Working in Singapore V19, All About Living in The Little Red Dot

IwanAGP
post Jul 26 2016, 10:56 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(kevin613 @ Jul 26 2016, 02:28 PM)
your boss could either be honest, submit EP for less than the required salary, then see if MOM approve the EP, or...
submit fake salary declaration on the application form, which is a criminal offence.. up to your boss loh...

to comply or not, to approve or not, not our call.. biggrin.gif
Mine was submitted less than 3k. Quite a number of my colleagues from MY too. And submitted salary is right what we get for our salary. Less than 3k not to say 3.3k doh.gif

QUOTE(the99percent1 @ Jul 26 2016, 07:31 PM)
Says who? Never heard of anyone getting ep below the required  minimum salary.

Also, I hope they don't raise the minimum required income to bring in family.. 5k is already ridiculously high. Wat the gomen of singapore think? Worker here meant as slave.. ? No time even for family..
A lot la... So many of my friends fresh here less than 3k still getting their EP.

But why the new rule says up to 3 years? EP previously can apply 3 years??

This post has been edited by IwanAGP: Jul 26 2016, 10:56 PM
madmoz
post Jul 27 2016, 12:18 AM

4,250 posts

QUOTE(the99percent1 @ Jul 26 2016, 07:31 PM)
Says who? Never heard of anyone getting ep below the required  minimum salary.

Also, I hope they don't raise the minimum required income to bring in family.. 5k is already ridiculously high. Wat the gomen of singapore think? Worker here meant as slave.. ? No time even for family..
5k to bring family in mama cukup wor?
SUSthe99percent1
post Jul 27 2016, 07:55 AM

381 posts

QUOTE(madmoz @ Jul 27 2016, 12:18 AM)
5k to bring family in mama cukup wor?
That's for individual family to go figure out and make it work. Gomen shouldn't apply blanket rule over an arbitrary spending figure based on the lifestyle of a high rolling expat banker..

Also.. if epass holder can bring family in good for singapore economy.. more mouths to feed means more local spending and less money can be transferred overseas.

This post has been edited by the99percent1: Jul 27 2016, 07:59 AM
kevin613
post Jul 27 2016, 08:11 AM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(IwanAGP @ Jul 26 2016, 10:56 PM)
Mine was submitted less than 3k. Quite a number of my colleagues from MY too. And submitted salary is right what we get for our salary. Less than 3k not to say 3.3k doh.gif
A lot la... So many of my friends fresh here less than 3k still getting their EP.
I know, once upon a time mine was submitted below the required amount too. Was told by HR that Malaysian could get it easier, but I don't know if that was still true, and approval is always at the mercy of MOM. No guarantee that you'll get approval even if you meet all requirements.
madmoz
post Jul 27 2016, 08:15 AM

4,250 posts

I kinda think that the ruling and trend in rules make sense and is better for us 'foreign trash' in the long run.
They are aimed at getting well paid people to come work in SG instead of people whose main drawing card is 'cheap'.
Too many (which is what many already think) foreigners come in to work, the more the resentment which in turn leads to a build up of political clout and pressure to the gov to put in more reforms.

knwong
post Jul 27 2016, 08:51 AM

3,559 posts

Just found out even can bring parents (under long term pass) but need 10k salary.
madmoz
post Jul 27 2016, 09:06 AM

4,250 posts

I'd wager that most parents tak nak come. Mine said they'll miss their routine and friends. Damnithavetodohouseworkformyself
Even though security and healthcare is likely better (but more expensive hmm.gif) here, it'll be cruel to force them to relocate methinks.

This post has been edited by madmoz: Jul 27 2016, 09:06 AM
kevin613
post Jul 27 2016, 09:15 AM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(madmoz @ Jul 27 2016, 09:06 AM)
I'd wager that most parents tak nak come. Mine said they'll miss their routine and friends. Damnithavetodohouseworkformyself
Even though security and healthcare is likely better (but more expensive hmm.gif) here, it'll be cruel to force them to relocate methinks.
if can afford to bring parents but they dont want, and need someone to do your housework, go hire a FDW lo... tongue.gif
madmoz
post Jul 27 2016, 09:27 AM

4,250 posts

QUOTE(kevin613 @ Jul 27 2016, 09:15 AM)
if can afford to bring parents but they dont want, and need someone to do your housework, go hire a FDW lo... tongue.gif
Can afford doesn't mean tak sakit hati dude. Foreign labour hiring foreign labour isn't as cheap as I expected lol.

This post has been edited by madmoz: Jul 27 2016, 09:29 AM
knwong
post Jul 27 2016, 09:38 AM

3,559 posts

Only Asian will get elders for family routine support.

Caucasians will be on their own. Or hire maid
SUShuaweie5830
post Jul 27 2016, 09:59 AM

967 posts

QUOTE(madmoz @ Jul 27 2016, 09:27 AM)
Can afford doesn't mean tak sakit hati dude. Foreign labour hiring foreign labour isn't as cheap as I expected lol.
my fren hiring maid, 500 per month oni
aLertz
post Jul 27 2016, 10:06 AM

Overconfidence is a flimsy shield
1,111 posts

QUOTE(IwanAGP @ Jul 26 2016, 10:56 PM)
It seems MOM is not that strict towards Malaysians....maybe due to we're neighbours laugh.gif
I got a few friends also got EP even though their income was below the minimum req but a colleague from Sri Lanka can't get it when his salary is a bit above the min req sweat.gif

This post has been edited by aLertz: Jul 27 2016, 10:06 AM
3rdEdition
post Jul 27 2016, 10:31 AM

213 posts

Lai support ferry

http://news.asiaone.com/news/singapore/joh...vices-singapore

KilJim
post Jul 27 2016, 11:13 AM

^-_-^ ZzzZzZzZzzz....
4,424 posts

QUOTE(the99percent1 @ Jul 27 2016, 07:55 AM)
That's for individual family to go figure out and make it work. Gomen shouldn't apply blanket rule over an arbitrary spending figure based on the lifestyle of a high rolling expat banker..

Also.. if epass holder can bring family in good for singapore economy.. more mouths to feed means more local spending and less money can be transferred overseas.
That is the Malaysian "freedom of choice" thinking
Not the way SG government thinks

Remember, those are rules for foreigners
kevin613
post Jul 27 2016, 11:43 AM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(huaweie5830 @ Jul 27 2016, 09:59 AM)
my fren hiring maid, 500 per month oni
levy havent count horr..
clofae
post Jul 27 2016, 12:04 PM

58 posts

Hi, when would be a good time (as in which month of the year) to apply for PR? Anything else I should take note of? I heard people saying that beginning of the year is the best as you will stand a higher chance. Is this true? Can someone enlighten me ?
KilJim
post Jul 27 2016, 01:25 PM

^-_-^ ZzzZzZzZzzz....
4,424 posts

QUOTE(clofae @ Jul 27 2016, 12:04 PM)
Hi, when would be a good time (as in which month of the year) to apply for PR? Anything else I should take note of? I heard people saying that beginning of the year is the best as you will stand a higher chance. Is this true? Can someone enlighten me ?
It's an excellent time, since booking now will get you an appointment next year at the earliest biggrin.gif
clofae
post Jul 27 2016, 01:35 PM

58 posts

QUOTE(KilJim @ Jul 27 2016, 01:25 PM)
It's an excellent time, since booking now will get you an appointment next year at the earliest biggrin.gif
Any idea how long would the process take? Any tips so that I may increase my chance of getting approved / lessen chance of rejection? smile.gif
aLertz
post Jul 27 2016, 02:42 PM

Overconfidence is a flimsy shield
1,111 posts

QUOTE(clofae @ Jul 27 2016, 01:35 PM)
Any idea how long would the process take? Any tips so that I may increase my chance of getting approved / lessen chance of rejection?  smile.gif
haha the truth is still out there....nobody knows yet...
mine took around 10 months...my friend got it after 7 months...

appointment will be 6 months before that...
so doesn't really matter when...just try laugh.gif

This post has been edited by aLertz: Jul 27 2016, 02:43 PM
madmoz
post Jul 27 2016, 02:42 PM

4,250 posts

Maid is around 700 including levy right? Not sure if you also need to home and feed her like in MY too.

Part timers are cheaper but need to buy in minimum hour blocks. Ends up not cheap also.

I don't earn enough bah to maintain 3 maids - one for my parents in hometown, one for kl family and one in SG lor. Doesn't make financial sense. Ironing and other misc housework tak suka but DIY lor.

165 Pages « < 39 40 41 42 43 > » Top

0.0287sec    0.65    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 11:29 PM