370 Pages « < 37 38 39 40 41 > » Bottom

Plan to buy a NEW/USED car?(V3),, ASK HERE for recommendations

lsm1991
post Sep 1 2016, 04:06 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(nasbbq1992 @ Sep 1 2016, 03:58 PM)
Yes, u can still remember me. Hahaha. Yup from 100k down to 45k in less than 4 years indicates something is not right about the car perhaps.

Still saving for deposit cash and my mind can't get it right 😂
hehe i remember u cause you were the guy around my age looking for a sporty car biggrin.gif

anyway, its not that the polo is a bad car or anything, its quite a powerful little thing. Just not many are willing to spend on maintanance and there is always the risk of that tranny suddenly giving you a heart attack
nasbbq1992
post Sep 1 2016, 04:38 PM

QUOTE(lsm1991 @ Sep 1 2016, 04:06 PM)
hehe i remember u cause you were the guy around my age looking for a sporty car  biggrin.gif

anyway, its not that the polo is a bad car or anything, its quite a powerful little thing. Just not many are willing to spend on maintanance and there is always the risk of that tranny suddenly giving you a heart attack
Owhh that was clearly justified biggrin.gif

Just recently I am posted to a school which is very close to home. So thinking that I might not have to spend on expenses like house rental, food and bills (dduk bawah ketiak parents), I might be able to extend my budget a bit. So many people hasut me to get a brand new Jazz but seeing how fast car value depreciates really scares me. Up until now after putting aside VW Polo, my choices still down to two cars, Latio and Swift. Is there any more car I should consider with cheap maintenance wise, good FC? Being spacious is not a priority. Or I should consider getting new Jazz :haha:
studentas yourtutor
post Sep 1 2016, 04:44 PM

Hi gurus, need a suggestions of which one is more worthy. I am a student, need a used car to travel around university. Can you recommend me which two of this is more suit me in terms of budget wise(fuel consumption) and maintenance wise. Hopefully that this car can tahan for at least 5 years.

2003 Perodua Kenari 1.0
- 127k km Mileage
- make of 2001
- RM8k
- from car dealer

2006 Chevrolet Aveo 1.5
- 110k km mileage
- RM9k
- from car dealer

car power and size is not my own concern ^^

Thanks!!

This post has been edited by studentas yourtutor: Sep 2 2016, 12:43 AM
officeBoy
post Sep 1 2016, 08:04 PM

849 posts

Hi lsm1991, i'm comparing in term of petrol consumption and comfort level..both are 2.0 and i mentioning previous Sylphy 2.0 model,

also interest to know Sylphy 1.8 new model vs Teana 2.0 if you have visibility on this smile.gif

QUOTE(lsm1991 @ Sep 1 2016, 12:24 AM)
well... counter question, toyota corolla compared with the camry? Which is better, answer is 99% (if not 100%) the same.
Same brand, dif segment/class thats it.... more expensive, bigger and classier vs smaller,cheaper to own and less grand
me wana weigh in sikit....
who ever said more 'difficult' to maintain?? why?
to me there are only 2 possible issues which are not really issues if you know what you are doing
1)recon cars = history unknown, not an issue if you can make sure its in good cond
2)recon cars are usually models less common here but, mechanical parts not a problem unless its a very pecial car cause most models share parts
lsm1991
post Sep 1 2016, 10:05 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(officeBoy @ Sep 1 2016, 08:04 PM)
Hi lsm1991, i'm comparing in term of petrol consumption and comfort level..both are 2.0 and i mentioning previous Sylphy 2.0 model,

also interest to know Sylphy 1.8 new model vs Teana 2.0 if you have visibility on this smile.gif
i dont know how to answer this =="..... its pretty clearcut... one is a higher end car simple as that.

teana is a higher end car..... a more luxurious model.... it is the more expensive, larger, more comfortable and feature loaded of the two.

not given that you are comparing the 2.0 models of both cars, and that they use the exact same engine, its pretty easy to come up with a conclusion here....
*top tips icon_idea.gif ;
i)heavier car = use more fuel
ii)heavier car struggles during acceleration*
zenix
post Sep 2 2016, 10:22 AM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(lsm1991 @ Aug 30 2016, 10:12 AM)
there is a huge difference between 'sporty car' and sportscar brows.gif

QUOTE(acevent @ Aug 30 2016, 02:04 PM)
It is used one. I take up that car already because i feel i am ok with the condition & also the price. Maintenance all put aside. smile.gif
as long as you think it is a good deal, then it is fine.
don't dig anymore.

QUOTE(studentas yourtutor @ Aug 30 2016, 07:09 PM)
Thank you so much for your advice. It is really helpful. If low budget and can tahan at least 4-5 years is my priority, you will still recommend me to get an old proton?
you can choose a cheap and older perodua, but the safety aspects are so bad i wouldn't want you to die a horrible death driving one of those.

older koreans and china cars are the same too, look at this 2005 Chery A160 it is only 6.5k to buy but is it any good? Well that depends on what you're looking for -- a transport or a coffin.

or you can tell me what is on your mind instead of letting us guess what you want.

QUOTE(wonghs @ Aug 30 2016, 11:50 PM)
Thanks Zenix. But most probably will go for the new Accord (hope got lots of freebies la when launch on 10 Sept). Existing stock no more. zzzz...
I'm thinking the new one is only going to be a facelift since this body style hasn't been around that long, but i don't know why i just don't like it....maybe also because of the look of it.....but also because unlike honda's in the past this one just recycles the previous earth dreams engine....usually every new honda has new tech unless it is a facelift.

the new perdana is a rebadged honda accord, ever thought about it?

QUOTE(officeBoy @ Aug 31 2016, 10:17 PM)
Sifu , Which one better if compare Teana vs Sylphy ?
Actually these two are in the same price bracket for used cars because they've got crapshit gearbox, at first I thought it was just a matter of driving style, but more digging I found out the problem was the design instead of driving style which causes the gearbox failure.

The facelift for both these models have a gearbox cooler but it doesn't fix the root problem it is only a run about way of keeping it in check.

If you're looking for something cheap and not too old, look around for Nissan X-Gear & Latio.
zenix
post Sep 2 2016, 11:40 AM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(officeBoy @ Aug 31 2016, 10:51 PM)
I like toyota wish a lot, but also heard someone mentioned the recon car is not easy to maintain, any comment on this Zenix ? thanks in advance !
Is that someone a car salesman trying to get you to buy their cars instead?

The biggest difference between recon Wish and the ones sold by UMW Toyota Malaysia is the engine.
Recon's are using a 1800cc lump while the local ones is a 2000cc lump.
Gather to take a guess the model code for the 1800cc lump they using?
It is the 1ZZ-FE, the same one that's fitted into the local Altis 1.8 brows.gif

So if got accident need body parts....eh got local wish with identical body parts you can either get from UMW or chop shop, Wish is too abundant on our roads this isn't an issue.

So if got engine problem how? Well since it uses same engine as the Altis no problem getting parts for it. Wish/Estima/Alphard/Vellfire are the best supported recon cars in Malaysia, also because of the way Toyota manufactures cars there are alot of cross compatible components.

If you buy a recon car like Fiat 500, yeah you're pretty much out of luck since cross compatibility is limited plus also Fiat aren't common here so finding anything that can be cross compatible is hard. So parts that suppliers carry for specific for this particular model and they gotta keep it in their warehouse until someone needs it, then they'll charge a premium for it.

For recons of Toyota/Honda/BMW/Merc usually isn't an issue cross compatibility and abundance of other models lowers down cost by a tremendous amount. Like the high end recon Toyota Mark X and Lexus IS250 are practically the same car under the skin.

QUOTE(diversity @ Sep 1 2016, 03:03 PM)
2003 Toyota Altis 1.8 - the 1800cc is the top spec no need to worry what ABCDEFG spec laugh.gif so come on, what are you waiting for? You want ABS? Please nigga....Altis give you EBD and BA as well. You want airbags? Altis got. You want power? 1ZZ-FE VVT-i 1.8 DOHC 16V I4 which is cheap to maintain and reliable isn't enough? Significantly better than anything a Proton can muster up.

However do check if the car has been sent for a recall fix yet. The issue involves the engine control module, and includes the potential for it to develop a crack on the module's circuit board, which can result in the car not starting, the transmission shifting harshly, or the engine stalling. But that's mostly for the 2005-2008 models in America.

QUOTE(nasbbq1992 @ Sep 1 2016, 03:26 PM)
I am very eager to know why VW Polo 1.2 is never being suggested? Is it a bad car or the maintenance wise cost bomb. Or because it is in continental category? Bcuz the used ones are as low as >50k.

Owhh that was clearly justified biggrin.gif

Just recently I am posted to a school which is very close to home. So thinking that I might not have to spend on expenses like house rental, food and bills (dduk bawah ketiak parents), I might be able to extend my budget a bit. So many people hasut me to get a brand new Jazz but seeing how fast car value depreciates really scares me. Up until now after putting aside VW Polo, my choices still down to two cars, Latio and Swift. Is there any more car I should consider with cheap maintenance wise, good FC? Being spacious is not a priority. Or I should consider getting new Jazz :haha:
The kinda maintenance that a VW Polo 1.2 would need is about the same as one would need to maintain a C-segment Japanese, so it usually makes more sense to recommend those instead of the Polo. Not everyone is willing to pay that kinda money to buy and maintain something which is a segment smaller.

Like someone asked before which to choose between Teana & Sylphy, obviously the Teana is D-segment and is better overall but maintenance and prices aren't always equal, so happen that those two models are priced around the same in the used car market but the maintenance for the Teana is always going to be much more expensive than the Sylphy.

If you want my 2sen then just buy a cheap car then put money down in for a house of your own or save money using Amanah Saham or Wawasan, don't be like those people that gaya wayang habis when go out with friends or dating but other than that makan roti kosong + air kosong to pay for it.

2000 Honda Civic EK - get a personal loan to pay for this car then enjoy, you will not get anything that balances power, performance, cheap maintenance and versatility (sedan with seating for 5) in one car -- oh it must be stock too that's why I searched mudah for the unmodded model to show you.

2008 Renault Clio 1.6 Paddle Shifter @ RM30k - yeap this 30k little pocket rocket depreciated so fast it depreciated even before arriving in Malaysia so now you can buy it at only 30k, being a renault you know it is going to be performance orientated even on their ordinary models. I don't think you can find a better handling car with paddle shifters for this price which you can buy with a new car loan. It is probably the cheapest recon around and they'll give you a one year warranty which is good as 30k only you should be able to finish the loan before the warranty expires -- if you can't then it is okay usually if nothing major happens in the first year then you didn't buy a lemon thus any part changes in the future are all part of regular maintenance with wear & tear. It might not be cheap to maintain but should be cheaper than the Polo and it is cheaper to buy too so for me it is a win.

QUOTE(studentas yourtutor @ Sep 1 2016, 04:44 PM)
2009 Perodua Viva - instead of getting crap shit old stuff like the Kenari which has high mileage and lacking safety features why not consider something newer around your budget range of below 10k you can choose a car like this. Normally, I'd recommend something better overall but I don't know if you're ready to learn more about cars to maintain them better so you can choose one abit more manja but better spec, or choose something like this from Perodua which is more user friendly.

2004 Nissan Sentra 1.6 - an overall better car in terms of comfort, power, size, safety and many things more. However, maintenance is going to cost much more than a Viva. Typical simple maintenance is at least going to need RM150, where the Viva you could get away with using really cheapo stuff and promotions workshops usually do like RM50/66 promotion for service. Safety doesn't come cheap but when you need it, it pays for itself.

QUOTE(lsm1991 @ Sep 1 2016, 10:05 PM)
Okay let me butt in to explain in something more understandable.

Let's say you're buying a condo.

On the same floor, good facing, and same price.

The Teana is a 1 room studio and the Sylphy regular studio without a room.

Which would you buy?

This post has been edited by zenix: Sep 2 2016, 11:41 AM
officeBoy
post Sep 2 2016, 11:44 AM

849 posts

Thanks Zenix, prefer the Latio with boot, but seem hard to find sad.gif

btw, do you have visibility on Innova ?

QUOTE(zenix @ Sep 2 2016, 10:22 AM)
there is a huge difference between 'sporty car' and sportscar  brows.gif
as long as you think it is a good deal, then it is fine.
don't dig anymore.
you can choose a cheap and older perodua, but the safety aspects are so bad i wouldn't want you to die a horrible death driving one of those.

older koreans and china cars are the same too, look at this 2005 Chery A160 it is only 6.5k to buy but is it any good? Well that depends on what you're looking for -- a transport or a coffin.

or you can tell me what is on your mind instead of letting us guess what you want.
I'm thinking the new one is only going to be a facelift since this body style hasn't been around that long, but i don't know why i just don't like it....maybe also because of the look of it.....but also because unlike honda's in the past this one just recycles the previous earth dreams engine....usually every new honda has new tech unless it is a facelift.

the new perdana is a rebadged honda accord, ever thought about it?
Actually these two are in the same price bracket for used cars because they've got crapshit gearbox, at first I thought it was just a matter of driving style, but more digging I found out the problem was the design instead of driving style which causes the gearbox failure.

The facelift for both these models have a gearbox cooler but it doesn't fix the root problem it is only a run about way of keeping it in check.

If you're looking for something cheap and not too old, look around for Nissan X-Gear & Latio.
officeBoy
post Sep 2 2016, 11:49 AM

849 posts

Hey guys,

i trying to find the previous Perdana model which identical to previous Accord model, but couldn't find it in mudah.com, not sure what is the 2nd sales price.

Anyone got idea on this model ?
lsm1991
post Sep 2 2016, 11:55 AM

309 posts

QUOTE(officeBoy @ Sep 2 2016, 11:49 AM)
Hey guys,

i trying to find the previous Perdana model which identical to previous Accord model, but couldn't find it in mudah.com, not sure what is the 2nd sales price.

Anyone got idea on this model ?
only the CURRENT perdana is based on the accord.... there was no previous perdana based on a honda for the matter

I think what you are reffering to is the non-facelifted(protonified) perdana which is actually the same as the current perdana other than it was not facelifted (it used the original accord's face)... those are for goverment use only, dont think those are going to be sold off any time soon....
zenix
post Sep 2 2016, 07:21 PM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(officeBoy @ Sep 2 2016, 11:44 AM)
Thanks Zenix, prefer the Latio with boot, but seem hard to find sad.gif
btw, do you have visibility on Innova ?
Latio with boot isn't hard to find.
But really what do you really want?
You're everywhere from sedan to mpv.

Innova is based on a special body on platform designed by Toyota so they can produce the innova, hilux and fortuner with minimal retooling.
Nothing really to shout about.
It is big and you get the space.
But material quality is lowered down to become cheaper.
Compare Wish and Innova interior is a huge difference in refinement eventhough the Wish is supposed to be a segment lower.

About that 3rd gen Proton Perdana.
Those were like CKD Honda Accords but only badge change from Honda to Proton.
Those for government use only.
Don't think it will be available in the market anytime soon.
But the real Honda Accord which is similar to that is only about 50-60k nowadays.
digilife
post Sep 2 2016, 07:43 PM

The MNP guy, its me yeah.
8,025 posts

zenix

Care to give your view ?

http://www.carlist.my/used-cars/3090585/20...2-5-msport.html
zenix
post Sep 2 2016, 08:13 PM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(digilife @ Sep 2 2016, 07:43 PM)
FYI

before 2006 i325 is actually a 2.5 cry.gif
after 2007 i325 is actually a detuned 3.0 devil.gif

Visual inspection seems fine

When you go see the car make sure:
1. No xmas tree dashboard when you turn on the car
2. All the buttons work, ALL OF IT
3. Make sure tires has lots of life left in it, replacements aren't cheap
4. Best if service has just been done, you're looking at RM400 over at minimum per visit

digilife
post Sep 2 2016, 08:34 PM

The MNP guy, its me yeah.
8,025 posts

QUOTE(zenix @ Sep 2 2016, 08:13 PM)
FYI

before 2006 i325 is actually a 2.5  cry.gif
after 2007 i325 is actually a detuned 3.0  devil.gif

Visual inspection seems fine

When you go see the car make sure:
1. No xmas tree dashboard when you turn on the car
2. All the buttons work, ALL OF IT
3. Make sure tires has lots of life left in it, replacements aren't cheap
4. Best if service has just been done, you're looking at RM400 over at minimum per visit
Detuned 3.0 ?

brows.gif

What you mean by xmas tree dashboard ?

Thanks bro

notworthy.gif
munlok30
post Sep 3 2016, 11:58 AM

PinkyBoyDays
1,073 posts

want to ask a question ~

does car warranty can be TRANSFER ?

planning to buy a car but second hand car , maybe 2 years old honda or toyata car with budget of 50k .

did you think is okay to buy second hand car ?? is the warranty still 100% valid after transfer to third party ???
zenix
post Sep 3 2016, 01:49 PM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(digilife @ Sep 2 2016, 08:34 PM)
Detuned 3.0 ?

brows.gif

What you mean by xmas tree dashboard ?

Thanks bro

notworthy.gif
it is the usual lingo for the problems the car highlighting to you.
you know like battery low, transmission failure, etc.

QUOTE(munlok30 @ Sep 3 2016, 11:58 AM)
want to ask a question ~

does car warranty can be TRANSFER ?

planning to buy a car but second hand car , maybe 2 years old honda or toyata car with budget of 50k .

did you think is okay to buy second hand car ?? is the warranty still 100% valid after transfer to third party ???
Warranty is attached to the car, not the owner.
However, if the previous owner voided any warranty regulations like service at non authorized service centers than all bets are off.

Here is what you plan to you, right?
Buy a car that depreciated a little bit because it is 2 years old.
The thing is people rarely sell 2 year old cars unless it has problems.
Anyway, lets look at the math.

Look at the yellow line, interest paid to bank is the same amount if you buy new or used because of the interest rate difference.
Of course monthly you've got to fork out an extra 400 but you'll be getting a new car instead of a used one.

The car you intend to buy like Vios or City don't depreciate from 80k to 50k in 2 years.
People buy Toyota & Honda because resale value is high.
If you're to aim for Mitsubishi/Mazda/Nissan you'd be about right.
madspeed02
post Sep 3 2016, 02:35 PM

1,170 posts

Hey guys, feel like buying this car trade wit proton saga 1.3 flx executive. Still thinking whether to buy vios or bezza or new persona. Any review on this car vios 2016?vios j version will do
zenix
post Sep 3 2016, 03:24 PM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(jackbanner @ Jun 28 2016, 11:24 AM)
reserved
hey jack can add this to the sticky? oh and delete this line laugh.gif

Today I'm going to talk about the thing on everyone's mind. How to buy, finance and maintain a sports car.
A real sports car not some sporty car, special edition, standard car with higher capacity engine & bodykit, R3, TRD, GT and all those other bullshit.

First let's talk about affordability.
Let's say you have a take home salary after deductions of $3000.
Let's put a ballpark figure on your cost of living and savings from this.

Rental = $400 (assume your rental includes your water, electric and internet)
Food = $5 * 3 meals a day * 30 days = $450 (total budget of course if you eat $1 nasi lemak for breakfast you got extra $4 for dinner)
Petrol = RON95 @ $1.70 per litre * $0.15 per km * 2000km in a month = $510 (assuming you cannot claim this from your company)
Phone = Umobile $28 plan
Savings = $500
Total = $1888

Your sports car budget is $1112.

Next is 3 options you need to think about.

Option 1: Everything into one basket
Option 2: Cheap runabout + Expensive sports car
Option 3: Cheap sports car + Moderate runabout

In Option1 at first you might think is $1000 really enough? It can be enough if you plan properly. This is going to be a sports car so you're going to go all-in on the banking side which means low downpayment and maximum of 9 years loan, because of two reasons, one a true sports car no matter how old there will be interest and value, and secondly sports car if maintained well you'll want to keep it for a long time so no point saving on the banking side because you're not going to do a quick loan and resell the car after 5 years like you would if you own a Vios. Also going all-in on the banking side would leave you with cash on hand as maintenance fund so you don't touch your savings. You'll be targeting cars like Evo, WRX, GTI as they are cars that can serve a dual purpose as a family car and sports car over the weekend, but of course there are compromises

2007 VW Golf GTI MK5 - i decided to use this one as an example because they're pretty common on the Malaysian roads, especially KL thus there is the critical mass needed for lowering of parts cost.

Let's get down to the maths, so the asking price is $64k so running through the loan calculator with minimum deposit of $1000, interest rate of 4% and loan for 9 years the monthly repayment would be $794 so minus that from our budget you've got $318 extra which should be sufficient to maintain this car.

Now let's talk about maintenance.

If you like to change oil every 7500km than I guess any VW 502.00 approved oil like Castrol Edge 5W-30 or Shell Helix Ultra 5W-40 should be fine. They are "fully synthetic" oils ,actually hydrocracked (semi-synthetic) lubricants. The Hydrocracked is a just a chemically refined (purified)mineral oil. Price check at Lazada for Shell Helix Ultra 5w-40 the cheapest for 4L is $190 and 1L is $50, you'll roughly need about 5L per service so I suggest to lurk online or shops for the best deals and buy to keep, and it is probably cheaper buying two 4L than one 4L and 1L each.

If you prefer to change oil every 10000-15000km than you should use VW 503.00 approved oil like Mobil 1 SuperSyn 0W-40 or Castrol Edge 0W-40. They are 100% synthetic oils - PAO(polyalphaolefins) or esters . They are more expensive, price check at 11street is $287 for a 4L bottle of Castrol Edge 0w-40.

If you are perfectionist than you should use Motul 300V POWER 0W-40, Castrol Syntec 0W-30 however keep on mind that ester oil may soften engine seals. Plus this really breaks the budget so it is here only as information shared.

Accordingly to VW Golf GTi manual:

Vehicles with LongLife service should use - High lubricity multigrade oil / VW 504 00, VW 503 00
Vehicles without LongLife service should use - High lubricity multigrade oil / VW 501 01, VW 502 00, VW 504 00

However, mechs in Australia prefer to recommend their clients to use VW 502 00 because of the harsher conditions there together with shorter service intervals. So it should be the same for Asean region. Now lets do the math for this.

One month you're running 2000km and you need to service every 7500km.
So that roughly is 3 months before you need to do an oil change.
You might be thinking $318 x 3 months = $954 you can afford to put in more expensive oil.
Please don't think that way you're going to go broke fast.

Your minor service fee would be:
Shell Helix Ultra 5w-40 5L = $140
Fuel filter = $70
Air filter = $70
Labour = $75
Total = $355

The $599 you've saved put it in a separate account as sinking funds for major service in which you might need to service and/or change parts for the aircon, or as emergency fund to change things like absorbers, bushings, rack-ends, lower arms, bearings, tires, etc. since it is afterall a used car. Believe me that even one of those issues lures its ugly head around that $599 isn't going to be enough unless those things happen after a year or so in that time you would've added quite a sum for this sinking fund so it won't hurt you that much. This is why it is very important to get a well taken cared of car, will full service record shown, and best is just serviced so you've saved yourself at least $300 bucks.

Also don't forget that 6speed wet clutch DSG gearbox although more reliable than the 7speed dry clutch DSG has a hidden secret, DSG and Dual Clutch Transmission in general are expensive to maintain but if you don't change it then it will fail like the dry clutch DSG. You'll need to do this change every 60,000km which is roughly based on 2000km per month is roughly 2.5years. Price check at Mudah quotes a DSG fluid change would cost you $750 with installation/labour minus GST. So you can see how that $318 budget seems like just enough to cover everything?

To be continued for Option 2 & Option 3 devil.gif brows.gif

zenix
post Sep 3 2016, 03:29 PM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(madspeed02 @ Sep 3 2016, 02:35 PM)
Hey guys, feel like buying this car trade wit proton saga 1.3 flx executive. Still thinking whether to buy vios or bezza or new persona. Any review on this car vios 2016?vios j version will do
Now is a good time to buy Vios
I've been quoted this price by Toyota salesman

Vios J (A)
82k OTR + GST
73k 90% loan
9000 remaining
6500 discount
2500 so you only need to pay this much as downpayment/deposit

Vios E (A)
87k OTR + GST
79k 90% loan
8000 remaining
7500 discount
500 downpayment/deposit brows.gif

lsm1991
post Sep 3 2016, 06:02 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(zenix @ Sep 3 2016, 03:24 PM)
hey jack can add this to the sticky? oh and delete this line  laugh.gif

Today I'm going to talk about the thing on everyone's mind. How to buy, finance and maintain a sports car.
A real sports car not some sporty car, special edition, standard car with higher capacity engine & bodykit, R3, TRD, GT (thank you) and all those other bullshit.

First let's talk about affordability.
Let's say you have a take home salary after deductions of $3000.
Let's put a ballpark figure on your cost of living and savings from this.

Rental = $400 (assume your rental includes your water, electric and internet)
Food = $5 * 3 meals a day * 30 days = $450 (total budget of course if you eat $1 nasi lemak for breakfast you got extra $4 for dinner)
Petrol = RON95 @ $1.70 per litre * $0.15 per km * 2000km in a month = $510 (assuming you cannot claim this from your company)
Phone = Umobile $28 plan
Savings = $500
Total = $1888

Your sports car budget is $1112.

Next is 3 options you need to think about.

Option 1: Everything into one basket
Option 2: Cheap runabout + Expensive sports car
Option 3: Cheap sports car + Moderate runabout

In Option1 at first you might think is $1000 really enough? It can be enough if you plan properly.
-also need self control. Join car clubs, there are sure to be some poison members. If you are one who is easily poisoned, plan accordingly~

This is going to be a sports car so you're going to go all-in on the banking side which means low downpayment and maximum of 9 years loan, because of two reasons, one a true sports car no matter how old there will be interest and value, and secondly sports car if maintained well you'll want to keep it for a long time so no point saving on the banking side  because you're not going to do a quick loan and resell the car after 5 years like you would if you own a Vios.

hehe mah fav topic rclxm9.gif
depending on the type and state of the car you get, you will 'try' keep it for a long time... sometimes they become too impractical or well, things change in the future~~ so pick/plan accordingly

370 Pages « < 37 38 39 40 41 > » Top

0.0278sec    0.47    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 07:43 PM