100 Pages « < 84 85 86 87 88 > » Bottom

Fundsupermart.com v15, 基金超市第十五章 - Rise the Dragon

AIYH
post Oct 18 2016, 11:04 AM

1,166 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Oct 18 2016, 10:57 AM)
from. my neanderthal way of putting it. you are given a whole basket of chicken eggs but in that basket there's another egg that's a different colour. would you pick it up? lol I suck at this. xuxen does it better
Xuzen recommend TA Global.

However, given they have the same risk return ratio, do he prefer diversified region (although TA has three quarter in US) over diversified sector (but focused in US)?

Or both are within his acceptable risk range (for high risk) but TA simply provide better return (even though higher risk)?
SUSPink Spider
post Oct 18 2016, 11:11 AM

Formerly known as Prince_Hamsap
16,872 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Oct 18 2016, 10:46 AM)
owch. is this one of the reasons you or was it pink spider telling me about investing in new funds? thanks for the input. I learnt something today
New fund usually won't happen lar

QUOTE(xuzen @ Oct 18 2016, 10:44 AM)
Yes, has happened before . At the moment I cannot remember which one. But I do vaguely recall the UTMC decision was to transfer the moonies contained therein the fund to another UTF of similar nature by the UTMC. Any unit-holders who is not desirous to participate further were advised to redeem all their units and exit the UTF.

The reasons were:

1) The fund size was too small a few million only

2) There are similar UTF in the same UTMC's inventory.

3) The parent fund is closing down

Xuzen
My personal experience was with Alliance Global Equities
xuzen
post Oct 18 2016, 11:25 AM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(AIYH @ Oct 18 2016, 11:04 AM)
Xuzen recommend TA Global.

However, given they have the same risk return ratio, do he prefer diversified region (although TA has three quarter in US) over diversified sector (but focused in US)?

Or both are within his acceptable risk range (for high risk) but TA simply provide better return (even though higher risk)?
Between TA & Manulife, both have similar risk adjusted performance (RAP). How do you choose? How do you choose?

AIYH,

This is exactly what I meant when I said book smart versus experience. A book smart person without real life experience when comes to this will be dumb-founded.

For me, I choose TA because although it has same RAP as Manulife, TA has more chance of giving better return than Manulife, even though its risk will be correspondingly higher than Manulife.

Why I do this?

Recall that I already have RHB-AIF which is a low volatility fund, hence I can take a little bit more risk with TA to boost my overall portfolio return. Make sense? Strategy forged from being in the field versus book smart.

Xuzen
AIYH
post Oct 18 2016, 11:28 AM

1,166 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Oct 18 2016, 11:25 AM)
Between TA & Manulife, both have similar risk adjusted performance (RAP). How do you choose? How do you choose?

AIYH,

This is exactly what I meant when I said book smart versus experience. A book smart person without real life experience when comes to this will be dumb-founded.

For me, I choose TA because although it has same RAP as Manulife, TA has more chance of giving better return than Manulife, even though its risk will be correspondingly higher than Manulife.

Why I do this?

Recall that I already have RHB-AIF which is a low volatility fund, hence I can take a little bit more risk with TA to boost my overall portfolio return. Make sense? Strategy forged from being in the field versus book smart.

Xuzen
So both are acceptable individually, providing similar RAP just up to whether it fits into one's portfolio? smile.gif

This post has been edited by AIYH: Oct 18 2016, 11:29 AM
Ramjade
post Oct 18 2016, 11:35 AM

24,386 posts

QUOTE(AIYH @ Oct 18 2016, 11:28 AM)
So both are acceptable individually, providing similar RAP just up to whether it fits into one's portfolio? smile.gif
Actually I don't know about you but Manulife US topup is pretty steep at RM500 min but if one do RSP, it only cost RM100. For me, I switching over to TA Global (will just leave Manulife US running with whatever I have inside) because of the RM500 issue.

By going for Manulife US, I am unable to topup other funds.
AIYH
post Oct 18 2016, 11:38 AM

1,166 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Oct 18 2016, 11:35 AM)
Actually I don't know about you but Manulife US topup is pretty steep at RM500 min but if one do RSP, it only cost RM100. For me, I switching over to TA Global (will just leave Manulife US running with whatever I have inside) because of the RM500 issue.

Since I do via RSP, both pose no difference to me smile.gif

So, I choose TA Global because it provides higher potential return given similar risk performance smile.gif
xuzen
post Oct 18 2016, 11:41 AM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Oct 18 2016, 11:35 AM)

TA Global Technology Fund = Ikan-bilis friendly! thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

Xuzen

This post has been edited by xuzen: Oct 18 2016, 11:45 AM
Vanguard 2015
post Oct 18 2016, 12:01 PM

3,541 posts

When will a mutual fund be closed or shut down? Pink Spider said it will not happen to a new fund.

I read a US centric maths/finance book recently. In US, the fund manager will incubate let's say 5 new funds for 12 months. After 12 months, Fund A is giving 10% return, Fund B is giving 8% return, Fund C, D and E are giving negative returns of -5% to -10%.

Funds C, D and E will be "killed" off or shut down. Funds A and B will be officially launched to the public. This is known as mathematical manipulation.

Do the fund managers in Malaysia have the same practise?

This post has been edited by Vanguard 2015: Oct 18 2016, 12:02 PM
kimyee73
post Oct 18 2016, 12:15 PM

1,007 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Oct 17 2016, 01:37 PM)

Yup! Sortino needs downside volatility. If you have the set of data for for standard deviation, you may use that same set and omit the above mean to get Semi-deviation.

Use what is available to you, if the data is not available then don't use.

Xuzen
How much data is needed for meaningful calculation? 1 year is sufficient or need 3 years? Also using weekly or monthly performance? Right now I use 1 year monthly data. Thanks.
xuzen
post Oct 18 2016, 02:29 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(kimyee73 @ Oct 18 2016, 12:15 PM)
How much data is needed for meaningful calculation? 1 year is sufficient or need 3 years? Also using weekly or monthly performance? Right now I use 1 year monthly data. Thanks.
Story telling time.

At the end of 2014, I noticed that the one year historical Sharpe ratio of China specific fund namely Manulife China Equity was awesome. It looked so good! My darling Algozen™ was screaming into my ears:

MASUK! MASUK! Moh Man Tai! Sai Lang! Show Hand!

Relying purely on numbers, and without wisdom, I was 80% China at that time. That was how good the China numbers were at that time.

Then mid 2015 China came tumbling down. It dropped 20% or so and since I was 80% China, 0.2 x 0.8 = 16% drop in my portfolio. Aduhai! Sakit hati-nya.

So, you see, Kimyee, one year historical data can be quite daunting. I was like Officer Harry Callahan.... Do you feel lucky punk? Well do ya? It felt lucky for a while until mid 2015.

Now a days I use 3 years data. So far so good. Three years data provides a better margin of safety.

AIYH,

So you see, again if you are only book-smart and rely only on numbers or algorithm alone, it can bite you. You need a little bit of numbers plus some real life experience to be a successful investors. For those who are always scare to lose (kiasu), and never really participate and keep on asking and asking only and only rely on reading lots of book, you will never be able to learn it properly.

Xuzen

p/s If I were to show you my IRR, taken into account my misstep, it surely will not look good. Similarly with Pink Spider, both of us have gone through some rough patches before as part of our leaning curve. In the end, we learned our lessons and came back stronger and became a more mature investor.

IRR is basically a number and is meaningless on its own without knowing its context. So showing IRR can be misleading.

BTW, if you ask me what is my IRR now, I will tell you straight off, I don't know because I erased it and start a new from there on. I do not want to dwell on my past painful memory. Lesson learned, moved on.

This post has been edited by xuzen: Oct 18 2016, 02:39 PM
wongmunkeong
post Oct 18 2016, 02:32 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(T231H @ Oct 18 2016, 10:49 AM)
Yes...i think it was last year...2 rhb funds...(if i remember correctly)
Fsm rated 1 at 8 & another at 10
Yup - RHB BRIC was one of the two closed.. urgh..

luckily FSM gave me a free pass to move the $ to GEMs wub.gif kamsia kamsia to FSM (i know someone there is reading this thread) - else another 1.x% service charges
T231H
post Oct 18 2016, 02:42 PM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Oct 18 2016, 02:29 PM)
p/s If I were to show you my IRR, taken into account my misstep, it surely will not look good. Similarly with Pink Spider, both of us have gone through some rough patches before as part of our leaning curve. In the end, we learned our lessons and came back stronger and became a more mature investor.

IRR is basically a number and is meaningless on its own without knowing its context. So showing IRR can be misleading.

BTW, if you ask me what is my IRR now, I will tell you straight off, I don't know because I erased it and start a new from there on. I do not want to dwell on my past painful memory. Lesson learned, moved on.
yklooi console.gif
xuzen
post Oct 18 2016, 02:42 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(Vanguard 2015 @ Oct 18 2016, 12:01 PM)
When will a mutual fund be closed or shut down? Pink Spider said it will not happen to a new fund.

I read a US centric maths/finance book recently. In US, the fund manager will incubate let's say 5 new funds for 12 months. After 12 months, Fund A is giving 10% return, Fund B is giving 8% return, Fund C, D and E are giving negative returns of -5% to -10%.

Funds C, D and E will be "killed" off or shut down. Funds A and B will be officially launched to the public. This is known as mathematical manipulation.

Do the fund managers in Malaysia have the same practise?
That is why do not be too eager to participate in new fund I say. Let the fund run for 3 years or more before decide whether to participate in it or not.

Xuzen
ROSS_Solar
post Oct 18 2016, 04:39 PM

219 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Oct 18 2016, 02:32 PM)
Yup - RHB BRIC was one of the two closed.. urgh..

luckily FSM gave me a free pass to move the $ to GEMs  wub.gif kamsia kamsia to FSM (i know someone there is reading this thread) - else another 1.x% service charges
Another was RHB Global MultiManager Fund. Pity they shut it down, had quite a good IRR/ROI on that one
frankzane
post Oct 18 2016, 04:56 PM

664 posts

Sorry newbie here. Do we have to declare our income gained from transactions in FSM for tax purposes?

SUSPink Spider
post Oct 18 2016, 04:58 PM

Formerly known as Prince_Hamsap
16,872 posts

QUOTE(frankzane @ Oct 18 2016, 04:56 PM)
Sorry newbie here. Do we have to declare our income gained from transactions in FSM for tax purposes?

No. But file them (the dividend/distribution vouchers) for record purposes.
nexona88
post Oct 18 2016, 05:17 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,521 posts

QUOTE(frankzane @ Oct 18 2016, 04:56 PM)

don't needed to declare..

and why should we, when we are already paying all kind of taxes including GST devil.gif bruce.gif

SUSDavid83
post Oct 18 2016, 06:13 PM

52,874 posts

Capital gain is not taxable for personal income tax.
Dividend/Distribution has been taxed at source with the implementation of single tier tax system.
drew86
post Oct 18 2016, 07:02 PM

197 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Oct 18 2016, 06:13 PM)
Capital gain is not taxable for personal income tax.
Dividend/Distribution has been taxed at source with the implementation of single tier tax system.
Dividends have been taxed at source at 25%. However one may claim back the difference between that and one's current tax bracket. No point to go through the hassle for very small amounts though.

https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/resea...-Dividends-3246
SUSDavid83
post Oct 18 2016, 07:06 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(drew86 @ Oct 18 2016, 07:02 PM)
Dividends have been taxed at source at 25%. However one may claim back the difference between that and one's current tax bracket. No point to go through the hassle for very small amounts though.

https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/resea...-Dividends-3246
But you guys are talking about paying tax not claiming back. dry.gif

This post has been edited by David83: Oct 18 2016, 07:08 PM

100 Pages « < 84 85 86 87 88 > » Top

0.0313sec    0.45    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 10:20 PM