Travel South Korea V6, Seoul & Everything Korean

deodorant
post Aug 22 2017, 06:39 PM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

Hi everyone,

For a 12d south korea trip in winter (first timer), what's a good way to split time?

3d skiing (yongpyong?)
5d seoul
4d gyeongju/busan?
deodorant
post Dec 27 2017, 10:07 PM

5,691 posts

For anyone planning to ski in a future trip ...

Reporting in from Vivaldi Park. Not a particularly big fan of just how crowded it is here (ridiculously long queues for the beginner slopes) or the need to return ski clothes and gear at the end of each day (and re-rent the next day).

Number of slopes also a bit low, slopes themselves are a little boring (mostly all just straight and flat down the hill), and man-made snow sort of sucks.

But if you're gonna holiday in South Korea anyway and don't want to go all the way to Yongpyong etc, it's a truly day-trippable resort from Seoul, and you can't really ski that many pistes in a single day anyway.
deodorant
post Jan 4 2018, 12:24 AM

5,691 posts

For anyone interested, here's my Vivaldi Park compilation. Only did 7 of 12 slopes (the easiest 7 of course, lol). Like I mentioned earlier, the mountain can perhaps be called "boring." And during peak periods it's crowded as hell.

Also, link to full review/write-up on blog if you're interested.

This post has been edited by deodorant: Jan 4 2018, 03:16 PM
deodorant
post Jan 5 2018, 06:25 PM

5,691 posts

Put together a short video on my 2d1n in Jeju for your viewing pleasure if you're interested:

(Yes, I know the editing is inconsistent and some of the photos / videos color grading is terrible, but I have no talent for these kinds of things and lazy to re-edit / re-export)
(Note: The ads on this video are not mine, it's cos I used some copyrighted song then the song owner monetize)
deodorant
post Jan 9 2018, 12:03 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(merci @ Jan 8 2018, 09:39 PM)
Anybody here came back from Seoul, Korea recently? How's is the immigration check?
-coz I heard the immigration is strict and a lot of Malaysian cannot enter and is sent back. This is due to the illegal vegetable picker (highlighted in the Star newspaper last week).

In my experience 2 weeks ago we only had a small problem with the Airbnb address (the immigration agent didn't understand/accept our roman-characters address that we wrote on the form so we had to ask the host for the hangul address). Not sure if it's representative of all airbnb or if just immigration agent had a bad day.
deodorant
post Jan 27 2018, 05:23 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(michlove @ Jan 26 2018, 03:33 PM)
I actually have 2 days 1 night only in Jeju...and there's 4 girls...dunno if we can handle left hand side driving ohhh

left hand driving not much problem ba. i went last month, 2 cars (7 people), even one car following the other both drivers had no problem adapting to left hand drive.

anyway if you're interested

Itinerary:
Day 1 fly seoul to jeju
- pick up rental car
- early brunch @ jeju town (black pork)
- seongsan ilchulbong
- jeongbang falls
- check in airbnb
- seogwipo market dinner and walk around
- sleep

Day 2
- cheonjeyeon falls
- daepo jusangjoli cliff
- seafood hotpot lunch
- sanbanggulsa grotto
- sanbangsang hot springs (sucks, don't bother)
- osulloc cafe + green tea shopping
- fly back to seoul

deodorant
post Jan 29 2018, 05:28 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(michlove @ Jan 29 2018, 10:38 AM)
Thank you so much dear! I never knew you were into Korea too neh
Not really so much into Korea. But cos this was family trip (with my wife family) and her two brothers study korean before and can read Hangul / speak a bit of Korean so thought might as well take advantage of them 🤣
deodorant
post Feb 8 2018, 05:24 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(fidin @ Feb 8 2018, 03:16 PM)
Does waze works 100% ok in Jeju for driving?. Easy to write the address in?. Sometimes we need more than one map to go to a destination.
I agree with musteng. Car gps was the easiest for me to use, especially cos I don't understand Hangul. All those tourist spots I google the phone number and use that to input to the car gps and it was fully accurate.
deodorant
post Mar 11 2019, 03:02 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(~mingwei~ @ Mar 10 2019, 03:27 PM)
Hi planning to Jeju Island early December this year. Any suggestions where to stay? 2 adults + kids. This is my 1st time to Jeju.

I did an AirBnB in Seogwipo (south side of the island) last time I visited. If you plan to rent a car then it doesn't really matter where in Seogwipo (or Jeju City) you stay, just find a hotel or airbnb that seems good enough for your budget.

QUOTE(michlove @ Mar 11 2019, 12:25 PM)
Hi all, any suggestions where I can rent the car from in Jeju?

I rented from Lotte rent a car from jeju airport. No idea if it's the best or whatever but it was good enough, cars were good, no fuss rental, GPS provided, etc.

Anyway SIC my Jeju video lol. Only spent 2 days there though so didn't really cover everything.

This post has been edited by deodorant: Mar 11 2019, 03:04 PM
deodorant
post Dec 10 2019, 06:23 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(touristking @ Dec 7 2019, 07:44 PM)
anyone got any experience in renting a car at Jeju? How much it cost? How is it like driving on the right side of the road
Easy to adapt if you are regular driver. Most of the roads have low speed limit 60-70kmh and the rental car GPS beeps like crazy the moment you exceed so it can be a bit annoying. Certain timing seogwipo to Jeju city road damn jam, we almost missed our flight back to Seoul because of that 😂
deodorant
post Dec 11 2019, 07:53 AM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(touristking @ Dec 11 2019, 05:49 AM)
I briefly checked. Car rental + super expensive collision waiver (more expensive than the car rental price) is a lot of money. So would you recommend a full day taxi hire instead for 4 pax?
Hmm Lotte rent a car? I deleted all the emails liao but I don’t recall it being super expensive or anything leh. Anyway paiseh can’t comment cos I never researched taxi or private car plus driver hire so don’t know how good or bad or expensive or cheap it is.
deodorant
post Feb 20 2020, 11:53 AM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(Ninjitsu @ Feb 11 2020, 08:03 PM)
PETALING JAYA: The South Korea government has advised its nationals to refrain from travelling to Malaysia, Singapore and four other Asian countries in addition to China, in light of the novel coronavirus outbreak.

Japan 85
Singapore 84
S. Korea 82
Hong Kong 65

Outside of China & the cruise ship, South Korea going strong on podium so maybe this travel advisory is south korea government asking their citizens not to spread the virus to others brows.gif

0.0768sec    0.59    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 02:49 AM