14,929 posts

2x post

This post has been edited by MUM: Oct 19 2016, 01:41 PM
frankzane
post Oct 19 2016, 01:43 PM

664 posts

QUOTE(drew86 @ Oct 18 2016, 07:14 PM)
frankzane was asking about declaring taxable income from dividend..just for info XD

Of course if you don't want to declare also no big deal. LHDN won't come chasing after u to give u free money! Someone will prolly spend it on diamonds/ submarines and what not
Thanks for the additional info drew86
dasecret
post Oct 19 2016, 01:46 PM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(frankzane @ Oct 19 2016, 01:39 PM)
Thanks for all the answers. I shall start investing in FSM then. rclxms.gif

One more thing, can I invest in Public Mutual via FSM when I already have my PMO? If yes, what are the difference between them?
Nope, Public Mutual funds are only distributed by their exclusive agents. Not distributed by IUTA and CUTA as far as I know

Difference of PMO and FSM?
Sales charge - 5.25% vs 2% or lower
Choice of funds - limited to PM funds vs a wide range of funds across different asset management companies and switching enabled between different asset management companies as well (some subject to charges)
User friendliness of the website - I don't know about you, I find fundsupermart much better with wide range of articles and research reports, charting tools and simulators
Fund returns - This one very hard to compare la, have to compare those from the same range etc. But when I sort morningstar results by 5 years annualised returns, PM funds hardly even show up on the first page or top 20...

Is that enough reasons for you to consider FSM?
frankzane
post Oct 19 2016, 01:50 PM

664 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Oct 19 2016, 01:41 PM)
FSM no sell PM funds..
PMO can buy/sell other FH funds?
I see...okok.
No, PMO only sells PM or PB funds only...
Thanks!
frankzane
post Oct 19 2016, 01:51 PM

664 posts

QUOTE(dasecret @ Oct 19 2016, 01:46 PM)
Nope, Public Mutual funds are only distributed by their exclusive agents. Not distributed by IUTA and CUTA as far as I know

Difference of PMO and FSM?
Sales charge - 5.25% vs 2% or lower
Choice of funds - limited to PM funds vs a wide range of funds across different asset management companies and switching enabled between different asset management companies as well (some subject to charges)
User friendliness of the website - I don't know about you, I find fundsupermart much better with wide range of articles and research reports, charting tools and simulators
Fund returns - This one very hard to compare la, have to compare those from the same range etc. But when I sort morningstar results by 5 years annualised returns, PM funds hardly even show up on the first page or top 20...

Is that enough reasons for you to consider FSM?
Getting more interested with FSM. devil.gif
puchongite
post Oct 19 2016, 03:06 PM

33,687 posts

QUOTE(xpmm @ Oct 19 2016, 03:03 PM)
FSM CMF vs Phillip Master Money Market Fund (PMMMF)

the thing i like about PMMMF is T+0 same day redemption while FSM CMF is T+3.
anything i overlook?

Benefits for Investment into PMMMF
Benefits as an ideal alternative cash management instrument due to the following reasons:
Tax-exempt
Aims to preserve capital
Same day redemption (T+0)
  4. Liquid underlying investment
No penalty for early redemption
Monthly distribution
Seeks for high return
Tax-exempt
Income / dividend derived from PMMMF are tax-exempted.
Aims to preserve capital
The price for PMMMF per unit of investment is fixed. Unlike Net Asset Value (NAV) based Money Market Funds. This means that although PMMMF has some investment in bonds, its investors are protected from the daily fluctuation of bond prices.
NAV-based Money Market Funds do not have fixed prices and their investments in bonds are 'marked to market'. This means that during volatile interest rate scenario or uncertainty over the direction of the interest rate (trend), investors of NAV-based Funds are vulnerable to the swings in the prices of their investment. An investor investing in such Funds will then have to monitor more closely the direction of interest rates as putting in money in such Funds at the wrong time may bring about capital losses rather than capital gain.
In general, investors investing in fixed price Money Market Funds may not need to worry about losing their capital or the fluctuations in the market value of their investment.
Same Day Redemption (T+0)
PMMMF's redemption settlement policy provides that funds must be transferred back to investors on T+0 itself (Provided the redemption submitted before 9.45AM). Although there are other Funds (NAV-based) which claim investors can redeem the investment and get back their money on the same day, this may not be possible because of the Forward Pricing methodology. Under the Forward Pricing methodology, the NAV per unit of the Fund will be determined at the next valuation point (normally after 5pm) upon which the request for redemption is received. At that valuation point, it will be too late to effect any telegraphic transfer of funds.
Liquid Underlying Investment
>90% of PMMMF's assets are in cash deposits, making it one of the most liquid funds available. Most other Funds in the market have less than 90% in cash deposits, making them more vulnerable to sudden redemptions of material/ significant amount.
In a sudden adverse change of interest rate trend, a Fund having significant investment in less liquid assets such as bonds and Commercial papers (CPs) may find it difficult to sell off these fixed income instruments at good prices. This will in return affect the Fund's ability to refund money to investors on T+0 when there are redemptions. For a NAV-based Fund, this may result in capital loss to investors who happen to be unfortunate enough to have to redeemed their investment under such interest rate change (spike).
Where I can get a chart of the historical performance of it, compare to FSM ones at least ! rclxs0.gif
dasecret
post Oct 19 2016, 03:11 PM

1,498 posts

anything i overlook?

I don't use eUnitTrust and too lazy to check - What's the current indicative interest rate for PMMMF?

FSM CMF is T+2

I also liked the fact that redemption they will bank in for me instead of sending me a cheque which would mean >T+2 effectively.

But just like the debate between Maybank eGIA vs CMF; the differential usually is very small. 0.2% per annum difference works out to be RM200 difference for RM100,000 per year. And who put large amounts in CMF or MMF for a year right?

Trivial matter.... not worth comparing

On the other hand, it is a lot more meaningful to compare EI small cap fund vs RHB SCOT vs CIMB small cap vs Public small cap because the difference in returns is huge, can be more than 10% per annum
Ramjade
post Oct 19 2016, 03:15 PM

24,382 posts

In my opinion, eunittrust is only good for those 0% service charge promos which FSM doesn't have. thumbup.gif
puchongite
post Oct 19 2016, 03:17 PM

33,687 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Oct 19 2016, 03:15 PM)

In my opinion, eunittrust is only good for those 0% service charge promos which FSM doesn't have.  thumbup.gif
In other words, when there is no promo, it is no bloody good !
dasecret
post Oct 19 2016, 03:21 PM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Oct 19 2016, 03:15 PM)

In my opinion, eunittrust is only good for those 0% service charge promos which FSM doesn't have.  thumbup.gif
Ada free credit ninja or not for inter fundhouse switching?

But at the end of the day, the website is such a major turn off to me that even 0% sales charge also I won't go for it. Macam built by some teenagers and never upgrade for the past 5 years
AIYH
post Oct 19 2016, 03:26 PM

1,166 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ Oct 19 2016, 03:06 PM)
Where I can get a chart of the historical performance of it, compare to FSM ones at least ! rclxs0.gif
If all insist to compare (hope I will not bombarded after this laugh.gif ) but this is the 5 year chart.

Orange = Philip Master Money Market Fund

Blue = RHB Cash Management Fund 2

T231H
post Oct 19 2016, 03:32 PM

5,143 posts

anything i overlook?

QUOTE(xpmm @ Oct 19 2016, 03:32 PM)
T+0 rocks, CMF totally cannot compare.
ha-ha...T+0...haha...yes,..ROCK.....by the time the cheque reaches your house, the face will become ROCK ranting.gif

yes CMF cannot compare...it goes by GIRO.... rclxs0.gif

This post has been edited by T231H: Oct 19 2016, 03:35 PM

dasecret
post Oct 19 2016, 03:34 PM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(xpmm @ Oct 19 2016, 03:25 PM)
they advertise on thier main page its 3.5%.

dont know how it works as its not NAV based.
Indicative interest rate is forward looking which would be comparable to savings acc or FD etc. The past performance is not as meaningful in the case of MMF. Any interest rate adjustments would impact the future returns significantly

QUOTE(AIYH @ Oct 19 2016, 03:26 PM)
If all insist to compare (hope I will not bombarded after this  laugh.gif ) but this is the 5 year chart.

Orange = Philip Master Money Market Fund

Blue = RHB Cash Management Fund 2
Well done!

Actually if we still want to dwell into this. eGIA is more superior la. Liquidity and returns both win

But, keep your eyes on what matters... the EQ and FI funds... not MMF
dasecret
post Oct 19 2016, 03:36 PM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(xpmm @ Oct 19 2016, 03:32 PM)
T+0 rocks, CMF totally cannot compare.
If T+0 is important to you, eGIA better. No need to withdraw by 3pm pun. 10pm also can

QUOTE(T231H @ Oct 19 2016, 03:32 PM)
ha-ha...T+0...haha...yes,..ROCK.....by the time the cheque reaches your house, the face will become ROCK  ranting.gif

yes CMF cannot compare...it goes by GIRO....  rclxs0.gif
You ROCK! I really salute your search power... lagi hebat than Google
puchongite
post Oct 19 2016, 03:37 PM

33,687 posts

QUOTE(T231H @ Oct 19 2016, 03:32 PM)
ha-ha...T+0...haha...yes,..ROCK.....by the time the cheque reaches your house, the face will become ROCK  ranting.gif

yes CMF cannot compare...it goes by GIRO....  rclxs0.gif
Hmmm this is hitting the nail on the head.
AIYH
post Oct 19 2016, 03:43 PM

1,166 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ Oct 19 2016, 03:37 PM)
Hmmm this is hitting the nail on the head.
Not to mention, the minimum withdrawal is RM1,000, contrast to CMF RM100 laugh.gif

T+0 + postage time + go to branch time + cheque clearance time, 3 items involved extra work, while giro you just wait for it to be in your account laugh.gif
T231H
post Oct 19 2016, 03:54 PM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(xpmm @ Oct 19 2016, 03:47 PM)
i received a reply from phillip

If you submit before 9:30am, you will receive the money in your account in the afternoon on the same day.
tell them to amend the prospectus and their webpage on this condition.....or they just cannot say it in public?
(like some insurance salesman can give their own version of the returns projection to view only not official one)

Ramjade few days ago you looked for products with shortest lag time...if this PMMMF is true and if the initial sum or buying, selling and top up is ok with you...can consider-lor.
AIYH
post Oct 19 2016, 04:00 PM

1,166 posts

Cannot find any information on RSP, so I ask a few question about PMMMF here (hopefully wont be bombared by sifu here laugh.gif)

1) When you invest, how long does it appear in your holding?

2) From the previous performance chart, it seems like crediting interest to you at the end of each month rather than continuous performance like NAV.

3) If you do RSP, can PMMMF served as a platform to RSP from there to the fund you want to invest similar to how CMF function?
MUM
post Oct 19 2016, 04:16 PM

14,929 posts

QUOTE(AIYH @ Oct 19 2016, 04:00 PM)
Cannot find any information on RSP, so I ask a few question about PMMMF here (hopefully wont be bombared by sifu here laugh.gif)

2) From the previous performance chart, it seems like crediting interest to you at the end of each month rather than continuous performance like NAV.

3) If you do RSP, can PMMMF served as a platform to RSP from there to the fund you want to invest similar to how CMF function?
for PMMMF and its related questions........
on upper section ...click on "Contact Us"
https://www.eunittrust.com.my/

This post has been edited by MUM: Oct 19 2016, 04:17 PM
dasecret
post Oct 19 2016, 04:31 PM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(AIYH @ Oct 19 2016, 04:00 PM)

Like what we say to many in the past, start la one thread on eUnit trust. Can have some competition for FSM. And if the posts move slower, then wont be drowned in FSM thread of many versions

100 Pages « < 86 87 88 89 90 > » Top

0.0192sec    0.64    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 10:28 AM