Fundsupermart.com v15, 基金超市第十五章 - Rise the Dragon

kimyee73
post Sep 7 2016, 04:17 PM

1,007 posts

QUOTE(T231H @ Sep 7 2016, 11:00 AM)
i think you should have regretted more of not having buy more of Ponzi 1.0...
same period when compared to Ponzi 2.0  biggrin.gif
I double my Ponzi 1.0 holding in mid February and again in May. Now sitting on a nice profit rclxm9.gif
kimyee73
post Sep 7 2016, 04:26 PM

1,007 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ Sep 7 2016, 12:12 PM)
If one is optimistic about Gold now, wouldn't directly investing in Gold is more direct and effective ?
It is always better to invest in gold related companies such as miners and royalty companies, especially junior gold miners. When gold price up, they (the companies) goes up faster and higher than gold but the same effect applies when gold price goes down. Gold UT such as AmPrecious Metal invests in gold companies rather than actual gold or other precious metals.
kimyee73
post Sep 20 2016, 10:50 PM

1,007 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Sep 20 2016, 10:30 PM)
How about if one set a personal target say 10% profit (doesn't matter if it goes up higher), sell the whole thing, then look at a fund which is considered low price then buy into that (using the money principal + profit) and wait for another 10%. Doable?
How do you determine a fund is low price? Low could be due to many things like overall market is no good, sector is no doing well, fund is not doing well due to not so good fund manager etc. And also how do you determine which fund is going up. Lots of unknown to trade it like stock.

This post has been edited by kimyee73: Sep 20 2016, 10:50 PM
kimyee73
post Sep 22 2016, 12:52 PM

1,007 posts

QUOTE(quackpack @ Sep 21 2016, 04:18 PM)
Any comment with the way below for profit preservation?

Lets say I set a target of above 3% for equity, when I hit the target , I will try to preserve that by allocating the profit into fixed income funds. In a way I am diluting the equity funds but when the NAV of the equity goes down, I can decide to rebalance from bond funds or let it be.
If you want to set a target to take profit, 10%-15% would be a good target. Anything less will have bigger impact your return due to loss of compounding effect.
kimyee73
post Sep 26 2016, 12:19 PM

1,007 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Sep 23 2016, 05:27 PM)
yeah i think mine may be slightly more risky, in exchange of less work.
"timing" is hated by many here, but that was what causing your less than satisfied IRR.

inject new capital does not mean  IRR will sure go up.
It happens only if  new investment brings higher profit,if not IRR may even become worse.
creative accounting is only self cheating. if profit is X , it is X.

Best way is to start anew.
Inject new capital , start new portfolio.
Leave the  old poor IRR portfolio separate.
every trade/switch/sell, if lose money,  IRR will be down. the more trades the more down.
Even if sit there no trades, the price going down, IRR will also be down.

To get IRR up,must make profit, trading itself wont help, with fees in it will be worse.
This thread is moving fast recently, I'm playing catch-up. Trade requires good timing, got it wrong, result would be worse than buy and hold or DCA.
kimyee73
post Sep 26 2016, 09:06 PM

1,007 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Sep 25 2016, 08:28 PM)
V dun have a crystal ball to predict the movement  cry.gif
My indicators told me to top up KGF in early July'16, Ponzi 1.0 at early Feb'16 and Titan in late Feb'16 brows.gif
kimyee73
post Sep 26 2016, 09:48 PM

1,007 posts

QUOTE(prince_mk @ Sep 26 2016, 09:16 PM)
Any indicators for coming near future?
Unfortunately I tracks only about 40 funds and the signal only come after falling fund/market. Right now market is going up, so no new signals for quite some time except for those small cap funds. Signal only appears 1-2 times a year, sometime none. And it is not crystal ball. In fact I usually add funds suggested by Xuzen into my list biggrin.gif
kimyee73
post Sep 26 2016, 09:50 PM

1,007 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Sep 26 2016, 09:43 PM)
Give lar some canggih name: KimYee High Frequency Trading Algorithm (KimyEE High Frequency Trading Algorithm: KEHFTA™ system)
Wei.. it is ultra low freq la
kimyee73
post Sep 26 2016, 09:57 PM

1,007 posts

QUOTE(Vanguard 2015 @ Sep 26 2016, 12:27 PM)
I read a finance book recently. It talks about 3 different pockets for financial security.

1st Pocket : Saving pocket.
2nd Pocket : Investment pocket.
3rd Pocket  : Trading pocket.

1st pocket would be fire proof and earthquake proof. I assume this means FD or its equivalent. Once this is filled, then we have the 2nd pocket. This is meant for long term investment like unit trusts in FSM.

Then we have the 3rd pocket. This would be the gambling portfolio or where you allocate a certain amount of money for your "best bet". I assume this is the sector fund, gold fund, etc. I assume this would involve short term investment and active trading.
Mine like this la
1st pocket - Flexi home loan, EPF
2nd pocket - UT
3rd pocket - US stocks and options
kimyee73
post Oct 3 2016, 11:52 PM

1,007 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Oct 3 2016, 06:05 PM)
A and B both decided KGF is good and bought RM10,000.

A bought on 28.8.2016 at NAV 0.9855 got 3.2% more units than B who bought
on 29.9.2016 at NAV RM1.0175.

Does it matter to A what stocks KGF held on 28.8.16 when he bought, compared to what
stocks KGF held on 29.9.16 when B bought?

Aren't both of them going to have their rewards from whatever KGF 's profit the same?
I wonder why a straight forward statement by you got such nasty replies. Maybe some just don't read to understand. What you have been saying is correct, buy cheaper will have advantage over those buying at higher price. A friend of mine is still having negative ROI over some China fund that he bought almost 10 years ago. If bought the same China fund 4 years ago would get him quite a nice profit.

I always time the market during top-up. The only time I did not time the market is when buying into a new fund as there is no way for me to predict when (not if) the price will drop much lower later. It may drop lower but it could be years later, next month, next week or even tomorrow. In the mean time, I better ride on the profit that it might give me now.
kimyee73
post Oct 4 2016, 01:12 PM

1,007 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Oct 4 2016, 10:58 AM)
your friend is an idiot for keeping the fund for 10 years without rebalancing the fund and blame his lazy ass for not monitoring the portfolio. it's not about buying cheaper or not. Jesus.
Well...you can say he is an idiot but that is true for most out there who relies on agents to advise them. If agent don't do anything or saying it will go up later, he will just follow them. It could also because the drop is so huge that selling it would incur a big loss. BTW, this is a PM fund.
kimyee73
post Oct 4 2016, 01:31 PM

1,007 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Oct 4 2016, 10:54 AM)
Guy3288 made an assertion, he made a statement saying thus, "Buy at lower NAV will be better off at buying higher NAV". This is true as shown mathematically.

Then he continues," He agrees that timing the market is impractical as in his post #956 on page 48. "

Knowing that buying lower NAV is better than buying at higher NAV (shown mathematically to be true), the main question is, is it executable in a systematic fashion? Can it be executed repeatably and predictably?

Also If I were to follow your logic that you want to maximize the units per RM transacted (get more units per buy), then it is most likely you would want to buy into a risky asset that is forever on a downtrend. Sounds funny to me leh!

Your past post seems full of irony.

[song removed]

Xuzen
You're correct that it can be done only in a systematic fashion and I have my own indicator for that purpose. Here are examples of buy triggers for the last 2 years for some of our favorite funds. If no indicator, just use regular DCA loh.

Ponzi 1.0 - 24/10/14, 4/9/15, 5/2/16
EI Small caps - 26/12/14, 4/9/15, 9/9/16
TA GTF - 24/10/14, 19/2/16
KGF - 24/10/14, 26/12/14, 4/9/15, 10/6/16, 8/7/16
Ponzi 2.0 - 18/12/15, 19/2/16

kimyee73
post Oct 4 2016, 09:09 PM

1,007 posts

Below is my Main portfolio September performance based on 30/9/16 NAV.

Jul Aug Sep
Overall IRR 12.21% 10.56% 10.65%
Top 3 Funds % of Port
AmPrecious Metal 8.2% IRR 75.7% 59.24% 56.52%
EI Small Caps 4.5% IRR 19.14% 15.92% 16.83%
CIMB Greater China 3.0% IRR 9.54% 13.09% 16.04%
Bottom 3 Eq Funds % Port
RHB Smart Treasure 2.5% ROI -1.16% -13.98% -11.14%
AMB Ethical 4.6% IRR -3.56% -2.03% 0.0%
Manulife REIT 4.0% ROI NA NA 0.4%

kimyee73
post Oct 4 2016, 09:32 PM

1,007 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ Oct 4 2016, 09:20 PM)
My goodness you certainly have quite many funds. % of portfolio like 5% each, then you will need 20 funds. LOL.
50% of my portfolio is in fixed income. Also due to legacy funds bought over the years, the amount is quite small for each. Equity spread over small caps, Malaysia focus, developed market, APAC/EM & resources. Some small one just waiting to sell off. Each market allocated only 1/6 except APAC/EM 2/6 of the 50% for equity.

This post has been edited by kimyee73: Oct 4 2016, 09:34 PM
kimyee73
post Oct 4 2016, 09:42 PM

1,007 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Oct 4 2016, 09:35 PM)
why don't you dump smart treasure. I think pieces88 reported of negative returns too.
I just bought it less than a year and it dropped in Aug due to U-Li Corp. I would give it more time to recover.
kimyee73
post Oct 4 2016, 10:01 PM

1,007 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Oct 4 2016, 03:12 PM)
Lai Lai, come come and share share....

What indicator?

Sure win wan boh?

[stuff deleted]

Xuzen
I won't say long as this subject seems to be a taboo here but momentum indicators used for stock trading such as stochastic, RSI etc.

kimyee73
post Oct 5 2016, 06:41 PM

1,007 posts

QUOTE(TakoC @ Oct 5 2016, 07:13 AM)
IRR boosted by precious metal lol
That is what it is for... booster fund... kind of like having 3rd pocket in 2nd pocket. Once booster fuel finish, will dump it biggrin.gif
kimyee73
post Oct 5 2016, 07:01 PM

1,007 posts

QUOTE(T231H @ Oct 5 2016, 11:09 AM)
found this little "Disclaimer" from an article from FSM HK...
".....investors should not override the importance of the historical mean of P/E when it comes to valuing a company’s stock price. Despite the strong fundamentals and impressive growth potential, the stock price would be dragged down by the bearish sentiment in the market. Therefore, investors should not base their investment decision merely on the level of P/E. "...........

Capture The Optimal Entry Of Investment Through A Proper Use Of P/E
September 30, 2016.      Author : Fundsupermart.com
http://www.fundsupermart.com.hk/hk/main/re...se-of-P-E-12540
And below is from trend follower view

While a fundamental analyst may be able to properly evaluate the economics underlying a stock, I do not  believe they can predict how the masses will process this same information. Ultimately, it is the dollar-weighted collective opinion of all market participants that determines whether a stock goes up or down. This consensus is revealed by analyzing price.

Mark Abraham
Quantitative Capital Management, L.P.

kimyee73
post Oct 5 2016, 10:32 PM

1,007 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Oct 5 2016, 07:22 PM)
Well if he post the whole list, not enough space laugh.gif

And we would get headache too by looking at the numbers blush.gif
OK lah... for first time, below is my top 10 funds by percent of portfolio and it's IRR. They are close to 70% of my port.

Fund name % of port Sep IRR
RHB Islamic Bond 9.9% 8.25%
RHB ATR 8.9% 10.2%
RHB EM Bond 8.7% 15.12%
AmPrecious Metal 8.2% 56.52%
TA GTF 8.2% 13.27%
Manulife India 7% 9.74%
AmDynamic Bond 5.3% 6.07%
AMB Ethical 4.6% 0%
EI Small caps 4.5% 16.83%
RHB China-India 4.1% *3.5%
* ROI figure due to less than 1 year
kimyee73
post Oct 6 2016, 04:03 PM

1,007 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Oct 6 2016, 03:44 PM)
so I have seen when I wrongly invested in the rhb Asian total return fund which has a high volatility even as it is considered as a fixed income fund. I right the wrong switching it to libra anita.

that said I read on the benefits of CMF in fundsupermart.  how many of the investors here are currently using it to instantly purchase their unit trusts?
I keep 1 year of expense in CMF, can use to instantly purchase funds.

0.0899sec    0.27    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 11:26 PM