Intel® Core(tm)2 Duo/Quad Overclocked Rev. 2, Going beyond factory limits

Joseph Hahn
post Jun 19 2007, 10:44 PM

kpop k
6,410 posts

QUOTE(tAmp0i @ Jun 19 2007, 07:34 PM)
I think personally it is down to your own preference on Vista or XP, but for me XP is still fine and the software for monitoring your temp, voltages should come with your motherboard's CD. Remember to post your result yea thumbup.gif
QUOTE(§layerXT @ Jun 19 2007, 08:44 PM)
Between hahn, what mobo will u use? Dont think of going 3GHz on Asrock though tongue.gif
I'm using the popular Gigabyte 965P-DS3. Now that i remember, i see that it comes with CD that supports Vista, so i guess i'll install Vista on it. My CPU will probably arrive on Thursday.

remysix
post Jun 20 2007, 06:01 AM

Hardcore Leecher!!!
1,311 posts

i'm using vista as well...no problem using the coretemp, speedfan, cpuz, everest, occt and orthos...except for mbm5...didnt manage to load the pluggin...
toughnut
post Jun 20 2007, 08:04 AM

3,239 posts

greeting. finally powered up my core2 system last night. first time experience with intel cpu. after installing XP, reboot and straight to MIT in BIOS.

Test system:
CPU: E6600 ES
HSF: TTBT VX
RAM: 2*1GB Crucial Ballistix Tracer
MOBO: Gigabyte P35-DS3P BIOS=F5b (using beta as it's possible changing strap in BIOS tongue.gif )

Room temp: 29-30C
CPU temp: 35-60C (3.4Ghz) based on EasyTune5 and Bios.
CoreTemp, TAT, SpeedFan all show funny temp around 80-90+C while TAT even show 100+C.

here a summary on my 4 hours OC journey:
1st try after fresh install is 400*8@1.35V and ram at 400 with 4-4-4-8@1.8V, others at default. boot into windows without problem. NICE! then start benchmark with superPi and everest but for some reason, Everest ZLIB benchmark keep failing me. restart and bump vcore/vdimm to 1.36v/2.0v solved the problem.

then, target 450*8@1.4V and ram 450 4-4-4-12@2.2V. no luck. try pumping vMCH and vFSB by +0.25V still failed. but for some reason, using auto voltage setting able to boot into windows. very weird. forgot to print screen too lol doh.gif

final run before going sleep, 425*8@1.39V and ram at 425 4-4-4-8@2.2V with other voltage at auto. finally hitting a stable clock. benchable and but not orthos friendly. sometimes failed cpu stressing.

currently planning to run between 3.2Ghz - 3.4Ghz with 1.36V vcore.

my mini review on the P35-DS3P board;
PROS:
1. pretty strong vMCH and vFSB as i didn't bump it much during OC but yet it still able to clock high
2. vdrop doesn't look serious. around 0.03V when load
3. if OC setting failed for 3times, revert back to default. no more jumper reset lol
4. huge stock copper heatpipe cooler on northbridge. running and looking cool!
5. bios update very easy via thumbdrive
6. multiple BIOS profile with stats of success boot for each profile
7. mobo look very nice IMHO biggrin.gif

CONS:
1. southbridge damn hot for some reason. can't even touch the copper heatsink on it for more than 2sec!
2. my Hiren's BOOTCD unable to run due to driver conflict vmad.gif unable to make Ghost image
3. doesn't show current voltage setting on BIOS. Just either OK or FAILED lol
4. confusing voltage setting. instead of actual value, it's in increment. +0.5, +0.525, etc

too bad can't play with it anymore for next two weeks. starting tonight till mid july, can't access my pc cry.gif
VT-Ten
post Jun 20 2007, 08:55 AM

520 posts

proc temp reached 85C at certain point during overnight load @ 3.2Ghz using 1.38vcore. do you think it's normal or i need to reseat my HSF?

idle temp is 43C

http://img77.imageshack.us/my.php?image=highqg5.jpg

This post has been edited by VT-Ten: Jun 20 2007, 08:57 AM
toughnut
post Jun 20 2007, 09:23 AM

3,239 posts

@VT-Ten
mind sharing voltage setting and ram setting?

btw, what software u use for temp reading? Everest, TAT, CoreTemp all give weird reading. in BIOS and EasyTune 5, the reading a bit too low. 36C idle with VX full speed :hmmm: on load around 58C
gengstapo
post Jun 20 2007, 09:27 AM

Retired enthusiast
10,688 posts

QUOTE(VT-Ten @ Jun 20 2007, 08:55 AM)
proc temp reached 85C at certain point during overnight load @ 3.2Ghz using 1.38vcore. do you think it's normal or i need to reseat my HSF?

idle temp is 43C

http://img77.imageshack.us/my.php?image=highqg5.jpg
i feel u should check ur HSf since 85c load at 1.38v pretty high
i use vcore 1.48v for my e66 but load at 88c.. almost same with u but my voltage sure higher
remysix
post Jun 20 2007, 09:50 AM

Hardcore Leecher!!!
1,311 posts

QUOTE(gengstapo @ Jun 20 2007, 09:27 AM)
i use vcore 1.48v for my e66 but load at 88c.. almost same with u but my voltage sure higher
i dun feel...straight away confirm the temp is way too hi...unless he's using the stock hsf...but he's using the same hsf as mine...TTBTVX...mine clocking higher than that using higher vcore pun managed to maintain the temp sub-70c...and my room dont have AC and it's a bit warm i must say...try to re-seat the hsf...if cannot also, then i think u have hsf-IHS physical contact problem...lapping might be the answer...
VT-Ten
post Jun 20 2007, 09:52 AM

520 posts

QUOTE(toughnut @ Jun 20 2007, 09:23 AM)
@VT-Ten
mind sharing voltage setting and ram setting?

btw, what software u use for temp reading? Everest, TAT, CoreTemp all give weird reading. in BIOS and EasyTune 5, the reading a bit too low. 36C idle with VX full speed :hmmm: on load around 58C
1.38v idle and 1.36 vdroop. ram setting is 4-4-4-12 1T. i was using speedfan to monitor the temp

Added on June 20, 2007, 9:53 am
QUOTE(gengstapo @ Jun 20 2007, 09:27 AM)
ok, will give it a go and reseat my hsf. thanks

Added on June 20, 2007, 9:55 am
QUOTE(remysix @ Jun 20 2007, 09:50 AM)
i dun feel...straight away confirm the temp is way too hi...unless he's using the stock hsf...but he's using the same hsf as mine...TTBTVX...mine clocking higher than that using higher vcore pun managed to maintain the temp sub-70c...and my room dont have AC and it's a bit warm i must say...try to re-seat the hsf...if cannot also, then i think u have hsf-IHS physical contact problem...lapping might be the answer...
lapping? tried tested lapping my stock hsf and the result was disasterous. was using 3 types of sand paper 100, 320 and 1500. kinda phobia now if i want to lap my ttbt or IHS.

This post has been edited by VT-Ten: Jun 20 2007, 10:00 AM
toughnut
post Jun 20 2007, 10:22 AM

3,239 posts

which temp should i trust? headache. speedfan/TAT/coretemp or easytune5/bios? former give very high reading while latter give low temp reading.

is't possible for TTBT VX cooling e6600 to 35C? v1.36 idle
TStAmp0i
post Jun 20 2007, 10:27 AM

The name is Poi
2,825 posts

QUOTE(toughnut @ Jun 20 2007, 10:22 AM)
which temp should i trust? headache. speedfan/TAT/coretemp or easytune5/bios? former give very high reading while latter give low temp reading.

CoreTemp for accurate reading, EasyTune always give 8 - 10C lower
toughnut
post Jun 20 2007, 10:43 AM

3,239 posts

SlayerXT
post Jun 20 2007, 11:08 AM

PRIDE!
2,042 posts

Im using coretemp 0.95. The Tjunction is 100C. Just not exceed that limit it'll be fine.
remysix
post Jun 20 2007, 11:21 AM

Hardcore Leecher!!!
1,311 posts

QUOTE(toughnut @ Jun 20 2007, 10:22 AM)

for my btvx, wif that vcore idle...yes...around 35-37c range...from speedfan and everest...on coretemp, add another 8-10c but mostly around +8c
Quazacolt
post Jun 20 2007, 11:53 AM

Riding couple
5,367 posts

QUOTE(kevyeoh @ Jun 19 2007, 09:27 PM)
quazacolt,

60-70ish on core temp? is it at full load? if yes, then very good leh...

my idle is around 59-61'C...and if push full load on all 4 cores using prime95, it can go up till about 77'C...the temp reading is based on TAT...

as for the temp, don't worry la...even at 70'C, i dont' think the speed will degrade that much... for processors, voltage is more sensitive compare to temperature...so try keeping the voltage as low as possible...

with ur current setup, how long you intend to prolong the lifespan of your CPU? haha... by the time your PC is 4years old...maybe outdated and you already planning to upgrade PC liao.... kekeke...
not full load bro. partial load and stuff. on orthos stress test full load 100% all 4 cores are around 110-120celcius :/

my vcore is only 1.4

i intended to have it live through 3-5 years... hoping longer... lol
cuz the next pc purchase will also be on a similiar budget and if it cant live through 4-5 years at least my pocket will die lol
toughnut
post Jun 20 2007, 12:43 PM

3,239 posts

@Quazacolt

i seriously doubt it will last for that long. in 1 or 2 years time, you pc will become what Athlon64 is now. that's what happen to my Athlon64 bought not even 2 years ago laugh.gif
remysix
post Jun 20 2007, 01:50 PM

Hardcore Leecher!!!
1,311 posts

can long last for sure...IF u just leave it be with whatever u r using...same os, same apps...and prevent urself from being updated with the latest tech...surely can last long biggrin.gif
Quazacolt
post Jun 20 2007, 02:47 PM

Riding couple
5,367 posts

im just playing world of warcraft..... should be OK! XD

but ive been baited by lost planet demo... so... prolly not. and thats the main reason why i want to oc my quad. stock qx6700 really bottlenecks my gpu hard... after oc the fps is much better, not to mention loading or scene transitions.
yehlai
post Jun 20 2007, 04:07 PM

tree lover
4,539 posts

QUOTE(toughnut @ Jun 20 2007, 08:04 AM)

looks like we got another ES user here. Glad to see some other ppl o'c ES proc smile.gif

This post has been edited by yehlai: Jun 20 2007, 04:08 PM
toughnut
post Jun 20 2007, 04:24 PM

3,239 posts

@yehlai
i though it's norm for people OC with ES proc...
btw, ur ES proc hitting 3.8Ghz is really something to me...

Added on June 20, 2007, 4:26 pm@tAmp0i
don't forget to add me to the list rclxm9.gif

This post has been edited by toughnut: Jun 20 2007, 04:26 PM
VT-Ten
post Jun 20 2007, 06:21 PM

520 posts

131 Pages « < 109 110 111 112 113 > » Top

0.0311sec    0.28    6 queries    GZIP Disabled