165 Pages « < 50 51 52 53 54 > » Bottom

Working in Singapore V19, All About Living in The Little Red Dot

deodorant
post Aug 3 2016, 09:52 AM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

QUOTE(Fiona Chin @ Aug 3 2016, 09:37 AM)
High risk high return, low risk low return. Insurance want high return today you buy tomorrow accident  rclxm9.gif .

I think term plan got the highest returns liao. S$1m coverage think it's maybe around $4k annual premium?

Pay 2 years ($8k), then jump off 14th floor HDB, get $1m. 6,250% annual returns, where else to get?!?
SUShuaweie5830
post Aug 3 2016, 09:53 AM

967 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Aug 3 2016, 09:52 AM)
I think term plan got the highest returns liao. S$1m coverage think it's maybe around $4k annual premium?

Pay 2 years ($8k), then jump off 14th floor HDB, get $1m. 6,250% annual returns, where else to get?!?
Yeah life insurance term plan so far the best investment in term of return but hope I wun use it untill 99y.o
madmoz
post Aug 3 2016, 10:04 AM

4,250 posts

QUOTE(shawnmy @ Aug 2 2016, 09:11 PM)
At the moment, that is the only option i have. I'm planning to bring my family together with me. I can't afford to rent 1 hdb or condo at SG  biggrin.gif
Mine flat out refuses to come here. console.gif
knwong
post Aug 3 2016, 10:23 AM

3,558 posts

QUOTE(shawnmy @ Aug 2 2016, 09:11 PM)
At the moment, that is the only option i have. I'm planning to bring my family together with me. I can't afford to rent 1 hdb or condo at SG  biggrin.gif
Forget about those ill advises that give you negative feedback about relocation choices. As a spouse or parent whatever choices you made for your family:

Stay put at hometown
Bring to stay together in S'pore
Bring nearer but stay in JB

Only YOU know the best for your family. As a forumer we can only highlight to you the pros & cons, not make the choices for you
Freedom15
post Aug 3 2016, 10:34 AM

171 posts

QUOTE(Fiona Chin @ Aug 3 2016, 09:37 AM)
High risk high return, low risk low return. Insurance want high return today you buy tomorrow accident  rclxm9.gif .
QUOTE(deodorant @ Aug 3 2016, 09:52 AM)

Death benefit payout you can't enjoy also...
At most duduk at graveyard eat incense and count highly inflated hell notes...
loll
That's why I don't call insurance an investment...
Since the payout is really not enjoyable (death, accident, critical illnesses) and the return is subpar...
sad.gif

SUShuaweie5830
post Aug 3 2016, 10:58 AM

967 posts

QUOTE(Freedom15 @ Aug 3 2016, 10:34 AM)
Death benefit payout you can't enjoy also...
At most duduk at graveyard eat incense and count highly inflated hell notes...
loll
That's why I don't call insurance an investment...
Since the payout is really not enjoyable (death, accident, critical illnesses) and the return is subpar...
sad.gif
sometimes investment not only for your self, also for your next gen
Freedom15
post Aug 3 2016, 11:21 AM

171 posts

QUOTE(huaweie5830 @ Aug 3 2016, 10:58 AM)
sometimes investment not only for your self, also for your next gen
I guess we have different point of view then... biggrin.gif
No right or wrong answer just on how willing u are to spend...

SUShuaweie5830
post Aug 3 2016, 11:23 AM

967 posts

QUOTE(Freedom15 @ Aug 3 2016, 11:21 AM)
I guess we have different point of view then...  biggrin.gif
yup
KilJim
post Aug 3 2016, 11:27 AM

^-_-^ ZzzZzZzZzzz....
4,424 posts

QUOTE(Freedom15 @ Aug 3 2016, 11:21 AM)
I guess we have different point of view then...  biggrin.gif
I'm guessing you are single, no family or real dependents
Same as me too, which is why I dont have much into insurance
Will likely change once starting a family
Freedom15
post Aug 3 2016, 11:32 AM

171 posts

QUOTE(KilJim @ Aug 3 2016, 11:27 AM)
I'm guessing you are single, no family or real dependents
Same as me too, which is why I dont have much into insurance
Will likely change once starting a family
No family is a bit rough don't you think so? hmm.gif
loll
But insurance packages are better to be bought during younger age coz the premium will be lower... biggrin.gif
kevin613
post Aug 3 2016, 11:46 AM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(eligible @ Aug 3 2016, 09:37 AM)
Currently I'm just a Malaysian without EP yet, thus is it still the same requirement on getting prepaid number?

Postpaid? Even a Malaysian can just purchase one right away?
postpaid without EP = pay huge deposit upfront
Thats one of the pros of getting EP.
knwong
post Aug 3 2016, 11:58 AM

3,558 posts

QUOTE(Freedom15 @ Aug 3 2016, 11:32 AM)
No family is a bit rough don't you think so?  hmm.gif
loll
But insurance packages are better to be bought during younger age coz the premium will be lower...  biggrin.gif
Buy insurance when you perceived risk (like accident, poor health, loss of income, fire disaster, etc) is better to be borned by insurer. Don't buy just because you are young and premium is cheap (that's insurance agent gimmick).

Honestly speaking I actually hear many bad insurance buying decision than the good side of it. So do your due diligence

I have 2 insurance clients which I look into their processes. Their underwriters easily approve young applicants policy because statistically these group of people are less prone to problems. It's a good income for the insurers

KilJim
post Aug 3 2016, 12:47 PM

^-_-^ ZzzZzZzZzzz....
4,424 posts

QUOTE(knwong @ Aug 3 2016, 11:58 AM)
Buy insurance when you perceived risk (like accident, poor health, loss of income, fire disaster, etc) is better to be borned by insurer. Don't buy just because you are young and premium is cheap (that's insurance agent gimmick).

Honestly speaking I actually hear many bad insurance buying decision than the good side of it. So do your due diligence

I have 2 insurance clients which I look into their processes. Their underwriters easily approve young applicants policy because statistically these group of people are less prone to problems. It's a good income for the insurers
Yes agree with you here, I don't feel I have a whole lot of things needed to insure currently
Buying now just so it will be cheaper doesn't work out in the long run

This post has been edited by KilJim: Aug 3 2016, 12:51 PM
clofae
post Aug 3 2016, 12:48 PM

58 posts

QUOTE(knwong @ Aug 3 2016, 11:58 AM)

You have a good point. But young people like me got the "K" syndrome. Or maybe it's just me. If really got anything bad happen, at least there's something to help you out financially.
ldhong
post Aug 3 2016, 12:54 PM

620 posts

QUOTE(harrychoo @ Aug 2 2016, 11:30 PM)
about 1hr to 1.5hr per way from bukit indah to say jurong east, depends on how skillful are u or your driver.
festival time could up to 2hr to 2.5hrs

today was exceptional good, 1hr reach bukit indah  laugh.gif
Are you taking bus service from Jurong East to Bukit Indah, JB?

Which bus service you usually take?
knwong
post Aug 3 2016, 01:02 PM

3,558 posts

QUOTE(ldhong @ Aug 3 2016, 12:54 PM)
Are you taking bus service from Jurong East to Bukit Indah, JB?

Which bus service you usually take?
He's carpooling I believe
clofae
post Aug 3 2016, 03:54 PM

58 posts

Will there be any interview during PR appointment? If so, can anybody share what are some of the questions the officer will ask ? Any documents to get from HR prior to the e-appointment? Is letter from previous employer a must / necessary ? Many thanks in advance ! smile.gif

This post has been edited by clofae: Aug 3 2016, 03:56 PM
aLertz
post Aug 3 2016, 04:09 PM

Overconfidence is a flimsy shield
1,111 posts

QUOTE(clofae @ Aug 3 2016, 03:54 PM)
Will there be any interview during PR appointment? If so, can anybody share what are some of the questions the officer will ask ? Any documents to get from HR prior to the e-appointment? Is letter from previous employer a must / necessary ? Many thanks in advance !  smile.gif
interview is optional...usually don't have
letter from previous employer is not compulsory...at least not on my case as i don't have biggrin.gif
You'll need your HR to fill in a form which is about company info or something...
SUShuaweie5830
post Aug 3 2016, 04:30 PM

967 posts

QUOTE(clofae @ Aug 3 2016, 03:54 PM)
Will there be any interview during PR appointment? If so, can anybody share what are some of the questions the officer will ask ? Any documents to get from HR prior to the e-appointment? Is letter from previous employer a must / necessary ? Many thanks in advance !  smile.gif
Ennnnn.... u made appt liao

Else dun even bother , get Ur appt date first whIch will be half years later, coz watever info u got now, eventuallly u will forgot and ask again later
LalaluSan
post Aug 3 2016, 05:09 PM

692 posts

Hi guys, I just got my job offer in SG. So basically im pretty new to everything in SG. Here are my questions,

1. Passes like TnG in MY, what does it called in SG? (ezlink? where can i reload this card?)
3. The first time i went to SG, i doesn't have the exact amount for bus fare, the smallest amount i got was $5 and the bus driver doesn't return the balance. Is this normal? Do i need to bring the exact amount of cash to enter buses?
2. Still in mist of finding room, office around pasir panjang area, so can anyone suggest me the best place to stay? (Clementi area seems like many room for rent, however im trying my best to find for room priced around $600 or $550 and below with wifi and aircond include, it would be even more great if someone here is a hunters/agent for this sad.gif )

This post has been edited by LalaluSan: Aug 3 2016, 05:15 PM

165 Pages « < 50 51 52 53 54 > » Top

0.0289sec    0.47    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 07:40 PM