127 Pages « < 65 66 67 68 69 > » Bottom

Fixed Deposit Rates In Malaysia V. No.12, Strictly for FD Discussion Only

lamode
post Apr 15 2016, 01:53 PM

anything could happen!
3,904 posts

For CIMB, placed FD with Jalan P. Ramlee branch last week, ~50k.

managed to nego 4% for 3 mths.
not display anywhere, didn't ask the min to qualify for this.
WhitE LighteR
post Apr 15 2016, 02:33 PM

WhitE LighteR Is Black~
10,340 posts

QUOTE(yahiko @ Apr 15 2016, 01:49 PM)
eh wait.. eGIA is not FD? mind to share how does it work?
its technically an investment fund. so its not protected by PIDM like FD. Its more like a very high interest SA now laugh.gif

This post has been edited by WhitE LighteR: Apr 15 2016, 02:34 PM
cybpsych
post Apr 15 2016, 02:59 PM

---------------------
65,306 posts

QUOTE(Nom-el @ Aug 24 2015, 03:27 PM)
Just to clear the air on the confusion with Maybank's Islamic FDs, the profit rate for Maybank Islamic FD and PNA-I are determined upfront and guaranteed as they are based on commodity murabahah (cost plus sale) concept.

GIA Mudharabah on the other hand is based on profit-sharing where the rate is only indicative (thus not guaranteed).

Please take note that Maybank's GIA Mudharabah is no longer an islamic deposit account after the recent reclassification and thus it is NOT eligible for protection by PIDM anymore. It is an Islamic Investment account with potentially higher profit rate but the principal and profit are not guaranteed.

Technically speaking, it cannot be considered as Islamic FD/TD.

Maybank Islamic FD and PNA-I on the other hand are still Islamic deposits, thus eligible for protection by PIDM.
QUOTE(yahiko @ Apr 15 2016, 01:49 PM)
eh wait.. eGIA is not FD? mind to share how does it work?
read up about GIA (General Investment Account), Islamic Banking, PIDM, etc.

Nom-el explained this nicely before (quoted above), and i keeps quoting his from time to time notworthy.gif

note: I paragraphed his original sentence for reading clarity blush.gif
nbi
post Apr 15 2016, 03:31 PM

258 posts

QUOTE(lamode @ Apr 15 2016, 01:53 PM)
For CIMB, placed FD with Jalan P. Ramlee branch last week, ~50k.

managed to nego 4% for 3 mths.
not display anywhere, didn't ask the min to qualify for this.
hlb 3m 4.2% pa ended?

This post has been edited by nbi: Apr 15 2016, 03:32 PM
cybpsych
post Apr 15 2016, 03:43 PM

---------------------
65,306 posts

QUOTE(nbi @ Apr 15 2016, 03:31 PM)
hlb 3m 4.2% pa ended?
https://www.hlb.com.my/main/promotion/20160...otion-extension
bbgoat
post Apr 15 2016, 06:25 PM

6,614 posts

Wow, today u guys active talking more on MBB's GIA-i. thumbup.gif

I was in BR to renew my FD to 1 yr 4.28%. The gifts promised have not been received by the Penang branch yet. So yygo and sandkoh has to be patient until next week. You guys asking to see the gifts. biggrin.gif

Found out more info on BR's FD. If FD is matured, we have up to 2 weeks to renew it to new promo rate, instead of auto renew to board rate (provided the promo rate is still running at that time). We can even top up cash say 2 weeks later to the matured FD and get the current promo rate. There may be some intricacies in this situation. Anyway that was what I was told today. biggrin.gif The FD will back date to the original maturity date.

That shows BR's flexibility ! thumbup.gif

One more thing about nego rate. 50k can start nego though 100k will have better chance. For 5 yrs, we could try to ask for 4.7% or 4.8%. I think guy3288 may be interested in this. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Apr 15 2016, 06:33 PM
Human Nature
post Apr 15 2016, 06:42 PM

- student of human nature -
26,525 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Apr 15 2016, 06:25 PM)
One more thing about nego rate. 50k can start nego though 100k will have better chance. For 5 yrs, we could try to ask for 4.7% or 4.8%. I think guy3288 may be interested in this.  biggrin.gif
Yup, someone mentioned previously that can nego for:
(1) FD amount RM 50K and above: extra 0.05%
(2) FD amount RM 100K and above: extra 0.10% (maximum)

I am using this number as a guidance biggrin.gif

bbgoat
post Apr 15 2016, 07:20 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Apr 15 2016, 06:42 PM)
Yup, someone mentioned previously that can nego for:
(1) FD amount RM 50K and above: extra 0.05%
(2) FD amount RM 100K and above: extra 0.10% (maximum)

I am using this number as a guidance  biggrin.gif
Ya, your humble one is the one that mentioned this few years back. blush.gif Not sure if I mentioned 0.1% is the max as I did get 0.15% at that time.

But this is not a definite rule as the 0.1% can be broken depending on the sum of money involved. The recent 4.5% is the example. biggrin.gif
Human Nature
post Apr 15 2016, 07:25 PM

26,525 posts

Haha maybe time has changed and BR upped their game. I am hoping they will have another round of promotion in May/June. I will be happy if they can offer 4.3 for 12m at least.
bbgoat
post Apr 15 2016, 07:32 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Apr 15 2016, 07:25 PM)
Haha maybe time has changed and BR upped their game. I am hoping they will have another round of promotion in May/June. I will be happy if they can offer 4.3 for 12m at least.
The current 4.28% min 25k will end on 30th April. But beware as officially they said there is no nego on promo rate. So meaning we have to nego based on board rate 1yr 4.1%. A bit tricky there. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Apr 15 2016, 07:33 PM
poor man
post Apr 15 2016, 07:52 PM

217 posts

“Alliance 12 Months Fixed Deposit Campaign” 12 April 2016 to 30 June 2016

12 months 3.90% p.a. minimum of RM10,000 in Fixed Deposit (FD)

t&c

https://www.alliancebank.com.my/ABMB/media/...-months-3-9.pdf

This post has been edited by poor man: Apr 15 2016, 07:54 PM

Human Nature
post Apr 15 2016, 09:21 PM

26,525 posts

QUOTE(poor man @ Apr 15 2016, 07:52 PM)
“Alliance 12 Months Fixed Deposit Campaign”  12 April 2016 to 30 June 2016

12 months 3.90% p.a. minimum of RM10,000 in Fixed Deposit (FD)

t&c

https://www.alliancebank.com.my/ABMB/media/...-months-3-9.pdf
Dipping below 4.0%? I pray others banks don't follow suit sweat.gif
poor man
post Apr 15 2016, 10:03 PM

217 posts

pbe bank Monthly Interest Payment for Fixed Deposit

Please be informed that with effect from 15 April 2016, the Bank is offering Monthly Interest Payment option for all available tenures of PLUS Fixed Deposit and PB Golden 50 PLUS Fixed Deposit.

https://www.pbebank.com/Annoucements.aspx?qid=306#q306
https://www.pbebank.com/pdf/Announcements/m...nterest-fd.aspx
https://www.pbebank.com/Personal-Banking/Ba...it-Account.aspx
galaxynote259
post Apr 15 2016, 10:33 PM

412 posts

why so low ah now.. before april we are still getting 4.5% p.a. min 10k, sad.gif
kit2
post Apr 15 2016, 10:42 PM

2,281 posts

seems like bnm is on track to a step cut in interests rate?
wil-i-am
post Apr 16 2016, 07:15 AM

10,001 posts

Banks r betting BNM will reduce OPR on 19/5?
aromachong
post Apr 16 2016, 09:47 AM

Trade Dispute
2,644 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Apr 16 2016, 07:15 AM)
Banks r betting BNM will reduce OPR on 19/5?
if like that drop liao lo no more 4.5%? i believe back few months back mach offer 4.5% and BSN did it too
yygo
post Apr 16 2016, 10:02 AM

895 posts

QUOTE(aromachong @ Apr 16 2016, 09:47 AM)
if like that drop liao lo no more 4.5%? i believe back few months back mach offer 4.5% and BSN did it too
oreidy has sign about 2 month back. even mbsb 4.18%. oni uob has this late march for short time.

so 4.5% rclxs0.gif

This post has been edited by yygo: Apr 16 2016, 10:04 AM
aromachong
post Apr 16 2016, 10:32 AM

Trade Dispute
2,644 posts

QUOTE(yygo @ Apr 16 2016, 10:02 AM)
oreidy has sign about 2 month back. even mbsb 4.18%. oni uob has this late march for short time.

so 4.5%  rclxs0.gif
lol i have br so no worries rclxs0.gif

just want put extra money earn this few months into mbb or hlb again hmm...
yygo
post Apr 16 2016, 10:39 AM

895 posts

QUOTE(aromachong @ Apr 16 2016, 10:32 AM)
lol i have br so no worries  rclxs0.gif

just want put extra money earn this few months into mbb or hlb again hmm...
o, br, 4.5%? devil.gif

127 Pages « < 65 66 67 68 69 > » Top

0.0367sec    0.24    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 06:13 AM