INTEL P4/PM 478/479 THREAD, >>V3<<, The Journey Continues Here!
overclockalbert
Apr 6 2007, 03:05 AM
QUOTE(rainingzero @ Apr 6 2007, 03:33 AM) fylon, make sure u got good PSU also...this will bring stability to ur system...  fylon, u also need to change yr ram in order to hit high with yr 30capper! i own 2.8E and 3.2C but with same ram, 2.8E can hit 3.7G whereas, 3.2C only do 3.6+ the most. and yes, PSU is sure an important when going in OC. look for purepower PSU if u r serious about this
kabukiawie
Apr 6 2007, 10:03 AM
QUOTE(fylon @ Apr 6 2007, 12:13 AM) Haha.. Icic!! Good! Nice to meet you.  Yup.. Well well.. U know i know. Kuching pc parts price are insane. I went to compumart past 2 week and ask about 7600GT price. Guess how much they told me? 650 and need order.  Thats crazy. Lol.. Learning now. But need time to to practical. Pray that my board dont burned out during test time! This rigs? Hmm.. The prcos and mobo cost me around 500 lo. Resonable la hor? haha.. But i think its worth. Seems the mobo are extremely rare to find nowdays. Now really dont dare to do OC yet. Provided i got a better casing then i will try it. Currently using cap palang casing which are too small too pack. The cooler itself are big already. Haha.. But still can maintain stock temperature in between 36-38 lo. Due to Prescott core = heat monster. Haha. kuching price the samurai knife very sharp. and at the same time most of them are blank on some nice staffs. if you are get used to lowyat price list i think you wont buy any. Long time didnt walk around saberkas lo  .Maybe during pc fair th price will drop to reasonable level. just grab a new casing there today. XD 500 quite ok the price, especially the rare mobo. your hyper6+ cannot fit in?? its ok you oc with stock cooling. just push with stock vcore and vdimm. watch the temp. then it will be fine.
fylon
Apr 6 2007, 04:33 PM
Wah.. Just home from PC fair. Gosh! Nothing much there. Mostly sell laptop and others. 7 series AGP all not available.  Yea.. Agree! Kch price are sharp! Next time will look at LYN instead of local shop. Even + in shipping also cheaper then on shop price. Hha. CM Hyper 6 match my mobo dont worry. Just my casing become pack after put all the thing in. No worry. Wanna did some casing arrangement and do abit OC and see how the thing goes.
edministrator
Apr 6 2007, 04:56 PM
as expected, pikom in kuching mostly clear old stock and time for the sellers to reach their sales target on certain products to get freebies from dealers (reaching certain sales target, they are able to get holiday trip, etc). I'm usually dissapointed coz no new of cool stuff to see, such as coolers, casings, bling blings and the price damn sharp sharp, susah less one. Reason they promo notebook coz its easier to sell, a lot of uni students and working adults will buy. fylon, my case also super packed since its mATX type. Even need to remove my PSU fan grill to fit my Zalman Fata1ity FS-C77 cooler, P4 3.06Ghz. With all the hardware inside + closed side panel, its like an oven! That's why I mod my case side panel, add silent side panel fans for better airflow and sleeve the cables, it really does help a lot, and the silent rig style is a major  . Or you can follow kabukiawie style, no need to close side panel, hehe. This post has been edited by edministrator: Apr 6 2007, 05:02 PM
kabukiawie
Apr 6 2007, 06:10 PM
haha, dont follow my dirty cheap ugly way. as expected too. not yet go there see. I can imaging this time is same as last time. many booth, selling almost the same brand, same hardware, same high price, lots notebook and all ppl sandwitch each other to enjoy free sauna.  i can tell what fylon saw most gc that available is 9550!!!!!  7300GT agp?? i can bet you need to order.  get used to it already. this is kuching.
rainingzero
Apr 6 2007, 07:10 PM
QUOTE(fylon @ Apr 6 2007, 04:33 PM) Wah.. Just home from PC fair. Gosh! Nothing much there. Mostly sell laptop and others. 7 series AGP all not available.  Yea.. Agree! Kch price are sharp! Next time will look at LYN instead of local shop. Even + in shipping also cheaper then on shop price. Hha. CM Hyper 6 match my mobo dont worry. Just my casing become pack after put all the thing in. No worry. Wanna did some casing arrangement and do abit OC and see how the thing goes. haha...pc fair at KL convection centre got very tempting price every year. it's just me always windows shopping only...hehhe... anyway, cable management do improve ur cooling a lot. so no blocked air flow inside ur casing. as long u got intake and exhaust fans, ur airflow can be considered good. i always saw my friend's casing with very2 messy wire inside.feels like wanna do wire management for him on the spot...haha... This post has been edited by rainingzero: Apr 6 2007, 07:11 PM
fylon
Apr 6 2007, 09:14 PM
Haha.. Yea yea!! Agree with edministrator. There just a name PC FAIR. But inside there all was doing cleareance stock business. Nothing much to see actually. Dont go. Its a waste of petrol and energy go there see nothing good. Hmm.. Just did some cable management all hide some junk cable up. Now the casing looks more tidy. Haha. My pc side panel only closed when i do room cleaning. Rest of the time is open. Lol.  The cheapest way to cool down ther cpu. p/s: Just hit 3.3Ghz wth my 3.0E at running at 38'c idle temperature. Trying to squeeze more!
rainingzero
Apr 6 2007, 11:09 PM
QUOTE(fylon @ Apr 6 2007, 09:14 PM) Haha.. Yea yea!! Agree with edministrator. There just a name PC FAIR. But inside there all was doing cleareance stock business. Nothing much to see actually. Dont go. Its a waste of petrol and energy go there see nothing good. Hmm.. Just did some cable management all hide some junk cable up. Now the casing looks more tidy. Haha. My pc side panel only closed when i do room cleaning. Rest of the time is open. Lol.  The cheapest way to cool down ther cpu. p/s: Just hit 3.3Ghz wth my 3.0E at running at 38'c idle temperature. Trying to squeeze more!  actually, closed side panel will get better overall cooling for ur system. but it's depends on the casing used. air ventilation inside casing do improved overall cooling compared with an opened sidepanel one....that's y got intake and exhaust fans to provide fresh air to flow inside the casing through all the component and warm air to exit through exhaust... just my opinion based from my research only...correct me if i'm wrong...
kabukiawie
Apr 6 2007, 11:11 PM
gogogo...  i think it can squeeze more than that. hows the load temp? idd you stress it with prime95?
fylon
Apr 7 2007, 12:30 AM
QUOTE(rainingzero @ Apr 6 2007, 11:09 PM) actually, closed side panel will get better overall cooling for ur system. but it's depends on the casing used. air ventilation inside casing do improved overall cooling compared with an opened sidepanel one....that's y got intake and exhaust fans to provide fresh air to flow inside the casing through all the component and warm air to exit through exhaust... just my opinion based from my research only...correct me if i'm wrong...  Agree. But hor.. My cap palang casing will make the whole system heat up if side panel is closed up. So i got no choice to on let it on! haha. Err.. Any other software can use to stress the clocked cpu beside prime95? Hehe.. Try it tomorrow.
shinjite
Apr 7 2007, 02:30 AM
The best is still the ones that we suggested  I would recommend go and stress ur CPU using the Gromacs core (additional test) in Orthos. My system although pass both large and small ffts as well as blend, can't even pass the Gromacs last time, it even restarts the own system  If you need more information on stress testing your rig, read this thread http://www.ocforums.com/showthread.php?t=335813A very good guide on stress testing as well as the softwares that are needed. Happy stressing This post has been edited by shinjite: Apr 7 2007, 02:51 AM
kabukiawie
Apr 7 2007, 10:47 AM
yup, is the Gromacs core in Orthos better than blend? it only stress cpu but not with ram. now priming at 3240MHz with Gromacs core 1hour 20min still counting.  hopefully it can last till this afternoon. slowly finding the max priming stable speed.  the max speed mine can go is at 3456MHz 1:1. not stable when priming. but manage to finish 3dmark01(the only 3dmark i can run).
shinjite
Apr 7 2007, 01:56 PM
Gromacs stresses ur CPU but it is better than the rest  1 hr and 20 minutes not enough 1 trust me, put your priority to 10 and leave it overnight and test. if the orthos freezes and ur comp never restarts, also consider failure
kabukiawie
Apr 7 2007, 02:32 PM
still running, later at 5+ pm i go home check see how it goes, i start stress when 9+ am this morning. you mean set the priority to 10 in orthos? i see.  haha...never notice that before. normally i just set to blend and let it run overnight. didnt notice the priority.  tonight i try. Thanks for reminding me. This post has been edited by kabukiawie: Apr 7 2007, 02:39 PM
shinjite
Apr 7 2007, 05:15 PM
blend not so stressing in my view.... My current setup, blend more than 9+ hours no problem Even with large FFTs..... But when it comes to Orthos.....priority 10, 1 minute failure already
raymond5105
Apr 8 2007, 01:36 PM
Hey guys,do you all realise that the fluatuating of vCore can causes more heat?For example like suppose the vCore is operating at 1.55v,but it fluctuates to 1.5v or 1.52v. I notice that this kind of condition really makes the casing inisde feels very warm. If you increase a bit on the vCore to compasate the lost in vCore to 1.575v,the actual reading of the vCore will be around 1.55v. Then the tempeature inside the casing is also cooler.
pengster
Apr 8 2007, 01:46 PM
QUOTE(raymond5105 @ Apr 8 2007, 01:36 PM) Hey guys,do you all realise that the fluatuating of vCore can causes more heat?For example like suppose the vCore is operating at 1.55v,but it fluctuates to 1.5v or 1.52v. I notice that this kind of condition really makes the casing inisde feels very warm. If you increase a bit on the vCore to compasate the lost in vCore to 1.575v,the actual reading of the vCore will be around 1.55v. Then the tempeature inside the casing is also cooler. hmm..interesting.this could be why my proc and mobo are hotter then usual.my P4P800x fluctuates quite alot.from 1.568v up to 1.616v
raymond5105
Apr 8 2007, 01:54 PM
I just found this one out,qiute interesting.I was also shocked with it.Don't know you all have this kind of experience or not. Imagine that the processor have to operate at lower voltage to acheive same speed with the norminal voltage,which one is more comfortable to do so? Hehe,another situation is just like applying the formula of P=VI into our processor.Less voltage draw then have to provide more current to acheive same power.
kabukiawie
Apr 8 2007, 03:24 PM
Hmm....something new to know. mean more vcore it cooler? mine normally reported higher in cpuz like i set 1.5 it show 1.55+-  then fluatuated when stress it. Normally it will drop around the vcore i set in bios +- just back from pikom. Really upset, almost nothing new there. Bought a 19" lcd and just set up.  now set mine to stock speed. a bit slow and the temp is almost the same as i run at 3.2GHz.
raymond5105
Apr 8 2007, 03:29 PM
QUOTE(kabukiawie @ Apr 8 2007, 03:24 PM) Hmm....something new to know. mean more vcore it cooler? mine normally reported higher in cpuz like i set 1.5 it show 1.55+-  then fluatuated when stress it. Normally it will drop around the vcore i set in bios +- just back from pikom. Really upset, almost nothing new there. Bought a 19" lcd and just set up.  now set mine to stock speed. a bit slow and the temp is almost the same as i run at 3.2GHz.  You went to Penang PC fair ?Anything specialoffer there?Wehn stress your Vcore drops...seems like the PSU is fluctuating when loading.My PWM will run cooler if i compensate the loss of voltage on it. The PWM will draw less current on the mosfet,less current less heat.