AV Receivers/ Speakers/ Subwoofers, Discussion & Opinion

SUSjdgobio
post May 5 2016, 03:28 PM

1,010 posts

Need some advice from the gurus here.

A friend wants to sell me his Yamaha Aventage RX-A1020 (2013 model) for RM1,750.

I currently have a Yamaha RX-V371 (entry level Year 2011 model) and Tannoy Mercury V4 floor-standers with a 12" subwoofer. Plan to get the Tannoy centre & rear speakers soon. I don't foresee going beyond 5.1 anytime soon but having a 7.1 capable AVR wouldn't hurt.

So my question is whether the A1020 is worth it for the price and will it make any difference compared to my current AVR?
Or should I just get the 2016 model RX-V481 (not available yet) which will cost around the same price but have newer functions like hdcp 2.2, hdmi 2.0 and more network functions compared to the Aventage?

SUSjdgobio
post May 5 2016, 04:15 PM

1,010 posts

QUOTE(dirtrun @ May 5 2016, 03:42 PM)
My 2 cts worth,

Buying used is all about timing .. do u find tis model appealing, sonically? It shld have more 'muscle' than wat u are used to.. Do u need de xtra juice?
Do u need the 2016 functions you mentioned? If so, then you already answered your own question..

For me, a more upmarket model is always better than a newer model budget amp..

To me.. tongue.gif
D
Can't really say much about the sonic appeal coz I have listened to it with some nice PSB speakers for a while but not with my Tannoys. Can't really say that I can make out any difference in terms of sound quality.
My current AVR drives the Tannoys well but I have no idea whether a better AVR with more power will make a noticeable difference.
Compared to my current AVR which has no network function/on-screen display, this Aventage seems good with LAN port and OSD. Wireless & bluetooth is lacking but i guess I can live with that. The main drawback is that newer 4k hdmi standards are not supported.

If I get a 2016 model AVR, I will get the full 4k hdmi support and probably wireless support as well but the power will be less.

I was also having the same thought as you to get a more upmarket amp. What do you think about the price? Does it seem reasonable?
SUSjdgobio
post May 5 2016, 04:35 PM

1,010 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ May 5 2016, 04:07 PM)
Do you absolutely need HDMI 2.0 and HDCP 2.2? I mean, do you have a UHD TV or 4k Projector? If you do, then are you going to invest in 4k BD players? And again, IF you do, are you going to invest in buying UHD BDs?

I know "UHD" and "HDR" is the it thing now. If you're going to advantage of HDR, is your UHD TV capable of doing HDR in the first place? Everyone wants it, but many don't understand why they actually do.

Then the other features like Atmos or DTS:X. Are you planning to do either format anytime soon? Even if you are, the 481 will be tied to 7 channels processing only. So your only choice is 5.x.2, is your room size too big as to render the heights useless? These are things you have to figure out.

If I were you, I'd get the A1020 without a hint of a doubt.
With the A1020 you get better components, you get a better power supply, you get a better transformer in there, you get things that the Aventage line have where the "V" series doesn't, all for roughly the same price.
I have a 2015 model UHD TV which is HDR "capable". Since the HDR standards were only adopted during CES 2016 (UHD Premium), I am not fully confident about HDR compatibility with the new crop of UHD BDs but I have seen visible differences with downloaded sample files with HDR. At the moment due to the dearth of content, have no plans to invest in 4k BDPs and discs. But, I believe once content becomes plenty, it will be very much worth it to invest in UHD BDs. But I don't see this hapenning at least untill the later part of 2017.

While I would like to get Atmos & DTS:X, on a practical note due to wife acceptance & budget, I will not be looking at it anytime soon. In 5 years time, maybe.

Thanks for your opinion on what you would do. Gives me the confidence that getting it will be the right choice smile.gif

SUSjdgobio
post May 5 2016, 06:44 PM

1,010 posts

QUOTE(dirtrun @ May 5 2016, 04:38 PM)
On paper,

A double pwr [watts] will only give a 3 db gain - all tings considered but tats outrite power not de small nuances a better power generates on your spkr - de only way to knw is to plug it in n hear for yourslf - personally l tink itll be a little difference only..

I cant answer for you but if l were to upgrade my avr now [ 7002 ] , l would be looking for an atmos/dts X capable one..
N since l am used to my ol ones sound - l guess a budget one is out of d question..

Price for d used yammy .. hmmnn, how much was it, new? Shld at least be half price - less is better cos if anyting goes wrong.. well.. it all adds up..

tongue.gif
D
Thanks for your insight. I also believe the nuances will be small that a non-audiophile like me may not appreciate the differences.
Well, since I am used to budget receivers, even a step-up to 4 or 5 series Yamaha AVRs will be good enough especially with all the new functions available now.

I think it was about RM3,000 new, so RM1,500 and below will be a good price.

I saw the RX-V579 at RM1,800 - clearance price. Maybe, that's a good option as well.
SUSjdgobio
post May 17 2016, 10:57 AM

1,010 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Feb 19 2016, 05:52 PM)
Pricing is actually insanely good lol. Why? Because it comes with free BD-7200 player and a MDR1ABT headphone. You sell both off at 80% price from new and the DN1060 is like only 1.4k.

The DN1060 also doesn't sound half bad, in fact very good. Great soundstage, good imaging, punchy dynamics (lol not Sony's forte at all previously).
Too bad it falls short on the video department though, only ONE HDCP 2.2 capable port (ridiculous), no HDR support via firmware, only 1 port does 4:4:4 @ 60hz and input lag that cannot be eradicated.

Then there's the reliability.... well, the 1060 hasn't been out that long yet to hear about the horror stories of Sony receivers going dead for no reason what so ever.
I know that this an old post, but how did you get that promotion price with free headphone & bd player?
Any idea if the promotion is still available? Thanks.
SUSjdgobio
post May 17 2016, 07:08 PM

1,010 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ May 17 2016, 04:57 PM)
Sony KLCC.
That was a few months ago (in Jan IIRC). Definitely promo over already.

Seems like SG already have the new rx x81. Malaysia still no news.
SUSjdgobio
post May 18 2016, 08:57 AM

1,010 posts

Any chance of moving your tv cabinet and tv to the left wall? With your new 4k tv you should be sitting closer to the tv anyway. Maybe floorstands will become possible then?
SUSjdgobio
post May 18 2016, 10:07 AM

1,010 posts

QUOTE(sivanathan04 @ May 18 2016, 07:42 AM)
My budget below 2k for speaker..the 3020 price below 2k or higher....and another 1.5k for amp mayb subwoofer I will add later...
You can also check out used speakers and AVRs which can sometimes give you great value for your money.

One more thing, speakers are a very personal thing. While the recommendations by the sifus here help to narrow down your choices, you should still listen to those speakers yourself and find out whether you like them.

This post has been edited by jdgobio: May 18 2016, 10:33 AM
SUSjdgobio
post May 18 2016, 03:40 PM

1,010 posts

QUOTE(sivanathan04 @ May 18 2016, 02:07 PM)
I don't think so once I move the tv cabinet sure will have more problem with sofa...if I have a good width sure can buy floor stands like that😢....scared to buy used item bro because didn't have experience...plus very hard to find the shop in my area and listen to it...that's why I'm going with sifu suggestion I think their recommendation looks great...im going to bought it at kl...next month I have some work thr so will go around and bought thr easy for me....i like the suggestion a pair of bookshelf speaker with integrated amp and subwoofer..I think with my budget I can get a good pair of bookshelf below 2k then another 1.5k for amp..subwoofer will add later just my idea.
Ok.
Why not test a few at the shops in KL before deciding which one to go with? Well, its ultimately your choice but be warned that while the suggestion may "look" good to you, it may not "sound" so. Anyway, if you don't test other speakers you will never know what you're missing so that may be a good thing in your case.

Sometimes you will be surprised to find that even a RM900 bookshelf may sound better than a RM2000 one for the simple reason that it sounds better to you although all the professional reviewers rave about the RM2k speakers. At other times the more expensive one sounds only marginally better at which point you need to think whether you're willing to spend double the amount for a marginal difference. The law of diminishing returns applies here.
SUSjdgobio
post May 23 2016, 11:03 AM

1,010 posts

Why is there no love for the Tannoy V1 / V1i bookshelf speakers?
It's only RM900 per pair and IMO its great value for money.
I really love the sound signature especially for music. Should do great for movies too as the drivers are the same as the ones in the V4 floorstanders which are great for HT.

I think Tannoy speakers provide great value for the price. Only downside is the local distributor.
SUSjdgobio
post May 23 2016, 03:34 PM

1,010 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ May 23 2016, 03:00 PM)
@bolded
You answered your question.
I saw that one coming biggrin.gif
Those guys at Unicorn Electronics are really spoiling the brand here in Malaysia.

Harvey Norman carry some Tannoy models, maybe possible to order through them though I'm sure they get it from the distributors as well. Recently saw them having some DC6 bookshelf speakers and TS2.10 sub on clearance sale.
Didn't have time to check further that day.

This post has been edited by jdgobio: May 23 2016, 03:39 PM
SUSjdgobio
post May 23 2016, 05:54 PM

1,010 posts

QUOTE(jovigrunge @ May 23 2016, 05:38 PM)
Yours? Nice smile.gif
SUSjdgobio
post May 23 2016, 09:06 PM

1,010 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ May 23 2016, 08:04 PM)
Exactly~~!
I do wish there are more budget orientated speakers here with good support, and without dipping down into those that sound like sewage.

There are so many speakers I want to recommend, but getting them here means importing. Chane has some fantastic speakers, Ascend Acoustics too, all without breaking the bank.
I guess the market is just too small here to have a good variety. But on the bright side I do see things changing. More people are into good quality portable audio, they will eventually move to home audio. We are also getting more variety now compared to 15 years ago but still very small when compared to developed countries.
SUSjdgobio
post May 24 2016, 09:22 AM

1,010 posts

QUOTE(jovigrunge @ May 23 2016, 09:21 PM)
Not mine. Random photo search for all our buddies here.  blush.gif
Oh I see biggrin.gif

The one in your picture is the V1. The newer one is called V1i it comes with magnesium-aluminium alloy tweeters which goes up to 53kHz. The only visible difference is the tweeter shield and the colour of the tweeters - see picture below:

This post has been edited by jdgobio: May 24 2016, 09:28 AM
SUSjdgobio
post May 24 2016, 05:50 PM

1,010 posts

QUOTE(sonerin @ May 23 2016, 09:40 PM)
Also buying power in Malaysia is limited.
True and it just became worse this past year sad.gif
SUSjdgobio
post Dec 9 2016, 04:47 PM

1,010 posts

QUOTE(hooi @ Dec 4 2016, 01:22 PM)
Thanks for your advice ktek.
I am located up North, so going KL to survey for AV receiver is too far.

By the way, I am also looking to replace my MS10i as one speaker's binding posts were previously damaged after my kid tripped the speaker (which was on stand). I have since changed to a hanging tv cabinet, and the front speakers sit on it.

I see online shop selling Q Acoustics Q2020i at rm899 per pair.
I wonder how the sound will be like if paired to Denon X1200W?
If only binding posts are damaged, can change the binding post terminals only.

Lazada

Even if you decide to buy new speakers, can still sell the old one after fixing it.
SUSjdgobio
post Apr 3 2017, 04:59 PM

1,010 posts

Plan to upgrade from my rx-v371. Quite satisfied with my current setup (Tannoy V4, VC & VR and PSB Sub 300) but I'm making do with optical cables now due to the HDMI cables going direct to 4K tv.

Looking at Denon X1300 / X2300W or Marantz SR5011 mainly for 4K HDR passthrough and hopefully better audio. X1300 is about RM2000 and the other 2 are around RM3000.

Can't find a place to audition them, any suggestions on which AVR I should go for are greatly appreciated. Thanks.
SUSjdgobio
post Apr 3 2017, 05:48 PM

1,010 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Apr 3 2017, 05:35 PM)
Out of those 3 options, I'd go with the SR5011 solely because it has pre-outs. Never know when you may need pre-outs, but when you want/need it and the receiver doesn't offer any - you'd be pressing your own balls on why didn't you get one with it.

Also, it's April now. That means the yearly announcement of receivers are just around the corner (Yamaha and Onkyo has started), you may want to wait out on that instead.
Thanks for the suggestion, I was thinking it would be good to have the pre-outs as well although I may never use it, but you never know. As for the sound, would there be a huge difference between Denon & Marantz or would it just be subtle? While I am keeping expectations low, it would be nice to get better audio. Since I got the Tannoys early last year I have been listening to music a lot more than I used to coz it sounds really good compared with what I was using previously. Hope I get a decent upgrade.

Good point on the timing, might scope it out for another couple of months before pulling the trigger.
SUSjdgobio
post Apr 3 2017, 07:10 PM

1,010 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Apr 3 2017, 06:46 PM)
IINM, the x2300w and SR5011 share very similar major components - the DAC(s), the transformer, the op-amps, the caps...  But well, honestly the biggest difference in "sound" between them is down to how Audyssey could potentially screw up the EQ in relation to one another since it's impossible that they'll return the same EQ results every single time.

To be very honest and frank with you, changing receivers and not employing any sort of its auto-EQ system would generally result in; mostly subtle perceivable difference.
Better or not is subjective. If you ask me, I can't tell the difference between a Bur-Brown DAC vs a Sabre DAC. But there are people who would swear that they can and when asked to explain the science behind it, they cannot and start talking in gibberish "audiophile lingo" for whatever reasons.

So yeah, whatever sounds better to you is at the end of the day, is all that matters. Impossible for me to tell you if you'll get better audio quality with either x2300w or SR5011 over your current Yamaha v371.
Hmm.. thanks for sharing your insight. I have heard a few different AVRs previously and I always had the suspicion that the AVRs didn't really make that much of a difference compared to the speakers which I think is very obvious. Well, at least I can't really tell the difference myself although the salesmen were trying to convince/con me that there was a big difference. Making me think that I could probably get away with just getting the X1300w and save the 1k to get speakers for my PC.
SUSjdgobio
post Apr 3 2017, 07:14 PM

1,010 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Apr 3 2017, 07:02 PM)
I do know there's a huge difference between Denon & Marantz pricing in Malaysia  rclxub.gif
Prices have come down somewhat recently maybe because they are trying to get rid of 2016 models before the 2017 models are launched. At the moment, Denon & Marantz pricing are better compared to Yamaha & Onkyo which are still asking for the same price as when they launched.

0.0923sec    0.63    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 06:43 PM