6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Thread for Husband and Father, Lets share/discuss/info

panda-man
post Feb 2 2016, 02:59 PM

2,691 posts

hallo. father of a 18 month boy checkin in.

QUOTE(Newgen @ Feb 1 2016, 03:10 PM)
Husband and father of one, another one coming in few weeks time!! biggrin.gif
congrats bro. level up! thumbup.gif

----

now... what is there to discuss? i guess one worry i have now is speaking. so far my son is 18 months. but still cant really talk properly. he can make tons+tons of animal noises though. which is freakin hilarious... but for words just single syllable words. baba mama dada nana etc. cant seem to sound out two sounds like bana or maba or that type of thing. people say boys speak late. but its still a worry. sweat.gif

when did your kids start stringing sounds together

This post has been edited by panda-man: Feb 2 2016, 03:02 PM
panda-man
post Feb 2 2016, 03:13 PM

2,691 posts

QUOTE(FireIceCombo @ Feb 2 2016, 03:09 PM)
husband and father of 4 year old female here.

i must say, female expenses very high.
get ready mr.postman
panda-man
post Feb 2 2016, 03:14 PM

2,691 posts

double post

This post has been edited by panda-man: Feb 2 2016, 03:18 PM
panda-man
post Feb 2 2016, 03:26 PM

2,691 posts

QUOTE(KepliCorn Inc @ Feb 2 2016, 03:22 PM)
Hubby & father to be.

Anyone got their own "man cave" at home? wifu allowed or not?

this is awesome
haha. i live is a small apartment. my only mancave is my side table. i can keep WHATEVER i want inside. i so lucky. hahaha
panda-man
post Feb 2 2016, 03:32 PM

2,691 posts

QUOTE(simplecated @ Feb 2 2016, 03:27 PM)
Weekend Husband and father of 2 sons (5y & 6mth)

Kinda lonely but live must go on.. smile.gif
i feel ya bro. but weekend still ok loh. for the past year or so me and waifu living in different countries whilst i get settled back here (move back from overseas). i get to see my son like 3-4 times per year only because wife still working overseas. but after CNY all back here as one unit flex.gif flex.gif oh yeah!

hard to manage feeding and playing from here. but still possible! so for all long distance dads. dont give up! icon_rolleyes.gif icon_rolleyes.gif
panda-man
post Feb 2 2016, 03:54 PM

2,691 posts

QUOTE(simplecated @ Feb 2 2016, 03:38 PM)
god bless ur family...mine as well! smile.gif
thanks! we live complicated lives hahahah.
panda-man
post Feb 2 2016, 05:21 PM

2,691 posts

i rotan with hand only. later when older i still dunno. i kena figure that out later. my mom used those plastic hangers... seems effective and most rooms have it on hand hahah.
panda-man
post Feb 3 2016, 09:45 AM

2,691 posts

QUOTE(MoonRider @ Feb 2 2016, 08:26 PM)
dont worry too much.. just make sure not playing too much ipad n tv ... when they want somethig.. try to let them speak for 2-3 times.. u just buat bodoh.. after 2-3 times trying only give to the toddler.. this is to teach them  to speak n talk when they want to request ..
nah, doesnt really play ipad. he loves his lego and stuff. just ipad to watch videos of himself once in a while. right now most of the time grandparents is takin care. i think once he comes back here then i will need to talk with him a lot.... hopefully he will start to pick up haha.
panda-man
post Feb 3 2016, 01:22 PM

2,691 posts

QUOTE(sheridankamal @ Feb 3 2016, 12:38 PM)
Good day guys,
I'm a husband and a father of a 2 months old son.
welcome to the daddy daycare. haha. congrats on your newborn. 2 months still not golek golek everywhere heheh.
panda-man
post Feb 3 2016, 02:04 PM

2,691 posts

QUOTE(sheridankamal @ Feb 3 2016, 01:59 PM)
Hahaha, thanks.
Bila bila can expect golek golek?
i also forgot. i think around 5-6 months. then it becomes a headache. always golek here and there. hard to put them to sleep shocking.gif
panda-man
post Feb 3 2016, 02:34 PM

2,691 posts

QUOTE(sheridankamal @ Feb 3 2016, 02:21 PM)
Headache? I must be prepared...
yeah. because you have to constantly watch them. if they golek into the pillow for example. chances are they have no chance to golek away. then hard to breathe/cant breathe. very dangerous. when my son was that age. he didnt have any pillows or anything in his crib. just a blanket. which we shoved down the sides so that it cannot be pulled further than his tummy. once they can roll freely back and forth its easier.

but you should encourage them to roll. once they move more just nudge them until they can do it. i got one old colleague son is almost one year, still cant roll over. they never encouraged him to golek over. they said its more convenient.... but they are just hindering his growth... kecian.
panda-man
post Feb 3 2016, 05:01 PM

2,691 posts

QUOTE(tzychun79 @ Feb 3 2016, 04:51 PM)
After CNY Father to be check in. =D
congrats buddy. get ready for no sleep! heheh.
if deliver in private i hope it doesnt fall on CNY holiday. if not... $$$$$ hehehe. my son the day after hari raya holiday hahah. lucky.... sweat.gif

This post has been edited by panda-man: Feb 3 2016, 05:02 PM
panda-man
post Feb 3 2016, 05:07 PM

2,691 posts

seems got many grandmaster level dad here. hahah.
panda-man
post Feb 3 2016, 11:38 PM

2,691 posts

QUOTE(mi-g @ Feb 3 2016, 09:40 PM)
hi guys.. my son is 18mths now..

is it normal when he always wake up or cry at night asking for milk?

routine is like this

11pm - he start to sleep, around 20-30min he will sleep soundly

1am or 2am - his 1st cry for milk..he didn't actually wake up and open eye, just crying for milk

4am or 4.30am - he cry for milk again

6am to 7am - cry for milk again, this time need to put in cradle else he wont stop crying.. will sleep until 10am then wake up and bath

me myself no problem wake up at middle of night to make milk, but pity my wife coz when she wake up, quite hard to sleep again.. she's a nurse btw

my son now drink formula milk only since he's 12mths
Can try train him off of that. We did it slowly. Unfortunately he still wakes up doh.gif but not for milk. Wake up give him a sip of water then he KO again. Still dunno why he gets so thirsty at night. Before sleeping around 10-11pm. He drinks 200ml milk AND 100ml water. Then can sleep.... strange. But easier than waking up, buat milk. Check milk. Blah blah hahah.
panda-man
post Feb 6 2016, 11:13 AM

2,691 posts

QUOTE(abubin @ Feb 4 2016, 11:57 AM)
i have a son with high level autism. It's ADHD and Asperger's Syndrome. Let me know if any father have questions.

There is another thread on autism but not one seems to be interested to contribute. In fact according the austism educators a lot of parents are still denial about their kids having autism. A lot of autism are mild and the child will look normal but they have temper issue and speech issue which the parent do not want to seek help. They keep denying their kids having problem and afraid that their child get labelled as "crazy" or "nuts".

Plus a lot of old folks (the grandparents) who knows nothing about autism simple says things. They just get info from other grandparents and say the child is ok, no problem..the issue will "go away" when the child grow up. By the time they grow up as teen, it will be too late to seek help.

Autism never go away. It can be intervened. The child will be taught how to handle his/her issue but there is NO CURE for it.
hey bro. thanks for sharing your experience. my friends son has autism as well not sure what level, but can see its very difficult for them to manage. she was also living in denial i guess. she knew it and they were working on management. but i guess a part of her was just pretending like nothing happened then one day she went to one specialist in australia and he had a good talk with her, then finally let out all her feelings. once again, thanks for sharing flex.gif
panda-man
post Feb 15 2016, 09:58 AM

2,691 posts

QUOTE(Nog_1985 @ Feb 11 2016, 05:11 PM)
Hi Everyone... Just promoted as a father 24 days ago... smile.gif

Enjoying every moment as a father and a great experience...
congrats! its crazy and tough but its awesome hahah.
panda-man
post Feb 15 2016, 10:36 AM

2,691 posts

QUOTE(Zozi @ Feb 15 2016, 10:19 AM)
A husband and soon to be father to a daughter in a few weeks time. Guess I can check in early here first  cool2.gif  cool2.gif
congrats bro. just make sure you stock up on all the stuff you need like diapers and creams and oils etc. and get a 'go' bag ready. i highly recommend getting minyak telon too. also all clothes should be washed before use. can get the special detergent for baby clothes to kill bacteria and less chemicals or something for the baby's sensitive skin. can also ge the tummy wrap thing to protect the umbilical cord from rubbing or accidentally getting caught. icon_rolleyes.gif
panda-man
post Feb 15 2016, 11:19 AM

2,691 posts

QUOTE(Zozi @ Feb 15 2016, 10:41 AM)
fuuuhhh good tips and thanks bro, gonna go over our shopping list again.  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif
i just putting it out there. other people probably told you the same thing though hahaha. but just in case i also wanna add. also you need to decide if you gonna use formula or use breast feeding. then can also prepare accordingly. like need to boil the barang barang you wanna use like bottles and such to sterilize or go shopping for breast pump, nipple cream (some women breastfeed till nipples all bleeding, so its advised to use cream a week or two beforehand. its damn expensive though like RM40 for 5ml or something like that sweat.gif ).

for breastfeeding. one thing you can decide to do or not, depending on your waifu personality... is to talk with your wife about breastfeeding and 'possibility' of low milk supply at the beginning. my wife went into slight depression as had no milk for first week. but i think if we were prepared that it might happen then i think she wouldnt have been so upset. but after supplementing with halba/fenugreek tea. all went well.

good luck. be patient. waifu will become crazy. and you will too. hahah.

*DISCLAIMER TIPS PROVIDED ARE TO PROTECT FATHER FROM PSYCHOSIS. everyone share each others tips for a happy family. icon_idea.gif

This post has been edited by panda-man: Feb 15 2016, 11:20 AM
panda-man
post Feb 19 2016, 02:03 PM

2,691 posts

QUOTE(Newgen @ Feb 19 2016, 01:50 PM)
My second child just came into the world last week, so now gonna go all over again on those chores and duties... biggrin.gif
Sleepless night and tired, but Joyful!
congrats bro! even more tiring now with 2 hahahah. but of course now double happiness.

------

seperate note:

yesterday my son fell off the bed. gave me the shock of my life. i was playing COD MW3 (yes... i still play that..) with HEADPHONES ON then heard BANG even feel some vibration on the floor. so damn scary. lucky nothing serious. his mum fell asleep trying to put him to sleep hahah. so golek golek off our bed. hai.... and i was just thinking about removing the side of his crib ahhah.

This post has been edited by panda-man: Feb 19 2016, 02:05 PM
panda-man
post Feb 19 2016, 02:28 PM

2,691 posts

QUOTE(3antz @ Feb 19 2016, 02:18 PM)
thanks for the tips ... officially going to be a daddy new week. Mixed emotions, excitement, fear ... a long laundry list.
What is minyak telon ah? Is it Yu Yi oil?
hehe. congrats. dont worry about the stuff. if you cant get it. someone else can help.

minyak telon looks like this (amongst others, but this is what i use).

its for bloating, tummy aches, etc. not sure what is yu yi oil. but this is something like eucalyptus i guess. haha. kinda traditional. use on tummy, chest, back and feet normally.

edit... i frickin love the smell. ask parents or aunties for sure they know or they will recommend something that does the same job.

also, some people like to recommend gripe water for bloating. i personally never used it. bought it and left it there cause i found out it is similar to medicine and unless baby really going crazy we didnt wanna give any chemical stuff like that.

This post has been edited by panda-man: Feb 19 2016, 02:31 PM

6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0495sec    0.27    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 03:12 PM