Plan to buy a NEW/USED car?(V3),, ASK HERE for recommendations

ASoulNamedLeo
post Jul 3 2024, 05:45 PM

1,027 posts

QUOTE(zenix @ Jun 6 2024, 05:24 PM)
[/spoiler]

sorry i haven't done so but i base my advice on common sense and information online.
win/lose - it doesn't take much effort on your side, and you can be sure that it will but that used car dealer on the map in the eyes of the authorities once more people come forward
BTW want to ask for my used 2014 VW Polo Sedan bought in 2023 with "secretly" 180,000km mileage, how long do you think I can drive it, can it last until 2034?

This post has been edited by ASoulNamedLeo: Jul 3 2024, 05:46 PM
ASoulNamedLeo
post Jul 4 2024, 04:45 AM

1,027 posts

Hi, my family is considering buying a commute car for my sister in the current market. Any good finds? 😅

Criteria listed below (mostly same criteria as last time when we bought the used VW Polo 1.6).

1. Brand: Any
2. Budget: Preferably Around 10k or lower (Max RM20k)
3. New/Used/Unreg: Any
4. Specs: 1600 cc engine and below
5. Transmission: Automatic (No Manual, No AMT)
6. NA or FI: Any
7. Type: Any
8. Remarks: Priority is safety must have at least ABS, and second priority is low maintainance, and third priority is fuel efficiency. Frequent traveller between Klang Valley and Seremban.

Actually my family is also asking whether we should save up to a new 2023 Perodua Axia 1.0 G for RM38,600 or a new 2020 Perodua Bezza 1.0 G for RM36,580 (albeit need to save up another year or 2 compared to paying around RM15000 for only used car now)
zroter
post Jul 4 2024, 10:50 PM

46 posts

QUOTE(ASoulNamedLeo @ Jul 4 2024, 04:45 AM)

8. Remarks: Priority is safety must have at least ABS, and second priority is low maintainance, and third priority is fuel efficiency. Frequent traveller between Klang Valley and Seremban.

Used car tunggu pro komen. kalau new car ini saya recommend any Proton Saga Auto.

This post has been edited by zroter: Jul 4 2024, 10:50 PM
illusion0130
post Jul 13 2024, 06:16 PM

33 posts

Hi, i'm looking for some opinion for my 2nd car. Mainly city drive but just wanna change my 2017 Bezza Adv while still have some value in the market.

2. Budget: Preferably Around 50k would be just nice, want to keep monthly commitment under 600 if possible
3. New/Used/Unreg: prefer used, but welcome any new car suggestion
4. Specs: any
5. Transmission: Auto pls
8. Remarks: Was looking at 2016-17 HR-V or 2018-20 Kia Cerato K3, both are kind of a deal to me but I never buy used car before, I just anxious about it.

Thanks for any suggestion in advance.

This post has been edited by illusion0130: Jul 13 2024, 06:25 PM
sadukarzz
post Jul 13 2024, 06:37 PM

783 posts

Hi, my family is considering buying a commute car for my sister in the current market. Any good finds? 😅

Criteria listed below (mostly same criteria as last time when we bought the used VW Polo 1.6).

2. Budget: Preferably Around 10k or lower (Max RM20k)
3. New/Used/Unreg: Any
4. Specs: 1600 cc engine and below
5. Transmission: Automatic (No Manual, No AMT)

Actually my family is also asking whether we should save up to a new 2023 Perodua Axia 1.0 G for RM38,600 or a new 2020 Perodua Bezza 1.0 G for RM36,580 (albeit need to save up another year or 2 compared to paying around RM15000 for only used car now)
If you don't mind more aged car, this is what I would recommend

- Toyota Vios 2011 / 2012 (E)
- Have ABS, BA
- Low maintenance
- NA
- Not too high fuel consumption, with good enough power to drive around

*you might be able to get 2011 / 2012 E model, depending on your scouting and nego with the dealer / seller
**estimate you should be able to get at roughly 20k-21k or less
***recommend you to do initial full service for the car prior to daily use, estimating cost around 400-1k depending on what you want to service

QUOTE(illusion0130 @ Jul 13 2024, 06:16 PM)
Hi, i'm looking for some opinion for my 2nd car. Mainly city drive but just wanna change my 2017 Bezza Adv while still have some value in the market.

2. Budget: Preferably Around 50k would be just nice, want to keep monthly commitment under 600 if possible
3. New/Used/Unreg: prefer used, but welcome any new car suggestion
4. Specs: any
5. Transmission: Auto pls
8. Remarks: Was looking at HR-V or Kia Cerato K3, both are kind of a deal to me but I never buy used car before, I just anxious about it.

Thanks for any suggestion in advance.
Perhaps you can consider Proton Perdana 2018, 2.0l, Honda engine / parts similar to Accord.

- Proton perdana 2017-2019, 2.0L
- Honda engine / parts under the hood, spare parts easier to find
- NA auto
- Considered almost same range as Accord except internal not as fancy
*estimated price range between 45-50k depending on year and nego
**recommend to double check gearbox during test drive
**recommend to check white/black smoke after test drive concluded and parked
dogbert_chew
post Jul 13 2024, 07:31 PM

1,565 posts

2. Budget: Preferably Around 50k would be just nice
never buy used car before
Mainly city drive

Wanna change my 2017 Bezza Adv
looking at 2016-17 HR-V or 2018-20 Kia Cerato K3

Some feedback from me, others might disagree

- can you increase your budget in the near future to get a better car? If so and can wait, then keep using your current Bezza if no major faults. The RV continue to be high even until 10 years old.

- your budget 50K does it include repairs, touchup if buy used car? I have a 2016 HR-V going into year 9 soon have set aside 5-6K. Also buying used car usually means taking over some problems fron current owner (hopefully not major accident or flood etc) so yoi need to get help to check very carefully if budget is tight.

- city drives (mostly alone?) can consider Ativa X 63K.
It is a JDM replica and well designed (exclude those over 5'10") with max torque coming in below 2000 rpm. Nippy acceleration in start stop city roads. 5 yr warranty peace of mind.

illusion0130
post Jul 14 2024, 10:29 AM

33 posts

QUOTE(sadukarzz @ Jul 13 2024, 06:37 PM)
- Proton perdana 2017-2019, 2.0L
- Honda engine / parts under the hood, spare parts easier to find
- NA auto
- Considered almost same range as Accord except internal not as fancy
*estimated price range between 45-50k depending on year and nego
**recommend to double check gearbox during test drive
**recommend to check white/black smoke after test drive concluded and parked
thanks for the reco, not so into Proton thou... also I saw this car before and its too long(5000mm) for me that usually drive alone sweat.gif

QUOTE(dogbert_chew @ Jul 13 2024, 07:31 PM)
Some feedback from me, others might disagree

- can you increase your budget in the near future to get a better car? If so and can wait, then keep using your current Bezza if no major faults. The RV continue to be high even until 10 years old.

- your budget 50K does it include repairs, touchup if buy used car? I have a 2016 HR-V going into year 9 soon have set aside 5-6K. Also buying used car usually means taking over some problems fron current owner (hopefully not major accident or flood etc) so yoi need to get help to check very carefully if budget is tight.

- city drives (mostly alone?) can consider Ativa X 63K.
It is a JDM replica and well designed (exclude those over 5'10") with max torque coming in below 2000 rpm. Nippy acceleration in start stop city roads.  5 yr warranty peace of mind.
not planning to increase much budget as I dont want to spend as much on car, but thanks for the insight about the Bezza RV.
yea, did set aside 2-3k expecting some repair work for a used car, now I know I have to expand the budget doh.gif
I did test drive last time, somehow I feel the interior is abit narrow to me, maybe because Bezza have a bigger windscreen compare to Ativa
ssmui
post Jul 14 2024, 04:56 PM

89 posts

Need a car for city drive only? Mostly travel alone ?

Maybe can consider a new Myvi 1.5X, it costs RM50K ngam ngam

brutalsoul
post Jul 15 2024, 12:32 PM

A goal without a plan is just a wish
1,484 posts

any cons for cx-5 year 2017? high fuel consumption ? currently driving waja campro non cps.
illusion0130
post Jul 16 2024, 12:31 PM

33 posts

QUOTE(ssmui @ Jul 14 2024, 04:56 PM)
Need a car for city drive only? Mostly travel alone ?
Maybe can consider a new Myvi 1.5X, it costs RM50K ngam ngam
Perodua is 2nd choice now since I'm inclined towards foreign car brand 😁 but also tempted to check out how's perodua car like in 2025... So just gonna wait and do my research
fourzee
post Jul 16 2024, 12:33 PM

388 posts

Is a Lexus worth buying in the used car market ?
zenix
post Jul 16 2024, 08:32 PM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(ASoulNamedLeo @ Jul 3 2024, 05:45 PM)

send to mechanic for once over, if the usual seals good and not leaking not an issue.

2011 Toyota Rush - shared platform with Avanza, shared drivetrain with Vios but looks better than most on the outside, the inside is typical boring Toyota. Ride and handling nothing to write home about. Value for money? yes

2019 Toyota Yaris - either a Vios or Yaris is a good choice because they're complete cars with very little drawbacks, however if you prefer SUV's then that is another case altogether. Comparing Vios to Yaris, I think the Yaris looks nicer and is more practical in terms of having to load stuff into the car.

2019 Subaru XV - if you looking for a C-segment size SUV which isn't basic then you can consider the XV, it is well appointed the interiors showing better class than B-segment SUV's like BRV or Rush. However, it is AWD so higher petrol bills but you have great grip when taking corners.

QUOTE(brutalsoul @ Jul 15 2024, 12:32 PM)

it surely has more power and better fuel economy than you waja

mingxpro
post Jul 17 2024, 03:34 PM

202 posts

To request recommendation, this is what u need to post:
1. Brand. : Sushi or Kimchi brand, as long as model are reliable (not considering nasi lemak brand)
2. Budget. : RM20K, plan to buy two cars with this budget, if possible
3. New/Used/Unreg. (New = New Unit, Used = Used unit, Unreg = Unregistered @ Malaysia JPJ yet. : Used, must reg in Malaysia
4. Specs. : prefer engine power anything below 2.0 liters as dun wan pay high road tax, but not too underpower like 1.3 liters... just about right
5. Transmission. (Automatic, Manual, Sequential Manual Transmission, Tiptronic, AMT, DSG, etc) : any type as long as 5 speed and above (anything 4 or less not consider)
6. NA or FI ? (NA = Natural Aspirated, FI = Forced-induction aka Turbocharged/Supercharged) : Any, just don't fail me like lemon
7. Type. (Sedan, 2 Seater, Convertible, and etc) : MPV (7 seater) and/or Sedan
8. Remarks. (add anything u like) : Anything like Android player, soundproof, better speaker system is a plus and bonus for me, as i'm a audio guy (not pro or expert, just enough clear and bassy will do)
FrogBlob
post Jul 17 2024, 05:02 PM

466 posts

QUOTE(mingxpro @ Jul 17 2024, 03:34 PM)
To request recommendation, this is what u need to post:
1. Brand. : Sushi or Kimchi brand, as long as model are reliable (not considering nasi lemak brand)
2. Budget. : RM20K, plan to buy two cars with this budget, if possible
3. New/Used/Unreg. (New = New Unit, Used = Used unit, Unreg = Unregistered @ Malaysia JPJ yet. : Used, must reg in Malaysia
4. Specs. : prefer engine power anything below 2.0 liters as dun wan pay high road tax, but not too underpower like 1.3 liters... just about right
5. Transmission. (Automatic, Manual, Sequential Manual Transmission, Tiptronic, AMT, DSG, etc) : any type as long as 5 speed and above (anything 4 or less not consider)
6. NA or FI ? (NA = Natural Aspirated, FI = Forced-induction aka Turbocharged/Supercharged) : Any, just don't fail me like lemon
7. Type. (Sedan, 2 Seater, Convertible, and etc) : MPV (7 seater) and/or Sedan
8. Remarks. (add anything u like) : Anything like Android player, soundproof, better speaker system is a plus and bonus for me, as i'm a audio guy (not pro or expert, just enough clear and bassy will do)
20k for 2 cars so 10k each?

under 10k, 5sp, under 2.0L, either jap or korean, i can only think of manual sentras, corollas, and civics maybe but a bit difficult to find manual + under 10k for these.

or maybe 7th gen accords 2.0L, they have 5sp autos. but not sure if can find under 10k each.

i think audio equipment you can add on yourself lol.
lowyard
post Jul 17 2024, 05:11 PM

Nexus 4, 4 Nexers.
2,056 posts

QUOTE(illusion0130 @ Jul 16 2024, 12:31 PM)
Perodua is 2nd choice now since I'm inclined towards foreign car brand 😁 but also tempted to check out how's perodua car like in 2025... So just gonna wait and do my research
May I know why you incline towards foreign car brand? Have you taken a ride/driven any recent perodua models?
mingxpro
post Jul 17 2024, 10:33 PM

202 posts

QUOTE(FrogBlob @ Jul 17 2024, 05:02 PM)
20k for 2 cars so 10k each?

under 10k, 5sp, under 2.0L, either jap or korean, i can only think of manual sentras, corollas, and civics maybe but a bit difficult to find manual + under 10k for these.

or maybe 7th gen accords 2.0L, they have 5sp autos. but not sure if can find under 10k each.

i think audio equipment you can add on yourself lol.
hey thanks for the input!

can 20k for one too, just trying my luck for 2 cars under 20K...

because during my short research, I saw quite few kia forte on the list, 6 speed, 1.6L, paddle shifter, over 100k+ mileage, RM10k~12k range...

so I wonder maybe there are better offer or sifus can recommend me on lowyat.net hence my post.

btw, anyone can recommend second car inspection guy? what's the rate?
illusion0130
post Jul 17 2024, 11:16 PM

33 posts

QUOTE(zenix @ Jul 16 2024, 08:32 PM)

2019 Toyota Yaris - either a Vios or Yaris is a good choice because they're complete cars with very little drawbacks, however if you prefer SUV's then that is another case altogether. Comparing Vios to Yaris, I think the Yaris looks nicer and is more practical in terms of having to load stuff into the car.

2019 Subaru XV - if you looking for a C-segment size SUV which isn't basic then you can consider the XV, it is well appointed the interiors showing better class than B-segment SUV's like BRV or Rush. However, it is AWD so higher petrol bills but you have great grip when taking corners.

Thanks, Vios and Yaris also under my consideration, is just that price wise Kia macam more worth it... thanks for that

QUOTE(lowyard @ Jul 17 2024, 05:11 PM)
May I know why you incline towards foreign car brand? Have you taken a ride/driven any recent perodua models?
I think partly because I tried perodua and proton alrd, now I wanted to try something diff. I drove 2024 Ativa H before, somehow I feel the driving experience not like hugggee differnt from bezza apart of the height
dogbert_chew
post Jul 18 2024, 02:29 AM

1,565 posts

QUOTE(mingxpro @ Jul 17 2024, 10:33 PM)
because during my short research, I saw quite few kia forte on the list, 6 speed, 1.6L, paddle shifter, over 100k+ mileage, RM10k~12k range...
QUOTE(illusion0130 @ Jul 17 2024, 11:16 PM)
Thanks, Vios and Yaris also under my consideration, is just that price wise Kia macam more worth it... thanks for that
Not necessary to use two accounts here, we can feedback alternative options simultaneously.

If your driving style is sedate, then handling is not a priority where Bezza, Ativa, Vios, City won't have much difference.

Forte handling is also good enough, only concern is availability of a good Kia mechanic with reasonable pricing as its reliability isn't one of it's strongest point, reputation wise.
mingxpro
post Jul 18 2024, 11:54 AM

202 posts

QUOTE(dogbert_chew @ Jul 18 2024, 02:29 AM)
Not necessary to use two accounts here, we can feedback alternative options simultaneously.

If your driving style is sedate, then handling is not a priority where Bezza, Ativa, Vios, City won't have much difference.

Forte handling is also good enough, only concern is availability of a good Kia mechanic with reasonable pricing as its reliability isn't one of it's strongest point, reputation wise.
Not using two accounts yea... More like same minded haha

Anyway, good point on the reasonable price and reliability.
My current bezza has someone offered good deal, so definitely selling it, and cari replacement for the time being. What do you think about repairability for forte?

dogbert_chew
post Jul 18 2024, 03:51 PM

1,565 posts

QUOTE(mingxpro @ Jul 18 2024, 11:54 AM)
What do you think about repairability for forte?
Had colleagues driving Forte, Optima, Spectra, Carens, Sportage, Sorento.. none of them gave good feedback on reliability and ownership experience except Picanto.

You can search Forte forums to check on common issues and rectification estimates.

370 Pages « < 348 349 350 351 352 > » Top

0.0612sec    0.55    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 07:18 AM