Coffee Lover v.2 Thread, Let's Share!

junsuke
post Apr 27 2017, 04:37 PM

28 posts

Hi everyone,

I'm also considering on getting a grinder for pourover. I'm currently using a hario mini mill, but I'm constantly getting a lot of fines.

Have thought of upgrading. Anyone of you have any ideas between the Akira electric grinder, commandante hand grinder or precision hand ground?

Initially wanted to save up for the baratza sette, but reviews said it's not as good for filter as it is for espresso
junsuke
post Apr 28 2017, 01:10 AM

28 posts

QUOTE(CallMeGucci @ Apr 27 2017, 09:52 PM)
Have you done the mods for the mini mill? At this budget, a hand grinder offers a much better value for the money. Also, will you ever upgrade to espresso in the near future? If yes, then it would be wiser to invest in a grinder that can do both.
Hi there. Yeah I've already done the tape mod to the mini mill. It did reduce the fines... but nevertheless the fines are really affecting the cup.

I don't think I'll be going towards espresso so soon. Hence looking at the Akira or Comandante or precision.
junsuke
post Apr 29 2017, 06:07 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(CallMeGucci @ Apr 29 2017, 12:10 PM)
At that budget I would recommend the Lido instead. There's no real point getting the akira or handground when for a few hundred more you can get something 10x better. And the greatest thing about it is the grind rate of 1g/second; which coming from a Hario, will cause you to slap yourself for not getting it sooner.
Alright. Which Lido grinder are you referring to? How about the commandante? Heard that the uniformity of grinds is better than most like the lido.
junsuke
post Apr 29 2017, 11:29 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(CallMeGucci @ Apr 29 2017, 07:05 PM)
Most Lidos are basically the same, except for the folding handle and finer adjustments, just go with whichever you can find in stock. The commandante made a huge mess in their initial release with quality control and left a bad taste in the mouth for most. Their customer service is also similar to Madebyknock and isn't really responsive. Another thing to note is the that they're harder to find and grinds slower than the lido. Another interesting project is the Helor 101 which is highly praised on HB. It's crafted from a single block of aluminium so technically there shouldn't be alignment issues.
Okay thanks so much 😊 Do you perhaps have any idea where to get the lido or helor in malaysia? The ones which I can find are all from Singapore though.

Also have you personally tried either one?
junsuke
post May 2 2017, 11:37 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(CallMeGucci @ May 2 2017, 04:19 PM)
Don't think anyone stocks it in Msia. You can get it from overseas. http://shop.shellgoatcoffee.com/shop/oe-li...coffee-grinder/ To get a quote for shipping to Malaysia, you have to email them.
I haven't tried either but plan to get the Helor soon and then maybe the Lido when I'm overseas.
Have dropped them an email šŸ˜‚ Saw another one by otten coffee in Indonesia.

Hmm maybe if you intend to get one, we could split the shipping and get one each?

junsuke
post May 2 2017, 11:37 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(CallMeGucci @ May 2 2017, 04:19 PM)
Don't think anyone stocks it in Msia. You can get it from overseas. http://shop.shellgoatcoffee.com/shop/oe-li...coffee-grinder/ To get a quote for shipping to Malaysia, you have to email them.
I haven't tried either but plan to get the Helor soon and then maybe the Lido when I'm overseas.
Have dropped them an email šŸ˜‚ Saw another one by otten coffee in Indonesia.

Hmm maybe if you intend to get one, we could split the shipping and get one each?

junsuke
post May 9 2017, 12:48 AM

28 posts

QUOTE(dominicpcl @ May 5 2017, 07:16 PM)
Hi, I'm a newbie. Bought myself a delonghi ec680 last christmas and modded the frother wand 2 weeks ago.
Still struggling with latte art. Please give me some pointers based on my latte art.
I want to get grinder (hand grind/auto) but on tight budget of RM400 and below.
My friend recommended hario skerton. I want to seek for other recommendations from all the sifus here.
Please help~
Hi there 😊 Just my opinion, it feels that you have overfrothed the milk. When you induce air into the milk, it usually doesn't take very long. Just 2-3 seconds depending on your steam wand pressure.

What I feel is more important would be finding the sweet spot and "rolling" the milk. You want to focus on the rolling as it'll mix the microfoam together with the milk. Done right, there should be no significant large bubbles and a glossy finish.

As for the grinder, I wouldn't recommend getting a cheap one. Perhaps save up for decent grinder. Those within your budget probably can't grind fine enough with a consistent size for espresso extraction. The Baratza Sette would be a decent one to save up for, it costs around 2k.

This post has been edited by junsuke: May 9 2017, 10:59 PM
junsuke
post May 9 2017, 10:58 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ May 9 2017, 07:59 AM)
Use half bag, add instant coffee if need more kick...or diy instant coffee + hazelnut syrup...

Seems like hazelnut flavor is your thing laugh.gif
You can try Illy...but you won't be saving much... lol

Go to a cafe, ask if they sell beans, ask if they can grind for you...
Encore is full of plastics...people in the USA always talk about replacing parts and their good customer service... in other words... not durable...

Whoops my bad. Meant to say the baratza sette
junsuke
post May 12 2017, 09:06 AM

28 posts

QUOTE(dominicpcl @ May 11 2017, 08:19 PM)
I got it from Ikea. Cup capacity is 26cl, about 8.8oz cup~
http://www.ikea.com/my/en/catalog/products/50288315/
I agree it looks kinda big and wide. Do you have any cup recommendation for latte?
I want to get a smaller cup but not sure what to buy.
I usually prefer making my coffee in a 6-7oz cup. I feel 8.8 is a little too big for my liking.

You can try these few:
1. Maxwell & Williams coloured cups (8, 6.5 oz and 5.5 oz also have. Can find at Parkson

2. Search online for incasa cups

3. Acme & co from PULP (really sturdy cup but abit pricey)

4. Search online for duralex glasses
junsuke
post May 14 2017, 11:31 AM

28 posts

QUOTE(dominicpcl @ May 13 2017, 09:39 PM)
happened like 5 minutes ago..

image 1: first pour
- is the froth alright?

image 2: post-froth for second cup
- is this the "wet paint" kinda froth? seriously I cannot judge as I've not seen one in person.

image 3: second cup.. too bad, didn't have enough to complete it
Image 1: I think you're starting your pour too late. As you can see there are thin lines of swirls during your initial swirling. I recommend watching some videos and see how late artists start their pours and find what's best for you.

https://instagram.com/p/BRChwZJgJXP/

You can try following : ada_crew, zkings1019, baristaaaronshin, latteart_simon, aaronlooiys

They usually posts videos, so you can observe. Also if you dig into their older posts, they actually have videos of them steaming too. Try to listen to their frothing.
junsuke
post May 14 2017, 01:09 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ May 14 2017, 01:03 PM)
I'm sure he's been watching enough videos laugh.gif

Watching and doing is very different, no?

1st pic IMHO is more of pitcher control, milk volume, and placement issues... afterall he has enough white for the pour covering back to front...so he started and ended just right... wink.gif

I suspect his pitcher is not that good, looks like the old Ikea one...
Ahh yeah but I feel he starts his pours abit late. Hence it's not really a clean one šŸ˜‚ And I feel it's a lot easier if you start slightly earlier.

As for the watching I think can try to listen to how they froth, get a rough idea.. a little hard to explain in words on that šŸ˜‚ But yeah definitely practice and hands on is more important than just watching.

Ohhh ikea actually had milk pitchers? I second your recommendation for the rattleware pitchers. Somehow it's a lot easier to get the roll on that pitcher. Definitely my go to frothing pitcher 😊
junsuke
post May 25 2017, 07:06 PM

28 posts

Hi guys. Just want to ask, any of you know where to get vertex 12oz latte bowl? Similar to the milkglider's latte bowl.

Trying to source for an alternative. If I have to buy from taobao, it'll be the milk glider one and comes to about rm 100 excluding shipping.

Want to get it to practice my latte art designs šŸ˜…
junsuke
post Jun 16 2017, 09:32 AM

28 posts

QUOTE(dominicpcl @ Jun 15 2017, 11:10 PM)
dear sifus, is the shape of the cup important for latte art?
recently I have this problem bugging me on my art.
[attachmentid=8904078] [attachmentid=8904079] [attachmentid=8904080]
all bent in on the left side.. but I did get some decent one from the same cup too.
[attachmentid=8904081]

this is the shape of the cup
[attachmentid=8904082]
The shape of the cup doesn't really affect much. I think that before you start pouring, during the initial mixing stage where you go in circular motions, try to prolong it just a little and try to make it as even as possible.
junsuke
post Jul 31 2017, 09:24 AM

28 posts

QUOTE(geladiator @ Jul 31 2017, 08:59 AM)
Any particular one which you recommend ?
Hi. Are you perhaps going to use it for home use? Or for a Cafe? Just to list down a few roasters here in Klang Valley. You can check them out. The numbering does not show my preference of which is better smile.gif

1. Artisan Roastery
2. The Roast Things
3. The Hub
4. Ghostbird
5. Aitch
6. Cloudcatcher
junsuke
post Jul 31 2017, 02:48 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(geladiator @ Jul 31 2017, 02:36 PM)
Thanks a lot. Appreciate your input. By the way, this is to be used for home.
If for home, would it be espresso machine? or manual brewing? Either way, all the mentioned roasters do sell retail.

You could also source from beanshipper.com smile.gif
junsuke
post May 21 2020, 11:34 PM

28 posts

Hi. Anyone here using the Gemilai CRM3601 / 3605? Has anyone tried to replace the portafilter to a naked? I’m not sure if an e61 would fit nicely.

0.2171sec    0.54    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 10:59 PM