65 Pages « < 25 26 27 28 29 > » Bottom

Thread for Husband and Father, Lets share/discuss/info

hutazi
post Feb 22 2017, 11:22 AM

496 posts

QUOTE(PrincipaliteY @ Feb 22 2017, 11:17 AM)
boy.
just found out the cause, wifey saw teeth coming out. so its likely teething fever.
felt silly. sorry folks.
hahahah. dont worry about it man. you are not a lousy parent. it takes a lot to be a crap parent hahah.

and kids need to be exposed to all these things otherwise they wont get stronger. even my and my boy play in the pool till his lips almost turn blue from cold ahahhaha. people dont really get sick from being cold.

let them play. have fun. get hurt (not major stuff lah). get dirty. play in the rain. etc.
andrekua2
post Feb 22 2017, 11:27 AM

13,470 posts

QUOTE(PrincipaliteY @ Feb 22 2017, 11:17 AM)
boy.
just found out the cause, wifey saw teeth coming out. so its likely teething fever.
felt silly. sorry folks.
Teething usually fever when its going to come out, not after.
TSMoonRider
post Feb 22 2017, 11:33 AM

It's Me That Sound Cute
2,296 posts

no matter what just bring the toddler to see padae .. whether teething or real fever..

hutazi
post Feb 22 2017, 11:44 AM

496 posts

QUOTE(andrekua2 @ Feb 22 2017, 11:27 AM)
Teething usually fever when its going to come out, not after.
but sure got other teeth working their way out.

andrekua2
post Feb 22 2017, 11:46 AM

13,470 posts

Just see which part of the gum is swelling and the toddler will tend to bite using this area more.
PrincipaliteY
post Feb 22 2017, 02:09 PM

125 posts

really thank ya all for the concern.
same rules applied as per past episodes.
periodic temperature check.
behaviour observation.
btw, feeding my kid medicine is a hellish episode. any1's kid here is an angel who took their medicine obediently?
andrekua2
post Feb 22 2017, 03:23 PM

13,470 posts

QUOTE(PrincipaliteY @ Feb 22 2017, 02:09 PM)
really thank ya all for the concern.
same rules applied as per past episodes.
periodic temperature check.
behaviour observation.
btw, feeding my kid medicine is a hellish episode. any1's kid here is an angel who took their medicine obediently?
If you kids hate medicine, then just goto those clinic that uses branded name syrup instead of those bottle one. Those sweet paracetamol will have no problem but those flu and antibiotic taste awful for those clinic who pour from big bottle.

I also learned about this after I changed my son doctor by visiting Ng & Lee under Qualitas. Price is higher but their medicine is all sweet and so much easier to convince your kids to take.
TSMoonRider
post Feb 23 2017, 08:47 AM

It's Me That Sound Cute
2,296 posts

Yesterday while fetching my kids to school in the afternoon there is a father scolding his 8-year son ..

"You know that I work so hard everyday to raise you and feed you, why you didn't spend more time on your study. I am very sad and angry" - the father of the boy

Then the boy muka sedih and go into the school.

I manage to chat to the father separately after kepochi heard that conversation between the father and the boy

I told him gently, please understand is your responsible as a parent to take care, feed and provide your children basic education hence you cannot use this excuse force your kids to do well in the study.

Instead, I told him, as a parent you need to inform him why he needs to study, what can he achieve in future if he studies hard. End of the day is really up to the children.

Also, I notice we like to make fun of the kids and trying to scare them off.

I.e I went to Genting last few years, there was an exhibition for kids to perform indoor rock climbing, as usual for

my Aussie colleague -
"Annie, you want to try ?"

While Annie climbing
"Annie, you doing great. I wish I can climb like you"
And all the encouraging words like amazing/wow/fantastic all from my friend

Another local kid
You going to fall down, grip the rocks firmly, faster, later you die if fall down and blah blah blah by their parents

You see the difference ... not all will act like this but i observed majority laugh.gif

This post has been edited by MoonRider: Feb 23 2017, 08:48 AM
Yveatel
post Feb 23 2017, 09:15 AM

880 posts

QUOTE(MoonRider @ Feb 23 2017, 08:47 AM)
Yesterday while fetching my kids to school in the afternoon there is a father scolding his 8-year son ..

"You know that I work so hard everyday to raise you and feed you, why you didn't spend more time on your study. I am very sad and angry" - the father of the boy

Then the boy muka sedih and go into the school.

I manage to chat to the father separately after kepochi heard that conversation between the father and the boy

I told him gently, please understand is your responsible as a parent to take care, feed and provide your children basic education hence you cannot use this excuse force your kids to do well in the study.

Instead, I told him, as a parent you need to inform him why he needs to study, what can he achieve in future if he studies hard. End of the day is really up to the children.

Also, I notice we like to make fun of the kids and trying to scare them off.

I.e I went to Genting last few years, there was an exhibition for kids to perform indoor rock climbing, as usual for

my Aussie colleague -
"Annie, you want to try ?"

While Annie climbing
"Annie, you doing great. I wish I can climb like you"
And all the encouraging words like amazing/wow/fantastic all from my friend

Another local kid
You going to fall down, grip the rocks firmly, faster, later you die if fall down and blah blah blah by their parents

You see the difference ... not all will act like this but i observed majority  laugh.gif
As a father to my 7mo daughter, I do not have any experience to speak of others' parenting method, but I do agree with you. Many I observed always said "I spend time to help him in study" etc, but the tonnes of voices, man, you feel demotivate after listen to your mumbling parents. I agreed many new parents start approaching their kids and stays with them mostly, however, the attitude towards kids are very bossy which cause some kids to turn away; especially when they are older.

hutazi
post Feb 23 2017, 09:51 AM

496 posts

my kid still havent start seriously study so cant say anything really about that yet. but for the most part my plan is.
1. when they are studying, no one else in the house is gonna be doing anything remotely resembling fun. hahaha. if he is studying at the table. we will also be at the table, maybe reading book or surfing inet. but no one watching tv, playing game.

2. encouraging him. even now we start to motivate him and encourage him to try new things, new food, even small stuff like him pooping everyone like "GOOD JOB! DAD LOVES YOUR POOP YOU KNOW THAT RIGHT!" hahahahah. of course still reign hellfire when he is naughty.

but i dunno, we will see. only time will tell. but i will try my best to never tell him "you cant do that" "youre not good enough" etc.
TSMoonRider
post Feb 23 2017, 10:01 AM

It's Me That Sound Cute
2,296 posts

QUOTE(hutazi @ Feb 23 2017, 09:51 AM)
my kid still havent start seriously study so cant say anything really about that yet. but for the most part my plan is.
1. when they are studying, no one else in the house is gonna be doing anything remotely resembling fun. hahaha. if he is studying at the table. we will also be at the table, maybe reading book or surfing inet. but no one watching tv, playing game.

2. encouraging him. even now we start to motivate him and encourage him to try new things, new food, even small stuff like him pooping everyone like "GOOD JOB! DAD LOVES YOUR POOP YOU KNOW THAT RIGHT!" hahahahah. of course still reign hellfire when he is naughty.

but i dunno, we will see. only time will tell. but i will try my best to never tell him "you cant do that" "youre not good enough" etc.
i think is not right when they studying others kena follow.. that the reason you need to teach them young that what the purpose of study and what they can achieve.. they need to learn how to concentrate .. you dont want to end up in future why u all so noisy i cant study

also i suggest a study room for them , so the other sibling still can do others activities at living room

i have 3 boys , my 11 years old boy got his own room and study table while 9 yr and 4 yr share the same room but the study room located downstair.

This post has been edited by MoonRider: Feb 23 2017, 10:02 AM
alkt
post Feb 23 2017, 10:53 AM

^_^
10,231 posts

QUOTE(hutazi @ Feb 23 2017, 09:51 AM)
one thing that I always tell ppl or anyone else in my life (work or home) is "i'll do my best", not much of try. give it a shot and see, u will see some difference smile.gif

This post has been edited by alkt: Feb 23 2017, 10:53 AM
hutazi
post Feb 23 2017, 10:55 AM

496 posts

QUOTE(MoonRider @ Feb 23 2017, 10:01 AM)
i think is not right when they studying others kena follow.. that the reason you need to teach them young that what the purpose of study and what they can achieve.. they need to learn how to concentrate .. you dont want to end up in future why u all so noisy i cant study

also i suggest a study room for them , so the other sibling still can do others activities at living room

i have 3 boys , my 11 years old boy got his own room and study table while 9 yr and 4 yr share the same room but the study room located downstair.
well depends on the kids personality. im just using my own experience from me growing up, you put me in my own room... confirm dont study until last night of exam. if study in hall, sure watch whats on tv or read entire textbook and dont even know what im reading in the end hahah. hopefully as a group effort, once habit has been built to study then they can do their own thing in their room. some people study need noise, others need silence. so will adjust once my kids personality becomes more fixed. i live in smallish place so no study room space unfortunately , but i guess can study in his own room when that time comes. he seems to like to read a lot thoguh... so hopefully he ends up a smart cookie... anwyays the quiet time for study together is a tip i gotten from my aunty a while back which i believe quite sound as her kids end up in good uni's on scholarship so want to try that out.
hutazi
post Feb 23 2017, 10:58 AM

496 posts

QUOTE(alkt @ Feb 23 2017, 10:53 AM)
one thing that I always tell ppl or anyone else in my life (work or home) is "i'll do my best", not much of try. give it a shot and see, u will see some difference  smile.gif
if dont try then got 0% chance of success ma. almost any amount of effort is better than 0% hahahah. always try something first. same like sports and food and experience. if someone decides they dont like it. then fine, but i hate when people 'dont like' something with no reason. especially when the answer is 'ill look stupid'. hahaha. but after having my kid i have a super dgaf personality when together with my son. look stupid is something i do everyday as we play. even in public area hahaha.
alkt
post Feb 23 2017, 11:01 AM

^_^
10,231 posts

QUOTE(hutazi @ Feb 23 2017, 10:58 AM)
if dont try then got 0% chance of success ma. almost any amount of effort is better than 0% hahahah. always try something first. same like sports and food and experience. if someone decides they dont like it. then fine, but i hate when people 'dont like' something with no reason. especially when the answer is 'ill look stupid'. hahaha. but after having my kid i have a super dgaf personality when together with my son. look stupid is something i do everyday as we play. even in public area hahaha.
oh my bad, I forgot to put its situational laugh.gif

same thing with me, I dgaf what ppl thinks when I'm outside with my daughter smile.gif
hutazi
post Feb 23 2017, 11:13 AM

496 posts

QUOTE(alkt @ Feb 23 2017, 11:01 AM)
oh my bad, I forgot to put its situational  laugh.gif

same thing with me, I dgaf what ppl thinks when I'm outside with my daughter smile.gif
its nice lah. normally im just running around and dancing and singing with my son hahaha. im rather overweight so dont think its a pretty sight to behold but... I DGAF ANYMORE!!! LOOK AT THE BOYS SMILE! SKREW EVEYRONE ELSE!!! LOL! hope he can get confidence from that. even though im not that confident and very introverted hahaha.
alkt
post Feb 23 2017, 11:24 AM

^_^
10,231 posts

QUOTE(hutazi @ Feb 23 2017, 11:13 AM)
its nice lah. normally im just running around and dancing and singing with my son hahaha. im rather overweight so dont think its a pretty sight to behold but... I DGAF ANYMORE!!! LOOK AT THE BOYS SMILE! SKREW EVEYRONE ELSE!!! LOL! hope he can get confidence from that. even though im not that confident and very introverted hahaha.
all of us dads just want the best for our kids smile.gif
dark90
post Mar 1 2017, 09:52 AM

151 posts

Guys, my kid dah start main plug on/off switch, cabut plug, any suggestion on how you guys counter this?
hutazi
post Mar 1 2017, 09:55 AM

496 posts

QUOTE(dark90 @ Mar 1 2017, 09:52 AM)
Guys, my kid dah start main plug on/off switch, cabut plug, any suggestion on how you guys counter this?
i whack my kid's hand and with super stern voice get angry with him. after that never again.
dark90
post Mar 1 2017, 10:03 AM

151 posts

QUOTE(hutazi @ Mar 1 2017, 10:55 AM)
i whack my kid's hand and with super stern voice get angry with him. after that never again.
If only that works, my kid x makan saman. now his habit when meeting kids his age is to hug them until they fall..

any advice on this guys?

65 Pages « < 25 26 27 28 29 > » Top

0.0190sec    0.63    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 09:07 AM