Problem with temperature? Seek consultation here, DO NOT OPEN NEW THREAD

Kataro
post May 17 2007, 12:50 AM

Super Saiya Jin 4
775 posts

QUOTE([KY] @ May 16 2007, 10:38 PM)
Owh sorry i forgoten to mention the previous time too much AS5 was applied. But the temps isn't as great as others somehow.

Anyway about the "cutting of the raised-up base"
You know why they did not cut the raise-up base? because if they do so, there will be not enough pressure between the HSF and the IHS...then the TIM will not spread well and the contact between HSF and IHS will be bad too, like that the transfer of heat will be bad too... then the HSF will become just a piece of junk... anyway, that is my opinion, I might be wrong... icon_rolleyes.gif
[KY]
post May 17 2007, 02:55 PM

256 posts

QUOTE(Kataro @ May 17 2007, 12:50 AM)
You know why they did not cut the raise-up base? because if they do so, there will be not enough pressure between the HSF and the IHS...then the TIM will not spread well and the contact between HSF and IHS will be bad too, like that the transfer of heat will be bad too... then the HSF will become just a piece of junk... anyway, that is my opinion, I might be wrong... icon_rolleyes.gif
That would be a problem with the current mounting accesories but easily encountered.

The 1st image shows the original mounting and the 2nd shows the modified mounting with the base cut off.

Note to add more pressure we simply just need to use a tougher and longer spring with the same screw length. Alternatively we could use the same spring but with a shorter screw.

I wonder if i could lap the base off whistling.gif
Kataro
post May 17 2007, 04:34 PM

Super Saiya Jin 4
775 posts

QUOTE([KY] @ May 17 2007, 02:55 PM)
That would be a problem with the current mounting accesories but easily encountered.

The 1st image shows the original mounting and the 2nd shows the modified mounting with the base cut off.

Note to add more pressure we simply just need to use a tougher and longer spring with the same screw length. Alternatively we could use the same spring but with a shorter screw.

I wonder if i could lap the base off  whistling.gif
I dunno whether it will still be perform well after the base it cut off... you can try to lap it lor... then tell us the result... brows.gif tongue.gif but I think they make the base like that for a reason... maybe you can ask Noctua about it... icon_idea.gif
sHawTY
post May 17 2007, 05:30 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(Kataro @ May 17 2007, 04:34 PM)
I dunno whether it will still be perform well after the base it cut off... you can try to lap it lor... then tell us the result...  brows.gif  tongue.gif  but I think they make the base like that for a reason... maybe you can ask Noctua about it... icon_idea.gif
It will perform better than the original, this is because the thermal will take lesser time to be transferred to the heatpipes. smile.gif

But just make sure that u cut it 99.99% flat, or else, you'll get worse performance out of your heatsink. sweat.gif
kmarc
post May 17 2007, 05:55 PM

The future is here - Cryptocurrencies!
14,576 posts

QUOTE([KY] @ May 17 2007, 02:55 PM)

I wonder if i could lap the base off  whistling.gif
Errr.... unless you have an experience with lapping heatsinks, it would not be advisable. You might just get a damaged cooler rather than a better one!

Suggestion : If you have problems with this cooler, why not sell it and get a better one? I would suggest an Ultra-120 extreme!!! drool.gif drool.gif

Have you tried other heatsinks on your CPU?
[KY]
post May 17 2007, 06:14 PM

256 posts

I asked in the local thermalright bulk and sadly to say i was a couple of days late. Was told that if i were to order would only be in the next bulk which is currently empty cry.gif

I was just wondering whether i would be able to lap only. No intention of doing it. icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by [KY]: May 17 2007, 06:25 PM
kmarc
post May 17 2007, 07:28 PM

The future is here - Cryptocurrencies!
14,576 posts

I still think your mobo or your CPU is giving out wrong readings. My noctua is idling at 31-34'c only!

Just don't have an answer to your problem. I've seen a few forumers having the same problems as yours. Haven't found a good answer to this riddle yet!

Hope you find a solution! biggrin.gif
[KY]
post May 19 2007, 09:01 PM

256 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ May 17 2007, 07:28 PM)
I still think your mobo or your CPU is giving out wrong readings. My noctua is idling at 31-34'c only!

Just don't have an answer to your problem. I've seen a few forumers having the same problems as yours. Haven't found a good answer to this riddle yet!

Hope you find a solution!  biggrin.gif
Argh i don't think so ler because my idle is 40 something but my load is only roughly low 50's.

This post has been edited by [KY]: May 19 2007, 09:13 PM
mav910623
post May 20 2007, 11:00 AM

Dr. Antidote
1,344 posts

wanna ask my pc p4 2.4 sc 478 stock hsf when just turn on is at 64C. is it normal or is something wrong...
kalakatu
post May 21 2007, 03:05 AM

Insanely Addictive
2,323 posts

QUOTE(mav910623 @ May 20 2007, 11:00 AM)
wanna ask my pc p4 2.4 sc 478 stock hsf when just turn on is at 64C. is it normal or is something wrong...
i dun think thats normal when it already reached that level.. sweat.gif
try to re-install the hsf and apply the new thermal paste.. smile.gif
sHawTY
post May 21 2007, 11:09 AM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(mav910623 @ May 20 2007, 11:00 AM)
That's a Pentium 4 2.4A or Pentium 4 2.4C?
What i meant is, is it prescott core processor or northwood core processor? hmm.gif
mav910623
post May 21 2007, 07:35 PM

Dr. Antidote
1,344 posts

northwood i think the fsb is 533 and when case open the temp is at stable 54C when not in use

This post has been edited by mav910623: May 21 2007, 07:35 PM
sHawTY
post May 21 2007, 11:53 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(mav910623 @ May 21 2007, 07:35 PM)
northwood i think the fsb is 533 and when case open the temp is at stable 54C when not in use
Wrong, prescott 2.4A comes in FSB533.
No prescott 2.4GHz comes in FSB800 smile.gif

I don't think that's a northwood, i think it's a prescott.
Anyway, why don't you post a CPUz screenie instead? hmm.gif
LittleLinnet
post May 22 2007, 01:32 AM

Iophobia
3,593 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ May 21 2007, 11:53 PM)

it could be a northwood as well, no?

This post has been edited by LittleLinnet: May 22 2007, 01:36 AM
sHawTY
post May 22 2007, 07:31 AM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

Polaris
post May 22 2007, 05:25 PM

Trust Fund Baby
2,850 posts

I just bought a coolermaster cooldrive and enclosed is a thermal pad, one side is a bit sticky and one side is smooth, the question is which side should be facing the hard disk?

The manual was very vague on this and the seller didn't know either.

So I googled and there was a review of a similar coolermaster cooldrive that's a different version, but that was even more confusing as it seems to say that I need to "PEEL plastic from both sides of the thermal pad"??!

It's really confusing cuz all I did was peel off the cover from the sticky side and attached the sticky side to the base (the part with exposed circuit board) of the hdd.

Should I recheck again if there's a layer on the non sticky side that needs to be peeled?
mav910623
post May 22 2007, 07:33 PM

Dr. Antidote
1,344 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ May 21 2007, 11:53 PM)

You were right it is a prescott... CPU temp currently at 55C sad.gif just on and case is open

CPU-Z
creap
post May 23 2007, 09:37 AM

I would like a piece of punch line
3,306 posts

Hi, just a quickie.

Is it normal for HD0 to go above 50? thanks
sHawTY
post May 23 2007, 09:41 AM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(mav910623 @ May 22 2007, 07:33 PM)
You were right it is a prescott... CPU temp currently at 55C  sad.gif  just on and case is open

CPU-Z
55degrees on stock heatsink for prescott is normal la. laugh.gif
But try cleaing up the heatsink and apply a new layer of thermal paste, that'll help to reduce 3 - 5 degrees. smile.gif

QUOTE(creap @ May 23 2007, 09:37 AM)
Hi, just a quickie.

Is it normal for HD0 to go above 50? thanks
IMO, 50degrees for HDD is pretty high, is there any fan infront of the HDD? hmm.gif
AceCombat
post May 23 2007, 12:02 PM

5,434 posts

aiyo....easy to know whether it's a prescott or northwood la,northwood all L2 is 512 while Prescott is 1024 one.

99 Pages « < 28 29 30 31 32 > » Top

0.0289sec    1.48    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 04:08 PM