165 Pages « < 48 49 50 51 52 > » Bottom

Working in Singapore V19, All About Living in The Little Red Dot

NiuNiuPuPu
post Aug 2 2016, 09:40 AM

QUOTE(rookie93 @ Aug 2 2016, 08:25 AM)
Did they tell you what work pass they're applying for u?
S pass. Work permit if mom didn't approve.
NiuNiuPuPu
post Aug 2 2016, 09:43 AM

QUOTE(Freedom15 @ Aug 2 2016, 09:12 AM)
Try to line up your budget if u think u can earn more than Malaysia then why not?
Treat it as a stepping stone...
Or you can try to nego for better packages such as a raise after confirmation / etc.
Definitely can earn more than in Malaysia. My coursemates who work in Malaysia only have about RM 2500-2800. They only agreed a raise of $100 after three months probation. Yea I will treat it as stepping stone since I am inexperience after all.
knwong
post Aug 2 2016, 09:43 AM

3,558 posts

QUOTE(clofae @ Aug 2 2016, 09:32 AM)
My advice is don't think so much about salary especially your first job here in sg. Just concentrate on gaining experience, the money will soon follow. All the best!
Gain network, follow by experience, then only money - that's the formula for success.
NiuNiuPuPu
post Aug 2 2016, 10:01 AM

QUOTE(knwong @ Aug 2 2016, 09:43 AM)
Gain network, follow by experience, then only money - that's the formula for success.
Thanks for the advice!

nod.gif nod.gif

Freedom15
post Aug 2 2016, 10:12 AM

171 posts

QUOTE(NiuNiuPuPu @ Aug 2 2016, 09:43 AM)
Definitely can earn more than in Malaysia. My coursemates who work in Malaysia only have about RM 2500-2800. They only agreed a raise of $100 after three months probation. Yea I will treat it as stepping stone since I am inexperience after all.
I did graduate from an Engineering course too so yeah, tough job cheap pay...
bangwall.gif
All the best!

rookie93
post Aug 2 2016, 11:39 AM

Captain Slow
647 posts

QUOTE(NiuNiuPuPu @ Aug 2 2016, 09:40 AM)
S pass. Work permit if mom didn't approve.
Thats somewhat unfortunate. Engineers should deserve EP and higher pay. What company is it? A local or mnc?
NiuNiuPuPu
post Aug 2 2016, 11:53 AM

QUOTE(rookie93 @ Aug 2 2016, 11:39 AM)
Thats somewhat unfortunate. Engineers should deserve EP and higher pay. What company is it? A local or mnc?
Local company. I went to MNC first round interview but too many competitors.
I cant help thinking I am a cheap worker hahaha bangwall.gif but I have no leverage to ask for more and this is the only job offer I got.
deodorant
post Aug 2 2016, 12:06 PM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

QUOTE(NiuNiuPuPu @ Aug 1 2016, 10:18 PM)
Hi guys. I am a mechanical engineering fresh graduate from local u, I received a job offer as QA engineer in sg with basic salary of $2100 and transport allowance $100.
May I know what is the expected salary for fresh grad engineer?

https://www.moe.gov.sg/docs/default-source/...y/files/ntu.pdf

Among NTU grads, mechanical engineer median fresh grad basic salary is $3.2k. So yes you're right that you're just cheap labor icon_idea.gif
NiuNiuPuPu
post Aug 2 2016, 12:19 PM

QUOTE(deodorant @ Aug 2 2016, 12:06 PM)
https://www.moe.gov.sg/docs/default-source/...y/files/ntu.pdf

Among NTU grads, mechanical engineer median fresh grad basic salary is $3.2k. So yes you're right that you're just cheap labor icon_idea.gif
bangwall.gif bangwall.gif bangwall.gif

So sad.
jojolicia
post Aug 2 2016, 02:03 PM

1,910 posts

QUOTE(clofae @ Aug 2 2016, 09:27 AM)
Why my EP only valid 1 year? What happens after that? If re-apply then reject means kena sent home omgomgomg blink.gif
is ur passport validity less than 24mth?
jojolicia
post Aug 2 2016, 02:08 PM

1,910 posts

QUOTE(NiuNiuPuPu @ Aug 1 2016, 10:18 PM)
Hi guys. I am a mechanical engineering fresh graduate from local u, I received a job offer as QA engineer in sg with basic salary of $2100 and transport allowance $100.
May I know what is the expected salary for fresh grad engineer? Btw I am a girl, is it harder for me to land on an engineer job?
happy.gif  happy.gif
may be ard $2-300 lower than mean for a bolehland mech fresh grad. that depends on d nature of business of ur employer as well, if manufacturing, $2100 as a starter >> ok so so la.

don't let this small $ be ur determining factor here, treat it as a steping stone (tho steep) to start with. if u can prove ur worth, additional $500 upon confirmation shd't be an issue. thumbsup.gif

just skip spa/facial treatment for the 1st-6mths la...aa

This post has been edited by jojolicia: Aug 2 2016, 02:14 PM
chloe_yee87
post Aug 2 2016, 04:09 PM

367 posts

Hi guys,

Need your expert help. My employer have applied EP for me 1.5 months ago. The initial result of the application was 'Rejected' so now they are appealing and pending for result. It has been pending for result for about 1 month now and I'm getting worried. The HR can't do anything but to wait for MOM. So, I have researched for alternative and found out that dependent pass can also work in SG, as long as they have Letter Of Consent. Thankfully, my husband is working in SG and I'm eligible to apply for Dependent pass.

Have anyone encountered this problem before? Thanks all!
SUShuaweie5830
post Aug 2 2016, 04:15 PM

967 posts

yeah sgd to myr 3.025

up up away
SUShuaweie5830
post Aug 2 2016, 04:19 PM

967 posts

QUOTE(chloe_yee87 @ Aug 2 2016, 04:09 PM)
Hi guys,

Need your expert help. My employer have applied EP for me 1.5 months ago. The initial result of the application was 'Rejected' so now they are appealing and pending for result. It has been pending for result for about 1 month now and I'm getting worried. The HR can't do anything but to wait for MOM. So, I have researched for alternative and found out that dependent pass can also work in SG, as long as they have Letter Of Consent. Thankfully, my husband is working in SG and I'm eligible to apply for Dependent pass.

Have anyone encountered this problem before? Thanks all!
i personally feel that all these dependent pass , ltvp ETC, are harder to apply than EP, somemore need to apply online and make appt, wait for result, not like EP straight forward , but no harm trying

dependent pas criteria

You can apply for a Dependant's Pass for your family if you meet these requirements:

Hold an Employment Pass or S Pass.
Earn a minimum fixed monthly salary of $5,000.
Are sponsored by an established, Singapore-registered company (usually your employer).

eligible
post Aug 2 2016, 05:58 PM

858 posts

QUOTE(z21j @ Jun 16 2016, 12:03 PM)
I've never stepped in SG in the first 23 yrs in my life but I got my first job in SG without referral/knowing anyone immediately after graduation from non-SG uni. That was 4 yrs ago. Sent 2, received invitation for interview = 1.
May I know if your home address and contact number all from Singapore, would it be easier to get an interview call?
eligible
post Aug 2 2016, 06:02 PM

858 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Jun 17 2016, 12:04 PM)
RWS just retrenched 400ppl yo.
Any source to find out the current status? Still keen to step into there. Otherwise might have to try for cabin crew.
eligible
post Aug 2 2016, 06:07 PM

858 posts

QUOTE(totti 10 @ Jun 21 2016, 09:39 PM)
How many resumes exactly? I have instances where I have submitted at lease 2-300 emails/job application before I landed on a job. So how hard did you try?

Btw my landlord has a HDB unit he wants to rent out in Queenstown. Maybe can get around $2000 or slightly lower, nego a bit.
Saying that my friends recommended me to placed phone n home address as Singapore to get higher chances for getting a call. Possible?
jie88
post Aug 2 2016, 06:42 PM

619 posts

anyone has any engineeering job openings?
Millennium Falcon 888
post Aug 2 2016, 06:54 PM

112 posts

I have a brother-in-law who is based in Singapore (not to mention several friends who work in SG too) and if I were to try my luck with a job there, how do I start? And can I get my bro-in-law to become a referral or supporter of my application? hmm.gif

I'm 36 and looking at a new challenge, after over 10 years with the same company... rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by Millennium Falcon 888: Aug 2 2016, 06:55 PM
Grajindo
post Aug 2 2016, 07:24 PM

2,171 posts

Has anyone have experience in getting insurance in SG? I am interested in knowing more esp. in those saving plan. With the current low interest rate offer by banks, is buying an insurance plan a wiser choice? I am very new to all these insurance as for the past years, I was covered by some other organisations but now I will need to get my own.

Appreciate if can hear some advice from you guys.

165 Pages « < 48 49 50 51 52 > » Top

0.1125sec    0.48    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 08:17 PM