AV Receivers/ Speakers/ Subwoofers, Discussion & Opinion

DannyOP
post Apr 28 2016, 08:31 PM

5,220 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Apr 28 2016, 04:36 PM)
Family in the US has the RF-52 series.
I'll say this much; the horn tweeters aren't for everyone. I'm fine with it, my wife didn't like it. Some family members like it, some needed to walk out of the room.

I like the Klipsch RF series of speakers, I think they're pretty nice, speakers wise. Their main downside are their rather lifeless subs IMO, it can rumble yes, but it lacks the tactility and punch.

Don't have a huge experience with Klipsch and I wouldn't mind having their speakers one day either, but definitely with a sub from Hsu Research or SVS.
Ah horn tweeters, I'm not used to them also. Had the Triangle Quartet which also uses horn tweeters and felt it is too sharp at the top end.

I prefer more neutral and equally fast speakers eg Martin Logan.
SSJBen
post Apr 28 2016, 09:30 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(DannyOP @ Apr 28 2016, 08:31 PM)
Ah horn tweeters, I'm not used to them also. Had the Triangle Quartet which also uses horn tweeters and felt it is too sharp at the top end.

I prefer more neutral and equally fast speakers eg Martin Logan.
Indeed. I think horn tweeters are like a 50/50 thing? At least from a lot of opinions I've read from.

Ah Martin Logans, love their ribbon tweeters. Very smooth indeed without the possible harshness from horn tweeters. Which particular series do you like?
TSjovigrunge
post Apr 29 2016, 05:26 AM

2,607 posts

Truth in Sound, Embodied

For those who appreciate accuracy and realism in their audio, the electrostatic transducer is the grail. For those who understand this truth in sound, Martin Logan introduces their new flagship loudspeaker: Neolith.

Neolith is not for the faint of heart. As the embodiment of our philosophy of the truth in sound, its performance is unconstrained. It goes against the grain. In a world of small, Neolith says size is no impediment.

Neolith features one of Martin Logan's largest electrostatic radiating surfaces, fully 35% larger than the Statement E2. Its proprietary curvilinear electrostatic transducer delivers an ideal wave launch; a detailed, ultrarealistic soundstage, reproducing nearly the entire mid-range and high frequency audio spectrum. It is utterly uninhibited by room limitations.

Smoothly blended low-frequencies are provided by a 15-inch rear-firing ported woofer and 12-inch front-firing sealed mid-bass woofer. Combined, they deliver powerful, extremely accurate bass.

And this is just the beginning. The details demand your attention. The exclusive advanced-topology Vojtko Crossover uses hand-selected components for optimum power handling. The passive Neolith design gives you more control, allowing single-wire or bi-amp connections with silver filigree WBT Binding Posts, plus a unique system of audio adjustment jumpers. The audaciously sculpted Neolith frame is made of non-resonant Phenolic Resin Polymer, smoothly finished in a premium automotive gloss. Its hand-crafted woofer cabinet is wrapped in elegant soft leather.

Prepare yourself for an astonishing new audio experience; a bigger, bolder, no-holds-bared experience of breathtakingly articulate performance. The bespoke Neolith is the culmination of over 30 years of Martin Logan passion, engineering innovation and dedication to the ultimate truth in sound.

drool.gif
capoi
post Apr 30 2016, 10:22 AM

473 posts

Dear all Sifus,

Please give me some input according to your experience and knowledge. I'm currently using Panasonic HTiB SC-PT580.
Panasonic SA-PT580

I want to know if I plan to buy an AVR to experience at least Dolby True HD, DTS HDMA and a minimulm DTS, can I reuse the speakers and subwoofer?

My HTiB currently support Dolby sound only. What I read on website, the subwoofer is 250w 6 ohm, center 250w 6 ohm, front left right and rear left right 125w 3 ohm. Can those speakers coop with the AVR? I'm not really know which AVR model yet. With this HTiB, the max volume I ever test was around 60%. Average about 50%.

If I can't use back the speakers, i need to spend more money.Unfortunately, i don't have a bottomless wallet here.
SSJBen
post Apr 30 2016, 07:19 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(capoi @ Apr 30 2016, 10:22 AM)
Dear all Sifus,

Please give me some input according to your experience and knowledge. I'm currently using Panasonic HTiB SC-PT580.
Panasonic SA-PT580

I want to know if I plan to buy an AVR to experience at least Dolby True HD, DTS HDMA and a minimulm DTS, can I reuse the speakers and subwoofer?

My HTiB currently support Dolby sound only. What I read on website, the subwoofer is 250w 6 ohm, center 250w 6 ohm, front left right and rear left right 125w 3 ohm. Can those speakers coop with the AVR? I'm not really know which AVR model yet. With this HTiB, the max volume I ever test was around 60%. Average about 50%.

If I can't use back the speakers, i need to spend more money.Unfortunately, i don't have a bottomless wallet here.
Are you sure it only supports Dolby Digital? How come it says under its manual it supports DTS then?
You sure you are bitstreaming correctly?

To answer your question, no it wouldn't be advisable (if it's even possible) to use them with a receiver. Your sub is passive type for one and all of those power ratings are complete bullshit anyways. Not only that, those speakers are likely very low impedance (perhaps 2 or 3 ohms, usually). Majority of consumer-grade receivers cannot handle that kind of load into speakers without clipping or auto-shutting off at high volumes.

So yes, that leaves you back at square one:

1) Spend some money to do a proper HT system and do it right.
2) Stick with what you have check your settings to see why can't you have DTS decoded (which is weird, because the manual says it does).
capoi
post Apr 30 2016, 08:42 PM

473 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Apr 30 2016, 07:19 PM)
Are you sure it only supports Dolby Digital? How come it says under its manual it supports DTS then?
You sure you are bitstreaming correctly?

To answer your question, no it wouldn't be advisable (if it's even possible) to use them with a receiver. Your sub is passive type for one and all of those power ratings are complete bullshit anyways. Not only that, those speakers are likely very low impedance (perhaps 2 or 3 ohms, usually). Majority of consumer-grade receivers cannot handle that kind of load into speakers without clipping or auto-shutting off at high volumes.

So yes, that leaves you back at square one:

1) Spend some money to do a proper HT system and do it right.
2) Stick with what you have check your settings to see why can't you have DTS decoded (which is weird, because the manual says it does).
I'm aware of DTS support but it only can if I play DTS from DVD. I'm using media player. If I set it to bitstream, no sound will come out. I'm using optical cable from media player to HTiB. If Dolby, no problem at all.

Regarding my question, if I want to setup a new HT, what is a minimum budget I need to allocate? At least it can give me a bit of idea about budget. At least the AVR i buy will give a same result if not better compared to my HTiB. If I know about budget, then I can plan to start saving from now. I don't need a big speakers but at least it can coop with the load from AVR.
OPT
post Apr 30 2016, 11:08 PM

Wee wang wang
2,064 posts

QUOTE(capoi @ Apr 30 2016, 08:42 PM)
I'm aware of DTS support but it only can if I play DTS from DVD. I'm using media player. If I set it to bitstream, no sound will come out. I'm using optical cable from media player to HTiB. If Dolby, no problem at all.

Regarding my question, if I want to setup a new HT, what is a minimum budget I need to allocate? At least it can give me a bit of idea about budget. At least the AVR i buy will give a same result if not better compared to my HTiB. If I know about budget, then I can plan to start saving from now. I don't need a big speakers but at least it can coop with the load from AVR.
Sharing my experience...

I bought 1.6k Harman Kardon AVR + 5.1 satellite speakers...display unit few years back (what a bargain!)

Later, I found the satellite's not to my liking, but decent speakers are quite expensive (in my opinion..), so I browsed through mudah.my for used speakers and found a Jamo 3 speakers (center+2 front floorstanding only sad.gif) for 900. I purchased it.

Later I put my satellites in mudah and sold them for 1.3k...and later i bought new Jamo surround bookshelf for 600.

Very happy with what i have for now, though no sub.

I would advise to go for a decent AVR and slowly upgrade the speakers smile.gif

This post has been edited by OPT: May 1 2016, 08:24 AM
SSJBen
post Apr 30 2016, 11:35 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(capoi @ Apr 30 2016, 08:42 PM)

Then it's your media player that doesn't support carrying DTS from optical out, not your HTiB player problem.

If you go all second hand, you could get away with a 5.1 setup at relatively low budget; say around RM4k+ including an entry level AVR. My suggestion, you set aside a fixed budget and get the best left, center and right channels + a decent receiver first. Then add the surrounds when you have a higher budget.

Popular and decent entry level mid-fi speakers range from Pioneer's AJ series and Sony Core Series speakers. They're relatively cheap, offer good sound and a great value.
herojack41
post May 1 2016, 01:04 AM

Master Of Trouble Maker
5,697 posts

QUOTE(OPT @ Apr 30 2016, 11:08 PM)
Sharing my experience...

I bought 1.6k Harman Kardon AVR + 5.1 satellite speakers...display unit few years back (what a bargain!)

Later, I found the satellite's not to my liking, but decent speakers are quite expensive (in my opinion..), so I browsed through mudah.my for used speakers and found a Jamo 3 speakers (center+2 front only sad.gif) for 900. I purchased it.

Later I put my satellites in mudah and sold them for 1.3k...and later i bought new Jamo surround bookshelf for 600.

Very happy with what i have for now, though no sub.

I would advise to go for a decent AVR and slowly upgrade the speakers  smile.gif
laugh.gif thats 1 complicated history

well.....yeah should get a decent AVR first and decide the speakers later

coz the AVR is the thing that ppl wont keep on changing.

currently using onkyo TX-NR709

thinking to get a new pair of floor standing speakers but pricing of a "decent" 1 easily hit 2k+ bangwall.gif
capoi
post May 1 2016, 02:12 AM

473 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Apr 30 2016, 11:35 PM)
Then it's your media player that doesn't support carrying DTS from optical out, not your HTiB player problem.

If you go all second hand, you could get away with a 5.1 setup at relatively low budget; say around RM4k+ including an entry level AVR. My suggestion, you set aside a fixed budget and get the best left, center and right channels + a decent receiver first. Then add the surrounds when you have a higher budget.

Popular and decent entry level mid-fi speakers range from Pioneer's AJ series and Sony Core Series speakers. They're relatively cheap, offer good sound and a great value.
Actually it was a common issue for Panasonic system via optical. I read it in AVS forum.

I.think its not easy to find a secondhand avr and speaker. I lurking at Onkyo and Denon website. The price is around 2k-3k. May I know where can I check the speakers info? Only found a few in lazada.
OPT
post May 1 2016, 08:28 AM

Wee wang wang
2,064 posts

QUOTE(capoi @ May 1 2016, 02:12 AM)
Actually it was a common issue for Panasonic system via optical. I read it in AVS forum.

I.think its not easy to find a secondhand avr and speaker. I lurking at Onkyo and Denon website. The price is around 2k-3k. May I know where can I check the speakers info? Only found a few in lazada.
I'd suggest Mudah website or hifi.net (or something like that...)

IMHO, AVRs and speakers are quite long lasting. Shouldn't be an issue with display or used unit.

Desa Home Theater sometimes sell these new units at quite a bargain...
ccschua
post May 1 2016, 12:36 PM

1,630 posts

I wonder if its possible to use JBL Charge 2+ as satellites. it seems this little boombox is not only clear and nice but also bluetooth.
TSjovigrunge
post May 1 2016, 03:47 PM

2,607 posts

QUOTE(OPT @ May 1 2016, 08:28 AM)
I'd suggest Mudah website or hifi.net (or something like that...)

IMHO, AVRs and speakers are quite long lasting. Shouldn't be an issue with display or used unit.

Desa Home Theater sometimes sell these new units at quite a bargain...
I agree. Desa Home Theatre offers very good bargain during big sales. I will go there and buy (Kepong). icon_rolleyes.gif
SSJBen
post May 1 2016, 06:53 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(capoi @ May 1 2016, 02:12 AM)

Search hifi4sale.

You just missed a big sale by Desa HT Kepong just a couple of weeks ago. They were letting go many AVRs for some seriously good prices.
The next sale should probably be around KLIAV2016, but don't put too much hope on it.

As for speakers, search up what you want first. Check reviews online, unfortunately majority of which are not local but you can at least get the idea. Then source out AV stores for prices.

Yes, buying speakers in Malaysia isn't easy. The market is simply too small here and it's still shrinking.

QUOTE(ccschua @ May 1 2016, 12:36 PM)
I wonder if its possible to use JBL Charge 2+ as satellites. it seems this little boombox is not only clear and nice but also bluetooth.
No. Where are you going to send the analog signal to? The speakers has no inputs other than USB.
SUSsupersound
post May 2 2016, 09:59 AM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(ccschua @ May 1 2016, 12:36 PM)
Small room is ok, but not bigger room.
ccschua
post May 5 2016, 07:49 AM

1,630 posts

I wonder if anyone consider this speakers for a low to medium performance HT system. its mount in ceiling and looks neat and nice. the review says its good.

I wonder if anyone install this and is it suitable for our plaster ceiling ?

http://www.amazon.com/dp/B000O3TFZO/?tag=constop-20
SUSjdgobio
post May 5 2016, 03:28 PM

1,010 posts

Need some advice from the gurus here.

A friend wants to sell me his Yamaha Aventage RX-A1020 (2013 model) for RM1,750.

I currently have a Yamaha RX-V371 (entry level Year 2011 model) and Tannoy Mercury V4 floor-standers with a 12" subwoofer. Plan to get the Tannoy centre & rear speakers soon. I don't foresee going beyond 5.1 anytime soon but having a 7.1 capable AVR wouldn't hurt.

So my question is whether the A1020 is worth it for the price and will it make any difference compared to my current AVR?
Or should I just get the 2016 model RX-V481 (not available yet) which will cost around the same price but have newer functions like hdcp 2.2, hdmi 2.0 and more network functions compared to the Aventage?

dirtrun
post May 5 2016, 03:35 PM

3,136 posts

QUOTE(ccschua @ May 5 2016, 07:49 AM)
I wonder if anyone consider this speakers for a low to medium performance HT system. its mount in ceiling and looks neat and nice. the review says its good.

I wonder if anyone install this and is it suitable for our plaster ceiling ?

http://www.amazon.com/dp/B000O3TFZO/?tag=constop-20

FWIW,

I got tis :

JBL in-ceiling spkrs

l tried em by substitutin it for my fronts [ plugged in de fronts red/blck bananas ] ; it was all for a little while so l guess its not a real honest to goodness trial but it sounded tinny - l suspect its lack of bracing and box contributes to tis..
For wat its intended for [ overhead spkrs once ; if ever ; l do go atmos route..] , l guess it wont be too shabby..
But l wont go tis route for proper boxed spkrs for surrs - l prefer to know exactly where my sound is coming from boom/bang bass included..

D

dirtrun
post May 5 2016, 03:42 PM

3,136 posts

QUOTE(jdgobio @ May 5 2016, 03:28 PM)

A friend wants to sell me his Yamaha Aventage RX-A1020 (2013 model) for RM1,750.

I currently have a Yamaha RX-V371 (entry level Year 2011 model) and Tannoy Mercury V4 floor-standers with a 12" subwoofer. Plan to get the Tannoy centre & rear speakers soon. I don't foresee going beyond 5.1 anytime soon but having a 7.1 capable AVR wouldn't hurt.

So my question is whether the A1020 is worth it for the price and will it make any difference compared to my current AVR?
Or should I just get the 2016 model RX-V481 (not available yet) which will cost around the same price but have newer functions like hdcp 2.2, hdmi 2.0 and more network functions compared to the Aventage?

My 2 cts worth,

Buying used is all about timing .. do u find tis model appealing, sonically? It shld have more 'muscle' than wat u are used to.. Do u need de xtra juice?
Do u need the 2016 functions you mentioned? If so, then you already answered your own question..

For me, a more upmarket model is always better than a newer model budget amp..

To me.. tongue.gif
D

SSJBen
post May 5 2016, 04:07 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(jdgobio @ May 5 2016, 03:28 PM)

Do you absolutely need HDMI 2.0 and HDCP 2.2? I mean, do you have a UHD TV or 4k Projector? If you do, then are you going to invest in 4k BD players? And again, IF you do, are you going to invest in buying UHD BDs?

I know "UHD" and "HDR" is the it thing now. If you're going to advantage of HDR, is your UHD TV capable of doing HDR in the first place? Everyone wants it, but many don't understand why they actually do.

Then the other features like Atmos or DTS:X. Are you planning to do either format anytime soon? Even if you are, the 481 will be tied to 7 channels processing only. So your only choice is 5.x.2, is your room size too big as to render the heights useless? These are things you have to figure out.

If I were you, I'd get the A1020 without a hint of a doubt.
With the A1020 you get better components, you get a better power supply, you get a better transformer in there, you get things that the Aventage line have where the "V" series doesn't, all for roughly the same price.

119 Pages « < 12 13 14 15 16 > » Top

0.0290sec    0.39    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 05:04 AM