126 Pages « < 49 50 51 52 53 > » Bottom

Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadband Thread V24

Xefron
post Mar 2 2016, 02:10 PM

2,507 posts

Telekom Malaysia Berhad ™ wishes to announce that our consortium members have detected a fault on the Asia Submarine Cable Express (ASE) system off Singapore, which affected our Cahaya Malaysia submarine cable linking Malaysia to North Asia and the United States. ASE consists of 6 fiber pairs of which TM owns 2 fiber pairs, named as Cahaya Malaysia. We have immediately taken pro-active steps by optimising our networks to reduce congestion and diverting traffic to alternative routes, thus, minimising the impact to our users. ​

The restoration works requires concerted efforts of all consortium members, and is scheduled to begin on 25 March and is expected to be completed on 31 March 2016. However, we wish to highlight that the restoration works will be subject to weather and sea conditions, identification of the actual location of the fault and the challenges ahead, working at great sea depths and pressure.

During this period, Internet users may experience some degree of service degradation such as slow browsing and high latency while accessing international websites mainly hosted in the United States (US), North Asia and Europe. Customers using Virtual Private Networks (VPNs) and other critical business applications linked to US, North Asia and Europe may also experience some level of service degradation.

We will continue to provide necessary updates on the progress of the restoration works via our official customer support accounts on Twitter @TMConnects as well as on Facebook at Everyone Connects, and will monitor feedback from our customers on the quality of service experienced.

We apologise for any inconvenience caused and would like to assure customers that we are undertaking all necessary measures to ensure that customers continue to experience uninterrupted service.

We wish to thank our customers for their understanding and patience during the affected period. Should you have any questions or require any assistance, you can reach us at @TMConnects​ or via Everyone Connects​ Facebook page​. We can also be contacted via email at help@tm.com.my. ​
sHawTY
post Mar 2 2016, 02:15 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

QUOTE(holymushroom @ Mar 2 2016, 12:47 PM)
r u sure the original adsl line for streamyx can support for adv plan 30? Mine is a high rise but they still pull a new black cable to my hse.
Yes, the ADSL line can still support 30Mb/s
My brother is on a high rise and his BTU is connected to the ADSL telephone port
Xefron
post Mar 2 2016, 02:25 PM

2,507 posts

QUOTE(holymushroom @ Mar 2 2016, 12:47 PM)
r u sure the original adsl line for streamyx can support for adv plan 30? Mine is a high rise but they still pull a new black cable to my hse.
it depends on the address. some high rise will be using VDSL or if ur lucky u will be using FTTH.

if black wires ? maybe ftth is coming to your premise brows.gif
pcphobic
post Mar 2 2016, 02:45 PM

287 posts

QUOTE(G K Lai @ Mar 2 2016, 01:51 AM)
Hi jack2001, this is interesting, I disconnect and pack-up the HyppTV box as soon as the installer leave my house because I will not be able to enjoy it since the installer told me can't use Wi-Fi to watch it and LAN cable is not an option for me. Just to verify, they gave me this kind of box:

[attachmentid=6096419]

Since you said TM's own router doesn't support streaming with Wi-Fi, what is the other options?

1) I bought Asus RT-AC55UHP and it has guess network support, can this router be configure to watch HyppTV wirelessly?

2) I have a Linksys E4200 loaded with DD-WRT (and I saw Vlan tagging in there, although I don't know how they work), can I use this Linksys router as a repeater or how can I utilize this old router for HyppTV?  icon_question.gif

I heard some user complain about TM's Huawei router sucks, but I can get good speed from it's W-Fi signal. Here's the Speedtest result, all default TM equipment with default setting, did the test with my good old Galaxy Note 3  blush.gif

[attachmentid=6096421]

But I do admit this Huawei router really ugly looking.  sweat.gif

I have the same Android HyppTV STB. It has Wifi lah. I am using Wifi to stream movies while using the Lan port for HyppTV channels.

Lan Port 4 on the default Unifi WiFi Router (Residential Gateway) is a VLan dedicated only for HyppTV IPTV channels.
When you try to plug in to other Lan Ports other than Lan Port 4, the HyppTV cannot work.
But when you plug back to Lan Port 4, HyppTV works but Internet cannot be accessed via the HyppTV Set Top Box (STB).

But thanks to my brother who was playing around with the settings in the HyppTV Set Top Box, we discovered that you can enable Wifi on it and use Wifi connection to surf the Internet from the HyppTV Set Top Box while still be able to watch HyppTV IPTV channels via the dedicated IPTV Lan Port 4.

PM me if u wanna know how to turn on Wifi on this HyppTV STB Box

This post has been edited by pcphobic: Mar 2 2016, 02:55 PM
nonexno
post Mar 2 2016, 02:51 PM

570 posts

my downloads i can hit 3mbs but how come when i play csgo got lag?
pcphobic
post Mar 2 2016, 02:54 PM

287 posts

QUOTE(nonexno @ Mar 2 2016, 02:51 PM)
That's why I don't believe the news article about cable damaged.

Just reboot or reconnect until u get an IP address starting with 175.xxx

pcphobic
post Mar 2 2016, 02:59 PM

287 posts

QUOTE(shirley_andy @ Mar 1 2016, 10:54 PM)
Hi, planning to upgrade from Streamyx 1Mbps to Unifi 30.

Question, I'm not sure how does Unifi setup looks like, can anyone please explain? Like how streamyx works by phone line splitting into phone and modem, then modem transmit wifi to all devices in the house.

But how about Unifi? Is it the same? if so then can I put the modem and router different location from hypptv box which is connected to the tv? ie can hypptv box connect to modem via wifi? Cuz my tv and hypptv box will be downstairs, and I want the modem/router to be upstairs so that my pc can connect to modem via LAN cable instead of wifi for better stability.
My Unifi BTU (the fiber optic box) is upstairs.

My TV and HyppTV Set Top Box and Wifi Router is downstairs.

How I solved my problem is simple. I use Home Plugs.

Below is my setup:

BTU => Home plug A => Home plug B => Wifi Router

pcphobic
post Mar 2 2016, 03:03 PM

287 posts

QUOTE(jack2001 @ Mar 1 2016, 11:55 PM)
The hypptv can be connected by wifi if you want but your router must support (TM's Doesn't)  Vlan tagging for guest wifi(You need this for seperate wifi connection), I tried it and it works.
Lan Port 4 on the default Unifi WiFi Router (Residential Gateway) is a VLan dedicated only for HyppTV IPTV channels.
When you try to plug in to other Lan Ports other than Lan Port 4, the HyppTV cannot work.
But when you plug back to Lan Port 4, HyppTV works but Internet cannot be accessed via the HyppTV Set Top Box (STB).

But thanks to my brother who was playing around with the settings in the HyppTV Set Top Box,
we discovered that you can enable Wifi on it and use Wifi connection from the Wifi Router to surf the Internet from the HyppTV Set Top Box while still be able to watch HyppTV IPTV channels via the LAN cable by plugging it into the dedicated IPTV Lan Port 4 on the Wifi Router.

lkcheng
post Mar 2 2016, 03:14 PM

589 posts

QUOTE(VeeJay @ Mar 2 2016, 02:05 PM)
But surprising...I dont hear much complains from other ISP users?
I'll try using YES. I remembered TM has same problem years ago, I was lucky to have YES Internet that time. It is smooth.
klorok
post Mar 2 2016, 03:15 PM

28 posts

which dns u use?
erik8lyt
post Mar 2 2016, 03:24 PM

715 posts

QUOTE(cipollll @ Mar 2 2016, 08:47 AM)
Update: since i rebooted my modem to get 175.X IP, all seems normal, facebook, games, everything. Just played a competitive match of CSGO with no packet loss at all.

Try it out guys rclxms.gif
My in-game ping and packet loss were fine in the morning. But in the afternoon, they aren't fine. Anyone having the same problem as me?

This post has been edited by erik8lyt: Mar 2 2016, 03:24 PM
babycookie
post Mar 2 2016, 03:28 PM

54 posts

QUOTE(Xefron @ Mar 2 2016, 03:10 PM)
Telekom Malaysia Berhad ™ wishes to announce that our consortium members have detected a fault on the Asia Submarine Cable Express (ASE) system off Singapore, which affected our Cahaya Malaysia submarine cable linking Malaysia to North Asia and the United States. ASE consists of 6 fiber pairs of which TM owns 2 fiber pairs, named as Cahaya Malaysia. We have immediately taken pro-active steps by optimising our networks to reduce congestion and diverting traffic to alternative routes, thus, minimising the impact to our users. ​

The restoration works requires concerted efforts of all consortium members, and is scheduled to begin on 25 March and is expected to be completed on 31 March 2016. However, we wish to highlight that the restoration works will be subject to weather and sea conditions, identification of the actual location of the fault and the challenges ahead, working at great sea depths and pressure. 

During this period, Internet users may experience some degree of service degradation such as slow browsing and high latency while accessing international websites mainly hosted in the United States (US), North Asia and Europe. Customers using Virtual Private Networks (VPNs) and other critical business applications linked to US, North Asia and Europe may also experience some level of service degradation. 

We will continue to provide necessary updates on the progress of the restoration works via our official customer support accounts on Twitter @TMConnects as well as on Facebook at Everyone Connects, and will monitor feedback from our customers on the quality of service experienced. 

We apologise for any inconvenience caused and would like to assure customers that we are undertaking all necessary measures to ensure that customers continue to experience uninterrupted service. 

We wish to thank our customers for their understanding and patience during the affected period. Should you have any questions or require any assistance, you can reach us at @TMConnects​ or via Everyone Connects​ Facebook page​. We can also be contacted via email at help@tm.com.my. ​
Source?
MyPIA
post Mar 2 2016, 03:29 PM

178 posts

QUOTE(nonexno @ Mar 2 2016, 02:51 PM)
There is a difference between download and ping

ping means quality of your connection

download speed means bandwidth of the connection like a highway carrying data

the problem we're facing right now is quality of connection right now sad.gif
lkcheng
post Mar 2 2016, 03:40 PM

589 posts

QUOTE(babycookie @ Mar 2 2016, 03:28 PM)
Source?
https://www.tm.com.my/OnlineHelp/Announceme...AULT_2-MAR.aspx
fieznur81
post Mar 2 2016, 03:48 PM

276 posts

Got any news on new area having unifi? What about the 2nd phase HSBB plan?
G K Lai
post Mar 2 2016, 03:50 PM

839 posts

QUOTE(pcphobic @ Mar 2 2016, 02:45 PM)

I have the same Android HyppTV STB. It has Wifi lah. I am using Wifi to stream movies while using the Lan port for HyppTV channels.

But thanks to my brother who was playing around with the settings in the HyppTV Set Top Box, we discovered that you can enable Wifi on it and use Wifi connection to surf the Internet from the HyppTV Set Top Box while still be able to watch HyppTV IPTV channels via the dedicated IPTV Lan Port 4.
PM me if u wanna know how to turn on Wifi on this HyppTV STB Box
Thank you very much~ notworthy.gif

QUOTE(pcphobic @ Mar 2 2016, 02:59 PM)
My Unifi BTU (the fiber optic box) is upstairs.

My TV and HyppTV Set Top Box and Wifi Router is downstairs.

How I solved my problem is simple. I use Home Plugs.

Below is my setup:

BTU => Home plug A => Home plug B => Wifi Router

I have this home plug years ago, same brand but different model, rarely use, but recently found out it is faulty and no longer works... cry.gif
holymushroom
post Mar 2 2016, 03:57 PM

366 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Mar 2 2016, 02:15 PM)
Yes, the ADSL line can still support 30Mb/s
My brother is on a high rise and his BTU is connected to the ADSL telephone port
i see, they give me a new cable instead of using the old 1 (4mbps)
QUOTE(Xefron @ Mar 2 2016, 02:25 PM)
it depends on the address. some high rise will be using VDSL or if ur lucky u will be using FTTH.

if black wires ? maybe ftth is coming to your premise  brows.gif
yup... the cable look something like this.

nonexno
post Mar 2 2016, 04:09 PM

570 posts

QUOTE(MyPIA @ Mar 2 2016, 03:29 PM)
There is a difference between download and ping

ping means quality of your connection

download speed means bandwidth of the connection like a highway carrying data

the problem we're facing right now is quality of connection right now sad.gif
means can do fast download but when play games it's slow?
Xefron
post Mar 2 2016, 04:13 PM

2,507 posts

QUOTE(holymushroom @ Mar 2 2016, 03:57 PM)
i see, they give me a new cable instead of using the old 1 (4mbps)
yup... the cable look something like this.

IF they don't use any telephone line connected to the ONT/BTU then confirmed FTTH.
cheekian
post Mar 2 2016, 04:22 PM

141 posts

Facebook,google play and iTunes are very very slow until cannot connect!!!

This post has been edited by cheekian: Mar 2 2016, 04:23 PM

126 Pages « < 49 50 51 52 53 > » Top

0.0278sec    0.36    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 09:00 AM