65 Pages « < 20 21 22 23 24 > » Bottom

Thread for Husband and Father, Lets share/discuss/info

panda-man
post Nov 11 2016, 01:34 PM

2,691 posts

QUOTE(CloudDave @ Nov 11 2016, 01:22 PM)
Hey there!

First of all thanks so much Panda sifu for the enlightening tips and advice. I've tried some of them and definitely works. Glad to report that she's a very happy baby now.

Moving on from that, I am now looking around for ways to improve the BM production with the wifey. Each time she expresses it's only about 1oz and maximum 1.5oz for both sides. Is this considered very little? This is considering she already takes all the needed supplements. Not sure if this is already a given or if she can still increase.

My little one latches on for direct feeding once in the morning and once at night. Is that enough? Otherwise we supplement with the bottle to reach the needed amount. My wifey pumps about 3 times a day as well. Really envy those who fill out whole fridges with EBM. tongue.gif
haha. good to know things getting better. did you pinpoint what the problem was?

for BF, yes very little. normally it should slowly increase according to babies demand. but if BF once at night and once at morning it is not that much. for my wife before she would breastfeed every 2-3 hours. so latch on about 5-6+ times per day. and also include some pumping when baby is sleeping. my wife at first is like yours only produce 1-2 oz if lucky. but after drinking halba and sticking to BF, it got more, after that pumping still only like 8-10 oz max. dunno how some ladies can fill 2 bottles LOL. but if your waifu already drinking halba, i think maybe just need to increase the BF latching. its tiring and mafan, but that will help increase the flow as womans body will react more to the baby than the pump. not sure if pump strength is a factor.

but also hope she dont feel so much pressure. some women just dont make as much milk. my waifu first few months was very depressed. but hey. got formula ma. just use both. icon_rolleyes.gif

CloudDave
post Nov 11 2016, 01:42 PM

174 posts

QUOTE(panda-man @ Nov 11 2016, 01:34 PM)
haha. good to know things getting better. did you pinpoint what the problem was?

for BF, yes very little. normally it should slowly increase according to babies demand. but if BF once at night and once at morning it is not that much. for my wife before she would breastfeed every 2-3 hours. so latch on about 5-6+ times per day. and also include some pumping when baby is sleeping. my wife at first is like yours only produce 1-2 oz if lucky. but after drinking halba and sticking to BF, it got more, after that pumping still only like 8-10 oz max. dunno how some ladies can fill 2 bottles LOL. but if your waifu already drinking halba, i think maybe  just need to increase the BF latching. its tiring and mafan, but that will help increase the flow as womans body will react more to the baby than the pump. not sure if pump strength is a factor.

but also hope she dont feel so much pressure. some women just dont make as much milk. my waifu first few months was very depressed. but hey. got formula ma. just use both.  icon_rolleyes.gif
That's right! I will continue to supplement her with bottle while allowing my wife time to increase BF. It's definitely not easy to be a woman, even if they take maternity leave the lack of sleep etc. will really get to them. I can't imagine how those who work and BF can do it. Mad respect! notworthy.gif

With the sleeping patterns, I found that wrapping them up like popiah really does the trick. thumbsup.gif She seems so cosy now and less wiggling of arms and legs. Also, less distractions before bedtime is also important. When we see her settle down we turn the lights off as well. However, there's a new development.

Even though she has been burped quite a few times (and rather noisy too for someone so small) she still manages to squirt some milk from her mouth or nose during her sleep. She also rather often chokes on her own saliva. Is there any way to remedy this? Because of SIDS we now have to constantly check on her whenever she gurgles. Could it be due to overfeeding?

Thanks! Cheers!
panda-man
post Nov 11 2016, 01:52 PM

2,691 posts

QUOTE(CloudDave @ Nov 11 2016, 01:42 PM)
That's right! I will continue to supplement her with bottle while allowing my wife time to increase BF. It's definitely not easy to be a woman, even if they take maternity leave the lack of sleep etc. will really get to them. I can't imagine how those who work and BF can do it. Mad respect!  notworthy.gif

With the sleeping patterns, I found that wrapping them up like popiah really does the trick.  thumbsup.gif She seems so cosy now and less wiggling of arms and legs. Also, less distractions before bedtime is also important. When we see her settle down we turn the lights off as well. However, there's a new development.

Even though she has been burped quite a few times (and rather noisy too for someone so small) she still manages to squirt some milk from her mouth or nose during her sleep. She also rather often chokes on her own saliva. Is there any way to remedy this? Because of SIDS we now have to constantly check on her whenever she gurgles. Could it be due to overfeeding?

Thanks! Cheers!
yeah gotta popiah them. seems they dont know what to do with their arms and legs... so when wrapped up they are more comfy.

hmm. for SIDS, its still a question mark as to real cause. but i think its not normally from choking on saliva because that would most likely get the child to wake up. but seems to be lack of air flow or blockage or something. thats why now everyone recommending babies to sleep on their backs. and also shouldnt put any bumpers on the crib to make sure got good air circulation. baby hardly moves at early age so dont need to put any bumpers actually. if they roll accidentally into the bumper, they may not be able to/know how to roll back. its quite dangerous.

as for feeding, shouldnt be over feeding. perhaps didnt burp enough or perhaps its just a gag reflex. as you mentioned she chokes on her saliva, so maybe this is making her throw up a little bit? some babies prone to that. my neice before will throw up all the time. even just a giggle after feeding will cause her to throw up. my own son, is super sturdy, thank God for that. i think after 2 years he only throw up on me 2-3 times (when not sick with stomach flu or something).

sorry, talking a lot. hahah.

This post has been edited by panda-man: Nov 11 2016, 01:52 PM
CloudDave
post Nov 11 2016, 01:58 PM

174 posts

QUOTE(panda-man @ Nov 11 2016, 01:52 PM)
yeah gotta popiah them. seems they dont know what to do with their arms and legs... so when wrapped up they are more comfy.

hmm. for SIDS, its still a question mark as to real cause. but i think its not normally from choking on saliva because that would most likely get the child to wake up. but seems to be lack of air flow or blockage or something. thats why now everyone recommending babies to sleep on their backs. and also shouldnt put any bumpers on the crib to make sure got good air circulation. baby hardly moves at early age so dont need to put any bumpers actually. if they roll accidentally into the bumper, they may not be able to/know how to roll back. its quite dangerous.

as for feeding, shouldnt be over feeding. perhaps didnt burp enough or perhaps its just a gag reflex. as you mentioned she chokes on her saliva, so maybe this is making her throw up a little bit? some babies prone to that. my neice before will throw up all the time. even just a giggle after feeding will cause her to throw up. my own son, is super sturdy, thank God for that. i think after 2 years he only throw up on me 2-3 times (when not sick with stomach flu or something).

sorry, talking a lot. hahah.
No no, very interesting stuff. Makes me happy to learn so much as a new father hehehe. About you mentioning babies sleeping on their backs, this is another thing I want to ask. Her head isn't exactly as round yet and tends to be a bit flat on the sides. Because of this, when she sleeps her head is to the side instead of facing upwards. Would this be the reason why? Also, we tried using a pillow with an indentation in the middle to support her head and neck to face upwards. However, many people say that using pillows is dangerous. How how? hmm.gif
PeowYong
post Nov 11 2016, 02:06 PM

PeowYong
2,263 posts

pumping excessive breastmilk which is over baby demand is not actually a good thing. If u have quantity, u lose some quality.
panda-man
post Nov 11 2016, 02:30 PM

2,691 posts

QUOTE(CloudDave @ Nov 11 2016, 01:58 PM)
No no, very interesting stuff. Makes me happy to learn so much as a new father hehehe. About you mentioning babies sleeping on their backs, this is another thing I want to ask. Her head isn't exactly as round yet and tends to be a bit flat on the sides. Because of this, when she sleeps her head is to the side instead of facing upwards. Would this be the reason why? Also, we tried using a pillow with an indentation in the middle to support her head and neck to face upwards. However, many people say that using pillows is dangerous. How how?  hmm.gif
hehe. that one i dunno. as my son is csec baby so his head damn round. actually babies dont need pillow for a year or two because of the shape of their neck. but the indent pillow i think is ok becuase its so nipis a the neck part. my son also used it to keep his head facing up but in the end never worked as he still turned his head. i think as long as their back is to the bed, their head can turn left or right, but you should monitor, dont lah let her sleep 90% of the time facing left heheh. make sure 50:50 if possible hehe.

QUOTE(PeowYong @ Nov 11 2016, 02:06 PM)
pumping excessive breastmilk which is over baby demand is not actually a good thing. If u have quantity, u lose some quality.
dunno about that.... because breast milk which is not expelled can lead to mastitis due to blocked milk ducts. a painful condition for the mother.
https://www.breastfeeding.asn.au/bf-info/co...%93mum/mastitis
PeowYong
post Nov 11 2016, 05:43 PM

PeowYong
2,263 posts

QUOTE(panda-man @ Nov 11 2016, 02:30 PM)
hehe. that one i dunno. as my son is csec baby so his head damn round. actually babies dont need pillow for a year or two because of the shape of their neck. but the indent pillow i think is ok becuase its so nipis a the neck part. my son also used it to keep his head facing up but in the end never worked as he still turned his head. i think as long as their back is to the bed, their head can turn left or right, but you should monitor, dont lah let her sleep 90% of the time facing left heheh. make sure 50:50 if possible hehe.
dunno about that.... because breast milk which is not expelled can lead to mastitis due to blocked milk ducts. a painful condition for the mother.
https://www.breastfeeding.asn.au/bf-info/co...%93mum/mastitis
Yes, what i meant is that don't focus on the quantity of the breastmilk. It is diluted where the quality of the breastmilk is spread out... If the baby drinks all that were pumped out, then it shouldn't be an issue. But if baby only drink less than half of it, your babies is not gonna get the the highest quality/nutrient out of it.
dark90
post Nov 14 2016, 10:42 AM

151 posts

QUOTE(CloudDave @ Nov 11 2016, 02:22 PM)
Hey there!

First of all thanks so much Panda sifu for the enlightening tips and advice. I've tried some of them and definitely works. Glad to report that she's a very happy baby now.

Moving on from that, I am now looking around for ways to improve the BM production with the wifey. Each time she expresses it's only about 1oz and maximum 1.5oz for both sides. Is this considered very little? This is considering she already takes all the needed supplements. Not sure if this is already a given or if she can still increase.

My little one latches on for direct feeding once in the morning and once at night. Is that enough? Otherwise we supplement with the bottle to reach the needed amount. My wifey pumps about 3 times a day as well. Really envy those who fill out whole fridges with EBM. tongue.gif
Ask your wife to try goat milk, my sis in law tried once and full fridge. Even offer to give my son, but i refuse.

Also very important to keep your wife well-fed. Ensure she gets what she needs and not what she wants.

good luck thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
TSMoonRider
post Nov 14 2016, 12:02 PM

It's Me That Sound Cute
2,296 posts

also to resume sex.. suggest only after 6 months n dont trust other saying if breastfeed wont get pregnant

This post has been edited by MoonRider: Nov 14 2016, 12:03 PM
dark90
post Nov 14 2016, 01:07 PM

151 posts

QUOTE(MoonRider @ Nov 14 2016, 01:02 PM)
also to resume sex.. suggest only after 6 months n dont trust other saying if breastfeed wont get pregnant
wait.. u mean resume sex also contributes to breast milk?
panda-man
post Nov 14 2016, 01:29 PM

2,691 posts

QUOTE(dark90 @ Nov 14 2016, 01:07 PM)
wait.. u mean resume sex also contributes to breast milk?
no. there is a old wives tale. if mother is BF, dont need to use protection when sexing it up. she wont get pregnant. but no... she still will get pregnant hahah.
dark90
post Nov 14 2016, 01:56 PM

151 posts

QUOTE(panda-man @ Nov 14 2016, 02:29 PM)
no. there is a old wives tale. if mother is BF, dont need to use protection when sexing it up. she wont get pregnant. but no... she still will get pregnant hahah.
LOL. o okay then. I read somewhere that sex stabilizes a women's hormone.. can someone confirm?
Denise_D
post Nov 24 2016, 03:50 AM

121 posts

dear all sifu...

i want to ask...anyone..your wife experience bloating and nausea? i look at my wife and she is suffering..and i look helpless .can't do anything ..... cry.gif she is 9 weeks pregnant

eat a bit only..then feel very bloating...sleep also can't sleep well. to add on...feeling dizzy...as her blood pressure is low.

any chinese herbs can ease above?? appreciate your advise here..
notworthy.gif

Yveatel
post Nov 24 2016, 08:24 AM

880 posts

QUOTE(Denise_D @ Nov 24 2016, 03:50 AM)
dear all sifu...

i want to ask...anyone..your wife experience bloating and nausea? i look at my wife and she is suffering..and i look helpless .can't do anything ..... cry.gif  she is 9 weeks pregnant

eat a bit only..then feel very bloating...sleep also can't sleep well. to add on...feeling dizzy...as her blood pressure is low.

notworthy.gif
woa... sorry, I can't help. My wife did not experience such problems during pregnancy. Some of her friends said she is so lucky. tongue.gif
hutazi
post Nov 24 2016, 09:25 AM

496 posts

QUOTE(Denise_D @ Nov 24 2016, 03:50 AM)
dear all sifu...

i want to ask...anyone..your wife experience bloating and nausea? i look at my wife and she is suffering..and i look helpless .can't do anything ..... cry.gif  she is 9 weeks pregnant

notworthy.gif
yeah first few months its normal lah. first trimester is full of suffering. dont know about chinese herbs. but just avoid spicy foods. what did the gynae say? she will have best advise.
EternalC
post Dec 14 2016, 09:03 AM

Take what you can, give nothing back
845 posts

guys, any of you using home thermometer for your kids?

can give some suggestions of models and brands? preferably the IR type rather than those that need to put at armpit for 1 minute
TSMoonRider
post Dec 14 2016, 09:49 AM

It's Me That Sound Cute
2,296 posts

QUOTE(EternalC @ Dec 14 2016, 09:03 AM)
guys, any of you using home thermometer for your kids?
can give some suggestions of models and brands? preferably the IR type rather than those that need to put at armpit for 1 minute
using the ear thermo for last 10 years ..buy made in japan thermo .. i dont fancy the infra thermon use by dr
EternalC
post Dec 14 2016, 10:47 AM

Take what you can, give nothing back
845 posts

QUOTE(MoonRider @ Dec 14 2016, 09:49 AM)
using the ear thermo for last 10 years ..buy made in japan thermo ..  i dont fancy the infra thermon use by dr
what brand u using?

and why the dislike for infra? tongue.gif
TSMoonRider
post Dec 14 2016, 11:06 AM

It's Me That Sound Cute
2,296 posts

QUOTE(EternalC @ Dec 14 2016, 10:47 AM)
what brand u using?

and why the dislike for infra? tongue.gif
cant remember which brand .. but i heard Braun is good as well.

infra just not fancy .. still prefer the ear thermo ..
TSMoonRider
post Dec 14 2016, 11:07 AM

It's Me That Sound Cute
2,296 posts

i just post 3 hotels i stay before which kids friendly , you may check it out.

https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4145540/all

65 Pages « < 20 21 22 23 24 > » Top

0.0299sec    0.55    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 06:29 PM