Coffee Lover v.2 Thread, Let's Share!

akay877
post May 20 2020, 06:21 AM

187 posts

QUOTE(ymeng85 @ May 20 2020, 12:18 AM)
The boiler/reservoir may not have been empty when packaged and the wet box could very likely be water from inside. In this case, you might worry about soaked internal electrical/electronic damages as well.

Anyways, assuming it survived, did you do the double fill? If delivered correctly to you, the boiler will need 1.5x amount of water from the reservoir to fill and initiate boil
If that is already done, then 40mins is way too long. My Oscar 2 gets the temps up within 10-15mins or so
Make sense!
I was puzzle a bit at first because it seems that the water is coming from the inside of the box itself. I wonder why they ship the machine with filled boiler. I follow the instruction provided and the pump did work and filled the boiler. May have to contact Dankoff. Thanx Ymeng.

ymeng85
post May 20 2020, 08:01 AM

QUOTE(akay877 @ May 20 2020, 06:21 AM)
Make sense!
I was puzzle a bit at first because it seems that the water is coming from the inside of the box itself. I wonder why they ship the machine with filled boiler. I follow the instruction provided and the pump did work and filled the boiler. May have to contact Dankoff. Thanx Ymeng.
Good luck!
dwRK
post May 20 2020, 08:48 AM

the consummate chartist
6,230 posts

QUOTE(akay877 @ May 19 2020, 09:07 PM)
Evening guys.

Anyone using NS Oscar 2?
just got mine from Dankoff after 2 weeks held up by poslaju. Unfortunately received in really bad condition. Box was really soaking wet and disintegrating. Machine was dented a bit. But the most concerning thing is that the boiler seems to not heating up. I follow the provided quick guide, and waited for almost 40 minutes but the light for boiler still light up. The pump seems to be ok.

Do you guys think the machine is defective or am i missing something?

looks very bad

I would not accept the box from poslaju in this state

hope dankoff give you a new one
dwRK
post May 20 2020, 08:50 AM

the consummate chartist
6,230 posts

QUOTE(NextDoorMan @ May 20 2020, 02:21 AM)
Want to make a large batch of cold brew coffee to sell.

Any large batch cold brew coffee maker do you guys recommend?
diy 20l paint bucket
akay877
post May 20 2020, 08:54 AM

187 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ May 20 2020, 08:48 AM)
looks very bad

I would not accept the box from poslaju in this state

hope dankoff give you a new one
Unlucky for me cause i set the address to my in law, they didn't notice it at first because of the outer plastic layer.
dwRK
post May 20 2020, 01:36 PM

the consummate chartist
6,230 posts

QUOTE(akay877 @ May 20 2020, 08:54 AM)
Unlucky for me cause i set the address to my in law, they didn't notice it at first because of the outer plastic layer.
ok.

I'm also surprised no foam or extra protection inside...

it looks to me like someone simply drop a 20kg display/demo unit into a paper box without proper draining n paddings

they are never shipped wet from the factory...water could freeze in cold climate and crack the hx/boiler... so if there's water in the machine... someone here filled it up...

dankoff better give you a new one

This post has been edited by dwRK: May 20 2020, 01:48 PM
4lt4ir
post May 20 2020, 05:19 PM

{--} 7
1,397 posts

QUOTE(akay877 @ May 20 2020, 08:54 AM)
I would be quite upset if I bought an Oscar and received it in such a state.
felicious
post May 20 2020, 05:22 PM

1,438 posts

QUOTE(joshua_chin @ May 13 2020, 05:01 PM)
May I know Hario Mini Slim Plus coffee grinder is good enough for french press?
Been using Hario Mini Grinder for french press, and now for V60. Personally I think it's good enough.

QUOTE(NextDoorMan @ May 20 2020, 02:21 AM)
Want to make a large batch of cold brew coffee to sell.

Any large batch cold brew coffee maker do you guys recommend?
I just used my French Press to make cold brew. I can make 100g coffee : 400ml water, which yield around 2xx ml of coffee concentrate
akay877
post May 20 2020, 05:37 PM

187 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ May 20 2020, 01:36 PM)
ok.

I'm also surprised no foam or extra protection inside...

it looks to me like someone simply drop a 20kg display/demo unit into a paper box without proper draining n paddings

they are never shipped wet from the factory...water could freeze in cold climate and crack the hx/boiler... so if there's water in the machine... someone here filled it up...

dankoff better give you a new one
QUOTE(4lt4ir @ May 20 2020, 05:19 PM)
I would be quite upset if I bought an Oscar and received it in such a state.
Quite upset at first, i thought of going to poslaju before ymeng point it out.

But dankoff did a prompt reply and their rep already pick up the machine and going to replace it. Quite a feat considering i'm way down in johor. thumbsup.gif

Thanx Guys, luckily still got my old machine. Need my caff fix
dwRK
post May 20 2020, 05:56 PM

the consummate chartist
6,230 posts

QUOTE(akay877 @ May 20 2020, 05:37 PM)

But dankoff did a prompt reply and their rep already pick up the machine and going to replace it. Quite a feat considering i'm way down in johor.  :thumbsup:

really good news then :thumbsup:

yeah not really a poslaju prob...
4lt4ir
post May 20 2020, 09:14 PM

{--} 7
1,397 posts

QUOTE(akay877 @ May 20 2020, 05:37 PM)

But dankoff did a prompt reply and their rep already pick up the machine and going to replace it. Quite a feat considering i'm way down in johor.  thumbsup.gif

Ah, ok. Good to know you got it sorted out then. Kudos to Dankoff's after sales service too.
junsuke
post May 21 2020, 11:34 PM

28 posts

Hi. Anyone here using the Gemilai CRM3601 / 3605? Has anyone tried to replace the portafilter to a naked? I’m not sure if an e61 would fit nicely.
Tikietic
post May 22 2020, 04:42 PM

339 posts

QUOTE(junsuke @ May 21 2020, 11:34 PM)
Hi. Anyone here using the Gemilai CRM3601 / 3605? Has anyone tried to replace the portafilter to a naked? I’m not sure if an e61 would fit nicely.
You can forget about it.. Most portafilers are machine specific, unless they adopt a standard which are more often found on commercial machines.

Due to the different schematic on each portafilters, if you simply put up a different portafilter onto the grouphead, you risk damaging the tight-fiting metal ridges on both the connecting parts and the damage can be permanent.
Tikietic
post May 22 2020, 04:56 PM

339 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ May 8 2020, 10:37 AM)
just to add this trick only works with single boiler or single thermoblock machine... and you fill your reservoir with super warm water otherwise the machine can't keep temperature up for the brew
Would advise against using heated water to flow through the ULKA pump..

Firstly, not all ULKA pumps are the same.. different machine, different ULKA(series/models). Most of them do have an optimum operating temperature parameter.. You'd be adding unnecessarily wear/stress to the pump by doing so..

Tikietic
post May 22 2020, 05:19 PM

339 posts

QUOTE(ocb05 @ May 3 2020, 10:16 PM)
Guys, i want to get Gemilai CRM3605 as a beginner semi automatic espresso making. Is it good? I mean i seldom latte, drinking only espresso and long black.

Thanks in advance.
Good is a relative word.. with is machine, just don't put a high expectations on the outcome.. it's definitely better than processed coffee, that's for sure. I've made a recommendation about a specific Gemilai way back before(maybe it's no longer available now?).. There is probably a worthy competitor to this CRM3605; a WPM KD-130.. go look it up if you wish, quite a sturdy build as compared to Gemilai's.

QUOTE(layzieboy @ May 4 2020, 12:54 PM)
thanks for the quick reply, but what I meant is really a level indicator for what purpose they are for I have no idea biggrin.gif. Take a look;

The ridge baskets are  more common on "real" espresso machines with the standard 58mm portafilter.

I have a sunbeam em3600 / cuisinart em-100 clone which originally uses a pressurized one. It doesnt even have an OPV afaik hence proper tamping is crucial.
That indicator is for a double shot coffee.. fill up and tamp to that level.. after extraction, the used coffee puck will expand and take up the additional space.

QUOTE(sunami @ May 4 2020, 06:47 PM)

Hi all..any idea about this model...kinda cheap in taobao.. rclxm9.gif
Don't ever touch it... It's a steam-powered machine.. hence it's cheap. Steam extraction coffee are mostly bitter..

QUOTE(jjgoh @ May 7 2020, 12:06 AM)
Hi, I am new to espresso machine. I've heard alot of people saying invest a good grinder than a good machine. However, any good machine recommend? Budget is about RM500 - RM1.1K. Thank you
You're in a tight spot there.. a reasonable entry level machine alone will come to about RM1K.. and this is a learning machine..
And couple with an electric burr grinder will add probably another RM500 to it..
The combo above will not considered as "good"... But just starter.
dwRK
post May 22 2020, 05:43 PM

the consummate chartist
6,230 posts

QUOTE(Tikietic @ May 22 2020, 04:56 PM)
Would advise against using heated water to flow through the ULKA pump..

Firstly, not all ULKA pumps are the same.. different machine, different ULKA(series/models). Most of them do have an optimum operating temperature parameter.. You'd be adding unnecessarily wear/stress to the pump by doing so..
definitely hot water cannot

a bit warm is ok lah imho... pump is sitting next to boiler...over time gets very warm also if you leave machine on for long time

and cheap machine no idea using what pump n what spec...lol
Tikietic
post May 22 2020, 05:46 PM

339 posts

QUOTE(Nairdamil @ Apr 15 2020, 12:48 AM)
Hi guys,

I have been doing coffee with aeropress, french press, staresso and 1zpresso y3.3 for few months now...Wanted to invest in a good coffee machine and grinder after this MCO... For grinder i will be looking at the eureka mignon since my friend is using also...He recommend me to get the niche zero but the price different too much... For machine, initially i consider lower end china brand such as gemilai.. But after googling around i think i will up my budget for a better machine since i will be using this for long term... After looking around, i am looking at wpm kd310 / oscar 2 / breville dual boiler.. My friend recommend me to get the breville dual boiler because it is better than wpm kd310 thermoblock in terms of temperature control...However, my friend did told me that breville cant last very long... I am keen on the wpm kd310 because it kinda look like rocker which is classy... Can any1 share their opinion with me whether is the breville dual boiler is a better choice than the wpm kd310? btw i did read at facebook that the oscar parts spoil very often..
KD310.. triple thermoblock, dual pump
Oscar 2.. HX with single pump?
Breville DB.. 2 boilers with single pump?

To simply say that BDB is much better than KD310 because of thermoblocks are inferior to boilers is inconclusive. If you take apart both machines and peek inside.. one has tiny/small boilers(albeit 2) and the other has a very large thermoblock.. much larger than those you can find in most retail machines.

The KD310.. it's a waste to have the third thermoblock where it's seldom used while paying for the extra cost.. The Oscar is hard to master.. the BDB is mostly eye-candy.. an expensive one too..

There's a video on YouTube to gauge a good steam pressure on the machine.. a room temp water to 60C takes mid 20+ sec on a HX(appartamento), a comparable WPM does it in early 30+ sec.. the Breville, came way last..

A good WPM will be KD410.. not available in MY yet.. this really raise the bar for affordable and yet good value machines..

This post has been edited by Tikietic: May 22 2020, 05:46 PM
Tikietic
post May 22 2020, 06:00 PM

339 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ May 22 2020, 05:43 PM)
definitely hot water cannot

a bit warm is ok lah imho... pump is sitting next to boiler...over time gets very warm also if you leave machine on for long time

and cheap machine no idea using what pump n what spec...lol
Vibe pumps operate on springs, ball bearings(?), rubber valves/gaskets and all enclosed in a plastic casing environment.

Just the normal operation alone(meaning with room temp water), can't do continuous extraction (e.g 5 shots at one go, back to back).. the pump will give out a weird noice.. I believe if you bump the water temp to +40C, it will start stressing the poor pump.. I don't remembered where I read it, the operating temps on these ULKA pumps are not really high..

Not saying you'll kill the pump immediately.. but it's like overclocking a computer CPU.. here you can add cooling peripherals.. but the ULKA pump lays bare to the added heat without ways to vent it out..

This post has been edited by Tikietic: May 22 2020, 06:06 PM
sunami
post May 22 2020, 06:35 PM

A CAT that can Bark. LMAO
1,534 posts

QUOTE(Tikietic @ May 22 2020, 06:19 PM)
Good is a relative word.. with is machine, just don't put a high expectations on the outcome.. it's definitely better than processed coffee, that's for sure. I've made a recommendation about a specific Gemilai way back before(maybe it's no longer available now?).. There is probably a worthy competitor to this CRM3605; a WPM KD-130.. go look it up if you wish, quite a sturdy build as compared to Gemilai's.
That indicator is for a double shot coffee.. fill up and tamp to that level.. after extraction, the used coffee puck will expand and take up the additional space.
Don't ever touch it... It's a steam-powered machine.. hence it's cheap. Steam extraction coffee are mostly bitter..
You're in a tight spot there.. a reasonable entry level machine alone will come to about RM1K.. and this is a learning machine..
And couple with an electric burr grinder will add probably another RM500 to it..
The combo above will not considered as "good"... But just starter.
thanks bro...
any suggestion? my budget max 1k...
btw..how do we know it's using steam or?

This post has been edited by sunami: May 22 2020, 07:07 PM
dwRK
post May 22 2020, 07:54 PM

the consummate chartist
6,230 posts

QUOTE(Tikietic @ May 22 2020, 06:00 PM)
Vibe pumps operate on springs, ball bearings(?), rubber valves/gaskets and all enclosed in a plastic casing environment.

Just the normal operation alone(meaning with room temp water), can't do continuous extraction (e.g 5 shots at one go, back to back).. the pump will give out a weird noice.. I believe if you bump the water temp to +40C, it will start stressing the poor pump.. I don't remembered where I read it, the operating temps on these ULKA pumps are not really high..

Not saying you'll kill the pump immediately.. but it's like overclocking a computer CPU.. here you can add cooling peripherals.. but the ULKA pump lays bare to the added heat without ways to vent it out..
our body temp already 36C...run a fever 38C... a nice hot bath say 40C

I dunno the max operating temp of these pumps...but I cannot imagine using material that cannot tahan 40C

anyways I don't support using warm water into the reservoir... but it does get warm if your machine is on for a while... maybe tomorrow I measure how hot it can get...

366 Pages « < 289 290 291 292 293 > » Top

0.5889sec    0.61    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 11:39 AM