118 Pages « < 46 47 48 49 50 > » Bottom

Travel South Korea V6, Seoul & Everything Korean

westley0214
post Dec 13 2017, 03:16 PM

860 posts

QUOTE(darrenwks @ Dec 13 2017, 03:08 PM)
Hey guys, heard ppl advise changing currency in Seoul have better rates...true? They accept Myr or not?
So far all the currency exchange centers that I passed by, all only accept 4 major currencies:

1. USD
2. JPY
3. RMB
4. SGD

Yes, even in Myeongdong.

It will be very risky if you decide to exchange there. Another method would be to change your MYR to USD first, but too many exchanges you will rugi a lot.

I just changed all mine in Midvalley. They provide one of the best rates.
darrenwks
post Dec 13 2017, 04:19 PM

220 posts

QUOTE(westley0214 @ Dec 13 2017, 03:16 PM)
So far all the currency exchange centers that I passed by, all only accept 4 major currencies:

1. USD
2. JPY
3. RMB
4. SGD

Yes, even in Myeongdong.

It will be very risky if you decide to exchange there. Another method would be to change your MYR to USD first, but too many exchanges you will rugi a lot.

I just changed all mine in Midvalley. They provide one of the best rates.
Ahh i seeee.....thanks!
Fortezan
post Dec 13 2017, 04:35 PM

474 posts

QUOTE(aLBEE88 @ Dec 10 2017, 12:12 AM)
I going to Seoul end of dec,  do I need to get a pair of winter shoe?

If yes, where can i get 1?

Not sure if it is just me, I also went end of Dec and I regretted wasting money on winter boots, in fact, most of the locals are just wearing normal walking shoe, maybe because it wasn't snowing much when I was there. The coldness doesn't matter much, a waterproof winter shoe might only be handy if it is snowing or raining, to prevent your shoe from getting wet or causes slippery
inachi
post Dec 14 2017, 01:35 AM

i don troll
1,097 posts

QUOTE(Fortezan @ Dec 13 2017, 04:35 PM)
Not sure if it is just me, I also went end of Dec and I regretted wasting money on winter boots, in fact, most of the locals are just wearing normal walking shoe, maybe because it wasn't snowing much when I was there. The coldness doesn't matter much, a waterproof winter shoe might only be handy if it is snowing or raining, to prevent your shoe from getting wet or causes slippery
yup. leg is fine, most importantly have a proper thick jacket, and sufficient cover for your neck..get a glove or mask too if u wan.

This post has been edited by inachi: Dec 14 2017, 01:37 AM
OrangeRS
post Dec 23 2017, 06:49 PM

This is Korea BUSAN Day 1 ,Travel Video
YouTube Korea Busan Day 1

This post has been edited by OrangeRS: Dec 23 2017, 06:52 PM
OrangeRS
post Dec 24 2017, 02:16 PM

QUOTE(facktura @ Nov 7 2017, 10:57 AM)
im going to jeju for 4 days and splitting my accomodation 2 days at seogwipo and last 2 days near jeju city. and my friend is going pretty excited for hiking mt hallasan also but not sure how much it costs for how long, where the entrance etc etc.

im not kaki hiking, my friends are.  tongue.gif
I went to JEJU stay here

https://www.agoda.com/partners/partnersearc...cs=1&hid=569305
The owners are very nice and always keeping a smiling face. Ocean view from the room smile.gif The room is fully furnished with kitchen as well. Can buy fresh food, bring back to the room and cook. Quite convenient to get to Seogwipo town centre, just walk out from the pension and take bus 5 . Can took bus 5 to Seogwipo Maeil Olle Market. The frequency of the bus is 20 mins interval.

https://www.agoda.com/partners/partnersearc...s=1&hid=1200400
This guesthouse near to Seongsan , You can drive to there within 5 minutes,enjoy sunrise .Simple breakfast such as toast, egg and corn flake .Nice idea of having dinner barbecue with other guests, very clean place, very cheap .

This is my travel video ,while in KOREA
Busan Day 1
https://youtu.be/3hK2AqwWYWE

This post has been edited by OrangeRS: Dec 24 2017, 02:24 PM
musteng
post Dec 27 2017, 08:04 PM

181 posts

I was in pyeong chang-gun last few days. Average -8°c everynight. Winter boots is not necessary but a good pair of glove is a must as the finger is the part of the body which firstly get freeze.

The cold in the city & cold outside the city is completely different. Seoraksan -2°c with consistenly wind blow 31KM/H can cause the fingers freeze within few minutes.

This post has been edited by musteng: Dec 27 2017, 08:27 PM
facktura
post Dec 27 2017, 09:06 PM

1,566 posts

QUOTE(musteng @ Dec 27 2017, 08:04 PM)
I was in pyeong chang-gun last few days. Average -8°c everynight. Winter boots is not necessary but a good pair of glove is a must as the finger is the part of the body which firstly get freeze.

The cold in the city & cold outside the city is completely different. Seoraksan -2°c with consistenly wind blow 31KM/H can cause the fingers freeze within few minutes.
thinking to visit the olympic village in pyeonchang during my trip to seoul end next month.
could u share the best transportation to get from seoul to pyeongchang?

and other that ski resort for activities what else can be visited there? probably wanna go one night trip there.
musteng
post Dec 27 2017, 09:24 PM

181 posts

QUOTE(facktura @ Dec 27 2017, 09:06 PM)
thinking to visit the olympic village in pyeonchang during my trip to seoul end next month.
could u share the best transportation to get from seoul to pyeongchang?

and other that ski resort for activities what else can be visited there? probably wanna go one night trip there.
I rent a car and drove to pyeongchang. Don’t know the way through public transport. I saw advertisement KTX (high speed train) is passing by. You may search and confirm it. You also can use googel map to navigate using public transport. Example key in Alpensia Ski resort and click the bus/train option. It will show you all the information.

PyeongChange-gun is full of mountains. If you just stay 1 night. I would suggest you visit Samyang Ranch since near to olympic stadium. The observatory is awesome (But is freeking cold on top due to strong wind).

Beside Samyang ranch, there is a buddish temple WolJeongSa with history & architecture. Not recomended as you just have 1 night stay.

This post has been edited by musteng: Dec 27 2017, 09:26 PM
facktura
post Dec 27 2017, 09:47 PM

1,566 posts

QUOTE(musteng @ Dec 27 2017, 09:24 PM)
I rent a car and drove to pyeongchang. Don’t know the way through public transport. I saw advertisement KTX (high speed train) is passing by. You may search and confirm it. You also can use googel map to navigate using public transport. Example key in Alpensia Ski resort and click the bus/train option. It will show you all the information.

PyeongChange-gun is full of mountains. If you just stay 1 night. I would suggest you visit Samyang Ranch since near to olympic stadium. The observatory is awesome (But is freeking cold on top due to strong wind).

Beside Samyang ranch, there is a buddish temple WolJeongSa with history & architecture. Not recomended as you just have 1 night stay.
i have 5 nights in seoul and pretty flexible. so maybe can spend 2 nights in pyeongchang if the place is beautiful.
still thinking to join DMZ tour still or not,still open right for rreservation even on winter?
deodorant
post Dec 27 2017, 10:07 PM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

For anyone planning to ski in a future trip ...

Reporting in from Vivaldi Park. Not a particularly big fan of just how crowded it is here (ridiculously long queues for the beginner slopes) or the need to return ski clothes and gear at the end of each day (and re-rent the next day).

Number of slopes also a bit low, slopes themselves are a little boring (mostly all just straight and flat down the hill), and man-made snow sort of sucks.

But if you're gonna holiday in South Korea anyway and don't want to go all the way to Yongpyong etc, it's a truly day-trippable resort from Seoul, and you can't really ski that many pistes in a single day anyway.
musteng
post Dec 27 2017, 10:09 PM

181 posts

QUOTE(facktura @ Dec 27 2017, 09:47 PM)
i have 5 nights in seoul and pretty flexible. so maybe can spend 2 nights in pyeongchang if the place is beautiful.
still thinking to join DMZ tour still or not,still open right for rreservation even on winter?
Is up to you how to plan your trip. As the timing you arrive will impact the itenerary. Winter have a shorter day time. About 4:45pm sunset and the sky dark before 6pm.

You will be going to pyeongchang for SKI i presume. February 9 is winter olympic. Make sure the Resort is accesible by public during the time you arrive.

DMZ you may ask for help from other SIFU smile.gif

syaaron
post Dec 28 2017, 10:41 AM

434 posts

Travelling to Jeju end of Feb 2018 , 6 adults and 7D6N.
Planning to split 3 days in jeju city and 4 days in Seogwipo to enjoy coutryside not trapping in city area (distance seems like very far from Jeju to Seogwipo)..
is it advisable to drive our own in jeju instead of rider-hailing for travelling around?

westley0214
post Dec 28 2017, 12:30 PM

860 posts

QUOTE(syaaron @ Dec 28 2017, 10:41 AM)
Travelling to Jeju end of Feb 2018 , 6 adults and 7D6N.
Planning to split 3 days in jeju city and 4 days in Seogwipo to enjoy coutryside not trapping in city area (distance seems like very far from Jeju to Seogwipo)..
is it advisable to drive our own in jeju instead of rider-hailing for travelling around?
Of course driving will be much cheaper. And since you have 6 people, you can share the cost for the International Driving Permit too (RM150 per year).
syaaron
post Dec 28 2017, 01:32 PM

434 posts

QUOTE(westley0214 @ Dec 28 2017, 12:30 PM)
Of course driving will be much cheaper. And since you have 6 people, you can share the cost for the International Driving Permit too (RM150 per year).
I see. Sorry to ask as I'm not sure about the fuel price and stuffs there.
For conveniency in travelling , thinking to rent a car also
westley0214
post Dec 28 2017, 01:59 PM

860 posts

QUOTE(syaaron @ Dec 28 2017, 01:32 PM)
I see. Sorry to ask as I'm not sure about the fuel price and stuffs there.
For conveniency in travelling , thinking to rent a car also
Fuel price around RM5.20 per litre when I was there two months ago. Food price more or less the same as in Seoul, expect to spend RM50 - 70 per person if you eat in decent restaurant.

A car is almost a must in Jeju because the public transport there is not so convenient.
syaaron
post Dec 28 2017, 02:15 PM

434 posts

QUOTE(westley0214 @ Dec 28 2017, 01:59 PM)
Fuel price around RM5.20 per litre when I was there two months ago. Food price more or less the same as in Seoul, expect to spend RM50 - 70 per person if you eat in decent restaurant.

A car is almost a must in Jeju because the public transport there is not so convenient.
Thanks for the sharing.
Any recommended Car rental company? Saw one blogspot using AJ Car Rental.
You staying in Jeju city for the whole trip?
westley0214
post Dec 28 2017, 02:39 PM

860 posts

QUOTE(syaaron @ Dec 28 2017, 02:15 PM)
Thanks for the sharing.
Any recommended Car rental company? Saw one blogspot using AJ Car Rental.
You staying in Jeju city for the whole trip?
I used AJ car rental. Not bad. A lot of people here will recommend Lotte rent-a-car (formerly known as KT Kumho). I think both of them offer competitive price. For Lotte rent-a-car, if you have the discount coupon from KTO plaza, you can even get cheaper rate.

Nope I did not stay in Jeju-si. I stayed in Seogwipo for the whole 4 nights (got some special offer from Agoda for this Seogwipo hotel).

syaaron
post Dec 28 2017, 03:16 PM

434 posts

QUOTE(westley0214 @ Dec 28 2017, 02:39 PM)
I used AJ car rental. Not bad. A lot of people here will recommend Lotte rent-a-car (formerly known as KT Kumho). I think both of them offer competitive price. For Lotte rent-a-car, if you have the discount coupon from KTO plaza, you can even get cheaper rate.

Nope I did not stay in Jeju-si. I stayed in Seogwipo for the whole 4 nights (got some special offer from Agoda for this Seogwipo hotel).
I see. Thanks will try out AJ car rental. You having any difficulty in using their GPS ? As I see some said the language require to program to English in order to understand ..
Planning to spend some days in Seogwipo as well. Any highlights there ? biggrin.gif
westley0214
post Dec 28 2017, 03:24 PM

860 posts

QUOTE(syaaron @ Dec 28 2017, 03:16 PM)
I see. Thanks will try out AJ car rental. You having any difficulty in using their GPS ? As I see some said the language require to program to English in order to understand ..
Planning to spend some days in Seogwipo as well. Any highlights there ?  biggrin.gif
No problem using the GPS. You cannot program the written language to English, but you can change the audio to English.

Just key in the phone number of your destination and you are done. Anyway it's better if you could learn some Hangul before going there too, so that you can make sure the destination shown in GPS is correct.

Actually most of the attractions are nearby Seogwipo (and Jungmun) area, for example, the three most famous waterfalls are all nearby. Hallasan also easily accessible (nearer) from here.

I don't really explore much of Jeju-si. Only went to Yongduam Rock, Loveland, Mysterious Road, Gimnyeong Maze Park and Manjanggul Lava Tube there.

While for Seogwipo, Teddy Bear Museum, Jeongbang Falls, Cheonjiyeon Falls, Cheonjeyeon Falls, Alive Museum, Seosokkak Estuary, Olleh Market.

Don't miss out east of the island too. For example Seongsan Ilchulbong, where you can see women diver show.

118 Pages « < 46 47 48 49 50 > » Top

0.0184sec    0.70    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 11:03 AM