SS

This post has been edited by taxidoor: Jun 23 2007, 11:04 AM
Quazacolt
post Jun 19 2007, 02:48 AM

Riding couple
5,367 posts

QUOTE(remysix @ Jun 18 2007, 07:33 PM)
u meant the core temp at idle already at 6-70 range...so hot la this extreme proc...now i know why they called it extreme whistling.gif
on pure idle it can get as low as 55-60ish on core temp, core die from pc probe/mother board reading doesnt change though.

Added on June 19, 2007, 2:48 am
QUOTE(toughnut @ Jun 18 2007, 05:41 PM)
@Quazacolt

lapping is process of smoothing the contact surface of HSF. VX has no so good contact surface IMHO

btw, nice clock too, 1.4v only.
har nice clock? everyone's like doin 3.2 or 3.4 and im like 3.0... kicit meow only sad.gif

This post has been edited by Quazacolt: Jun 19 2007, 02:48 AM
remysix
post Jun 19 2007, 07:37 AM

Hardcore Leecher!!!
1,311 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jun 19 2007, 02:48 AM)
on pure idle it can get as low as 55-60ish on core temp, core die from pc probe/mother board reading doesnt change though.
mmm...well 55-60 on idle is considered high already, at least for a dual core...

Added on June 19, 2007, 2:48 am

har nice clock? everyone's like doin 3.2 or 3.4 and im like 3.0... kicit meow only sad.gif
and urs is quad core...extreme summore...which batch are urs?
i'll be joining the quadcore club...but not the extreme division...normal quad
Quazacolt
post Jun 19 2007, 09:16 AM

Riding couple
5,367 posts

QUOTE(remysix @ Jun 19 2007, 07:37 AM)
and urs is quad core...extreme summore...which batch are urs?
i'll be joining the quadcore club...but not the extreme division...normal quad
didnt notice my batch ID, but yea thats what im sayin, theres other quad xtreme users around here and they are doing pretty good on oc.

and whats the difference between the extreme models and normal? i only went for it for the higher factory clock speed XD
toughnut
post Jun 19 2007, 09:30 AM

3,239 posts

extreme model has unlocked multiplier upward and downward. normal one only unlocked downward
remysix
post Jun 19 2007, 10:18 AM

Hardcore Leecher!!!
1,311 posts

QUOTE(toughnut @ Jun 19 2007, 09:30 AM)
extreme model has unlocked multiplier upward and downward. normal one only unlocked downward
way cheaper as well...suited for somebody with small pocket like me tongue.gif
Quazacolt
post Jun 19 2007, 11:07 AM

Riding couple
5,367 posts

QUOTE(toughnut @ Jun 19 2007, 09:30 AM)
meh the upward multiplier... are pretty much useless most of the time for air coolers >.>

i have to reduce my multiplier to pump up more FSB ftw, but i wonder if i should lower fsb and raise multiplier to have the same clock speed but increased latency... not sure if im stressing my mobo lol
SUSInF.anime
post Jun 19 2007, 12:30 PM

2,695 posts

Izzit really hard to overclock E6600 to 3.8GHz or more?
Just curious, becoz not many forumers here willing to o'c to tht speed. Is it becoz our forumers dont wanna o'clock their proc extremely (even have some nice HSF)?

This post has been edited by InF.anime: Jun 19 2007, 12:31 PM
irangan
post Jun 19 2007, 12:31 PM

Lost Soul
1,201 posts

@Quazacolt

Before you thinking on how to clock more, find a way to solve your heat problem first. Your temp is way above any normal standard. You have the money to buy QX but cant get something good to cool it down. Probably you will think I am blunt in my words but I just stating the obvious fact. Cool down your hardware else you are taking a big risk of toasting your hardware.

@InF.anime

No, it is not hard at all to reach 3.8ghz but its do pose some challenge if u want to exceed 4ghz. Anyway, as long you have the proper hardware and most important cooling... It isnt that hard smile.gif

This post has been edited by irangan: Jun 19 2007, 12:37 PM
Hyde`fK
post Jun 19 2007, 12:39 PM

D9s Killer
2,378 posts

QUOTE(InF.anime @ Jun 19 2007, 12:30 PM)
Izzit really hard to overclock E6600 to 3.8GHz or more?
Just curious, becoz not many forumers here willing to o'c to tht speed. Is it becoz our forumers dont wanna o'clock their proc extremely (even have some nice HSF)?
You have to know that not all processor overclocks well. Some can't even reach 3.5ghz.
k8118k
post Jun 19 2007, 12:42 PM

3,658 posts

mine is e6600 2.4 up to 3.0

cant go up futher,any idea......
Hyde`fK
post Jun 19 2007, 12:47 PM

D9s Killer
2,378 posts

You can try 400x8 1.45v 5-5-5-12 2.0v.
Quazacolt
post Jun 19 2007, 12:51 PM

Riding couple
5,367 posts

QUOTE(irangan @ Jun 19 2007, 12:31 PM)
@Quazacolt

Before you thinking on how to clock more, find a way to solve your heat problem first. Your temp is way above any normal standard. You have the money to buy QX but cant get something good to cool it down.  Probably you will think I am blunt in my words but I just stating the obvious fact. Cool down your hardware else you are taking a big risk of toasting your hardware.

@InF.anime

No, it is not hard at all to reach 3.8ghz but its do pose some challenge if u want to exceed 4ghz. Anyway, as long you have the proper hardware and most important cooling... It isnt that hard smile.gif
im definitely not oc'ing more with that kinda heat. and the heat is just from core temp, core die is pretty cool i must say. unless 50ish celcius is hot sweat.gif sweat.gif

and ill be honest with you, i really dont have money to replace my current heatsink/acquire other cooling solutions. basically 1 shot blew it on my rig, and slowly recoverying from the pocket wound cry.gif

and i dont mind, ur stating the the truth anyways. this is also the reason why my oc halted at 3.0 and no longer pushing further. orthos 12hour stable suah. temp ok suah. just wait until i have WC or a much much better air cooling then ill consider pushing more to maybe 3.2 or 3.6 ish.
SlayerXT
post Jun 19 2007, 04:46 PM

PRIDE!
2,042 posts

QUOTE(k8118k @ Jun 19 2007, 12:42 PM)
mine is e6600 2.4 up to 3.0

cant go up futher,any idea......
Too low. E6600 should go 3.5GHz wthout much effort. Of course your RAM need to oc well together. nod.gif
remysix
post Jun 19 2007, 05:27 PM

Hardcore Leecher!!!
1,311 posts

QUOTE(§layerXT @ Jun 19 2007, 04:46 PM)
Too low. E6600 should go 3.5GHz wthout much effort. Of course your RAM need to oc well together. nod.gif
not ALL E6600 plz...dun wan people starts rushing buying the E6600...mmm, maybe that's the main reason - marketing gimmick. wink.gif
Joseph Hahn
post Jun 19 2007, 05:49 PM

kpop k
6,410 posts

Guys, a question here. I should be getting my E6600 tomorrow hopefully. And so i will be installing windows on my new PC. So now it's a question whether should i install XP SP2 or Vista ? Will it effect the OC performance ? What about temp/voltage/etc monitoring softwares compatibilty ?
TStAmp0i
post Jun 19 2007, 07:34 PM

The name is Poi
2,825 posts

QUOTE(Joseph Hahn @ Jun 19 2007, 05:49 PM)
Guys, a question here. I should be getting my E6600 tomorrow hopefully. And so i will be installing windows on my new PC. So now it's a question whether should i install XP SP2 or Vista ? Will it effect the OC performance ? What about temp/voltage/etc monitoring softwares compatibilty ?
Hello there welcome to there Core 2 family biggrin.gif I think personally it is down to your own preference on Vista or XP, but for me XP is still fine and the software for monitoring your temp, voltages should come with your motherboard's CD. Remember to post your result yea thumbup.gif
SlayerXT
post Jun 19 2007, 08:44 PM

PRIDE!
2,042 posts

C2D's getting cheaper. Hope on 22nd July really get another price cut. Between hahn, what mobo will u use? Dont think of going 3GHz on Asrock though tongue.gif

This post has been edited by §layerXT: Jun 19 2007, 08:44 PM
kevyeoh
post Jun 19 2007, 09:27 PM

4,717 posts

quazacolt,

60-70ish on core temp? is it at full load? if yes, then very good leh...

my idle is around 59-61'C...and if push full load on all 4 cores using prime95, it can go up till about 77'C...the temp reading is based on TAT...

as for the temp, don't worry la...even at 70'C, i dont' think the speed will degrade that much... for processors, voltage is more sensitive compare to temperature...so try keeping the voltage as low as possible...

with ur current setup, how long you intend to prolong the lifespan of your CPU? haha... by the time your PC is 4years old...maybe outdated and you already planning to upgrade PC liao.... kekeke...

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jun 18 2007, 03:29 PM)
can clarify on lapping my vx? dont quite understand that.

also its currently running at 40-50celcius temp on probe/BIOS monitor and 60-70ish on core temp... didnt seem so extreme as compared to orthos stress for 12 hours XD

regardless i would like to lower the temp, be it prolonging my proc lifespan (like it'll happen being overvolted minorly and oc'ed lol) or further oc'ing  drool.gif  drool.gif
gengstapo
post Jun 19 2007, 09:42 PM

Retired enthusiast
10,688 posts

QUOTE(§layerXT @ Jun 19 2007, 04:46 PM)
yupp, e66 shall easily reach 3.5ghz~3.6ghz stable running short-term benchmark
but for stability testm, shall be quite problem0

QUOTE(remysix @ Jun 19 2007, 05:27 PM)
not ALL E6600 plz...dun wan people starts rushing buying the E6600...mmm, maybe that's the main reason - marketing gimmick. wink.gif
yeahh, the sifuz already speakin'.. rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

131 Pages « < 108 109 110 111 112 > » Top

0.0305sec    0.18    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 01:09 PM