100 Pages « < 58 59 60 61 62 > » Bottom

Fundsupermart.com v15, 基金超市第十五章 - Rise the Dragon

AIYH
post Oct 8 2016, 10:18 AM

1,166 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ Oct 8 2016, 10:00 AM)
Inter switch will generally have 2 days lag. But intra switch will generally have zero lag ( there is a list of exceptions ).

So if I am targeting to invest in cimb equity fund, may be can consider parking into cimb bond fund in the mean time ? LOL.
Sounds workable, but not optimal, the return is about half of what libra asnita can offer, and it can't provide the liquidity eGIA provides

Using cimb bond fund to switch into cimb equity fund will be the very similar to invest directly into cimb equity fund using eGIA/CMF

Plus particularly, intra switch into some popular cimb equity fund, like GTF, APDIF just to name a few has a lag of 1 business day

QUOTE(T231H @ Oct 8 2016, 10:07 AM)
a "friend of mine"...always has a minimum
1) 1/2 month expenses in CASH lying around the house
2) 1 monthly expenses in Saving a/c of EACH of the 3~4 different banks with ATM cards
3) 3 months of saving in FDs on monthly renewal mode

that is "his" 1st pockets of Emergency fund that is to be "VERY" liquid.

there is really no right or wrong methods to have in an emergency fund.

just that don't be too annalistic in "concerning" too much about the "losses" of some % of interest on this emergency fund....not to the extend of calculating to the precise "lag" time in days of the x% of emergency cash in the said a/c.... doh.gif

concentrate more into how/where to position one funds in the portfolio; be it includes among other things like; Vanguard credit ninja trick, RSP ninja trick, abit of timing (buy lower  biggrin.gif ), try to seek funds (if possible) from FH with free switching and no holding periods between EQ / FI funds, visiting and actively posting more in here, etc, etc.........to helps provides winnings/savings that is/will be much more than the losses of some % in the lag time.  tongue.gif

cool2.gif
That would be part of the consideration when constructing portfolio, thank you for the idea biggrin.gif

Every method has pros and cons, just need to evaluate and maximize the particular method for different people smile.gif

Maximizing the fixed income with savings method will also benefit some way for those who rely on it smile.gif
MUM
post Oct 8 2016, 10:36 AM

14,929 posts

QUOTE(AIYH @ Oct 8 2016, 10:18 AM)
Every method has pros and cons, just need to evaluate and maximize the particular method for different people  smile.gif

Maximizing the fixed income with savings method will also benefit some way for those who rely on it  smile.gif
MAXIMIZING?....
when one is a investor, he/she should have in the mind that believes his $$ CAN be lost to a certain extend......
he will be ready to cut losses, jump boat or call up reserves to plus the holes.....one cannot have the thought of maximizing returns thru saving on these insignificant %...

Concentrating on Maximizing returns on this 'insignificants" would not be beneficial to his journey of investing....maybe he/she will be more suitable to the FD/saving a/c threads where going hunting the 0.x% pa is very enjoying.

console.gif

puchongite
post Oct 8 2016, 11:15 AM

33,683 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Oct 8 2016, 10:36 AM)
MAXIMIZING?....
when one is a investor, he/she should have in the mind that believes his $$ CAN be lost to a certain extend......
he will be ready to cut losses, jump boat or call up reserves to plus the holes.....one cannot have the thought of maximizing returns thru saving on these insignificant %...

Concentrating on Maximizing returns on this 'insignificants" would not be beneficial to his journey of investing....maybe he/she will be more suitable to the FD/saving a/c  threads where going hunting the 0.x% pa is very enjoying.

console.gif
It is not 0.x %. Compared eGIA with the lower of Libra asnita that's easily more than 1%.

Depending the size of the reserve fund lar. 😉
xuzen
post Oct 8 2016, 11:16 AM

4,436 posts

Good sirs,

Please allow me to put in some perspective:

While you are arguing eGIA-i vs Asnita Bond vs CMF for parking in terms of how best each will give you ROI, you people are being petty, that is, no matter which one you choose, the difference will not be a lot.

e-GIAi = 4% p.a

Asnita Bond = 6% p.a.

CMF = 3.5% p.a.

Unless you are talking about parking a million or two ringgit, the end result is insignificant for couple of months placement. The difference cannot even pay for one cup of Starbucks Americano Vente. This is what we called penny wise, pound foolish.

While you are arguing about this insignificant thing, India oh my lovely India wub.gif wub.gif wub.gif went up 3% in a week.

In one week how much is e-GIAi ROI? 4/52 = 0.077%. doh.gif

In one week how much is CMF ROI? 3.5/52 = 0.067%. doh.gif

In one week how much is Asnita Bond ROI? 6/52 = 0.115%. doh.gif

My point is these instruments are there for a purpose other than for generating ROI.

Xuzen

This post has been edited by xuzen: Oct 8 2016, 11:19 AM
MUM
post Oct 8 2016, 11:20 AM

14,929 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ Oct 8 2016, 11:15 AM)
It is not 0.x %. Compared eGIA with the lower of Libra asnita  that's easily more than 1%.

Depending the size of the reserve fund lar. 😉
reserves/emergency funds is always prioritized for its liquidity.....
UTs is not for its liquidity ....
SUSPink Spider
post Oct 8 2016, 11:35 AM

Formerly known as Prince_Hamsap
16,872 posts

Some may feel offended by this, but I'm just speaking the truth.

Ram oh Ram, u ni still a student, plenty of spare time.

Many of us here are busy businessmen and professionals, we could be busy from 9AM til 2:55PM then baru ada masa log in internet read business news or check our UT portfolio then decided to top up...

Wanna log in Maybank2U, uplift itu apa eGIA, then log in FSM and then use FPX to pay? To a busy people, even 1 minute can do a lot of things.

I conclude my "insult" of the day. sleep.gif

This post has been edited by Pink Spider: Oct 8 2016, 11:36 AM
nexona88
post Oct 8 2016, 12:00 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,509 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Oct 8 2016, 11:16 AM)
Good sirs,

While you are arguing eGIA-i vs Asnita Bond vs CMF for parking in terms of how best each will give you ROI, you people are being petty, that is, no matter which one you choose, the difference will not be a lot.

e-GIAi = 4% p.a

Asnita Bond = 6% p.a.

CMF =  3.5% p.a.

Unless you are talking about parking a million or two ringgit, the end result is insignificant for couple of months placement. The difference cannot even pay for one cup of Starbucks Americano Vente. This is what we called penny wise, pound foolish.

While you are arguing about this insignificant thing, India oh my lovely India  wub.gif  wub.gif  wub.gif went up 3% in a week.

In one week how much is e-GIAi ROI? 4/52 = 0.077%.  doh.gif

In one week how much is CMF ROI? 3.5/52 = 0.067%.  doh.gif

In one week how much is Asnita Bond ROI? 6/52 = 0.115%.  doh.gif

My point is these instruments are there for a purpose other than for generating ROI.

Xuzen
Well said well said..
It's just temporary parking place.. So no worry on ROI blush.gif
AIYH
post Oct 8 2016, 12:12 PM

1,166 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Oct 8 2016, 11:16 AM)
Good sirs,

e-GIAi = 4% p.a

Asnita Bond = 6% p.a.

CMF =  3.5% p.a.

While you are arguing about this insignificant thing, India oh my lovely India  wub.gif  wub.gif  wub.gif went up 3% in a week.

In one week how much is e-GIAi ROI? 4/52 = 0.077%.  doh.gif

In one week how much is CMF ROI? 3.5/52 = 0.067%.  doh.gif

In one week how much is Asnita Bond ROI? 6/52 = 0.115%.  doh.gif

Xuzen
Chill chill laugh.gif

Slowly accumulating wealth and slowly shift the priority laugh.gif

Give youngsters and beginners who have limited wealth some time to learn and grow ma thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by AIYH: Oct 8 2016, 12:20 PM
Ramjade
post Oct 8 2016, 12:17 PM

24,382 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Oct 8 2016, 11:35 AM)

Many of us here are busy businessmen and professionals, we could be busy from 9AM til 2:55PM then baru ada masa log in internet read business news or check our UT portfolio then decided to top up...

Wanna log in Maybank2U, uplift itu apa eGIA, then log in FSM and then use FPX to pay? To a busy people, even 1 minute can do a lot of things.

Four sentence.
(i) Index
(ii) US market
(iii) Morning
(iii) Lunch time

World market depend on US market. See US index first thing in the morning la. Then decide course of action.

Still not convince? Lunch time takkan cannot check and buy? 1-2 hours makan not enough meh? More than enough. Takkan cannot use lunch time to do meh? During lunch time got time to update FB, instagram, no time to check/uplift meh? whistling.gif Malaysian love to post pic of food.

Again still not convince? Let's take the india incident. Buying first thing in the morning the next day after news is out still in time for the "discount". Enough time to read news at night, and buy next morning.

Saying no time is just excuse and easy way out. When there's a will there's a way.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Oct 8 2016, 12:41 PM
puchongite
post Oct 8 2016, 12:20 PM

33,683 posts

QUOTE(AIYH @ Oct 8 2016, 12:12 PM)
Chill chill  laugh.gif

Slowly accumulating wealth and slowly shift the priority  laugh.gif
And the reality is small % differences are those can work out to have high certainty. And big % differences are almost impossible to know with certainty. India might have gone up 3% in a week, do we know it for sure ?
SUSPink Spider
post Oct 8 2016, 12:26 PM

16,872 posts

Kid, come out into the real world and reply my post again.

This post has been edited by Pink Spider: Oct 8 2016, 12:37 PM
xuzen
post Oct 8 2016, 12:49 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(AIYH @ Oct 8 2016, 12:12 PM)
Chill chill  laugh.gif

Slowly accumulating wealth and slowly shift the priority  laugh.gif

Give youngsters and beginners who have limited wealth some time to learn and grow ma  thumbup.gif
Which is why their priority is to grow wealth, not engaging in petty stuff. Wrong priority! mad.gif

This post has been edited by xuzen: Oct 8 2016, 12:50 PM
AIYH
post Oct 8 2016, 01:01 PM

1,166 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Oct 8 2016, 12:49 PM)
Which is why their priority is to grow wealth, not engaging in petty stuff. Wrong priority!  mad.gif
Give some time ma laugh.gif

Yes, there is investment amount for wealth accumulation

but there are also some money left that are for liquidity and waiting for opportunity aka wealth preservation

We try to find a balance to maximize the return for this standing fund while learning and finding other investment opportunity

Of course when we earn more from income or investment and have enough to dispose them to investment, the petty method will slowly become insignificant and we start to increase risk appetite maximizing the investment portion of the portfolio smile.gif

Give time to learn ma, sorry sifu laugh.gif
Avangelice
post Oct 8 2016, 02:03 PM

5,272 posts

I hope the seniors realize that we are still very young in terms of investing and anything new to us is like a big wealth of knowledge.

heck I don't even know there was a eGIA-i account and the difference with that and CMF and through that conversation I learnt about instant liquidity and it made me reflect how I do not have a real emergency fund and in case my clinic closes down I really have nothing to cover my housing loan when everything i have is secured in funds and deposits.

also we are currently discussing and it is up to us individuals to read up and do proper research based on the wealth of knowledge that you have given us. acting up on it is another things.

so calling us petty is very hurtful to those who want to learn. compared to other thread who have Peking ducks at least give us the benefit of the doubt that we are asking questions.

my two cents.

xuzen
post Oct 8 2016, 02:42 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Oct 8 2016, 02:03 PM)
I hope the seniors realize that we are still very young in terms of investing and anything new to us is like a big wealth of knowledge.

heck I don't even know there was a eGIA-i account and the difference with that and CMF and through that conversation I learnt about instant liquidity and it made me reflect how I do not have a real emergency fund and in case my clinic closes down I really have nothing to cover my housing loan when everything i have is secured in funds and deposits.

also we are currently discussing and it is up to us individuals to read up and do proper research based on the wealth of knowledge that you have given us. acting up on it is another things.

so calling us petty is very hurtful to those who want to learn. compared to other thread who have Peking ducks at least give us the benefit of the doubt that we are asking questions.

my two cents.
Humble apology. May you live long and prosper.

guy3288
post Oct 8 2016, 02:48 PM

5,890 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ Oct 8 2016, 12:20 PM)
And the reality is small % differences are those can work out to have high certainty. And big % differences are almost impossible to know with certainty. India might have gone up 3% in a week, do we know it for sure ?
QUOTE(AIYH @ Oct 8 2016, 01:01 PM)
Give some time ma laugh.gif

Yes, there is investment amount for wealth accumulation

but there are also some money left that are for liquidity and waiting for opportunity aka wealth preservation

We try to find a balance to maximize the return for this standing fund while learning and finding other investment opportunity

Of course when we earn more from income or investment and have enough to dispose them to investment, the petty method will slowly become insignificant and we start to increase risk appetite maximizing the investment portion of the portfolio smile.gif

Give time to learn ma, sorry sifu laugh.gif
the 2 comments above show a very positive attitude towards money(investment)

everything starts from small, no one can become BIG suddenly, out from no where.

Trouble is many only start to look when that amount is big (to them), when small they ignore, dont bother,
they look down on it.

That's why we hear people say, "aiya why bother that small amount, that is not even enough for my one go at the pub... etc..."

Truth is if you have such a habit of not knowing how to "value" your money ( starting at small amount),
you are likely to continue your habit the same when you grow bigger. Next time you become a miilionaire, you would say, aiya what is RM5000, nothing lah, 0.5% only ma......the same.

To me, every little extra in % counts, even just 0.5% more. When your amount is RM10,000 that RM50 may not seem big. But it is not the amount, it is the way you look at it that matters.

SO yes, i support you 2 guys!

This post has been edited by guy3288: Oct 8 2016, 02:52 PM
Nom-el
post Oct 8 2016, 04:10 PM

507 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Oct 8 2016, 11:35 AM)

Actually logging in to M2U would not take too much of your time. The time taken would be similar to logging into this forum and replying to the messages here. It just depends on whether you think it is worth the effort. No right or wrong. Depends on the individual.

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Oct 8 2016, 02:48 PM)
the 2 comments above show a very positive attitude towards money(investment)

everything starts from small, no one can become BIG suddenly, out from no where.

Trouble is many only start to look when that amount is big (to them), when small they ignore, dont bother,
they look down on it.

That's why we hear people  say, "aiya why bother that small amount, that is not even enough for my one go at the pub... etc..."

Truth is if you have such a habit of not knowing how to "value" your money ( starting at small amount),
you are likely to continue your habit the same when you grow bigger. Next time you become a miilionaire, you would say, aiya what is RM5000, nothing lah, 0.5% only ma......the same.

To me, every little extra in % counts, even just 0.5% more. When your amount is RM10,000 that RM50 may not seem big. But it is not the amount, it is the way you look at it that matters.

SO yes, i support you 2 guys!
I agree with you. What is small to someone might be big to others. Not many people are lucky enough to be able to spare a big sum for investments. Some barely have enough to survive from month to month. Naturally, they do not wish to invest a lot into the high risk, high return investments. What can they do then if they wish to beat inflation? They can only go for the 0.x% or 1.x% extra p.a investments where they can get some extra returns with an acceptable level of risk. And hopefully with compounding effect, their money would be worth a lot more many years later.

kradun
post Oct 8 2016, 04:16 PM

989 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Oct 8 2016, 12:17 PM)
Four sentence.
(i) Index
(ii) US market
(iii) Morning
(iii) Lunch time

World market depend on US market. See US index first thing in the morning la. Then decide course of action.

Still not convince? Lunch time takkan cannot check and buy? 1-2 hours makan not enough meh? More than enough. Takkan cannot use lunch time to do meh? During lunch time got time to update FB, instagram, no time to check/uplift meh? whistling.gif Malaysian love to post pic of food.

Again still not convince?  Let's take the india incident. Buying first thing in the morning the next day after news is out still in time for the "discount". Enough time to read news at night, and buy next morning.

Saying no time is just excuse and easy way out. When there's a will there's a way.
"Emergency cash" main objective is to serve the emergency use, whether earn money or not is just some added bonus. Some people put cash at home let it grow nothing but if that way make them more comfort then why not?

Under normal circumstances, people will not know there is a way to improve another 0.5% until they search for it, and that action will need to spend their time and effort. Once involve time and effort, that mean if you choose to do this then you can't do other thing. ie, If one need to keep remembering to check it out during toilet break, lunch break or whatever break then it doesn't sound like a good idea as that will disturb your concentration at work, a.k.a lower down your effectiveness at work that directly will affect your future salary.

If the "incentive" is not strong enough to motivate them then less likely they will do so. Whether earn additional 0.5% or not, the same money still serve its main purpose as "emergency cash".

This post has been edited by kradun: Oct 8 2016, 04:28 PM
SUSPink Spider
post Oct 8 2016, 05:19 PM

16,872 posts

Why am I having this feeling that all of a sudden some "newbies" appear out of nowhere and they all talk on the same wavelength? whistling.gif
[Ancient]-XinG-
post Oct 8 2016, 05:41 PM

20k VIP club
5,752 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Oct 8 2016, 05:19 PM)
Why am I having this feeling that all of a sudden some "newbies" appear out of nowhere and they all talk on the same wavelength? whistling.gif
Dupeception

100 Pages « < 58 59 60 61 62 > » Top

0.0294sec    0.33    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 02:08 AM