127 Pages « < 31 32 33 34 35 > » Bottom

LYN Official FIA F1 World Championship 2007 Thread, Another McLaren 1-2

bysquashy
post Mar 19 2007, 05:24 PM

Wireless Bliss [3GPP R14]
2,884 posts

QUOTE(Raikkonen @ Mar 19 2007, 04:15 PM)
nod.gif
Barrichello did radioed the team saying Button is helding him up.

Ferrari's (and any other teams) will make sure if 1-2 in front...the #2 will held the pack and make sure the #1 fly.
Unless #2 can catch up #1 pace and busy racing each other...-17 seconds like in yesterday morning  cool2.gif
But Button didn't barged........... pity Barrichello
TamiyaOne
post Mar 19 2007, 05:54 PM

936 posts

Button should let Barrichello thur. this is not team order but comm. sense to win some point . if yr team mate is fast drool.gif
young_soul
post Mar 19 2007, 07:09 PM

THIS is how you use a hammer
2,032 posts

This is VERY lame to me...
McLaren Mercedes boss Ron Dennis has accused BMW Sauber of 'showboating' in the Australian Grand Prix.

Hinwil based BMW Sauber's Nick Heidfeld had an impressive start to the Melbourne race, leaping ahead of Fernando Alonso, but the German made his first pit stop very early and was among only three competitors to start on the 'soft' tyre.

In the official post-race press release, Dennis described BMW's strategy as 'unexpected' and 'very disruptive' to McLaren's plans to win. 

Later, the British chief told reporters: "Our race was seriously compromised by the Heidfeld strategy, which we just didn't understand. It smacked of showboating in the opening part of the race

I watched the repeat of the Australian GP interview today. Did anyone realize Kimi lost his radio communication since the start of the race? Maybe that's why he was able to focus well in his race. And another thing...Alonso's reasoning for coming 2nd was absolute rubbish! Man, he couldn't shut up. Kept talking about why he hasn't performed well in Aust over the years...bla bla bla...Fisi doing better than him in Renault...bla bla bla...new team...bla bla bla rclxub.gif doh.gif
verx
post Mar 19 2007, 08:58 PM

Soshified Madridista
3,737 posts

QUOTE(young_soul @ Mar 19 2007, 07:09 PM)
This is VERY lame to me...

I watched the repeat of the Australian GP interview today. Did anyone realize Kimi lost his radio communication since the start of the race? Maybe that's why he was able to focus well in his race. And another thing...Alonso's reasoning for coming 2nd was absolute rubbish! Man, he couldn't shut up. Kept talking about why he hasn't performed well in Aust over the years...bla bla bla...Fisi doing better than him in Renault...bla bla bla...new team...bla bla bla rclxub.gif  doh.gif
Stop taking things out of context. The way the interviews work; they are after all just answering the questions put to them. Besides i don't remember him reasoning anything about finishing 2nd but that's just maybe me.

But u wanna know one thing that baffles me...Kimi claimed he lost radio communication for the race...yet after he crossed the finish line....tada..we hear Mr Todt and his race engineer: Congratz Kimi...great job...bla bla
Odd don't u think hmm.gif rolleyes.gif
Hornet
post Mar 19 2007, 09:40 PM

What?
4,251 posts

Ferrari were clearly faster than the Mclaren, heck Hamilton was droping alonso at the early part of the race. Alonso lost it plain and simple. Hamilton was then compromise by Sato and so lose out to Alonso.

Nick was clearly faster and Hamilton was no where near his back. Alonso was even further behind. Did Ron even watch the same race?

Ron will be the downfall of Alonso if anything.
KimRoss
post Mar 19 2007, 09:41 PM

The.Architect
1,715 posts

Yeah, now that you've mentioned it,.. Does seem odd.. =O
But then again, the team was hanging boards of instuctions when Kimi passed the pit straight,
+4 revs and stuff.. so.. Also another thing to think about
TSlinkinstreet
post Mar 19 2007, 10:01 PM

Red Bull Addict
9,275 posts

QUOTE(Hornet @ Mar 19 2007, 09:40 PM)
Ferrari were clearly faster than the Mclaren, heck Hamilton was droping alonso at the early part of the race. Alonso lost it plain and simple. Hamilton was then compromise by Sato and so lose out to Alonso.

Nick was clearly faster and Hamilton was no where near his back. Alonso was even further behind. Did Ron even watch the same race?

Watching the same race I do saw that while Fernando have 2 laps more fuel after the second stop, he was no more than 3~5 seconds down the road from Lewis. That was significant enought as 5 seconds is the margin needed to leap ahead if you are more heavily fuelled. Sato was not an issue. yes, he comprimised Lewis, but in the end, lewis will be closer, not in front of fernando after the stop.
You need luck, and experience in F1.

Needless to say Ferrari still is weird in letting their team Radio being broadcasted. The line 'And remember, this communication will be broadcasted live' uttered by the race engineer was shocking to me. If you want it to be broadcast, just broadcast it. no need to sugarcoat it. The reason team radio being broadcast is
- checking for team orders (heh, like they will let the out so easily)
- give viewers the chance to hear the hectic race startegy on the fly
- Uncensored driver comments (try searching for Juan Pablo's when he was at Williams. that should be good)
kobe8byrant
post Mar 19 2007, 10:05 PM

I'm too old for this stuff
12,275 posts

QUOTE(linkinstreet @ Mar 19 2007, 10:01 PM)
Watching the same race I do saw that while Fernando have 2 laps more fuel after the second stop, he was no more than 3~5 seconds down the road from Lewis. That was significant enought as 5 seconds is the margin needed to leap ahead if you are more heavily fuelled. Sato was not an issue. yes, he comprimised Lewis, but in the end, lewis will be closer, not in front of fernando after the stop.
You need luck, and experience in F1.

Needless to say Ferrari still is weird in letting their team Radio being broadcasted. The line 'And remember, this communication will be broadcasted live' uttered by the race engineer was shocking to me. If you want it to be broadcast, just broadcast it. no need to sugarcoat it. The reason team radio being broadcast is
- Uncensored driver comments (try searching for Juan Pablo's when he was at Williams. that should be good)
all teams have to let FIA check their communication but ferrari didnt sign with F1 ITV thats why cant on air last season ma, not meh?
young_soul
post Mar 19 2007, 10:08 PM

2,032 posts

QUOTE(verx @ Mar 19 2007, 08:58 PM)
Stop taking things out of context. The way the interviews work; they are after all just answering the questions put to them. Besides i don't remember him reasoning anything about finishing 2nd but that's just maybe me.

But u wanna know one thing that baffles me...Kimi claimed he lost radio communication for the race...yet after he crossed the finish line....tada..we hear Mr Todt and his race engineer: Congratz Kimi...great job...bla bla
Odd don't u think hmm.gif  rolleyes.gif
well, if you really want to be specific...the guy asked about his younger teammate. Alonso answered up to Fisichella in Renault last year...1) Fisi is older 2) talking about last year? These two, I believe are out of context. Dunno lah...it just seems like nonsense to me. Just like last year when he blamed his pit-crew...not for the wheel-nut mistake, but blame them for not wanting the #1 car to be moved to McLaren.

About the radio...did Kimi reply the radio message? Ya know...it could be that the station only picked up the message to Kimi but Kimi still couldn't hear the message? Maybe not radio problem...could be just the headphones laugh.gif
TSlinkinstreet
post Mar 19 2007, 10:10 PM

Red Bull Addict
9,275 posts

They do this season. and with the FIA, not ITV. But still, they do seem reluctant on letting others hear them

When you have blamed your driver, who else can you blame?
QUOTE(briatore)
Flavio Briatore has blamed the switch from Michelin to Bridgestone tyres for Renault's slow start to the 2007 F1 season.

Although Renault began the past two seasons with a race victory, they were unable to repeat the performance this year.

Giancarlo Fisichella could only manage sixth place in Sunday's season-opening Australian GP, while team-mate Heikki Kovalainen finished in tenth place.

And although some would suggest that Renault's lack of performance is the result of losing Fernando Alonso to McLaren, Briatore says it's actually down to the loss of the Michelin tyres.

All the teams were forced to switch to Bridgestone rubber after Michelin withdrew from F1 at the end of last year.

"We know we are behind, we knew this from the beginning," Briatore said following Sunday's race in Melbourne.

"We have a problem because the moment we put the Bridgestone on the 2006 car, immediately McLaren was quicker than us. Our car was so well-balanced with the Michelin, really we lost more than anybody."

He added: "The performance today (Sunday) really was a little bit worse than what we expected."

Renault now look forward to a three-day test at Sepang, where engineering head Pat Symonds says they will try their best to close the gap to the front-runners.

"The fact that we've got a better picture now of the relative competitiveness doesn't really alter the way we go about things," he said.

"This time last year we were out in front but we were still working pretty hard to make sure that we stayed there.

"The important thing is to try and analyse where we can best put the limited resources that you always have to try and close that gap down, and that's really where the analysis will be going on this week.

"We have three days of testing in Malaysia before the next race, there are a few new bits coming as always, so we're working from there."

Added on March 19, 2007, 10:13 pmHmmmm... interesting. From Guardian UK and Finnish Iltasanomat
Kimi had a leak during the closing stages of teh race due to overheating and extreme usage. While small, this might lead to an engine change in Malaysia

This post has been edited by linkinstreet: Mar 19 2007, 10:13 PM
KimRoss
post Mar 19 2007, 10:14 PM

The.Architect
1,715 posts

I still think he makes too much of noise for his own good..
But he's good at spotting champions in making smile.gif
young_soul
post Mar 19 2007, 10:18 PM

2,032 posts

I just found out something too...you guys saw that phone conversation just before the trophy presentation? Kimi say...'maybe' its Michael laugh.gif in the 2nd interview

(Tobias Holtkamp - Bild) Kimi, who was on the phone that Jean Todt gave you?
KR: I think it was Michael, but the line was pretty bad so I couldn't hear him.

More on Michael
(Georg Nolte - Bild) Kimi, how did you and Michael work together in the last month?
KR: I have seen him twice -- when they launched the car and I think at one test. He came, but I left at the same time almost. So, we haven't really been spending time

More on Kimi's radio prob
(Paolo Ianieri - La Gazzetta dello Sport) Kimi did you see the accident involving Wurz and Coulthard on the big screen?
KR: No. I saw just a little picture of it. I didn't have time to look too much. But luckily enough, with the problem with the radio that we had, if the safety car had come out... so, it was good that it didn't.
SUSRaikkonen
post Mar 19 2007, 10:20 PM

I'll be your ♡ ☁ ☼ ☂
8,635 posts

QUOTE(Hornet @ Mar 19 2007, 09:40 PM)

tongue.gif

QUOTE(KimRoss @ Mar 19 2007, 09:41 PM)
Yeah, now that you've mentioned it,.. Does seem odd.. =O
But then again, the team was hanging boards of instuctions when Kimi passed the pit straight,
+4 revs and stuff.. so.. Also another thing to think about
hmm.gif nod.gif

We'll see in Sepang and on whether all we discuss here were true or not.
See what Hamilton can do there.
Is he faster than Alonso etc.
All will be answered.

KimRoss
post Mar 19 2007, 10:45 PM

The.Architect
1,715 posts

Of course we will be hoping the Iceman would be on top of the podium this time smile.gif

skylinegtr34rule4life
post Mar 19 2007, 11:22 PM

13k elite :P
13,340 posts

iceman 2 win all 17 races after a winless last season laugh.gif rclxms.gif
Hornet
post Mar 19 2007, 11:32 PM

What?
4,251 posts

QUOTE(linkinstreet @ Mar 19 2007, 10:01 PM)
I think FIA can monitor all conversation for all teams, that's how they enforce their team order rule. Of course communication is very important that many if not all teams have their own communication encryption (FIA are allow to access them of course). So basically I think all broadcasted communication are chosen ones anyway tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Hornet: Mar 19 2007, 11:33 PM
KimRoss
post Mar 19 2007, 11:36 PM

The.Architect
1,715 posts

QUOTE(skylinegtr34rule4life @ Mar 19 2007, 11:22 PM)
iceman 2 win all 17 races after a winless last season laugh.gif  rclxms.gif
Gonna pwn's micheal's 11 / 12 wins in a season =3
LOL

yeah, only selected ones for the tv spectators la. you cant have all the radio messages broadcasted smile.gif
verx
post Mar 20 2007, 12:19 AM

Soshified Madridista
3,737 posts

QUOTE(young_soul @ Mar 19 2007, 10:08 PM)
well, if you really want to be specific...the guy asked about his younger teammate. Alonso answered up to Fisichella in Renault last year...1) Fisi is older 2) talking about last year? These two, I believe are out of context. Dunno lah...it just seems like nonsense to me. Just like last year when he blamed his pit-crew...not for the wheel-nut mistake, but blame them for not wanting the #1 car to be moved to McLaren.

About the radio...did Kimi reply the radio message? Ya know...it could be that the station only picked up the message to Kimi but Kimi still couldn't hear the message? Maybe not radio problem...could be just the headphones laugh.gif
Actually the reporter asked whether this was the 1st time he was pushed hard by a teammate. Alonso replied that Fisichella and Trulli had pushed him hard before mentioning Fisi's win in Aussie...To me it just sounds like he's trying to be politically correct and not offend any of his previous teammates. Maybe u misintepreted what he was trying to say..

And u might be right...Kimi probably couldn't pick up the broadcast cool.gif
shinjite
post Mar 20 2007, 12:25 AM

�ŞħĬΩĵΐŦ��
19,320 posts

That 1 will be a history if it happens
But I don't think so too because Massa is fast and hungry for the World title
SUSRaikkonen
post Mar 20 2007, 12:31 AM

I'll be your ♡ ☁ ☼ ☂
8,635 posts

F1 Australia 2007 Highlights

QUOTE(KimRoss @ Mar 19 2007, 10:45 PM)
Of course we will be hoping the Iceman would be on top of the podium this time  smile.gif

Drink to that cool2.gif

Of course.
Sudah pasti.
(In Chinese)
(In Tamil)

-17 seconds...beat that whistling.gif

This post has been edited by Raikkonen: Mar 20 2007, 01:11 AM

127 Pages « < 31 32 33 34 35 > » Top

0.0534sec    0.28    7 queries    GZIP Disabled