55 Pages « < 50 51 52 53 54 > » Bottom

Asus P535, GPS PDA Phone

Deani_77
post Jun 3 2008, 05:22 PM

Luaskan Kuasamu...
3,251 posts

QUOTE(Rogesterada @ Jun 1 2008, 12:00 AM)
I've made a DIY protrusion on the battery cover so that it slots in perfectly and hits the battery switch.Glued it with epoxy.
Mind to share picture of it? Kinda interested in it. tongue.gif

xyber9
post Jun 9 2008, 01:10 AM

605 posts

Any pictures on how the protusion is made?
teckhing
post Jun 12 2008, 10:50 AM

need help, my asus P535 suddently become no power.can't charge and on. the charger and battery still working fine. anyone face this problem before?
dokidoki
post Jun 12 2008, 05:24 PM

I am not War machine~
4,630 posts

QUOTE(teckhing @ Jun 12 2008, 10:50 AM)
need help, my asus P535 suddently become no power.can't charge and on. the charger and battery still working fine. anyone face this problem before?
try charge the phone..don't do anything until half an hour past..then try again..this happen to me before when i use the battery till 0% and didnt charge it immediately...
teckhing
post Jun 13 2008, 11:44 AM

QUOTE(dokidoki @ Jun 12 2008, 05:24 PM)
try charge the phone..don't do anything until half an hour past..then try again..this happen to me before when i use the battery till 0% and didnt charge it immediately...
Thankz for the advise but the charging light is not on, and i check the battery still have power. and the adapter also function
LittleCow
post Jun 15 2008, 05:30 PM

185 posts

feel lazy to use PDA phone...now I am thinking of selling my asus pda phone P527
(with GPS, 2gb card, car charger).... bought RM1699....
got one shop willing to pay me only RM1.3K for trade in for a new handphone from them...
do u think I should sell it ? i seldom use this pda, bought about 3 months
Deani_77
post Jun 16 2008, 10:29 AM

Luaskan Kuasamu...
3,251 posts

We buy PDA because we use it. It is a waste if you keep it. Better sell it because it price drop.
dokidoki
post Jun 16 2008, 05:27 PM

I am not War machine~
4,630 posts

QUOTE(teckhing @ Jun 13 2008, 11:44 AM)
Thankz for the advise but the charging light is not on, and i check the battery still have power. and the adapter also function

erm...even if u slot in the plug into ur p535 the red light didnt on?
klmc
post Jun 18 2008, 06:34 PM

663 posts

the usb charger thingy has broken off ? Is it loose? Do u wiggle it when u shove in the cable? That thing happened to me - had to send the phone to change the motherboard ....

good luck - hope thats not ur problem cos if it is, it's a biggish hassle.
9ty5
post Jun 20 2008, 05:29 PM

89 posts

Alright, forgive me if this has been asked before.
I can't seem to delete files on my P535. Anybody face this before and if yes, how do I fix it up? Thanks
ahchun
post Jun 26 2008, 09:40 AM

MiddleAge
1,146 posts

QUOTE(9ty5 @ Jun 20 2008, 05:29 PM)
Alright, forgive me if this has been asked before.
I can't seem to delete files on my P535. Anybody face this before and if yes, how do I fix it up? Thanks
i kena b4 as well
cannot delete
cannot move from phone memory to card
cant sync up as well
end of the day, i hard reset my phone

xyber9
post Jul 21 2008, 10:01 PM

605 posts

Anyone using Pocket Controller with the p535? Where is the link to get the bmp skin file for the p535.

Thanks in advance.
Hitch
post Jul 22 2008, 09:15 AM

sighz..it happened to me as well..when i put my pda on the table, then suddenly it turns off by itself..when try to press 'On' button, it wont work and when i try to soft reset..also cannot..haihz..anyone can help with this?
xyber9
post Jul 22 2008, 08:44 PM

605 posts

I had the same problem too.

Finally I send to Asus service centre near Imbi Plaza. After 5 days got back my pda with a new motherboard.

Already 2 weeks pda is stable and no more hanging problem.

If pda is still under warranty better send for servicing.

Base on my observation hanging is due to the switch near the battery compartment. I 've tried putting paper but after awhile problem comes back again.
wongp
post Jul 22 2008, 10:58 PM

I bought a second hand Asus P535 pda only a few days ago and it started hanging immediately. Damn! Got cheated was my first reaction. After reading extensively in this and other forums and from my own experience, I came to the following conclusions:
1. Hanging complaints occurred about a year after the P535 introduction,
2. Hanging occurs most frequently when the unit is moved about,
3. Hanging does not much occur when the battery is fully charged, only when it is partially discharged and in my case when it is a old (1-1/2 years old),
4. Hanging often occurs when the unit is on full power like when the cpu is set to maximum, screen set to full brightness, and when wifi/Bluetooth is on.
Has something to do with the power system, right? The P535 is a speed monster and requires a lot of juice. Old batteries/contact points corrode over time leaving a layer of electrical resistant oxide coating. I also discovered that Asus did a poor job of securing the battery in its place. There is way too much free play in the compartment allowing the battery to move about.
This is what I did to solve the problem:
1. Cleaned out the battery terminals and contact pins on the unit. Ink eraser (does anyone still use this these days?) works best as it acts like sandpaper only a lot less abrasive. Careful with the contact pins – don’t wanna damage these. This is followed up by cleaning with isopropyl alcohol which can be bought in most pharmacies either in bottle or swab form. Don’t use WD40 as it leaves a film of water-repelling substance which may not be so electrical conducive.
2. Secured the battery compartment with strips cut from a thick calling card. These I wedged between the battery and the compartment sides to ensure there is no possibility of movement.
Voila – problem solved for me. Hope it works for you too.
BTW, I’m pretty darn pleased with the unit now. The best part is the price. I only paid a fraction of the price quoted for current models with similar or even lesser specifications.

xyber9
post Jul 24 2008, 09:25 AM

605 posts

Great guide and write up there.

Actually the p535 is an excellent featured pda.

If users can overcome the hanging problem it is definitely one of the best pda phone in the market with all its great specs and gps receiver.
Baronic
post Jul 24 2008, 12:05 PM

Problem?
7,533 posts

i agree with you xyber9, and super kudos to wongp for his self research and work! biggrin.gif
RM1
post Aug 7 2008, 08:38 PM

18 posts

Good findings Wongp. You have the mindset for troubleshooting. Will keep this in mind if (hope not) mu unit starts to act up.

Just went to Asus Website and they did indicate that they will support WM6.1 upgrade for all PDA that was with WM6. Suppose to be August, this month for the upgrades.
wongp
post Aug 12 2008, 09:42 PM

(For those of you wanting to sync your P535 to Vista/WMDC via bluetooth)

Asus P535 PDA Running Windows Mobile 5 (WM5)
Procedures to Connect via Bluetooth to Windows Mobile Device Centre (WMDC) in Microsoft Vista, SP1

Background: P535 has fixed & immutable COM ports for its ActiveSync aka Serial Port service. PC running Vista/WMDC/BT assigns its own COM ports which is different from that of the P535. So how to sync between P535 and PC? hmm.gif

1. Create a partnership using the USB cable first. Ensure that you are able to do this before attempting to connect via BT.

2. PDA: Start>Settings>BT:

a. General Tab: Current Profile=Default, Turn BT to ON.

b. Accessibility Tab: Check on these items: Allow other devices to connect, Other devices can discover me.

c. Services Tab>Serial Port: Check on the following – Enable Service, Authorization required, Authentication (Passkey) required. Advanced Button: Note that Inbound COM Port=6 and Outbound COM Port=7. These ports are fixed in the P535 and cannot be changed. What you must do is to specify these same ports on your PC.

All other listed services e.g. File Transfer, etc. should be disabled for now so that they do not interfere with the issue at hand. Note that ActiveSync (no longer called this in WMDC) runs through the Serial Port service.

3. PC: Turn your BT on. There is often a dedicated button on the PC for this.

4. PC: Control Panel (CPanel)>Bluetooth Devices

a. Options Tab>Check these items: Allow BT devices to find this computer, Allow BT devices to connect to this computer, Alert me when new BT device wants to connect.

b. Devices Tab>Click on ‘Add’. PC will search and discover P535. Do the necessary to connect to PDA e.g. assign passkey on PC. This will in turn lead your PDA to prompt you for the passkey. Type passkey into PDA and you will have created a bond between the PC and PDA. A window opens stating that these COM ports have been assigned (could well be different on yours): Outgoing=COM5, Incoming=COM6.

Click Properties on the newly discovered P535. Services Tab: These are the services available on BT on P535 and since we have only enabled the Serial Port service (see above) you will see the ‘Serial Port (SPP) Bluetooth Serial Port’ service.

c. COM Ports Tab>The information here confirms the COM port allocations as per above, namely: COM5/Outgoing/[PDA Name] ‘Bluetooth Serial Port’, COM6/Incoming/[PDA Name].

5. PC: The ports assigned by Vista/BT will have to be changed to match the P535 COM port settings as follows (sorry for the crude formatting):

-------------------PDA (Fixed)--------PC: As Assigned-------PC: Change To
Incoming COM---------6-----------------------6-----------------------7
Outgoing COM---------7-----------------------5-----------------------6

Note that after changes, PDA Outgoing (COM7) will match the PC Incoming (COM7) and vice versa.

While the old ActiveSync/WinXP allows you to easily change the COM port, WMDC/Vista does not. However this can still be achieved by some amount of hacking as follows.

Ensure that BT is still turned on. Go to Start>CPanel>System>Device Manager>Ports (COM & LPT). Based on the above assigned ports, there will be two entries (there could be more if other devices are using COM ports):

a. Standard Serial over Bluetooth link (COM6). Right click>Properties>Port Settings>Advanced>COM Port Number.

Change this to COM7. If it happens that COM7 is in use, as was in my case, you will get a warning:

“This COM port is in use by another device … using duplicate names will lead to inaccessible devices and changed settings. Do you wish to continue?”

Go for it! My experience is that the existing device using COM7 (whatever that was) will be allocated another COM port without detriment. But watch out for abnormal PC behavior!

b. Standard Serial over Bluetooth link (COM5). Do the same as above, changing this to COM6. (Update: As the PDA will initiate the connection, this step is unnecessary – COM5 can even be deleted.)

6. PC: Open the Windows Registry: Start>Search for Regedit>Run as administrator

a. Go to HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE/SOFTWARE/MICROSOFT/Windows CE Services

b. Click on the Windows CE Services icon and look for the string value labeled "SerialPort". It should currently have either "Infrared" or Bluetooth" under the "Data" column. Change this value to “COM7” (without the quotes).

7. PC: After the above changes, reboot (must).

8. PC: Start BT and then WMDC. In WMCE, your PDA will be shown as ‘Not Connected’. Go to Mobile Device Settings>Connection Settings>Check the box: ‘Allow Connections to one of the following’ and select COM7.

9. PDA: Ensure that BT is turned on. Bluetooth Manager>My Shortcuts Tab>New>ActiveSync via Bluetooth>Click Next/Finish to complete connection wizard. Your PDA will discover your PC and prompt you to create a connection shortcut.

10. YOU: Scream for joy. rclxm9.gif PDA should now be connected to PC via Bluetooth. WMDC shows ‘Connected’ status. You can also confirm connection on your PDA: BT Manager>Active Connections Tab>Outgoing Connections: You will find your PC name as well as the port connected to (COM7).

11. On subsequent connections:

a. PC: Turn on BT & start WMDC.

b. PDA: Turn on BT. BT Manager>My Shortcuts Tab>Tap & Hold the shortcut connection as created above>Click Connect.

12. Note that PDA initiates connection to PC. I was not able to set it such that PC initiates connection to PDA (like when connection is via USB cable) which should result in fewer steps for subsequent connections. I tried setting PC Outgoing=COM6, Incoming=COM7 & Registry>Serial Port=COM6 but had no success. I’d like to hear from anyone who can achieve this.

13. PM me if you want screen-shots to accompany the procedures above. biggrin.gif
xyber9
post Aug 16 2008, 12:05 PM

605 posts

What is the maximum external memory card supported by the p535?

55 Pages « < 50 51 52 53 54 > » Top

0.0322sec    0.39    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 07:42 AM