2 cabs.

In relation to stroller friendliness, the sidewalks in HK are not especially wide...

Do look up the prices of the attractions you intend to visit online. For food, an example of a normal set breakfast I had was HKD32 per pax so lunch and dinner would be more expensive unless you eat at 7-11 or McD every meal biggrin.gif

I stayed in the Mongkok area and it was really happening at night with all the pasar malams within walking distance.

Weather like genting should be around winter time from December to February.

And that is all I can help you with. Hope this helps!

cute_boboi
post Oct 12 2016, 03:48 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(FirezZ @ Oct 12 2016, 12:32 AM)
hi guys, i recall that we can use the hkd in shenzhen for daily transaction but not sure if this thing still apply ?
Going to hk shortly but will spend a day to shenzhen for the Window of the World.... If we can use the hkd there, then i guess we dont have to cash in some rmb while we are in shenzhen then..
Nope, mainland doesn't accept HKD anymore for many years already (or a decade ago?), since the day RMB surpassed HKD in currency exchange.

Since that day, mainland people nose is higher and look down on HK people. No matter what HK people gossip/complain about mainland people buying everything off their shelves, behaviour, etc. the reality is mainland people are partially driving HK economy.
Else why do you think HK sales/front facing learn to talk mandarin on top of their existing cantonese ?

Enthusiasm
post Oct 14 2016, 12:08 AM

23 posts

I am going hong kong with my gf at the end of NOV . 4 days 3 nights . Can i know how much should i bring in HKD ?
and i plan to have one day trip to macau . is it possible ? how many hours travel from HK to macau ?
meteoraniac
post Oct 14 2016, 11:18 AM

1,099 posts

QUOTE(arr9ow @ Oct 9 2016, 10:19 AM)
yo, im travelling this sat too, bought SIA tickets ard 800 return to HK travelling from KL..

150 is enough if u take mtr for 2 full days..

for attractiosn, u can get a lot of combo tickets online, klook.com is one of them

i also booked a travel wifi device from them for 8/day..

if u have some spare moolah, can try Tesla S pick up from airport to ur hotel, around 200, worth it if u have a party of 3..

weather forecast to be good, have a good trip
vey99
post Oct 14 2016, 11:49 AM

Manyzer
2,851 posts

QUOTE(meteoraniac @ Oct 14 2016, 11:18 AM)
if u have some spare moolah, can try Tesla S pick up from airport to ur hotel, around 200, worth it if u have a party of 3..
good tip. gonna try it next visit maybe

Chester
post Oct 14 2016, 12:04 PM

2,380 posts

QUOTE(meteoraniac @ Oct 14 2016, 11:18 AM)
yo, im travelling this sat too, bought SIA tickets ard 800 return to HK travelling from KL..

150 is enough if u take mtr for 2 full days..

for attractiosn, u can get a lot of combo tickets online, klook.com is one of them

i also booked a travel wifi device from them for 8/day..

weather forecast to be good, have a good trip
Where and how to book Tesla S?

52 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0350sec    1.03    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 09:55 AM