Travel South Korea V6, Seoul & Everything Korean

darrenwks
post Dec 13 2017, 03:08 PM

220 posts

Hey guys, heard ppl advise changing currency in Seoul have better rates...true? They accept Myr or not?
darrenwks
post Dec 13 2017, 04:19 PM

220 posts

QUOTE(westley0214 @ Dec 13 2017, 03:16 PM)
So far all the currency exchange centers that I passed by, all only accept 4 major currencies:

1. USD
2. JPY
3. RMB
4. SGD

Yes, even in Myeongdong.

It will be very risky if you decide to exchange there. Another method would be to change your MYR to USD first, but too many exchanges you will rugi a lot.

I just changed all mine in Midvalley. They provide one of the best rates.
Ahh i seeee.....thanks!
darrenwks
post Jan 23 2018, 08:58 AM

220 posts

will be going there feb 20+ will winter boot really needed or normal boot is fine?

Also anyone have experience with the hanbok village, hanbok costume renting? as i know feb 20 + if still winter, if i wear the hanbok to walk around street will i be freezing cold?
darrenwks
post Jan 23 2018, 10:47 AM

220 posts

QUOTE(musteng @ Jan 23 2018, 10:14 AM)
Winter boot is not really require unless you walk on snow. Most of the people there just on casual shoe. You may bring a pair of wool shocks as contigency just in case your feet can't stand the cold. You can buy the boot there if you think you really need it.

I didn't experience the Hanbok renting before, but i saw most of the girls are sturggling with the cold walking around just wearing the hanbok during winter.
I will suggest you to test the weather once you arrive that area, and decide do you really able to stand the cold/wind blow with the hanbok.
thanks! thumbup.gif
darrenwks
post Feb 6 2018, 12:08 PM

220 posts

Anyone tried the zipwire to nami island before?
darrenwks
post Feb 7 2018, 10:20 AM

220 posts

QUOTE(inachi @ Feb 6 2018, 07:50 PM)
nope..but it looks super fun when i was there weeks ago.

and expensive la.. haha
thinking to try it, since it's also included nami island admission fee. about 38000won but friend said she got it 28900 booking via credit card, can't seems to find it
darrenwks
post Feb 8 2018, 12:41 PM

220 posts

QUOTE(inachi @ Feb 7 2018, 11:33 AM)
eh? include admission fee? ok ma if can get it at 28900 won..

looks damn syok lol
checked, 28.600won including admission fee to nami island and a ferry way back

QUOTE(yvonnesoo @ Feb 8 2018, 11:57 AM)
depends on the crowd. if alot of people wanna use zipwire, the queue can be long. probably around 2 minutes or less  tongue.gif
you tried before? coz if online book i'm able to choose the time
what's the distance between gapyeong to the zipwire place?

QUOTE(musteng @ Feb 8 2018, 12:13 PM)
Got exception, during winter the businese is no good... you will only see 1 or 2 kicimiao go for it. But the weather really can kill those who dare to try on winter  laugh.gif
yea im going to do it on feb 20+, still winter
see some review said yes it's quite cold especially when the wind blows, but it's damn fun they said haha

This post has been edited by darrenwks: Feb 8 2018, 12:44 PM
darrenwks
post Feb 8 2018, 12:48 PM

220 posts

QUOTE(yvonnesoo @ Feb 8 2018, 12:44 PM)
no try as i'm acrophobia  laugh.gif  but i saw long queue during autumn or spring. my fren tried it during winter, it's very cold when the wind blows. if you can stand it, then nvm la  brows.gif
hehehe, how long the distance from gapyeong station to there?
darrenwks
post Feb 8 2018, 01:59 PM

220 posts

QUOTE(musteng @ Feb 8 2018, 01:48 PM)
Is not far, 3 minutes drive or 10~15 minutes walk to the Nami Island entrace.
I've seen many blogs mentioned it's about 5 mins driving distance, but when i check on google map, it says 30+mins confused.gif
darrenwks
post Feb 8 2018, 02:42 PM

220 posts

QUOTE(musteng @ Feb 8 2018, 02:26 PM)
What you have print screen was Bus Route. You wouldn't able to show the driving route as google map has been blocked due to SK regulation.

Following Kakao Map show 4 minutes drive and Naver Map show 2KM walk. You don't need 30minutes to walk 2KM i believe...normal walk pace can achieve within 15 minutes.

[attachmentid=9577517] [attachmentid=9577518]
Thanks! didnt know google map blocked in SK, is kakao map only available in korean language? any diff with naver map?

QUOTE(ckweng @ Feb 8 2018, 02:27 PM)
Very quick journey and 10 mins at most so don't worry about it!  smile.gif
thanks! brows.gif
darrenwks
post Feb 8 2018, 02:55 PM

220 posts

QUOTE(yvonnesoo @ Feb 8 2018, 02:49 PM)
kakao map & naver map is the same. from different company only. both in korean language. but kakao do have english version if i'm not mistaken but still have some places that can't be search and have problem inputting places name in english
QUOTE(musteng @ Feb 8 2018, 02:53 PM)
KaKao map is supporting English. The latest Naver Map update not along ago also supporting english.  They want to compete with the new booming Kakao App i believe.
In term of accuracy, both about the same. Normally i swap these 2 apps to look for different restaurants.

You still can use google map in SK. Just you wouldn't able to get the driving route.
thanks, will give it a try!
darrenwks
post Feb 8 2018, 03:36 PM

220 posts

QUOTE(musteng @ Feb 8 2018, 02:53 PM)
KaKao map is supporting English. The latest Naver Map update not along ago also supporting english.  They want to compete with the new booming Kakao App i believe.
In term of accuracy, both about the same. Normally i swap these 2 apps to look for different restaurants.

You still can use google map in SK. Just you wouldn't able to get the driving route.
got tutorial how to change to eng language? when i go in all already in KR cannot understand rclxub.gif

QUOTE(inachi @ Feb 8 2018, 03:35 PM)
super near..less than 10 mins..after that its another 5-10 mins ferry to Nami island.
hehe, will take the zipwire
darrenwks
post Feb 8 2018, 04:01 PM

220 posts

QUOTE(musteng @ Feb 8 2018, 03:58 PM)
Which App you are using? Kakao?

설정 -> 앱 설정 -> 언어 -> then choose english

[attachmentid=9577665][attachmentid=9577666][attachmentid=9577668][attachmentid=9577671]
omg, sry but kakao was already in english when i downloaded it. i was talking about naver
darrenwks
post Feb 8 2018, 04:34 PM

220 posts

QUOTE(musteng @ Feb 8 2018, 04:24 PM)
Are you using the latest Naver Map? It should be the same as mine if you using Iphone. I am unsure about Android version, the old Naver do not support english setting.

설정 -> 설정 언어 ->  -> then choose english

[attachmentid=9577728][attachmentid=9577729][attachmentid=9577730][attachmentid=9577738]
mine's totally different, i just downloaded it from app store so it should be the latest version
darrenwks
post Feb 8 2018, 04:53 PM

220 posts

QUOTE(musteng @ Feb 8 2018, 04:44 PM)
Just have a quick look, i don't see any option is related to language  laugh.gif
May be andriod is still old version as i just got the newest Naver app which support Multi Language yesterday  laugh.gif
lol myb android not yet have i guess....will stick with kakao then for the moment

QUOTE(yvonnesoo @ Feb 8 2018, 04:50 PM)
your screen shot image so long  blink.gif
lol yea u'll have to click on it

by the way i'm going to Lotte World too, anyone been there? did u use the magic pass app?
darrenwks
post Mar 2 2018, 10:07 AM

220 posts

Just came back few days ago, yes it's still cold there min -1c and max around 6 ~ 7c

Very lucky the night before we went to Nami island it snowed, all trees in nami island were covered in white powered snow. Snows falling from the trees made it looks like it's actually snowing. The snow started to melt at noon time and it gets very watery during that time and water droplets kept falling on the trees.

But i also missed the Nami Zip Wire because we went there very early and the staff told us the weather is not so good, and got refunded sad.gif

And please if you're planning to go to the lotte world, DO NOT GO! That place is sooooooooo fuckin crowded, waiting for one ride costed me almost 2 hours in queue! And the magic pass app is useless, can't reserve any rides at all! Wasted my money and time!
darrenwks
post Mar 4 2018, 11:15 PM

220 posts

Guys check out my Myeongdong street food video, gwangjang & tongin market & vlogs coming soon blush.gif

This post has been edited by darrenwks: Mar 4 2018, 11:16 PM
darrenwks
post Mar 5 2018, 08:59 AM

220 posts

Gwangjang market video is up biggrin.gif

darrenwks
post Mar 5 2018, 01:36 PM

220 posts

QUOTE(inachi @ Mar 5 2018, 12:20 PM)
haha kuat makan..did u eat all this in a night?

and i bet u spent a bomb eating all that haha.
hahaha it's separated days actually, and i didn't eat all those lah haha. Some i just record without buying tongue.gif
darrenwks
post Mar 7 2018, 03:45 PM

220 posts

random snap in hanok village and nami island

0.0746sec    0.46    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 04:23 PM